paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / New York City Paintball Field / New York City Paintball Field / New York City Paintball Field / New York City Paintball Field

New York City Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
57Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 718-361-8337
Address: 47-11 van dam street
Queens, New York 11101
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Frenzy19 Sunday, December 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 24th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No other fields in this area but I have played at the fields mentioned below:

Nightbreed Paintball now Ruckus Paintball, Ocean City Paintball & Delmarva Paintball in Maryland
Review: I've been to this field 3 times so far and each time itís a different situation (see below).

For one you have to worry about getting to the place and then leaving being markers are illegal in NYC there is the possibility that the NYC Police will stop you and confiscate your equipment. Although I have taken my own equipment and have not had any trouble when leaving, yet. The owner is pretty cool about it as long as you follow the rules.

(The law is the law and thatís how it is, hopefully they will change that law someday)

The Fields:

NYC Paintball has about 2 to 3 fields, very small fields at that... On the break you would be lucky if you get to a bunker. All fields are Sup ' Air Ball. They need to expand and maybe get rid of the arcade room and lengthen field 1. All in all it allows you to break faster and really get that part of your skill mastered, in a big field you will feel very comfortable on the break after playing in a small field. The layouts are pretty weird but you can get use to it, I recommend you walk the field prior to a game.

The Staff:

Security at the place is excellent being the place is patrolled by former police officers, they are friendly and courteous.

The Refs at first seem friendly but just like in many other places they have too much ego and feel they can talk to anyone any way they feel. I was just there this weekend and got into an argument with a one or two of them. I was not the only one with ref issues that night. They allow the locals and former employees to cheat and they call out all the newbie positions to the locals and former employees then flat out deny it when you catch them. These type of refs will never amount to anything... They also allow ramping on the field. NYC Paintball needs to replace the ref staff, those kids shouldn't be out that late anyway ;o)

The Shop:

A little over priced.

In conclusion, Iíll keep going. Itís a good place to practice until spring hits again and we can head out to NJ again.

Peace!

Last edited on Monday, December 5th, 2005 at 10:36 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

doja221980 Wednesday, November 30th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 30th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hi velocity-dirt cheap, dirty, fair, bring your own paint
Cousin's indoor/outdoor-expensive, clean, big, way over priced, use their paint
Island paintball arena- cheap, bad turf, extremely knowledgeable staff, bring your own paint
Skirmish-awesome woods ball ((i hate woodsball))
Review: So I've been going to this place since the day those doors opened and it was and is by far the cleanest paintball field I've ever been too. The whole set up is really nice. Good music the lighting is kinda low so it sucks when you're working on your gat in the staging area but it's cool. The people that work there for the most part suck. There are a few guys there who really know their stuff. Sean knows what's up when it comes to ballin, he's helped me out tons of times with random stuff and he's always really cool about it. This other guy Pat know's what's up and he's always helping people. If you go to this spot and have questions I'd talk to these two guys. I know there are 2 or 3 other guys that work there and know what they're talking about but the rest of the poeple don't know jack about teching a gun or even playing the sport (let alone reffing the sport). They run around with full auto spyders and ramped out ions like they're the next lasoya and god forbid you have a serious gat cuz they'll ask to shoot it before games. When they do...they unload half a hopper...wtf?!

Field setup is cool sometimes. The small field in the back is garbage. It's at a diagonal and one side always has an advantage. The big field is cool but sometimes they split it into two which kills the whole thing. It's cool for 3 man but I rarely if ever caught a good 3 man match with the field split.

The paint they make you play with is GARBAGE!!! Out of 10 balls no joke 7 have dimples on them. Out of the 7, 5 had alot of dimples on them. For some reason they can only use white fill and even tho it's technically the brightest color the refs don't seem to notice hits by it. Higher end guns (for the most part) require higher end paint. This paint is very bad for high end guns.

