paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Depot Paintball Field / Paintball Depot Paintball Field / Paintball Depot Paintball Field / Paintball Depot Paintball Field

Paintball Depot Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
63Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (973) 584-2220
Address: 1204 Union Valley Road
spotswood, New Jersey 07480
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
wolfpack64 Friday, May 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
N.J. paintball, Skirmish, Paintball Depot, Survival New York (now Cousin's), Old Knightbreed in Riverdale NJ. Allstar paintball.
Review: This field is inconsistent some times they are disorganized and sometimes they kind of run smoothly. It's best to have all of your stuff and groups stuff organized before hand, because some times they run understaffed which also causes them to sometimes run late when opening the field, limiting your playing time. Paint is very expensive (as it is at most places). The refs are young which does lead to game control issues. The fields are VERY rocky and trails to some fields are pretty rough but they are decent fields. Some good things I can say are they are very aware of safety and consistently check to make sure that everyone has a mask on and a barrel plug in. The Season pass idea is also good. Paintball Depot has the potential to be better, with some improvements like better field set ups, trail maintenance,better paint deals, and more staff training.
Last edited on Sunday, March 20th, 2005 at 9:18 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TwIStedP8nt Tuesday, May 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
hustlers, pbx, abc
Review: the field is awesome for woods. the speedball field sucks and you can only play uring lunch. other then that the field is ok. big games there are the best because they open all of the fields there and make a big field. The service on the phone SUCKS!!! i called there once for a wuestion and the girl hung up on me. the next time i called there and asked another question she sighed and gave me an attitude like she was pissed at me. overall its good but never call this place..they suck on the phone..especially that girl.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBallOldSchool Saturday, May 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skrimish, Cousins
Review: This place is convenient becuase it's so close to where I live. But other than that, I can't find too much nice to say about it. It is so unorganized. We went for a bachelor party and were told that the field opens at 9 a.m., and they didn't show up until 9:45, that's just bad business. They had about 4 people in that little trailer trying to help around 80 players. Not a good ratio. We didn't start playing until almost noon, which is B.S. I was disappointed with the referees also, they didn't not call people out and we did come upon some cheaters, sparking huge confrontations, and that can ruin a guys day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Underrated Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: I've been playing depot for 3 years now, I go there about once to twice a month, yea the prices are mad expensive, and yea the fields arent that great, but i go there to play around. Its not for the serious tourney player i can tell you that much, depots more of a fun play around type place that if you get to know the refs and workers, it can get mad fun there. Good place to first start off for new players, and if youve been playing for a while, then its just fun to go screw around on. They have decent woodsball fields, bunkers could be set up better and such but who cares. I wouldnt recomend the speedball field though, muddy, and frankly, smells like a sewage tank. I heard that they have around 12 or so fields, so you do get to play a variety of differently set up feilds. The one main drawback is that to get to most of the feilds and the upper dead zone, you havta walk up a decently huge and greatly inclined mountain. So when you get to the top your all out of breath.

Fields-8
Workers + Refs (once you know them)-9
Overall~9
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

answorrblade Friday, February 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
rexplex and a freinds freild
Review: refs are very strict but that is good. nice people. can fix most guns. except my freinds trix the messed that up so much. the paint is great but way overpriced and they dont do free passes anymore. :-( it is fun playing with steve george luke(moose) mike and bobby. cj and megan r nice some people really hate her though. it is a great feild but the speed ball sux it needs work. they told me they have supair' bunkers but arent going to use them any time soon. it is a great place for newbies. if any one who works at pbdepot reads this i think that u guys will make alot more money if u fix the speed ball and put some of thouse supairs there. i love it there however i would love it more if they fixed the speed ball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

why Wednesday, December 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
knight breed abc oldbridge etc...
Review: this feild is a sweet feild there playign feilds are amazing tent city, thunder and the bay route the field next to the speedball feild these are all the good fields in my opinion and DELTA is a great field the paint is a little pricey but come on this is how they make there money. i talked to turtle at one of the pro shops he says they pay the workers like $H*t but hey there staff is all expeirenced. there refs are young but they no wat there doing but they need to pay a little more attention to the people you may have to call for paint checks though. but hey the reffs are only human. i will give u a hint to tent city peoples feet are exposed underneeth the tents so AIM there i have played for 2 years and this is my first time playing here i got 4 people out at tent city buy shooting at there feet sounds nooby but hey wat can i say its the hit that counts. the people there are super cool they help out with ur guns and stuff RULES ARE STRICT wich is a really good thing i mean yes stupid newbs had there barrle plugs out once in a while but the reffs and staff were on there case right away. once a stupid russian guy who didnt speek english (no offense to anyone) had his mask off and was walkin to the dead zone and the ref made him sit out for like 2 games and he never took his mask off like that again. especially after i got a sweet head shot between the eyes (sorry i just had to tell that the guy deserved it he tryed to bunker TAP someone come on. Well anyway this field has great quality the feilds are so much fun except for the speedball field it smells and its muddy if it rains i mean IT REALLY smells me and another guy were about to barf it was so bad the speedball field is good if played with small numbers over all I WOULD deffinitly go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

