paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Linglestown Paintball Field / Linglestown Paintball Field / Linglestown Paintball Field / Linglestown Paintball Field

Linglestown Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
18Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 717-541-8323
Address: 5974 Linglestown Road
Linglestown, Pennsylvania 17112
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Jeep Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wanna Play Paintball, Skirmish
Directions
to the Field:
It is best to google maps it, it is pretty easy once you have been there, Waatch the turn at the top of the hill it is easy to miss. Field is right outside of Linglestown it self on the outskirts of Harrisburg
Review: Understand the the field was once known as the Foxhole. A field that once had a great reputation, That business was sold and ran into the ground, the fields neglected, debt and was abandoned by most original staff and players, Hense some bad reviews. I have seen The field in its glory and its fall an now its resurrection as the original owners are back and the core of its original REFs are slowly filtering back in. I expect lots of positive changes in the future. Currently here is my review.

SAFETY, STAFF, RULES
This field is better than average in enforcement of common safety rules. It is barrel sock only for a barrel blocking device as well as field paint only. Field paint is alittle more expensive here but Not as expensive as some others locally either. Tourney attitude is NOT TOLERATED on this field. The penalty chair is a good idea, in my opinion, a little public humilation for risking safety builds character. Very family new player oriented. The REFing is a mixture of old school woods ball and new players. They are mature and safety conscious, and dedicated. The chaff is now gone. newer refs (and players) are taken under wing and shown how to improve. Privately owned markers are asked to be chronographed. teams are well marked and kept even. A 10 foot safety rule is always in effect. Standard paintball and airsoft rules apply.

HOURS of OPERATION,
The field starts very early in the morning for most people, IT is not uncommon to be at the fields at 7:00 am usually runs as long as there are players or dusk.

PROSHOP
I can not comment on the proshop as I have not been there personally but has a good rep on the field. Services include a HOT FOOD counter with refreshments. CO2 and very soon HPA (estimates are end of APRIL) Staff can usually do minor field repairs to gear.

FACILITIES
5-6 woods ball fields 1 airsoft field (C3 Air soft is building this)
Overflow parking is kind of far away so if you are not out to the fields early prepare to walk. The road in is torn up but work is being done to improve it.

Due to the interms owner neglect some fields are not yet on par with what they could be. work is rapidly improving the fields, a differance is seen from week to week. by the REFs (did I mention dedicated) Do not be put off by the run down appearance positive changes are in motion. Bring your cammies because this is a woodsball oriented field,
This field does NOT cater to the speed ball crowd, nor does it want to.

Rentals are available but I am not familiar with them on this field.

PLAYERS
I have not had a problem with any player on this field since the old staff has returned. problems are headed off and rules are enforced reasonably and with aplome. Everyone is on the same page with the goal of everyone having a good time.

I rated a 7 it will soon be a 10 again




Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GetSum319 Wednesday, October 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 1st, 2001
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: "Pop" is back...
Back from the Land of Geritol, Florida!!
That's right the Family owned Biz is back!!!

Can't use the Foxhole name anymore.
But we are back.

I used to be the Foxhole's Head Ref, Danny as Don (Pop) called me and still does.
My Wife Judy ran the Concession Stand, (The Sloppy Dog) Her and I faded away, right before the new owners took over.
I'm coming back as a regular ref and Judy is back in the Food Area.

__________________________________________________________


"The Fields"
6 of the them...

3 Wooded Fields...

"The 1st Field"
Hmmmmmmm?
Wonder why it is called the "1st Field"?
Every group starts their day on this field, when they arrive for a day of Paintball.
Lots of cover on this field - trees, brush, bunkers and some stand up little shacks.
2 Flags on field.
Go get your opponents flag and bring it back to your starting Flag Station. If the other team has your flag, go get it and have both flags in your flag station to win.

"The Lumber Jack"
A wooded field, but on the smaller size of wooded fields. Games are usually fast here.
Decent cover.
1 Flag, Center of the field.
Both teams go for the flag, moving it forward to place it in your opponent's Flag station.

"The Trenches"
The Pride and Joy of the Foxhole in the day.
Lots of cover - Bunkers, Machine Gun Nests, 2 Towers and lot of brush.
1 Flag at the top of the hill protected by the Main Command Post and the Towers.
Team at the top protects the flag for 15 minutes and the team starting at the bottom of the hill, only has to touch the flag.
My opinion the Best Field at the Foxhole.

