paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Depot Paintball Field / Paintball Depot Paintball Field / Paintball Depot Paintball Field / Paintball Depot Paintball Field

Paintball Depot Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
63Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (973) 584-2220
Address: 1204 Union Valley Road
spotswood, New Jersey 07480
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Invisible3s Friday, July 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Im to tired to put in the stuff about ABC and Knightbreed
Review: Paintball Depot is a good place to go, if you can show up in your Hummer, your pimped out Escelade, your Firrari, or maby with you trunk filled with dirty mob money. Im not gonna bash them the whole time cus they are a great field, they're just expensive. The feilds there are very good, and the staff IS really cool, especialy when you get to know them. The refs are the most profesional out of all the three places in the area. I have no problems with Paintball Depot, except for thier prices. Someone should really log their owner onto this site so he can see just how many people think he needs to drop some $signs off his charts. If you get a chance and you can save up a little, play this feild, its the nicest around, cept for the $$$.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

redw0lf2355 Monday, July 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: If you like rec ball you would love paintball depot. The staff is very helpful if you are new to paintball they helped me in purchasing my first gun. The fields are put together very well and u get alot of games in. If you like playing in the woods you should definetly try paintball depot.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBAce4 Sunday, July 13th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have never played at another field.
Review: First of all, I have never been to another field, so I really can't compare it to anything else.

Like everybody else said, paint is incredibly expensive. The only way to bring the cost down is to buy like 10 cases at a time and get a group rate.

The woods fields are pretty cool, except you have to walk up these enormous hills to get to them. There is one field that is on the hill, and half the field is a steep incline. It's a real disadvantage to the team on that side because you can't just run down the hill, you have to watch where you are going, and it slows you down. I nearly broke my leg when I ran for cover and slid down the slope.

The speedball field is not that good, but it is kinda fun to play on. Just don't play on it after it rains, it's all puddles and mud.

The players who go there can be divided into three categories. Kids going for their first time, using all rentals, or kids going for their second, third, etc. using their own guns. The older, experienced guys, a lot of them using Tippmanns, just out to have some fun. The last category is the people w/ the expensive setups. Normally teenagers and guys in their young 20's, these are the people who just go as walk-ons. If you go to the field, you can find a group to fit in with, regardless of experience.

The refs are okay. Some are pretty good, like this kid Bobby, but others are just really bad. They're pretty strict about the rules, which is a good thing.

As for safety, the field does care. If you don't have a barrel plug, you can't bring your gun inside the dead box, and if you do you are sure to be screamed at by every ref in the dead box. If you lift the mask off your face so the foam isn't touching, you sit out a game, and if you do it twice, you're out for the day. The funny thing is, that for a field so concerned about safety, they didn't even ask if my friends and I had chrono'ed our guns.

The field will order pizzas for you, so you don't need to bring a lunch, only drinks. They have lockers there to keep your wallets, watches, etc., but the lockers aren't big enough to hold any amount of gear, so you have to leave it by the picnic tables. Anybody can just walk up and take stuff. My friends had half a case of paint stolen in the dead box, even though they had marked the paint as theirs.

All in all, the field is an experience. I know the first time I went, I had some pretty good refs, and that made the whole experience fun. The second time, same thing. The best part is that they give out free passes after you go. The only problem is that you have to take those passes to the store in Ledgewood to have them validated.

It's an overall okay field, but because of the cost of paint and entrance, I'm not going to rate it as high as I would've.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tigerturk Wednesday, June 25th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
ABC, POCOLOCO in PA
Review: I called the store to inquire on group rates and general questions. A girl answered and hung up on me because I said the price of paint was outrageous. I called back and asked to speak to the owner and she stated, "you wish", and hung up on me again.

$100 A CASE!!!??? I mean, are you serious? I guess they must have strippers loading your hopper for you at that rate.

PBdepot has lost my business 4-EVER! I hope the owner will read this and understand that he has lost group revenue that would have been generated for him on a monthly basis. I'll take my group of 30 ppl somewhere else......

ABC paintball may not have the best field's in Jersey, but atleast they appreciate their customer's and potential customers. They would never act like a teenage girl twirling her hair.

Good luck to this place with Britney Spears wannabe answering the phone.....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

lonewolf1234 Thursday, May 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
E.T Paintball in netcong
Review: I know i shouldnt slam Paintball Depot cause its not nice, but somethings must be said! My first real paintball experience was for my 14th birthday. I had a huge group game and it was random. They didnt really have good organization at that place. So my group was split up a lot, and traded. I mean i dont care, i play for fun. But sometimes it took them forever to start a game. I think that if there field was more organized it could be more productive. Not only that but they should really get some nicer reffs! Especially this one reff, this really bossy girl that was a real witch! But other than that i love to play there, the speedball is good for some quick in between games. Like we would play at thunder (i think thats what it was called) and that was really cool field, and then after that we played another round, then we went to the staging area to load up and get ready for a quick few games of speed ball. The speedball field is good, exept a few parts of the field leave some bunkers really badly open for angle shots. I should know i got messed up by an autococker! And when it rains the field gets a lot of huge puddles that i almost drowned in. But overall i would give them a 10 minus 2 for that witchy woman of a reff!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

