paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / NVP-Paintball Paintball Field / NVP-Paintball Paintball Field / NVP-Paintball Paintball Field / NVP-Paintball Paintball Field

NVP-Paintball Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
39Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 585-473-7529
Address: 1046 University Ave.
Rochester, New York 14607
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
blackdragundude Saturday, December 12th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 13th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only field I play at!
Review: I think this a good field aside from how much paint costs! $60 a case and that the proshop closes kinda early! The proshop is pretty helpful! The rules are pretty reasonable! Some of the players are punks, but you those everywhere you go, so no big deal there! Everything else is all good!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Prine_Dog Friday, April 3rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 11th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
GRC, Jello-Factory, Head Rush, Performance Paintball and Running Wild Paintball.
Review: Yes the field at NVP is small, how ever the field layout is nice for its size and the layout changes every month. For Tournaments such as the NPL (In-Vasion Paintball League) the field size is perfect for 3 on 3 action. You can play 5 on 5 and at one time I have played 7 on 7.

The Reffing is hit or miss sometimes. 90% of the time the reffing is good. However most of their reffing staff are members of MXL or AXBL teams and during those seasons are out at practice or events across the state. Still the reffing is good for the most part.

The pro shop is a impressive almost "state of the art" looking. Looks like a high end pro shop which it is. The staff always treated me well and welcomed me every time I have come through the door. I bought myself a 2005 Disruptive Pro Cut Autococker from E-Bay. When I got my marker it wasn't timed and I didn't know how to time an electronic autococker. I took it in to their shop and they had never seen an autococker like the one I had and I asked them if they could make it work. Took them 2 minutes and they had my Cocker ripping like no ones buisness and they didn't charge me for any thing.

The only thing draw back about NVP is the cost of their Paint. I will not say how much they are charging for paint to use at their field, but I will say that I will return to play once they substancually lower the cost of their paint. Till then I have found other area fecielties to meet my teammates and my standards.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ChrisB171 Monday, February 2nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
There used to be good fields like compete,pats, pro and splatball.
Review: This place is newb central. I walked into there wanting to play a fun game of paintball and instead I walked into a place with a bunch of 10 year old's who thinks they are Ollie Lang Jr's.

The reasons this place is bad because the field is tiny they over crowd the field so bad half of the time you cant play right, Second all the little 10 year old's cut in line( yes there is a line to play a very long line 30min+) I also had one little kid tell me what bunker I couldn't go to. "WHAT?" I have been playing this sport for 5+ years and some noob kid is telling me I can't use that bunker. haha wow. Also the refs are lazy there is usually 1 ref and he stand behind the net because he is to scarred to go out. So there is no structured rules on the field except keep your mask on and barrel bag that's all the refs really call.

Another thing you have to watch out for is NVP's techs. They aren't the sharpest tools in the shed. My friend brought a gun in there to get fixed and it sat there for 2+ weeks until I said I will fix it and it was a very easy fix that took 3 min tops. So no excuse for 2+ weeks.

Also if you didn't buy your gun there its crap. Numerous times I brought my gun in there go get air, and parts and have been told my marker was junk. (My guns have included freeflow autocockers, Bob long intimidators, Karnivors, Shockers, etc.) yea right those are really crappy. In fact there was one employee that really did it to the point I got angry and said something. I wont give out any names but he name started with a E and ends with a C.

So basically because of this place I got out of this sport that I have been playing for 5+ years. I have played at compete paintball (best field) pats paintball (Good field) pro paintball (amazing everything) and the post office splatball (Good old school fun)

There is a lot of bad about this field. With very little good. It has pretty much ruined the sport of paintball in Rochester as far as I am concerned.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

SpyderMan1492 Friday, April 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 21st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Summerhill - Just as good
Review: The safety of the field is great especially when it comes to putting on barrel bags and chronoing your marker! I was truely impressed with the reffing and staff who were all helpful, polite and responsible. The rules of the field are also great especially with the semi auto policy in open play making it fair for everybody. The Npl tournaments are extremely fun and popular with many teams around the state! All the players who go there are cool, easy going, and no players mock others out and things of that nature. The field is the ideal size not too big, but not too small, with many different bunker logics and shooting angles! The proshop was the place that blew me away the first time I came to NVP especially with the stocked products, relatively cheap prices and repair technitions. Everywhere at NVP, both field and proshop, the prices for paint are the ones that take the toll on your wallet size, but hey you pay to play, so deal with it because money and paintball are associated on all aspects. All in all, my favorite place to play and shoot the breeze with my fellow paintballers!
Last edited on Friday, April 4th, 2008 at 6:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintbaler2016 Sunday, February 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Grc and Jello Factory
Review: I love the place and the people who work there but some of the players are a little iffy, i played a game where the teams were mixed and 3 advanced kids got split up and when the game started the kid who was left out ran to 50 dorito and switched sides with no action taken by the ref when i shot at him he got me and when i was walking off the field he gave me some bonus balls to the back of the head for trying to stop him from cheating. Other than things like that i love the place, theres lockers to put ur stuff in and the staff is excclent i may try other fields as an alternitive though but will always go back to ball there.

