paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Lehigh Valley Paintball Field / Lehigh Valley Paintball Field / Lehigh Valley Paintball Field / Lehigh Valley Paintball Field

Lehigh Valley Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
37Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 610-965-0377
Address: 405 South 5th Street
Emmaus, Pennsylvania 18049
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
CJL425 Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cobra Command
Review: LVP is a great field, with great guys. The prices could be alil better but if you go on a BYOP and buy their paint then the prices aren't that bad. With the new turf the field looks very fast and the bunker setup is great. I can't wait to play again!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

armyranger1 Thursday, March 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none , just LVP
Review: I went to lvp two or three saturdays ago and had a blast. I got to play at least 8 games. There was a birthday party there but they used the smaller field the whole time. The staff was very nice as long as you followed the rules.

The refs enforced the barrel sock rule to their fullest power they could. No matter what, even if you weren't playing a game you had to have the mask on. If your were out side the game , just watching, and you were five feet away you still needed your mask on. Tere is even a sign.

From what i've heard lvp is cheaper than Skirmish, but skirmish is much bigger than lvp. On bring your own paint days admission is $27 and a regular day admission is $17 and a basic 2000 case of paint is about $45.

The biggest thing that I think they needed to improve on is takeng the woodchips out and getting turf or something that has traction. I fell once on the break and it wasn't very fun.

They always asked if the sides were uneven if it was ok with you and if it wasn't they would change it up for you or you could wait until the next game or wait for players to come off the field. Patience is a virture.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

gsumner21051 Sunday, February 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Stonemak (Berwick)
Command Post (Wilkes-Barre/Dallas)
E.M.R. (Union Dale)
Review: Before I wrote my review, I've also read the other reviews on this field. Most of what I've read is true, some is unconfirmed, and some is made up. Here's my experience...

I've reffed for Command Post and EMR. When someone says that reffing is an easy job, they're right to an extent. The ref staff at LVP hasn't given me much trouble. I've called for a paint check on myself and others a few times with no response. Other times the ref is listening and gets right on top of it. It also depends on the ref staff that's on the field. I noticed some do a better job than others. That happens.

I haven't been at LVP for a tournament, so I don't know how they've been run. Reffing for a few tournaments myself I know how problems can arise and things can change.

From talking to the staff, the floor IS GOING TO BE REPLACED. Currently there are wood chips on the floor. No traction, hard to play on, moves around and exposes the concrete floor, gets on all your clothes and in all your equipment. I have been told there are a few different possibilities, including but not limited to a foam/rubber type floor or turf.

Every time people walk off the field, a ref has been near the exit to remind players about a barrel blocking device. Someone doesn't cover their barrel, the refs have been right on top of it. Today I saw a ref run over to a kid with a Tippmann and put his hand over the barrel until the gun was back inside the net to be made safe.

Dry firing... first time I've had a problem with it was today. Kids with a rental Ion dry firing to see what they could do and show off. The guns were safe, but it was still annoying as all hell. There's no reason at all for dry firing, especially not in the staging area.

The pro shop is pretty well stocked, prices are reasonable on most things.

Paint... for a whole month the Origin "Basic Training" seemed pretty crappy. Didn't break, egg shaped, dimples, different sizes ball-to-ball. I was more than willing to spend the extra $5 to get the Origin "Classic" which not only is a higher grade of paint but didn't have the problems of the cheap stuff. They probably buy their paint in mass quantity, over a skid (100 cases give or take) at a time. The paint probably sat for a while and wasn't taken care of too well. While playing today I used FRESH Basic Training with no problems at all. Worked just as well as the higher grade.

The part about this place that I absolutely hate is not being able to have traction while walking anywhere, not just on the field. I wear work boots on the field to keep wood chips from getting into my shoes, but have to watch when walking (especially up and down the staris to and from the staging area) so that I don't hurt my equipment or even worse myself. This could be solved pretty cheaply by cleaning the floor and repainting the floor, using paint with some sand mixed with it. Even cheaper way out is to get some more carpets, even to use cheap carpet remnants.

