paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Depot Paintball Field / Paintball Depot Paintball Field / Paintball Depot Paintball Field / Paintball Depot Paintball Field

Paintball Depot Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
63Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (973) 584-2220
Address: 1204 Union Valley Road
spotswood, New Jersey 07480
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
jonnymoon5 Thursday, June 25th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
abc paintball
Review: The fields were good fields but some bad bunkers in bad areas
The refs though didnt know how to ref at all. they didnt care about safety nor did they chrono guns. The refs gave away positions to other players and they took masks off during play time. they also didnt do paint checks or call people out unless they were right next to it. there were many cheating players that the refs didnt notice.
They had a small expensive proshop on the site but there was nothing useful
The only bathrooms were in a separate building next to the parking lot
They also ordered food from a nearby pizza restaraunt. it was the only good part about my experience there.
they only had 2 fields that were actually playable. one was a woodsball and the other was a speedball. the woodsball had many dead patches of trees and other things.
the speedball was a small field with 4 or 5 inflatables.
the rental guns kept jamming up on me when i was playing. i went through 3 guns while i was there
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mike Honcho Tuesday, May 26th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, I am not from the area
Review: Overall my impression of the field was lukewarm. I'll break my review down into different sections.

Safety:
Decent, not great, not terrible. Mostly, I saw a lot of players on the field taking their masks off and I often saw refs on live fields before the game with their masks up. It was a "do as I say and not as I do" mentality. Maybe they did not stress how much damage a paintball could do to one's eyes or maybe it was because they only had one ref for a group of 40 walkon players but I consistently had to yell across the field to tell players to put their mask on during a live game. There was no excuse for the ref not putting his mask down when walking on to the field before a game.

Rental Equipment:
Poor and out of repair. They have a fleet of Pro-Carbines that really need to be replaced. I had my own gun but had to use a rental at one point when I ran out of air and I was really disappointed. Granted, the rentals have probably been through hell but I couldn't hit anything with them.

Fields
They had a lot of fields and they were fun for the most part. The "speedball" field was in a low-lying area and it must be eternally wet because it smelled really bad. Rotten, is probably the best word for it. There were a few spools, some piles of barrels and a few air bunkers but most of the good bunker positions left you standing in a pile of smelly mud. Not fun at all.

I would say only slightly better than average because they did have a decent number of fields and the refs were fair, chill and turned games over pretty quickly, but the lack of safety and the poor shape of the equipment left a little to be desired.

The paint at the field is also $80 or $85/case which is really expensive to me. The most I've paid at a field in VA is $60 and that's on the high end. If you have time you can get paint for $70/case in the pro shop which isn't too far away.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

El Machetero Tuesday, October 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, E-Jam
Directions
to the Field:
Look for the big White rock.
Review: I've been going here for a while, because it's 20 miles from my house and reasonably priced. Normally a case cost $85 (paintfield only), and standard -$30 rental (with all the goodies) and $20 if you own- admission price. The staff is mostly young, but when you need them you can always find someone (there is always more than enough orange shirts on weekends). The refs are easy going; they are willing to stand back and the players take charge and simply ref the games...equals more game time.

Watch out for bears! That's right they have 3 resident bears: Booboo is the only one I have seen. Booboo is small (still made me run, first time I ran into him...alone in the trail...s**** my pants almost!), harmless, and can be chased off. I hear that Mama bear and another bear -their names excape me- are a bit less intimidated by humans and will refuse to leave. I am assured that they are harmless, and have no reason (to date) to doubt otherwise! FIELD RULE: PLEASE DO NOT SHOOT THE BEARS WITH PAINTBALLS, THEY WILL ONLY BE MAD AND MIGHT BITE...DO YOU BLAME THEM! Booboo causes delays in games, and this weekend even forced us to another field; the other 2 bears will almost certainly force you to another field. I still think they should mention this in their safety briefings.

The fields are good, some better than others; my favorite is tent city. Generally speaking all of the fields provide a lot of good cover, are big, safe and fun. However, the limited numbers of fields tends to make players fall into the same bunkers and re-do the same strategies in attach or defense (I guess good for team practices). Personally, I like to switch it up to keep the mind fresh and create more interesting games, and dare I say it, more realistic to combat. There is a little mountain you have to hike to get to the best fields...everyone has a love-hate relationship with it.

Dave is really cool, he runs the show. I got a case of paintball stolen once, and he replaced it...need I say more. There is no "Pro-Shop" on premises but they do have one; at the actual field they have misc. items such as grips, vests, clothing, masks, candy, drinks etc...