Rest of the Fields:

"King of the Mountain"
Bunkers galore.
1 Flag, center of the Field on a huge mount of dirt.
Both teams go for the flag, moving it forward to place it in your opponent's Flag station.

"The Berms"
Berms of dirt are every where, goes against Tournie Paintball tactics.
'Always shoot out the sides of cover. Never shoot over top bunkers or hills'
1 Flag, center of the Field.
Both teams go for the flag, moving it forward to place it in your opponent's Flag station.

"The Castle"
A 2 story building in the center of field with flag Station on top.
Lots of bunkers, stand up shacks and medium amount of brush on this field.
Both teams go for the flag, moving it forward to place it in your opponent's Flag station.


The other day
We were tearing down an old field to create a new one. That will bring his total fields to 7. This one will be a Larger sized Speedball, but not like a Tournament Speedball field.

1 Nov 06
Case of 2000 Paintballs is being lowered to $45.00.

Spring of 2007
Pop is buying an Air Compressor.



Rules for every field:
1 ) "10 Foot Rule" - no shooting anyone within 10 foot.
2 ) "Time Out Chair" - Break a Barrel Plug or Goggle Safety rule and you sit here.
Break it again and you are done playing for the day, pack your crap up you might as well go home.
3 ) "Surrender Rule" - If someone comes up behind you and makes you surrender, you are not allowed to spin and open fire.
Refs should be watching for this action, and should be on top of it to prevent tempers from Flaring up.
4 ) No smoking anywhere, except in Staging Areas.
5 ) No Tournament style playing, meaning try not to overshoot people.
6 ) No "Dead Man Walking", if you don't know what it is, don't worry about it.
7 ) When on the playing fields, all directions and rules come from Field Refs.


Last edited on Wednesday, October 18th, 2006 at 1:26 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Craig Niland Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wannaplay paintball- Excellent fields.
Review: *A note, the first half of this a bit of a rant on the field owner, which I've decided to remove, for now, seeing how it was my personal opinion, and seemed to have little bearing on the review of the field itself.



Linglestown paintball is back under management by Don. Entrance is $15, which covers green fees and unlimited Co2 on one tank. He has plans for HPA next year. Stinger is $55 a case, Danny says Don plans on lowering it to $45, but he sells other paint at the store too. The road coming in got some brute repairs, but still be careful bringing a midsized in.
He has 6 fields, "1st field", lumber jack, trenches, mounds, castle, and "Don's field, AKA King of the Hill". The "1st field is just that, the first field you always start on. I like it; lots of pillboxes and log cover. It's capture the flag; bring theirs to yours, and vice-versa.
Lumber Jack is a faster field. All the cover is solid logs, and it's relatively small compared to the other fields, and very open. Center flag, bring to other side's starting station.
Treches is attack defend, on a giant field with some hard cover, and lots of downed trees. Camo rules of this field. The flag is right in front of the base, and you must touch it, or defend it to win. It has some pillboxes, log cover, and a fort.
Mounds is just that; a bunch of mounds with grass on them. At the 50 is a solid long line line of dirt that both teams can hide behind.
Castle is larger, on an open field, with a kinda two story castle in the center. On one side is a row of pill boxes, and the other side has a bunch of random barrels and such. Opposite starting stations, center flag. Bring it to opposite team's starting station. The winner is the more aggresive team.
Don's field, the newest, is really small. It has I believe a total of 14 bunkers. 4 of them are mounds of dirt with trenches in front of them, but they're usually filled with a foot of water or so. In the center is a mound of dirt about 9 feet tall, with a flag. Bring it to the other team's starting station. It's a speedball type field with a ghetto build. Be aggesive, and the angles will pay off for experienced players.
So, there's an overview of the fields.
The refs: They're usually older guys. They ref rec games, so don't be expecting them to haul dumper and make split second calls. It's pretty laid back, as long as you don't play on/wipe, or use your own, non-field paint, you won't have a problem. They just kinda start the games and make sure nobody takes off masks, and that all the rentals are working.
So there you have it, it's Linglestown Paintball, if you have $, go ahead and play. It is more directed towards the rec ball crowd, and woodsballers. Hopefully they really do get HPA in Spring of 07.
Last edited on Thursday, November 9th, 2006 at 12:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hickboix720 Monday, October 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Stonemak, EMR, Skirmish(regret entirely), AEL, and various homemade fields
Review: Lingelstown paintball is great for the newer players and older ones too. It brings the true meaning of the sport back. Family owned and operated. The saftey is the main concern of the staff is the greatest, if you don't think so go away. During their saftey briefing they explain that there is a ten foot rule to prevent people from bunkering first timers and giving them a good experience without all of the nasty bunkering welts. This to me is one of the best fields I've ever played at for its quality and family like atmosphere. The refs carry extra markers and tanks to the field so if you run out of air or have a malfunction theres a marker waiting for you to play on with. The only downfall is that there isn't any HPA. Which isn't much of a problem if you have a back up marker that is co2 compatible. Yes the fields are in poor condition from the past owners neglect but they are stil making improvements. This field really exemplifies what the sport is about and it doesnt matter if your a seasoned pro or a fresh player. This is a field where everyone is family.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