The reffing there completly kills any pro's about this place. What's the point of playing if people who get shot don't get called out. Refs at this place hide behind the nets to prevent getting hit. I don't know if you've ever watched a game from behind the net but it's hard to make out where your buddy might be let alone being able to see WHITE paint break on someone. They might as well not have refs at all. Of course if there's a party of newbs playing...You let them slide cuz they're having fun. That's chill. I go to play hi-Tek. If I shoot someone and they don't walk off, I'll shoot them till they do and if a ref isn't stopping play when they should, someone could get hurt.

The shop like EVERY other shop has some steep prices. BETTER than some I've seen in local shops but still steep compared to good ol' eBay. They actually have pretty good stuff and the dude behind the counter is really cool.

As cool as the setup is I would not recommend this place for serious ballers. You'd be better off paying however much you want for whatever paint you want and still get cheap entry.

***BEWARE*** There's this middle aged OG baller prolly from when they were using paintball guns to mark trees that has a serious attitude. He swears he runs the place but he's just another loud mouth who I think is getting paid in paint. Whatever the case is don't listen to anything he says. He'll try to give you tips on how to play but tell him to get a real job if he does. He doesn't have a clue.

>>>I believe there's a shop in huntington that sells white filled paint called spank for cheaper than the garbage paint they feed you at this place;)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
9 Comments - Add Comment

Fiddy1 Tuesday, November 29th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 29th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish PA, Cousins Paintball
Review: Will never go here again. Worst place to get any help. Went in to find a buy a mask for upcoming trip and find prices to be extremly high. Tech support for any markers other then field rentals were non existent. Tried to get a Nitro tank filled to setup marker and was told they dont fill nitro, Go somewhere else. So my buddies, all 12 of us, decided to leave and not return again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Saintball Sunday, November 13th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 10th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Pros***
Very good staff - me and my friends go very often (at least once every 2 weeks) and we have become tight w the refs, theyr all very freindly and fun especially when the day begins to wind down (not to mention they all pwn when they play). All refs watch moniter the games well and are very safe; noone gets away with not having on a barrel condom while off the feild. Good orientations for newbs and for most beginners(even though most dont listen). out of all the refs about 3 or 4 are well informed on various marker types and can assist you if you have problems(if you own anything tippmann talk to Dave, the big guy with the braided beard).

Price - On most days 6hr admission plus equipment, 500rds of paint, and air is about 40. same goes for if you have your own marker(a little stange). good priced paint (pmi stingers, not bad paint) $60 cases. did i mention all tanks ($5 tank rentals) get unlim. air. on friday is young guns night (!) and theres a great deal for like 35 (check the website, i dont wanna plug)

Feilds - there are 2 feilds, now have the larger feild divided into 2 narrow ones good for smaller games. the bunkers are nicely arranged and can be used to your advantage many different ways.

Drinks are reasonably and theres a vending machine with snacks, still i advise you to pick up some food from the deli around the corner.

Cons***
None really aside from the fact that the proshop opens and closes at random and the cafe is never open.

the rental equipment is descent except for the markers, they use Pirhanna GTI, which are descent except for how often they chop, and dont be alarmed during a match to hear the guns bolt hit 30cps.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

jedistorm Wednesday, November 9th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 24th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins paintball, high velocity, ejam, paintball asylum, and staten island paintball
Review: Overall i would say the prices are too high and the fields are crap. The referees suck. and there's no real security. i've been playing here for about 2 years and i've already had some stuff stolen about 4 times!

In the past 2 years, they changed the prices and made them higher. the field paint is crap, you always get opened boxes and the paint is always wet! They use the cheapest paint in the world.. PMI Stinger.. they might as well use recball paint or seconds because they're better than PMI stinger!

If you've got an expensive gun and there is no one else there with expensive guns, they wont even let u play with the people using low ends or rentals! So you basically have to sit there doing nothing.

The prices in the pro shop are very high. No one's in the pro shop all the time so you have to watch it constantly if you wanna buy something. The people who work there don't seem to know what they're doing but they like pretending they do.

I recommend going to hivi, paintball asylum, or ejam instead.

