paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field

Hogan's Alley Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
73Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (203) 238-2875
Address: 998 North Colony Rd.
Meriden, Connecticut 06450
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
STOFaBoLoUs99 Wednesday, September 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
the piece of land my friends rennovated into a field for fun when were not headed to hogans for the weekend
Review: hogans alley paintball is great. why? simple. players from A - Z, every level of expierience, every type of game, every budget range, a great environment. you can challenge yourself and you wont get ranked on for getting toppled if youre a noobie and you try your best in an expierienced players game. not many newbie bashers except for a bad handful *cough cough zach cough cough* all around excellent staff great turnout every weekend never a dull moment at hogans alley paintball LLC in meriden. and you cant forget the hot dogs they cook there, man is that great. thank god for people like the local gormet hot dog chef Phil! A+ field, only downside is its 40 minutes drive from me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zerox Wednesday, September 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
extremm, and some places in ny, backyards.
Review: It was and ok place. NO FIELD PAINT YA! Cheapst paint is $50 for a case. the refs are ok the dont do much. THey are all are speddball courses exapt the one in the woods i didnt do that. they also have a store. They rent 98 customs which is cool. It was preety nice
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

BKO12 Sunday, August 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Prospect
Review: This field is sooooooo good. The people here are so nice, everybody plays fair, the refs are great, service is great, but it is a little confusing when its your first time there. No biggie though. This field is the best I have ever played on, the hyperball and sup air rule. Personally I liked the hyperball as there was more bunkers to choose from. Overall i would rate this field a 600 but i cant so oh well. If you got the time and money make the trip here, definetly worth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Inverse Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Madness- Not as good
Review: This is a great field, nice people in the shop, have alot of stuff and friendly service. Lots of people go here also so you can always find games there. The prices are also really good in my opinion. To get to the fields you go down a dirt path to the right of the shop and ull end up in a decent sized staging area where you can set up and stuff. Everytime u enter the field u have to chrono in. They have 4 fields, hyberball, sup. air, spools and woods. The hyber ball and sup. air fields seem to be the most popular, and then woods. Occasionaly you will find some people playing at the Spools. The fields are great and set up really good and i would definitly recomend people going here. Great field!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

SSMike Wednesday, June 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None. Hogans has earned and will keep my business.
Review: Hogan's Alley epitomizes everything that a local business should be. The shop is exceptionally well stocked and the prices are excellent. The staffers are friendly, knowledgable, and helpful. Nick, the owner, is terrific.

The fields are unbelievably fun. The hyperball and air fields see most of the action, and rumor has it a new 3-man air field is on the way. As a beginner, speedball can be terribly intimidating, but players of all abilities play there and this lessens the learning curve. As I've gotten a lot better, the fields have become much more multi-dimensional to me, and I can see that their layout is really well thought out. The refs and experienced players are mostly friendly. I've made quite a few friends there and always feel welcome in every game.

There are two things that could be better about Hogan's. First and foremost, they need to learn to accomodate the massive size of the customer base they've developed. Oftentimes, the speedball fields are featuring 20+ to 30+ players all on one field while the other remains dormant. I'd really like to see them running to games of 10-15 players each instead. With more players than the field can support, strategies and tactics give way to spray and pray. Second, I wish they'd do better about starting on time. Play is supposed to start at 10 am, but the refs are often just opening their breakfast sandwiches then while 15 or 20 players sit and wait for the field to open 10-20 minutes late. I think both of these problems are more about the transition to being as busy as they are, and are a result of all the things that Nick and company are doing right.

Overall, I love playing at Hogan's Alley. Please come play; you won't regret it. You'll also never want to give your business to some faceless website in an effort to save ten bucks again!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Frostfire Thursday, May 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Let me tell you, it was my first time going out on the field and I thought Hogans was awesome. I went on all the field on that day so I can review them for you. The speedball field is nice and have good quality bunkers to hide behind. The hyper ball field is a little small but you can get used to it. The spools are not that popular and people don't usually go on them. The woodsball field it on of my favorites because of all the different type of bunders like fake tanks, house, etc. But my most favorite would be the hyperball field because it is a fast paced game and good pipes to use as cover. The field also has free air so you don't have to worry about paying for air. The store which is right next to the field is huge and have alot of items like paint, markers, apparel, gear, etc. If you gun is messed up or something, you can give to the staff and they will probaly fix it for free. By the way the refs and staff are really friendly, also almost all the people there are cool and nice too. They have good and accurate chronographs to test you gun and 2 target ranges (one outdoor and one indoor). Only semi-auto settings are allowed. I have to say, this is one of the best field IMO in the state of CT.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HotelSecurity Wednesday, May 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I really can't compare this field to other fields because I don't play at many other places. However, during my first real game at Hogan's Alley, I probably did everything wrong. The fancy gun I had bought was shooting too hot and I couldn't use it so I thought I'd have to sit the whole day out. Then I kept leaving stuff in the store and having to go back and forth. Some guy finally realized I was just sitting in the staging area like a doofus and helped me rent a Tippman 98. I STILL kept leaving stuff in the store and probably walked into the place a billion times. The staff were very patient with me and helped me get going, and now I love paintball despite my rough startup.

Now I'm a regular player and a referee at Hogan's Alley. I think it's definitely fair to say our paint prices are not biased at all, since I buy paint from the Hogan's Alley store (though have the option of buying it anywhere I please.) We offer some damn good hotdogs with practically anything you want on em, and great air prices. Our staff will help you play safe, and to have a lot of fun, especially if you're new. Its thanks to this field I got into paintball in the first place and we're constantly maintaining and improving our facilities. Come check us out and tell em Splatmaster" sent you.

Last edited on Wednesday, October 29th, 2003 at 5:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ashdaman Friday, May 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Prospect
Waterbury (refs are bad)
Review: The refs are pretty good here. The sup air field is a lot of fun as is the spools. They've got good prices. One bad thing is if you get shot you go to the back of field. Paintball fly out of the playing area and into where you're waiting. It's fun but I'd rather play woods ball (not for noobs) because it is more challenging and involves more skill.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Doctorstox Wednesday, April 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
west point big game (if that counts, i dunno) and maslars (ExtremePaintball.com) in waterbury
Review: hogans alley is by far the better field with better competition. waterbury is usualy a bunch of newbs who play the woods fields because waterbury does have a lot of woods fields. hogans is way better. their hyperball field is amazing, simply amazing. their meriden store is huge and their new haven store has just about everything. they also mill and anno and can get you whatever you want. the staff is really cool and really friendly. prices are good too, great paint prices. yeah, it's just a great place to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jsn Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Prospect is a waste compared to Hogans. If you want a REAL field Hogans is the place to be.
Review: Their hyperball and supair are absolutely awesome. This field is by far the best in the area. Their prices are also the lowest around. I can not believe that someone gave this field a 7. If you play pball, are in the area and like speedball (woods is for noobs) then this field is for you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media