paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field

Hogan's Alley Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
73Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (203) 238-2875
Address: 998 North Colony Rd.
Meriden, Connecticut 06450
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
fuzzy12321 Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: March 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: Hogan's has been really good to me in the sense of everyone there is always willing to help u as well as the refs helping u out in the game. The hot dogs are sooooo goood!!
Thsi is my fourth year playing there not much has changed except the woods field is usually always set up differently. If you go early before the tournaments start theres less people and more time for u to practice. Overall great place. (not really recomended for woods players).
Last edited on Tuesday, March 28th, 2006 at 1:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tabris17 Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 16th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Madness
Review: I really enjoy my time at Hogans' when I get a chance to play. The staff in the proshop are really nice and friendly and the prices for markers are competetive. Though some of the smaller parts are really over priced, I was charged $8 for two timmy detents but I needed them and wasn't in the mood to argue. But they did tech my timmy and the charge for what was needed wasn't bad at all, considering the eyes, front block, and some wires had to be completely removed amongst other things. Paint prices are decent at least and they have 6-8 pallets of paint to choose from. Usually range from like 50-75 for a case but you can bring your own paint for a fee of $10 so I usually bring a case or two of xball bronze with me.
The field itself is alright, I feel the spool field has a few too many spools and is rather cluttered. And I wish the xball field, when up was all grass instead of half wood chip and half grass. The fields are nice enough though, quite playable though when it rains the woodsball field is half under water. Still on a nice day the fields are very nice to play on and there is always a game going on that you can join. Very little waiting time if any between them.
The majority of the refs are really nice and knowledgable though there are a select few that don't really seem to care. And I think the chrono needs to be watched a bit more closely, there's times during the day when no ref is covering it and people can adjust their velocity over 280 and shoot faster but without setting off the alarm so nobody knows. Other then that though the refs are decent and easy to talk to, I confronted one ref about another player that I felt was shooting hot and he immediately pulled him and told him to go chrono but no ref was there to watch them. The player left the field and was done for the day after that though so it really wasn't a punishment really.
A few issues here and there but overall a great field. And they make hot dogs during lunch and only charge a $1 and you can get all sorts of toppings. So that's really great that they at least provide something where other fields don't. I've played here at least three times and plan to go back even more this year when I have time. Just fun times there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tacticalpaint40 Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 17th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Extreme Paintball, and Oxford Paintball
Review: Hogans Alley is a great place. The atmosphere is great and the people are friendly and are willing to help you out with problems. There store is pretty big, and they have lots of used gear, and are always up to date with the newest products. They have great fields. (hyperpipe and airball are great) I bought my pm5 from them and it worked great and they sold it at a resonable price. (at the time i bought it) The player there are all great guys and are USUALLY nice...lol j/k. But yeah it is a great place to play.......but if you play woods i don't suggest going since they only have 1 woods field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

ICU117 Monday, December 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 10th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
My friends woods
Review: The woodsball is a fun little course. The one with the airplane is anyway, the other one sucks. The airplane one has good cover on both sides making it a fair play for either team. Spool is the best though. Especially with big numbers, its so chaotic. I'm not a big fan of xball, cause I tend to get shot in the same place on my skull everytime...and it really hurts bad. Some people there cheat and ramp up their velocity to 350 or so. The teams decide if bunkering is allowed, same with drivebys. The store is great, the prices on PMI premiums aren't that great, but the wall of guns is very impressive, they have an indoor shooting range. (Ask if you can shoot the double trouble...awesome) The staff in the store and out where very helpful. Refs where cool, one of them let us use his sled as a shield...The only thing that you should not do there is DO NOT go when there is more than 4 inches of snow on the ground, its not that much fun and not many people go. Other than getting smoked by 8 year olds with angels, its a fun place to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

clear_water Sunday, December 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 11th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Yea, hogans is sweet. good hot dogs, dumb little kids i smoke in the face, good hot dogs, big store. 4 current fields ( no i don't count that stupid little barrel at the end of a field as a field), probably the only bad thing about this place is that its open only on sat. and sun.and also the hot dogs suck.



-P.S. just kidding, hot dogs kick ass!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shrpshootrM1903 Tuesday, July 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: This is really the only field that I have played at. The woodsball is good for noobs cuz not a lot of pro's like to play woodsball. It's not really a woodsball field that you would expect. It's more like speedball in the woods. The spool field is kinda cool but if you don't be careful you'll get shot in the ankle under one of the spools. All of the fields are well set up and are good sizes. They don't really have a noob or pro field which kinda sucks if you don't know what you are doing. The people there don't really know as much about paintball as they should. Well they know about paintball just not tech support especially icd. If you have an icd gun and it breaks don't take it there because they're just going to say that it sucks and that they either can't fix it or they won't service it. Good refs though. They know what they are doing and aren't afraid to get hit. They always go out for paint checks when I ask them to check. The refs don't allow cheating which is a good thing. They actually care. I saw one ref call out one of his friends when he got hit in the mask and wipped it off. The pro shop is a good size but the prices are HORRIBLE. I use draxxus midnight mostly and it costs me 42.50 online but if I were to get it at Hogans then it would cost me 60. The guns are well priced though but you could get pretty much anything they have there online for cheaper. They probably do this because people are willing to pay that price but just tell em that you're using field paint and you won't have to pay that much for walk-on. Overall this is a descent field and it's the only one in the area so I better like it. I give this place an 8 because of the many good fields and because their prices are a little high and they have average at best tech support.
Last edited on Tuesday, July 12th, 2005 at 12:24 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

th3man Tuesday, May 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
My Own Field (woods)
Review: Well I had never been to a speedball field before so I can't give the best review in relation to other reviews, However. I not only enjoyed playing at this field, I enjoyed watching the games go on and checking out everybody's gear. There was a HUGE staff of guys helping out, reffing games, checking to see that your mask and barrel plug was always in. Also Id say about 100-150 people+ were there when I was. There was 3 well maintained speedball courses of different kinds, and one very good woodsball course. Also the paintball shop was the biggest Ive ever seen (im told biggest in CT) and had an excellent selection of supplies. When I get the money and my license Ill be going to this place all the time, this place is happenin' .
Last edited on Tuesday, May 31st, 2005 at 2:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

brianoneil Sunday, April 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Madness, Matt's Outback, Prospect Paintball
Review: This is the classic best field ever. Cheap paint, a pro-shop with a selection that beats any online store, super knowledgable staff and hot dogs for lunch. The fields are very well maintained and they change them up every so often. I love the woods course. Nothing bad to say about this place at all.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

robby111 Monday, February 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i haven't been 2 any other fields in the area but hope 2 join a scenario tournament at sragety plus.we usually play in my woods and at a dirt dumping site it has a ton of dirt mounds.
Review: Hogans has good rental equipment and the staff there is very helpful.Ahe woods field and hyper ball field are very good.the woods field has the wooden tank witch is awsome.also the sppedball course i didnt think it was that great.And the field with all the wooden stuff was good no idea wut they called it.but all in all hogans is i think a fairly decent field.O ya and if anybodys herd anything about the splatterzone field if you even no were splatter zone is its in milford but if you no anything about there field im not sure if they even hav it anymore just post a comment to this post.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

98custom788 Friday, January 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have only played at hogans alley
Review: This place is the best there fields are amazing a lil bit small but there still well kept all except the woodsball field which tends to get a little bit muddy but the spool field is real cool in there store the workers are all VERY nice and they can fix any thing there prices are a little bit high but not to much ive bought everything from them and its all good stuff and anything you buy for your gun they will put it on for free
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media