Overall, this field isn't bad. I've played in much worse places. If you have problems with not having traction on the field, remember that everyone else has the same problems. No big issues with the refs, competitive prices.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

smokeyou Friday, February 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, poco loco, cobra command.
Review: This place blows plain and simple! My friends and I went to lvp recently because it was raining, big mistake. At first glace everything seemed ok. The pro shop is nicely stocked and well lit with pepsi and stuff to drink. So we all paid and took the crapy paint they gave us to the staging area. They have a bunch of tables and a self serve fill station which was nice but while we were setting up there were a bunch of kids dry firing their markers with NO BARREL PLUGS ON! And none of the "reffs" (if you can call them that) were anywhere to be found. Its an indoor place so I know they could hear it. Anyways we got our stuff together and walked downstairs to the field. I swear we must have stood there for fifteen minutes before one of the reffs came over and asked if we were ready to play! No you idiot we're just standing here for our health. So we get onto the field and the floor is covered in saw dust and smells like piss and got all in our shoes. Not my idea of a good start but it is raining and we did already pay so we started playing. While we are playing the reffs only contribution to the games was to start them. The rest of the game they were standing around talking to eachother and just not getting involved what so ever. What kind of crap is that! I mean seriously I probubly could have taken my mask off in the middle of a game without them ever noticing. We continued to play for about six hours and I think we only got about seven games in! This is totally unacceptable. And when we did get on the field the teams were seriously uneven. Five guys with shockers, timmy's and angels against five guys with tippmans and spyders. My philosophy has always been if you don't have something nice to say then don't say anything but if this review saves one guy from going through what we went through then it was worth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

predator23 Friday, February 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish - Disneyland of paintball, but can also be really disorganized and slow playing
Poco Loco - Sucks
Splatter (before they shut down) - Just OK
Review: This is a case of the good the bad and the ugly.

The good :
- I like the airball setup and the particular items they've chosen to place on their fields.
- The owner/manager is great with customer service.
- They seem to pack a lot into a small building
- Wood chips are safe to fall on
- Shop has some decent gear
- Rental equipment is pretty good
- Relatively cheap paint

The bad :
- The wood chips are tough to run on, no grip, you slide around.
- Some dangerous stuff on the fields, exposed pipes, etc.
- Disorganized. Guys just standing around waiting to play. Refs not taking charge.
- 15 bucks an hour with a 15 dollar minimum to fix guns? Skirmish fixed my gun and my buddies gun for free, we tipped the techs, but still.
- Mostly kids playing. I don't particularly mind this overall, but it can be tedious. Where's the 20 somethings?
- No balance in games. You had 5 kids with Intimidators and Angles vs 5 newbies with rentals. WTF? It's like me picking a fight with an 8th grader.
- No storage area. You just leave your gear in an open area upstairs where any 16 year old punk could come and grab it. Build some cheapo lockers or something!

The Ugly :
- Refs : This deserves it's own section.
- One ref to 12 players? You should probably have more than 1 per field.
- Especially when the one ref starts the game and hides behind his shield while he talks to his buddy outside the net. That is absolutely unacceptable. Not looking at the field, not checking players, not looking for wipers, etc. WTF is that? Luckily I wasn't playing on that field, or I would have shot the ref myself for screwing around. It's bad for safety, it's bad for quality of game play, it's bad for customer service. HORRIBLE. Honestly I wanted to say something to the ref and tell him to get his ass in gear, but I didn't want to get thrown out.
- No voices on them. You couldn't always tell when the game started, they couldn't make themselves heard across the din.
- No running or hustling for calls. Just lazy in general.
- No safety enforcement outside the nets. Guys walking around with no barrel socks, guys dry firing in the upstairs area, I put my mask on basically the whole time because of this.

I don't mean to harp on the refs, but holy god are these guys just bad. If they had these guys running a tourney no wonder the other guy on this site killed their performance. Reffing is an easy job. Goggles, barrel socks, no wiping, check players. On small fields like they have you don't even need to run much. Refs play such a huge part in the game. You get a good ref and you have a much better chance of playing good games.


Overall this place has a lot of potential, but falls short.
- GET A NEW FLOORING SURFACE. Turf, field turf, rubber mats, something else.
- GET NEW REFS. Or kick the butts of the ones you have.
- ENFORCE SAFETY. 14 year olds with Timmy's walking around with no barrel socks is a recipe for disaster.

Basically it's for kids and people who don't want to drive to Skirmish or Poco or some other place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
8 Comments - Add Comment

uwsh Thursday, February 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Alpha Paintball (outdoor)
Review: My friends and I went to this field and had a great time. The people there were nice and friendly. They helped us when we needed it. The store had the stuff I was looking for and what they didn't had they told me they could get it for me. I had an awesome experience at this field and recommend it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

soontobecocker Monday, January 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cobra Command Paintball Park (9 out of 10) - I feel that this is a much better field. This is irregardless that I am sponsored by them. The courses are much better.

