paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field

Hogan's Alley Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
73Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (203) 238-2875
Address: 998 North Colony Rd.
Meriden, Connecticut 06450
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
tippmann1223 Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friends woods: Don't even compare
Review: This place is great, I love all of their feilds. The refs are pretty cool, but sometimes you have to wait for one to come to one of their 5 feilds so you can get a game started. The only thing I don't like about this place is their line for admission and tank fills. But other than that, they're exallant. They also have good paint prices. What else is also great, is that they have food on location and hotdogs are only $1 and same with gatorade. I love this place and really plan on going back.
I really recomend you go there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cowface Monday, May 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Matts outback, extreme paintball
Review: My visits there have varied from time to time, I have had some good and some bad. Most of the time there has been great service from the staff, but sometimes they take a while in the air line, and sometimes there are not enough refs in the field. The Refs can sometimes be too strict on things. They have a nice variety of fields to play on. The field is ok, personally not one of my favorites, but its still a cool place to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DRJRE Friday, May 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Matts Outback Paintball and Strategy Plus - both are good.
Review: The Goods - The store at the field is pretty big and is the biggest in CT. They also have a very knowledgeable staff that can tell you pretty much anything that you want to know about paintball, and can fix most guns. The fields are pretty nice too, they have spools, sup-air, hyper-ball, woods, and just put in an X-ball field this year. The X-ball is by far the most fun to play on. There are also lots of people to start games with and you are always meeting new people and making new friends. The refs are pretty good at paint checks, helping people getting off of the field safe once they get out and spotting cheaters.

The Bad - The paint is a bit pricey (but thats how it is all over the place). The refs will also stop reffing and start talking to friends and other refs while there are people waiting to play, they also will hide behind bunkers (major distraction) and stand in your line of fire. And it can get a bit crowded.

Overall I give Hogans a 9 out of 10 because despite the bad things I always have a good time and in the end that is what counts.
Last edited on Friday, May 7th, 2004 at 7:16 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bassdude2004 Friday, April 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Hogan's is an awesome place. I go there every other weekend. Their fields are kool, i like the spool feild and woodsball field, they also have a hyper ball and sup air field. The refs are great, they are very helpful and informative. the down side is they are expensive, most of the things there i can find $20 cheaper online, but they have all the parts you'll need, also they raised their price on CO2 to $3, but i'll get used to it. but Phil makes the best hotdogs in CT and they are only a $1
Last edited on Thursday, August 12th, 2004 at 6:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WhiteRob Tuesday, March 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Hogans alley is a good place to go for paintballing. It has good fields and nice refs, the only thing i would say bad about is that the paint costs too much there. Also there is this fat doofy kid that works in the store and sometimes refs and he doesn't do much except yell or act stupid. all in all its a good place to go to and i have fun eveytime i go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gdog5 Friday, January 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Matt's Outback- good place
Prospect Paintball- bad place
Review: I started playing paintball at Hogan's and have gone back there since. I like the fields they have and i love their woods field, I usually end up playing in the spools field though. Hogans is a great place for all kind of players. Usually there's one field that seems to be taken by people who are really good and suped up with their jersies and their angels and cockers. But otherwise its a nice mix. The refs are nice and informative, but when their in the game, they dnt tend to do much. I've had atleast 3 people wipe paint off themselves after i had gotten them and the refs don't do squat; even after i yell to them to check the player. Contributing to the not so good things about this field are the prices. They are really expensive at Hogan's and if you order from xpaintball or 888paintball you can see the price differences. Someone should blow 70$ for 2000 of nitro duck/ field paint! Another thing that bugs me is the staging area. It is so easy to have stuff stolen. The refs are always talking to eachother instead of realizing that someone is walking away with a cocker in one hand and a timmy in the other. I have paint stolen all the time. It pisses me off. Also the ground is a nice muddy wood chip mix, not the best for a staging area. On the good side they are always stocked with every part for everything. Tons of stuff. Period. Plus the hot dog guy may look a little shady at first but they are possibly the best hot dogs you can get in CT for a dollar. All in all a good field, one of the best in CT. When i go there i always end up having a blast, but sometimes the problems mentioned above can ruin a fun time. I giv'em an....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AnGeLsHoOtEr411 Friday, December 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
eastern paintball supply in branford kicks hogans ass! awesome refs and an awsome 10 man sup air set up from what i hear theirs more fields coming!