I RECCOMEND THIS FIELD, FOR ITS STAFF AND LOCATION
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jcballer Saturday, October 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Overall: 7.5 / 10

Pros:

+ Pretty interesting fields, and a good number of them
+ Pretty decent equipment
+ Good deal on paint the day I was there ($65 / case)
+ Really nice players & staff
+ Good mix of newbies and veterans.

Cons:
+ Black bear lives in the area which holds up game play for 10 min while the refs scare it off
+ A little disorganized
+ Ref's were a little lazy

If it weren't 1hr 15min from NYC, I'd go all the time. I'd recommend the place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

k-tap Saturday, December 1st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have played no other fields in the area, but e-jam and NJ paintball club are close by.
Review: if you play speedball, don't go to Paintballdepot, but if you like woodsball, this is the place. the speedball field now has inflatables, though they have usualy been half inflated and drooping when i have been there. also the field can become very wet as it is at the bottom of a hill, by very wet i mean standing water in puddles. the woodsball field on the otherhand are amazing. theif two best fields are buirut, and thunder. buirut is a meduim sized field structured around a central clearing/ road like area with bunkers in the woods on both sides. the real challengethat makes this field fun is getting you team across this clearing into enemy territory and then flanking around. thunder is a very large field that is usualy played with an attack vs. defense type theme. the main attraction is a ridge on the back corner of the map that give the defending team a fortress like area.

prices: paintballdepot is on the expensive side and usually would be more expensive than e-jam which is nearby. but they do have many discount days during the year that makes it much cheaper than e-jam. for example they have a free play day, where all you have to pay for is paint, or half price days. they do paint gouge and a box of paint is about 80 bucks. they have a meager proshop type of thing that carries a few useful items, though i wouldn't buy anything major there like a barrel. they have a camo coverall rental for 6 bucks a day that i highly recommend, it allows you not to have to lug a change of clothes to the field. also they have a pod rental where yu a get a pouch and two pods for 5 bucks a day.

the refs i cannot say are the greatest. sometimes they have made illogical teams, like putting all the rentals on one side and all the experienced players on the other. also i have n0t seen them actually reffing a game very much, but this can attributed to the fact that the woodsball fields are very large and the ref can't be everywhere at once, also calling a paintcheck on "that guy in the camo" doesn't help much either. also they do not know how to organize a speedball game, the one time they attempted to make one while i was there they overcrowded the field, and i got shot in the back by my own teammates. they do stress safety though, i have seen people pulled from games because they walked through the paintball screen before putting there mask on.

all in all a pretty good woodsball field, if you go on the discount days. i give it a 7
Last edited on Sunday, January 13th, 2008 at 12:54 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

SSOK Wednesday, June 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Saftey: PBD's Saftey is... Lacking. Although they heavily enforce mask and barrel plug rules, they have one chrono that is on its last leg, and not much netting. My dads truck had a paintball shot (That you could tell came directly from above) on his windshield! Thankfully, no craks.

Fields; Woods, Great. I didnt get to try speedball.

Prices: Obnoxious.

Rules, not bad.

Proshop, A shack and trailer, littlerally. Although the owner mills around the place and does know alot about markers.

Refs: Some refs there are great, other are HORRIBLE. The refs are too far spread out though, and cannot see most of the field. And they will help new players, but are often ignorant to stupid things like leaking rentals, and using air soft guns on the field as back ups. Although there were a few really nice and mature refs there, too bad the other reffs dont look up to them.

Food, order pizza.

Players: Not bad. Alot of little kids, but most of them weren't bothering me the day I went. There was also a good number of adults there.

Overall, the owner needs to start spending some money on netting, the speedball field(Which looked like crap), the Proshop, and a few better refs while letting one or two go, as well as prices. Its not that they're lacking funds either, theres plenty of people there every weekend.
Last edited on Wednesday, June 13th, 2007 at 11:48 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Laxer22 Tuesday, April 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 30th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: Ok this was my first time paintballing but let me tell u, it was pretty bad. The prices were alright and the rental gun chopped sooooo much and the staff sucked. The refs were pretty bad all the players would just wipe off the paint and they wouldnt care. the speedball was not that good, it was so torn up and was just a hole bunch of barrels on a feild and wasnt too big. The woodsball was the only good part of this place, plenty of bunkers and pretty even. Even though it was my first time, i still new what was good or bad.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

misfit0022 Thursday, April 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Allstar-amazing indoor xball
Atlas-speedball, i think this is the best
Directions
to the Field:
Friend, Owner
Review: I work here now, so go. You Vs. Me.