Del Hobbies (9 out of 10) - Very good place to play. Good fields and good refs. But kinda far, nonetheless great place.

Paintball On the Fly (7 out of 10) - A decent place to play. Has a 4-man indoor. Very clean and run very well. But now that Cobra has an indoor 5-man and not a 3-man anymore as well as there future exspansion, I'd say that Cobra is a better place to play.

Capt 'N' Carls (8 out of 10) - Has some nice outdoor fields. From what I remember it was run fairly smooth. I heard that they might be getting an indoor reball course, but dont quote me on it...If they do that might be something for any player to check out.

Review: I was at the facility for a recent tournament. And the following was my experience:

Cons:
- The field is a hampster cage...literally. Absolute worst terrain to try and move on, as well as dangerous, with exposed poles placed throughout the course.
- The refs acted very unprofessional, which resulted in the tournament taking 14 and a half hours. This is completely unacceptable.
- The refs were either unexperienced and/or new and/or just bad. A response I got from one as to why he didnt check a player was because the ref didnt feel like getting shot.
- Paint was posted on their website that it was going to be $45. When I got to LVP they charged $60. Once again, unacceptable.
- Checking a gun for bounce is an acceptable thing to do, but when it is 2-3 guns this prolongs the time of the tournament and wastes paint, which was already high in price.
- Customer Service was a little on the lacking side.
- The preparation took for this tournament took way too long. The captains meeting was SUPPOSED to start at 8:30, but it just so happened got pushed back to 9:30.
- There was a very limited amount of energy drinks and food available. I know this may not seem like an important enough point, but when there is supposed to be 22 teams of atleast 4 guys...thats 88 people. This is not including spectators, alternates, staff. If it were me running this then I wouldve made sure that there would be enough of a supply of refreshments to please the maximum amount of people that would be allowied in the facility.
- The turnaround time inbetween games lasted a few minutes, which may not seem alot, but when there is 154 games, time tends to add up.
- The knowledge of the refs seemed to limited when it came to penalization. For instance, when the game is about to start, your ARM is what signals the start of a game. Not when you say GO! Also the refs need to learn when to pull players for the correct penalization. Like when a player is hit, and he is WAITING (not shooting) for a ref to check him, you have to check him for the hit that he claims to have. YOU DO NOT PULL ANOTHER ONE OF HIS PLAYERS because the person that claims to have been hit has to wait for the ref to check him!
- The space set for the teams would not have even been adequate had there been 15 teams.

Pros:
- The air compressors worked well, they gave me no trouble at all.
- Thats about it.

If you ever consider to come here just be prepared for the worst. I will never come back for many reasons, some of which aren't listed. Take in mind this is all my opinion.
Last edited on Monday, January 30th, 2006 at 5:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

pulsepaintball Tuesday, January 24th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none yet
Review: Hey, this is Kyle I play for the pulse paintball team and go to LVP about three times a mounth, and if you want to play at a feild with nice courses and customer service than LVP is the place to go. They also have great prices its only 7 bucks on thursdays which is really cheap. And they also have an awsome store with resonable prices. Pluse they also hold some pretty sick tourneys. The only negative thing is that the wood chips get slippy, but you get use to it pretty quick. Overall this is a great feild, and everyone there is really nice especilly Brett and Mike. I give it a 10 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

killer chiuahua Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 31st, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Alpha (much better, less money) cobra command (more money,better fields) Iorn triangle (more for scenario players) Skirmish ($$$ but far superior)
Review: This place is ok if you want to play on the same two fields over and over again. They only have two fields and one is really small. So if there are more than ten people playing you have to wait forever to get on the field. Also the refs don't make much effort to keep the games rotating so you have to bug them a lot to get the next game started. Did I mention the floor is covered in wood chips? One minute you're running and all of the sudden you can slip and bang yourself up on the concrete under the woodchips. Last summer I fractured my wrist because of it! Over all rating 1 out of 10 The players are mostly young rich kids with fancy guns and poor attitudes. If you want field variety and better customer service go somewhere else.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Reid1745 Sunday, November 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 20th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
skirmish-too expensive, but more fields
Review: i love LVP. its a bit small at 1 X-ball field and a normal supair field, but its not bad. the surface isn't that bad once you get used to it, i never fall and it makes for easier sliding. it just takes awhile to get out of your shoes and socks.
you can only use barrel socks, which is pretty normal for fields because plugs aren't the safest.
the only complaint i would have is the judges. they're slow when you call for a paintcheck, and sometimes will call you out on a bounce because they don't check
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media