theDudeNJ Saturday, May 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Just played there for the first time today. I'd have to say it is pretty good. I only was able to play a few of the fields having slept in and arriving at 1:00. It does look like it is set up very nicely. There are plenty of bunkers and they're made out of sticks and wood, not that cheesy looking mesh stuff. Everybody says the paint is expensive, but I do not use a ton of paint, so $25 for 500 wasn't too bad. Although I need to find a barrel that matches up with Blaze now. Everybody was friendly and there were plenty of ref's on the field to keep everything orderly. Safety also appeared to be important as I saw plenty of people getting yelled at about goggles and barrel plugs. Very nice place, I'll have to check out getting paint beforehand so it is cheaper and I'll have to get up early so I can play more of the fields. All they need is a better website. Also....PB Depot is a woodsball place, the speedball field is awful, but who really wants to play speedball anyways.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neodanger Tuesday, April 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fireball Mountain (Not that great, but a speedballer may like it)
Review: The fields at the Paintball Depot are kind of mixed. It is a great woodsball field with about 10 or so different areas ranging from small to large, all of which have very good bunker setups, as well as loads of trees, shrubs, and brush to get behind and to lay concealed. A plus is that the fields are not flat, they have various raises, dips, hills, and valleys, while most speedball players would find this annoying many woodsball players would find this a welcome change from the standard flat open field will only a few man made bunkers. Most fields are large enough so that you cannot see the other team from the start of the game. The do have 1 speedball field, if you can catch it on a day where it hasn't rained for a week or so its pretty good, otherwise you will get muddy. The Field Paint is Blaze, which is ok, but it is a bit pricey ($80 at there store and $100 of the field per case), but what field has cheap paint. All in all they offer a wide variety of areas to play in and if you purchase a marker from their store you get a free 3-month play pass, which depending on how you use it (normally $25 a day), your gun is free.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blue Monday, April 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I was paintballing in my friends backyard for about 3 years before i realized almost everytime we played i was picking them off easily one by one so i decided to start going to a field near me, "ABC" it was ok i mean it just wasent noob or group friendly almost every time me and my friends went we were on opposite teams... i mean its no big deal but i would like somone who actually knows how to play back to cover me instead of somone who i playing for their first time and fires like 2 balls in the direction only for me! to doge.....but my first time i went to pbd feild it was like changing the game compleatly i mean the noobs were still there and the feilds are not the best ive been to but the people are shure are friendly i mean my friends spyder literaly blew into peices, the bolt shot out, and peices came flying out the back, dummy lost his clip but he was missing a few parts and the guy looked at him roled his eyes and gave him a makeshift clip and fixed the bolt all for him, i mean i suppose anyone could have helped him, its a spyder!, but recently other players, have helped alot with tips, if you are a noob or a seasoned pro you should drop by here, even just to have a friendly game with your friends and have never been to a real field stop by and give it a try!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball07885 Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Local field
Review: ive played sepot for about 2 years now. i go there almost every weeki started as a newB, just like everyone else, then i got better, and better. the refs there are really cool once you get to know them. Tim, Turtle, Nick, Big Mike, Conrad, etc... while im at depot i talk to them, we discuss stuff ( paintball of course) and we have a great time. When me and my friends go ( Moosz, Paul, Tom, Craig and more) we play against the Jesters, and all the tourney players, so dont go on saying that playing against them is to hard, and it ruins the day. When you play paintball its the fun of playing, not winning or losing.(well maybe winning)haha

On to other things... the fields: the fields at depot are prety big, except for the speedball field( sry guys but we all no its a POS) They have A LOT of wood fields, i think like 12 or so.You never get to play all of them in one day, so if you say theres no fileds then YOU HAVEN'T PLAYED THEM ALL! to get into depot i think its 30 plus a rental, with your own gun its 20, but they give out free passes at the end of the day so thats a good thing. the prices of paint are really high, but if you buy the paint at one of their stores its much less (hint hint* buy it at the store!) Their stores carry a lot of paintball things, guns, masks, upgrades, air tanks, etc... but they are a little high on the prices.

Overall the place is pretty good, i would rate higher if the speedball field was bigger, and if the prices werent so high. Me and my friends will be at depot every weekend either Sat, or Sun. and we probably will be going for a LONG time.
Last edited on Sunday, March 30th, 2003 at 7:30 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slipknotik911 Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish USA, Fireball Mountain, RexPlex, my teams sup air field
Review: i used to play at paintball depot in west milford alot until i started going to other fields and seeing how much better the prices are!, in my opinion, paintball depot is the ok as far as newbie niceness, which is kool for beginners i guess... i used to play at this field every other weekend mostly in the spring and winter with, paul, nathan, steve, max, tom, and moose..... overall i like the field just cause the same people generally go there every time im there... the speedball field is a shi* hole, lol smells very bad was bulit ON A SWAMP!, and the woods are ok because there nice and open; its very expensize-----100 dollars for a case of 32 degrees! and 20 to get in if u have ur own equipment! aim me at CRAIGERY71 on aol if u wanna talk about it I will never go to depot again, wut a waiste of cashh! such a rip off
Last edited on Monday, July 14th, 2003 at 5:30 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media