The only reason why i wont give this a 1 is because of the ease to get there.. even though the neighborhood is pretty bad.
Last edited on Saturday, November 12th, 2005 at 8:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

easyPoo Monday, October 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at NJ E-jam indoor field. It was ok. They only had one field, they didn't clean the floor between the games, and they didn't change the bunker setup the whole day, so it got really repetitive and boring after a while.

I also played at Cousin's in LI, but that's an outdoor field, and you can not really compare the two.
Review: This was a great field to play on. First of all they had 3 separate fields, and if needed they can combine two of the fields into a much larger one, for bigger games.

My first impression when I walked into the game area, was that it was a bit dark. It felt a little bit claustrophobic at first. After me and my friend have setup up our gear and were ready to play the first game, we got used to the atmosphere of the place and it did not in any way distract or hindered our game and enjoyment.

Fields are not big, but the placement of the bunkers made for some really interesting games where we still were able to flank and outmaneuver the other team. I would say that the fields at NYC Paintball are more "intimate" rather than "small". We were able to get a game going of 10 on 10 on their larger field (without them combining the other two), and it was still a fun game, and not too overcrowded.

They keep those fields clean. Between the game they have cleaners or even Refs themselves sweep the floor to get rid of all the paintballs. Bunkers are clean and inflated. The resting area is also very nice and neat. They also have a separate room with some arcade machines and a pool table.

Refs were a mix bunch. A couple of game we had really nice guys, who did an excellent job. And a few other game we had some kids who were just sitting there picking their noses. I can't say that it distracted from a game too much, because most of the people playing there did not cheat and were calling themselves out when they got hit, it was just a little bit frustrating sitting behind a bunker and yelling for a paint check, without any response from the Refs.

Prices were very reasonable I think. We payed 20 dollars for the entrance and a case of paint went for 60 something dollars. (I am estimating because I don't remember exact prices, but you can always check that on their official web site). Overall me and my friend spent 50 $ a piece for a day of playing, including everything.

I did not rent any equipment so I can not say anything good or bad about that. But they do rent out overalls, and they do rent out protective vests, which is a good thing.
They also provide lockers, free of charge. Just bring your own lock. If not, they'll sell you a lock for 3 dollars, but its one of those cheap 99 Cent locks.

The only inconvenience (to some extent) was the chrono area. There is only one chrono station. You have to wait a bit to get your gun chronoed. At least one more station would make a big difference.

Overall I think it is a great place to go play paintball. Its close to anybody who is living in 5 Boroughs. It has good fields with good setup. Fun atmosphere. The owner is a great guy, and really looks out for his place, without being a jerk and overcharging his customers. I will be returning there, and playing more game. I highly recommend this place.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sixfrost Monday, October 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
private fields
Review: Not the most positive experience here.

1. Staff knowledge is questionable and they are inconsistent IMO. When i got there the guy at the front asked me if i needed paint. I said i have some of my own, would that be a problem? he said no, no problem. Cool. I go in, I start playing. After a few games some kid (ref) comes up to me saying that I cant play with my paint - it's too dangerous (talking about All Stars) What?? I mean i was speachless about his aurgument - i didnt even aurgue with him. Fine. I emptied my hopper and got their horrible field paint. Seriously, it looked more square then it was round. LOL.

2. Wont go the extra step to set up the markers if you bring your own. My A5 had been previously set for 220-235 for a flatline. For the field i put my 14" AA barrel. When they measured it it was at 210, waaaay below the standard. If i didnt ask what the result was, they wouldnt tell me. When i saw my balls drop at 40 feet, i wondered what it was and had to ask them to set it at 260. They set it at 240.

3. Poor ref experience. The ref called me out when he saw the ball hit me and bounce. The area of impact was CLEARLY visible and there was NO paint (ball didnt break). After a minute (in game time, no less!!) he admitted he was wrong by simply looking away and not saying anything. Also when a ball hit the barrel of my gun he though i was shot and called me out... I know it's hard to tell when someone is hit and paint is sometimes the only way to tell, but there are other tells that anyone with a bit of experience knows - like shell remains on the impact.