The speedballfield is not Real speedball that you would expect, it is mostly wood bunkers, barrels. If you are into woodsball I would reccomend this field, otherwise try ejam indoor or altlas, and I am a speedball player. I mean if you are new to the sport than try this place, but if you are a serious speed ball player and want a good game with more experienced players, than this is not your place.

**EDIT=The field in the spring is not bad, so go in the spring for speedball
Last edited on Friday, April 18th, 2008 at 6:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

PBkidd122 Sunday, September 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
E-jamm indoor- best field ever been at
e ajmm outddor-veyy good
ABC-sux
skirmish-100 bucks a case!!!
paintball depot-decent
Review: I have to say that paintall depot was a fairly decent field. their woodsball field was exellent and their speedball course was "okay". you could also pizza from a local store wich was nice after a couple games of paintball.

however there were some things a didnt like. . . . . . first off, their REFS were juss plaing old lazy it took them forver to get the groups assorted and up the mountains to the playing field. yu get a strip pf tape with ur team color on to represent wich tram ur on and wen mine got chryched u could barely see it so i asked the REF fo a new one and he "ull be fine" so iw as like w/e. then wen i got into tthe game some dude on my team couldnt see wich teram i was on so he shot me from like 10 feet away . also they did a bad job of matching the teams up. i understand if like 5 guys come with eachother put them together but wen there are 15 guys who obviously arent togetther with scenario guns and grenades and and camo and big army boots and sniper guns u have to mix them around to make it fair... aparently not the put mostly all them vs. me and my 3 friends with little tippmanns and and spiders and some other kids with the same thing i mean.....COME ON!!!

now the speedball course is another issue it was about 3 45 and supposely the speedball cousre opense at 4.... we coudlnt go on until 4 30 because or the stupid bunkers werent blwn up and no ref wanted to go do it they had to argue. and finally wen we did get to go im not even kidding there had to be at least 30 kids on each side u had 5 6 7 people in each bunker and wen u got out i got atleast 6 or 7 bonus balls.

overall i think it was a decent course so i would five it 7.5 outta 10

(p.s. REFs dont check chronos i was in the chrono and the field limit is 300fps and a guy shot his gun between 370 -390 and juss walked out as if nothing happend).....................................OUCH!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alwaysonpoint Friday, July 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
EJAM 3
Review: This field is minutes from EJAM, which I play regularly. After playing here, I found myself longing for the attributes that I've come to enjoy so much at EJAM. To be fair, I only came here once, because my friends wanted to hit their scenario event. (I'll try anything once.) While one day is brief, it was enough to take note of some clear deficiencies.

The positive -The woods fields really are great. Lots of elevation and terrain changes. They seem to have the system of bunkers worked out very well. You're never out of options, but you are never completely safe. Refs and staff were good as well. I feel bad that I cannot give their field a good review.

The pricing, versatility, accomodations and logistics truly are a nightmare compared to EJAM. $85 for a case of paint doesnt even include the admission charge or the separate air charge. This may not be entirely unusual, but its definately a deterrant to repeat business. $100 is an expensive day at the field. It would be something entirely different if I could see where the profit was going, but unlike many other scenario events, I was very unimpressed. Their structures and facilities are dilapidated. They have ONE chrono machine, which continually flashed 'low-battery", ONE painfullly slow fill window, and ONE porta-john. They have NO food facilities and a not a single (AA) battery at the modest pro-shack(?). Furthermore, the props that they used were literally made out of tape and tin cookware. It only forces you to wonder where the money from that paint-gouging is going? No included services, no self-serve air, no running water, lockers etc --in short, no sense that your money is really going towards improving the field.

They really cant control the landscape, but its worth mentioning that you first have to lug your stuff from your car to the staging area. Then you must either leave it there unsecure, or tote it all the way back to your car. Then, if your playing woodsball, you have to hike 200 yards up a hill to get to the field. Need air or paint? You now have to hike all the way back down, and all the way back up again. Most of us wouldn't mind all that much, but smokers beware.

I did like the set-up of the large woods field and it was fun to play. The refs did do a good job, and handled themselves well in the face of a few guys that were jerks to them. All in all though, the quality and set-up of this field was bare minimum. Not what you would expect for the price. With upgrades, it could improve, but it is in real danger of being left behind by the new pricing, quality and convenience of fields like EJAM. EJAMs profile will bring more people to the sport, more often, while PBDepot's will tend to keep it a sport played occassionally or by those who can afford to dump serious cash into their hobbies. Since PBDepot and EJAM are only 2 miles from one another, the choice is pretty easy.
Last edited on Friday, July 28th, 2006 at 2:51 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media