over all seven
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DSDM Friday, September 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
North Side Paintball Sports in Watertown (now closed)
Directions
to the Field:
THe field is tucked behind a few buildings it is best to have the street address when you go looking for it because the building it is in is not located right on the street.
Review: The area for the field is very large, well lit and the floor covering has excellent cushion. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The store is located in a separate area from the players and the field. Unfortunately I was not able to make it to the store during operating hours. The area for the players to set their gear up is small and I could see it filling up quickly with a crowd of people. There were only 5 other players at the field when I went so the space was more than adequate. The field was immaculate, the bunkers all looked new and the staff washed them off after each game. The netting was intact with no visible holes. The Ref was great and ran a very tight ship on the field. There is an upstairs viewing area which has lockers available for locking your gear up. Overall I had a great experience there. I wish I didn’t live 3 hours from the field so I could get there often. I would recommend this place to anyone.
Last edited on Friday, September 21st, 2007 at 3:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NamelessWonder Tuesday, September 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jello Factory--Larger area, more CQB than NVP, and better reffing staff. However, the paint is poor quality and the action can be slow at times.
Review: Safety- 8/10 The refs usually grab everyone and have them chrono. Usually. But, whenever a player is shot out, they'll literally run across the field to make sure they get off safely. The same goes for paintchecks. And always, they make sure everyone gets their mask on, and their barrels bagged as they enter/exit the field. Off the field, they'll pass by the staging areas, making sure everyone isn't endangering those around them. That being said, overshooting does occur on a regular frequency. Same goes for velocity adjustments...I still have welts from hits across the field.

Proshop- 9/10 They keep everything pretty well stocked, except for a few key items. Hopper/Loaders fly off the shelves, it seems. The staff is always friendly, and doesn't sell stuff you wouldn't necessarily need. And, they cater to woodsballers as well.

Security- 6/10 Security...is an issue. Go with a friend, or have someone watch your stuff. Bags of paint can go missing, and heck, even your marker can be stolen. On 9/3/07, a few people attempted to steal someone's mask, my marker, a 13 year old's marker, and a rental. They also tried to break into Hot Shots. WATCH YOUR STUFF! It doesn't happen alot, but it's enough to be rightfully paranoid. Nate Moody, of Moody Paintball can attest to the aforementioned events. Just because they have cameras doesn't mean they record. Such is the case of the first floor. But, they try. I'm still planning on returning, just with a rather cynical outlook.

Overall, it's a good field. They run it excellently, although it still has a few problems. Definetly better than the surrounding fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Team_SR Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jello Factory (great place to play on advanced night which is every other thrusday on the speedball field.)

Directions
to the Field:
490E to the inner loop, inner loop to University Ave, turn left on University go about 9 stop lights and its on your left. Kinda tucked into the back of the plaza
Review: There are several pro's and con's to this field:

PRO's:
Advanced Night generally has good players
Turfed floor is really nice
Clean bunkers (cleaned every 2 or 3 games)
great staging area
Heated field
Raised view area overlooking the whole field
Lockers
Decent pro-shop
Vending Machines
Great people to play with, most of them are really cool

CON's
Small field
Even on advanced night they try to play 8v8 or even 10v10
too many bunkers for the size of the field (cant see across field most of the time)
Refs dont pay attention (some teams that play there [not saying names] whipe hits all the time and the refs do nothing about it)
expensive paint $60 per case
pro-shop closes WAAAYY before the field closes

My team and I try to stay away from there for team practice as much as possible because like i said it is normally to crowded on the field to even get a good practice in. But overall, its a decent field.


***UPDATE*** At the last tourny they had there, there was 3 guns stolen! A shocker, Dm7 and a proto rail. They say they have cameras there, but i guess they arent on? I would say leave your gear unattended at your own risk. They have done nothing to help these guys find there gear.

Rating: 6/10
Last edited on Tuesday, January 30th, 2007 at 2:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

LHUDSON05 Thursday, November 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: November 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i havent played anywhere else in the rochester area
Review: PROS:
nice new bunkers
good lighting
large staging area
nice turf
extremely clean
they have both advanced and begginer games
fair prices
they have lockers that you can put your gear in
a viewing area
they have cameras so if any of your gear goes missing they can try to help you find who stole it
the staff is very nice
saftey is huge there

CONS:
most refs stand behind the nets
the feild is to small for as many bunkers as they have on the feild
they do 10 on 10's which is to many people for a feild that size

i give this feild a 9/10 because it has many pros and few cons
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

headlock0003 Wednesday, October 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
MSG(by nyc), compete outdoor,and post office
Directions
to the Field:
rite by the bike shop and hot shots
Review: Best indoor speed ball field in east coast!!

Amazing shop......i have had my markers fixed there so many times and i have never been charged-the guys there really know their stuff!!!

Paint is great price......x ball bronze

During the summer free admission!!!

They inflate bunkers every few games and it is uber fast......advanced and beginner games......(advance u can bunker)

Clean and friendly place


Only bad thing is for people that never been there might have a hard time finding it



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media