Over all a decent field, but i wouldnt expect too much.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

skene Tuesday, September 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is my first time playing in the NYC area since moving from Philadelphia, however I have also played at Skirmish and Cobra Command Paintball.
Skirmish is primarily outdoors so you have to run around branches and leaves. Can't really compare the two, cause I have never played speedball outdoors.
Cobra Command in Hilltown PA is however an indoor and outdoor field. I did however like that Cobra Command has a taller ceiling in comparison, but only has one field to play on. NYCPB has either 2 or 3 fields if they break up their large field and make two out of them.
Review: I have visited NYC Paintball a few times before going to play to see what the crowd is like. The employees at NYCPB were very helpful and mindful of the safety of every persons playing. Before stepping onto the field, I did notice the referees pulling groups to the side which were either new or even if they had their own equipment and informing them of the rules.
At the front desk, the counter person was helpful with explaining the costs upfront for playing particular days, and also informative with giving information about team nights and such.
The staff was definately courteous to all patrons and that's definately an A+ in my book. When I chrono'd my marker the ref that was checking it helped dial me in to their 260fps rule. Which is definately a good speed to get hit with.
The fields, which I was only able to play in the 2 out of 3 were decently large. I played 1 game in one of the first split fields then played on their "S" field which is a little awkward as you have to get around a turn to get into a left position, but I'm sure it helps the inexperienced players with learning how to get to bunkers fast.
My only bad experience at their location was that someone stole one of my pods that I had thrown to the side during a game. The ref did assist me with looking for the pod and even found the person who stole it, however I am not going to gripe about someone stealing a pod. He definately must need that pod bad enough to lie about it after getting caught with not only my pod, but NYCPBs pods as well.
Met a few of the refs that played with and against me and they were just as friendly.
So I definately think I'll be playing there a lot more often. The one thing that I definately liked was that they have a BYOP day. Helps cut on the costs of playing and with the inexpensive price of paint I don't think I would have complained either.
So to reiterate NYCPB has a great helpful and courteous staff, they are definately worth checking into if you live in the NYC area and into paintball whether serious or just for a fun outting with the friends.
I'll definately be setting up my group to go play there.

Oh and BTW they do use Pirahna's with HPA, but I have my own equipment so I would not know the quality or condition of their markers.

Since nothing is 100% perfect I give them a 9.
Last edited on Tuesday, September 6th, 2005 at 9:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

STINGER556 Saturday, August 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review:

Strengths: Prices are ok
very close to where i live


Weaknesses: the refs are very inatentive.
one time we were playing against 3 pros and there were 15 of us, and
no matter how many times we hit them they would not admit to being
out, and the refs didnt care.

Conclusion: this is a pretty good field, if you live in the area then you should go there.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 19th, 2006 at 8:49 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

I LUV PB Saturday, August 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins (cousins does not even compare).
Review: Well i came here a wasted about $55 for admission and 1000 rnds of paint. must say prices are not bad. they even had a pro shop but no guns. its in the city.

Refs:
-Very good refs.
- they really no how to make every one fallow the rules, they may be strict but it is for the safety of te game, but also of the field they can be your best friend.
-sometimes when i got hit the players would still shoot at me even though i was out and my gun was in the air. the refs saw it sometimes and gave a penalty. but other time they don't catch it.
Over all 9/10

Price:
-prices are not bad at all. i received a thousand rounds for $30.
-$25 of admission, and if you don't have nitro you can rent for free.
-$7 for a barrel sleeve. not that bad, considering that it was empire.
Over all 9/10

Fields:
-very nice layout.
-i wish that they didn't have so much space from the break to the bunkers so when you run of the break you don't get tagged out immediately.

This place is very good on the count of it just opened about 5 months ago. definitely going back there again. Plus it is only 10 minutes away from my house.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media