paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Xplex Sports / Daytona Beach Paintball Field / Xplex Sports / Daytona Beach Paintball Field / Xplex Sports / Daytona Beach Paintball Field / Xplex Sports / Daytona Beach Paintball Field

Xplex Sports / Daytona Beach Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
37Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 386-214-1939
Address: 3838 SR44
Spruce Creek, Florida 32168
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
tjspi Friday, November 5th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 4th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Waynes World, XPX , Orlando Painball, Central Florida Paintball,
Directions
to the Field:
I-4 to SR 44 head toward the Beach about 1 mile after race track look for sign on right hand side, there it is.
Review: Great fields, refs are young but helpful. Staff is really nice. The only con we have is with team/locals (WALK ON WARRIORS), they don't have them chrono and they are firing really hot. Not good for young players, I had bloody welts from a distance. The fields are fun but not worth getting hurt over, rather drive an hour and let the kids enjoy it, and want to continue to play PB, This place can be a really nice place if they get rid of that sorry team.
Last edited on Saturday, November 13th, 2010 at 3:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Impulse 4 Wednesday, August 11th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 25th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Orlando Paintball sports complex, Hurricanes, Combat Zone, OCP
Directions
to the Field:
West from 95 onto hwy 44 on the left a few miles west.
Review: Went at the hottest time of the year, and the slowest time for paintball. My crew and I thought the field was well set up, and the staff was very helpful, even after I told them we were opening a field. The female ref was out-standing. She had no problem keeping up with the goings on. The owner, was also very helpful, with any questions I had. When the weather turned for the worse, we played until it began to lightning. The ref called the game until the weather got better. So, all and all nice crew, good ref, and well set up. If you feel the urge, try this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

milincolin22 Sunday, November 29th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 28th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
n/a
Review: I was reading all these reviews and i would say they are outdated, this field is sick. The fields website does not do justice just needs updating.. Its everything all in one, sweet air field, ( witch they change up time to time to keep it intresting). They are all clean and pumped up, awsome senerio field with lots of room for open battle or partys, and a great woodsball course. They do offer lunch and snack and drinks upon request.The best thing is how they make make everyone feel comfortable and relaxed,dosent matter if your a pro or trying it out your first time.The guys their know their stuff and will do whatever it takes to get you working if you have problems, they know everything about evey gun. They refs are awsome and are actually players so they know what to do and look for. we are their almost every saturday happy painting.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonfl1 Monday, June 15th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 13th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Various fields such as Orlando Paintball, Epik, and Wayne's World. Other fields may have better staff or more polished facilities, but for a place of it's size X-Plex has a surprisingly good field layout that accomodates both woods players and speedballers.
Review: I captain the scenario team 'Team GDR', and my co-captain and I discussed using X-Plex as a monthly training site for our team due to it's cost and location. After taking a day to check the field out, we brought our team there on June 13th for a full-on team practice. On the positive side, the field is pretty laid back and it's easy to feel at home here as you have players of all skill levels coming out. In addition to the woodsball field that we used, they have an excellent airball field. The prices are excellent when compared to any other paintball field, and they do airsmithing, rentals, HPA fills, and sell food and drinks on-site, which is a nice touch for such a small place.

On a negative note, this field has SERIOUS safety issues that must be addressed before they either get sued or start losing business: First and foremost, the field persists in using young, inexperienced and undisciplined refs, even after all the complaints that they get. Two people on my team, myself included, had bloody welts (check this out: http://www.gdrclan.com/uploads/bloodywelts.jpg) because the 'refs' failed to chrono every person, and at least two people they finally did chrono were firing hot. In fact, not one ref prompted us to chrono- I had to tell my guys to do it and help them chrono myself! Any field I've ever been to in my life does 100% chrono overseen by a field ref before you step anywhere near the field. With these refs, they could seriously not have cared less. But instead of making the older and more experienced members of their field team actually ref, which is what should be happening, they leave that work to the younger members who could care less so the older guys can just hang out, work on guns and play.

The paint that we purchased was also a general problem, as it appears that they store the stuff in hot sheds with no climate control. I know this because the staffer giving us paint went through 3-4 cases before getting to one that wasn't sweating oil heavily. This results in players getting paint that doesn't hold up as long as it could otherwise, especially during summer conditions like the ones we have here in Florida. In fact, when I got my case the bags weren't sweating, but within an hour I was noticing swelling in the unopened bags. When going to a place like Orlando Paintball or Wayne's World, I've never had this problem even in hotter and wetter conditions over longer time periods! The staffer I dealt with even acknowledged that this problem has been brought up to the owner, who has chosen to do nothing about it! His words, not mine...

On a last negative note, THEY ALLOW ALCOHOL ON SITE and I do know that at least one staffer was drinking. While a non-playing staffer drinking doesn't really freak me out, the ref safety situation combined with the fact that they allow beer or any other alcohol anywhere near a paintball field at all boggles my mind and makes me wonder how they are insured...