crookedrain Tuesday, November 25th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Knightbreed, Skirmish (not really in the area but close enough), Fireball (not that close)
Review: Here's the scoop on Paintball Depot. They used to have one of the first and one of the best paintball fields in Hackettstown, N.J. For some reason that field was closed by the township. I don't know if it had anything to do with politics, urban sprawl, taxes...whatever. It used to be a great field that I would play often. Once they closed, we went to the one in West Milford and the dissapointment was immense. The West Milford field has none of what made Hackettstown great. Few bunkers, no Tent Field, no Blue Valley, No Alamo...just your very basic wood fields. Some of which are nice but far from ordinary.

And while the fields being nothing special is not enough to keep me away, the cost of paint and the quality of reffing is. Let's compare Paintball Depot to Skirmish:
Paint Cost at Depot - $80-100
Paint Cost as Skirmish - $55-80
Day Pass at Paintball Depot - $30
Day Pass at Skirmish - $30
Air Refill at Paintball Depot - $5
Air Refill at Skirmish – Free
Total cost – Paintball Depot: around $130 if you play alone. Around 100 if you bring friends and split the paint.
Total cost – Skirmish USA : around $100 if you play alone. Around $80 if you play with friends.

Now, onto intangibles - Turkey Hollow at Skirmish kicks the crap out of any one of Paintball Depot’s West Milford fields. The referring at Skirmish is so much better than at Paintball Depot that on that strength alone I would choose Skirmish. The organization at Skirmish is amazing considering the amount of people they get in each weekend. At Paintball depot we started playing at 10 am even though we’d arrived there at 8am. And when I say start playing, I mean start chrono tests.

All in all Paintball Depot isn’t all that bad and I like its owners and some of the old refs who used to play at Hackettstown but it does fall somewhat short in terms of cost, fields and ref quality.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

raver Monday, October 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NJ Paintball Club - not as good
Review: On the plus side, I found the fields here to be very balanced and while I only played their "woods" fields, the terrain varied enough to keep the entire day interesting. On the day I played we joined the "walk ons", which were kept very separate from the group games. Almost everyone had their own equipment, and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed.

I had a problem with my old Minicocker (it basically blew up) and they even tried to take a look at it on site.

$100 a case for paint is not that bad - and the quality of the paint was pretty good - especially compared with other NJ sites I have played on. Personally, I rarely complain about paint price as long as the quality is there - com'on guys - it's how these sites stay in business.

On the downside, there is a very long walk to the top fields, which is tough if you need to get CO2 or more paint supplies. Ref'ing is also pretty sparse, especially on some of the larger fields. Finally, it did take forever to get going in the morning - from an 8am checkin to a 10:15am actual start. However, once we started the tempo kept going throughout the day.

I would play here again.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cowpillow1 Saturday, September 6th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
abc-sucks knightbreed-so so
Review: this feild id a very good feild for all ages and player. yes i no how people complain about proces but ill get to that later. the refs there are awesome like turtle, matt, max and a bunch of others,( some people think meagan is mean but shes nice to me)
there are 12 fields most are good bieriut is the best one there its the wood field one the bottom. speedball sucks massively but u can play there. one bad thing is when u play some of the old wood bunkers start to disolve around u as ur getting shot at
these guys are really good about saftey refs are always stressing barrel plug and masks
its always fun to play there wit moose paul steve tom and a whole lota people
this feild also has big games and raffles so check out there web site
ok now to the paint its 100 bucks a case and 80 at the store of some diaoblo
and i have at least 30 free passes so admission is always free 4 me
i give these guys an 8 cuz of the poor feild conditions otherwise this is the est feild in the area
Last edited on Monday, July 5th, 2004 at 5:03 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

central20 Sunday, August 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Knightbreed (less fields, smaller place)
Review: We went to this field a couple weeks ago (during the rain & cold season). The whole field got soaked, some fields were underwater. Alots of hidden rocks when the fields underwater & the place stinks like you wouldnt believe. We wound up going up the mountain after lunch (wet pizza). A long hike up a rocky wet trail to the mountain games (which i couldnt play because I had a break in my rental gun (pro-carbine)). During the break I took it back to the boss on the field & gave me a new one. We didnt walk back up the mountain after & left soon after that. The paint was expensize (just like most fields). We split cases among a couple guys, so it came down a bit, only cause we bought a bunch of cases. Pretty good field when it doesnt rain, & is warm out. Would play it again (if we pick up cases of paint at one of their stores. We did get free passes to come again to play. So one day I will definitly go back with the guys.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media