evileee Sunday, September 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
new to pa but have played at numerous fields in the new england area
Review: First and foremost let me say that i did not stay and play at this field for reasons i'll explain.
1-when you arrive at the field, you are required to park your car and haul your gear down a very washed out road.
2-when you finally get to the staging area, it looks as if the place has been abandoned for sometime-trash was strewn all about, tables falling apart, the roofs over some of the tables were partially collapsed and seemed unsafe.
3-no nitro fills! nothing on the web site mentioning this. now i have read that this field was a work in progress for some time now. old owners buying back the field or something. I have been playing for over 15 years, and this is the only field i have been to that i did not feel safe playing at, and i have played on many outlaw fields. perhaps the new or old owners need to close down and put a little effort and money into this place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

PhantomJM Monday, May 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wanna-Play Paintball
Revolution Paintball
Review: I've played at this field ever since the original owners ran it the first time around (see Foxhole Paintball). Once the field was sold, the place really went to Hell (they ran it into the ground) and I quit playing there. Now that the original owners took over again, they're slowly trying to get the place back to where it once was. Only a few of the old fields are playable right now and they don't have HPA fills yet. They're taking their time and buying what they need as they can afford it rather than taking on a huge debt again. However, the paint is reasonable (PMI usually) and fees are decent. It's not the same as it once was (they'll get it back in shape eventually). At least the staff was friendly and the refs were ok. I'll give the place a 5 right now with room to grow.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BBornman Thursday, May 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Revolution- a good place to play, somewhat geared more toward the speedball crowd.
Taneytown- very nice, but a drive from central PA
Skirmish- good for big events (D Day) but otherwise expensive and slow between games
EMR- great for big games (castle) but a long ways off from Linglestown
Jack Frost- Nice fields, but long drive.
Review: THe family that runs Linglestown Paintball is a great bunch. Very friendly, safety conscious, and really tries to make it fun for everyone. I have a season pass and play here almost all the time, it's always fun.

They have a good selection of fields like trenches (attack and defend), dirt mounds, lots of varied bunkers and small buildings. It's all woods and very much geared toward rec play. Prices are very good. FPO but prices are reasonable at $55 per case for decent paint. Usually have the grill going and this is a nice feature.

Overall a very enjoyable place to play. Great for rec players who don't want to get lit up playing speedball with guys shooting high end electro markers (not that there's anything wrong with that, if it's your thing). Very good for church groups, work groups, etc.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gggplaya Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ambush, Velocity, Skirmish.
Review: Overall a very good field. With cheap PB prices for a field. I bought a 2000 round case of PMI rampage paint for $55. Not bad. About a $20 markup over what i pay in a local paintball store for PMI paint. But that's expected because that's how they make money. Pb's didn't seem old or dimpled. Looked the same as fresh paint. I've paid more than that for crappy seconds paint at other fields, with inconsistant size, dimples, junk paint. I was very happy to see that linglestown used PMI paint. Staff was friendly, gave us tips. Had several fields. Including a lots of forts and bunkers, building, trenches. Very friendly people. The owner gave me free hot dogs. Not a bad field for a group events. I used my own guns but they had nice PMI Pirahna Rental Guns. Not Model 98's like most fields. SO you can shoot faster.

Given the good upkeep of fields and structures. Also the friendly staff and fairly priced paint. I gave this field a 10. IF you go, you will have a good time.
Last edited on Monday, April 25th, 2005 at 9:39 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media