On the gameplay side our team had serious issues with the inexperienced refs, which again seemed to be the major cause of our problems all day. For example, they actually stopped a game right in the middle of it, and while my team gathered up in the middle of the woodsball field wondering what happened, the refs had no coordination or idea what was going on and could only shrug their shoulders for about 5 minutes while we baked in the sun. This is a shame because the physical field itself is actually quite well laid out, with plenty of room for maneuver, ambush spots, buildings, choke points, etc. So the problems we had were not with the field, but with the staff running it.

On the whole, we will go back to X-Plex as a team and give them a second chance because it is the cheapest and closest thing available to us that fits our needs. But I say this knowing that I am going to have to be personally responsible for the safety of my guys, as the field is not. In their defense, a staff member there did apologize to us at the end of the day offering to hook us up next time we come out. But the other side of the apology was that instead of trying to address issues like the ref situation, he preferred to acknowledge it as an 'it is what it is' kind of situation instead of committing to fix it, which seems to be their overall attitude at X-Plex. But if the owners would just address the problems, they'd have a serious winner on their hands...

My overall rating is a 4, because the physical field itself is pretty cool and the pricing is very fair. The field loses the rest on safety concerns and the lack of interest in addressing them, the continued use of young kids as refs, and the allowing of alcohol on site.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 16th, 2009 at 5:36 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Tomfreeusa Friday, May 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Orlando Paintball, Epik
Review: This is one of the nicest woodsball fields around. Not only this is a great place to play, the people and the owners are very friendly and helpful. It is a very family friendly place. My son and I come here every other month and our experience is always great. They have food (burgers, hot dogs and chips) that is reasonably priced. The only weak link is the refs that are rather young, but there has been marked improvements since our first visit. Prices for entry and paint is reasonable
Last edited on Saturday, May 2nd, 2009 at 10:36 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

no1isnormal Friday, November 28th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: November 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wayne's world of paintball. Many rogue paintball fields.
Review: I've been playing this field since it was first started. It is my team's, (Walk On Warriors) home field. The field is in the process of moving next door. Our new airball field is under construction, and should be up and running within the next month or so. It is regulation size, and some of the airball teams that frequent the field are going to help set the bunkers up in a great, playable format. The woods field(s) are, as always growing every month. The lake field is awesome, and the rest of the field will be built up to match it for our scenario games we hold every month. I have read all the complaints about our refs. We are continuing to work with them, and they are getting a lot better. And unlike many reviews said none of them are SEVEN! They range in age from 14-50. The prices have gone up a little, but where in the U.S.A. haven't prices been rising?

Full gear rental, (marker, mask, 500 balls, field use, and air) - 40
Bring your own gear, buy our paint - 17
Bring your own gear, and paint - 25

We also have almost any tool you could imagine to repair, or adjust most any marker.
I am out at the field every weekend, and offer service on just about every marker out there for a minimal cost. I have not found a marker that left the field unfixed. I also will diagnose your marker problems at no charge. I am fluent in every marker from Spyders, through Shockers, Dm's, and angels.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dorito29 Sunday, November 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: This feild is great, they are in the middle of moving next door, but they have rebuilt the lakeball feild and it is INSANE, I've never seen anything of its kind. And I hear the new airball feild is going to be regulation size and its going to be great. Prices are also fairly cheap so it is affordable.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rlfan#1 Monday, August 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I think that Xplex is the best field ive played at and the fields are one of a kind. The onlt thing I can complain about is the refs. Besids that the shop is cool the rules are fair the prices are great and the food is awesome and cheap. I am a constant player of that field and I go every week. I give the field a 9. it would be a ten but the refs are really poor.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

scout312 Thursday, July 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Orlando Paintball, IRP, Wanes World, Full ThrottlePaintball
Review: The field was cool, but the refs were realy bad. A friend of mine told me he has been there a few times and told me to check it out. Now i wish i did't. it was a total loss of a day. i wish i had just gone to Full Throttle. The ref are way to young and made calls that only helped there friends. I know you want to help out a buddy but come on it got a little uncalled for. there was suff all over the field that i could have hurt myself on i even found bits of metal outh there. the only way I would play there agean would be of they got older staff and cleaned up the field a bit. But on a good note the guy at the counter was realy nice and we could bing our own paintballs.
Last edited on Thursday, July 17th, 2008 at 12:43 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hkillla16 Monday, June 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CFP and Hypersports
Review: This field WAS clearly an amazing field to run drills and practice at for a good amount of time. Unfortunately they seem to be loosing X-ball business and overall business do to un friendly staff and or refs that are to young and are not familiarize with the standereds of checking someone and or filling bunkers.

It's fair to say 3/4 ths of X-plexs refs are under the age of 13.

Another pointer is the field, Many ant piles dirt tree roots.

Prices are not TOO bad 45 for rec and 55 for bronze how ever the 20 dollar entry seems un fair to this day. Because they expect you to provide reffs and blow up your own bunkers.

Hope this helped

EDIT: Netting is also needing repairs there were almost two dangerous encounters.
Last edited on Monday, June 2nd, 2008 at 3:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media