matts outback great place too! great people and great prices!
Review: alrite this place straight up SUCKS! they sponsor a team full of cheaters and are very very mean to their customers. their refs dont do anything when you ask for a paint check or anything.... their fields are HORRID.... all wood chips rocks and sticks... discusting.... only reason why i was forced to play there for so long was because there was no other place to play

GO TO EASTERN SO MUCH BETTER cheap paint great fields and great refs! they closed for the season but will open up next year with 2 or 3 more fields and more sup air!

hogans is not a good place at all.. the owner nick is a total LOSER if you have a problem he'll belittle you and make you feel stupid and then overcharge you so badly... I SAW THEM CHARGE ONE KID 15 BUX FOR AN O-RING! anyway hogans is over priced and bad news... go to eastern, matts or even stamford if your down their *but their pretty expensive...* youll enjoy yourself much more at any other place but hogans... im giving this place a 1 id give it a -10000 if i could but obviously i cant... this place is horrible and nobody should go to it...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jamra27 Wednesday, November 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Stingers, backyard woods with friends (stingers is better for winter play in the snow because it's indoor but in the sun choose Hogan's)
Review: I really like Hogan's Alley. It is 10x more worth the money than any other place in connecticut. I would choose it over backyard paintball any day. The fields are awesome and the store is just as good. Excellent stock of paint and the maitenance center is really helpful wen ur gun gets screwed up. Even though its 45 min away from my town, its well worth the ride. The refs are OK. Some are good and some are bad so ill split the ref rating in the middle at 5. this place is a million times better than any other field in CT. In fact, it is the best I have ever been to. If you live within an hour of Hogan's and wanna play quality paintball, go here.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 7th, 2004 at 10:58 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Deanstar22 Wednesday, October 22nd, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Good: Hogan's Alley was an awsome place. I went with three friends for about 2.5 hours. I went to the one in North Haven. The building was cool, with an huge counter full of every gun accessory. The gun rack on the wall was super extensive, and had some awsome guns on it. Another coool thing was that there were guys there making .:free hotdogs:. The four courses-->(sup. air, wood, spindel, hyperball) were really nice. And some of the refs kept things under control.

Bad: The refs were cool, but didn't seem to do much. They also called a friend of mine out after beint shot in the back by a teammate. The refs repeatedly asked us to put barrel plugs in our guns at the staging area, even when we had our barrels off. The refs could also be jerks at times. Also, there was a party of like 20 kids taking up the spindel cours, which stunk.

Conclusion: This field is great if you can make the trip, (it's a long way from my house). I totally recomend this place to anyone who wants to spend a great day ballin' at a great course.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

spotter13 Friday, October 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Matt's Outback Paintball was pretty nice, they have a really cool woods field and the tire speedball fields are pretty cool. The Sup Air left a little to be desired. And Strategy Plus, pretty much just a recreational woods field kinda of place but with some really wicked forest set-ups and 2 new speedball fields.
Review: Hogan's is a really nice place to go and play. They have a big store and have everything you'll ever need and they can order anything else for you. The only problems are that the fields get crowded sometimes and it really is kinda of expensive, especially the store. They do try to rip alot of people off on stuff but hey they need to make their profit too. Overall, there's a great range of experience when it comes to the players, there is groups of everyone ranging from rental newbs to real pros, and it's a great place to practice. They also hold tournaments there about every 2 months.

So overall, its kind of an expensive place to go, but it's well worth it. I'm a speedball kind of guy and Hogan's Alley is much better than Strategy Plus and Matt's Outback, i definately recommend it, it's my favorite place to play, in fact i'm there so often most of the guys know me by my name.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media