paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Commando Paintball Field / Commando Paintball Field / Commando Paintball Field / Commando Paintball Field

Commando Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
27Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 613-835-1729
Address: Dunning Road South
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
stef.p Wednesday, September 8th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 6th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have no played at any other fields, but judging from what my friends say and what I've seen of other fields, I'd say Commando is the best with Tactik in at 2nd.
Directions
to the Field:
There are directions on the site commandopaintball.ca. It's in Navan.
Review: Commando is the only field I've played at, but from what my friends have told me about PSI, Carnage, Tactik and JT's, Commando is the best, and it doesn't surprise me.

Strengths:
-Fields. Their fields are AMAZING. They've got so many that I haven't even played on them all. They have 4 urban settings (Army Base, Naval Base, Village and D-day) all of which are awesome. Tonnes of cover, two story towers, trucks, barrels, trenches, bridges, sandbags and pretty much anything else you can think of. I'll admit that the fields don't actually look like a village or a naval base in that the layout of the cover is based around gameplay flow rather than realism. However the cover you'll be hunkering down beside/in aren't pallet boards and plywood. They're large boats or trucks or petrol containers.
There are also a whole bunch of woodland fields (Hamburger Hill, Alamo, Death Valley and a couple others). Alamo is a large fort surrounded by fields with towers and windows in all directions. Hamburger hill has had the majority of the trees cleared so that line of sight isn't a problem, but it still seems like a densely wooded forest. It's a less intense and more stealthy field. I've never played on Death Vally and don't know anyone that does.

-Paint. Apperentely they used to use crappy hotbox paint and charge $40 for it, but now they've vastly upgraded to custom DXS paint. I'm not an expert on paint, but I've never had problems with it. Sometimes it doesn't explode, but I just keep shooting and that solves the problem.

-Staff. Holy crap the staff is awesome, especially Dave (the owner) himself. The staff is all very casual and friendly and aren't at all strict. They'll enforce the rules if they have to, but the generally just let you have fun. If you need to borrow something like a barrel bag or hopper or some oil they got no problem lending it to you.
Dave is amazing. I played two days ago and my dad's marker got a leak. Without any hesitation Dave opened it up, replaced the screws, oiled it, cleaned it and got it working to almost perfect condition, all free of charge (there was a little, hardly noticeable leak, but air is free so it wasn't a problem). Also on that day my dad went to buy some paint and Dave asked if my dad was a member. My dad said "I could lie to you, but no, I'm not". Just for his honesty, Dave gave my dad a bag for member's price anyways. On their D-day big game (which was awesome by the way) me and my dad's name had not been taken down for pre-payment, even though we had. Dave was like "whatever, I left a couple sheets at home" and there were no problems. Another time a couple years ago a girl was shot in the eye with a paintball gun. Dave managed to raise/give $5000 to the girl to pay for her semester's tuition because she couldn't work due to the fact she was blind in one eye. PSI and Carnage didn't provide anything.

Weaknesses:
Nothing really, except they're a bit disorganized. They're getting much better and improving over the years (they recently got a credit card machine). Their are no facilties except a little shack for registration and storage and a couple port-a-potties, as well as a firing range and a water tank for washing you stuff off. I personally don't mind the low key facilities, but I guess it would be a problem for some people.

Neutral:
Prices are the same as everywhere else I checked, except they give free air if you pay the green fee (some fields charge per fill).

I love Commando. I know Dave is always there to help me out if I need something or some equipment breaks, the fields are awesome, the staff is nice, and the people that play there are all great guys.
"If you ain't playin' here, you ain't playin'"
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

marcW Tuesday, August 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: June 8th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PSI - also a great place to play during those long winters, BYOP Tuesday
JT's
Review: I have been playing at Commando for about 10 years also, and the evolution of the fields and the groups of guys that play there and run the place has been amazing.

When I first called the place up back when I was 15 and it was time for a birthday party with my firends, I was greeted by a rough/gruff sounding guy on the phone, who kept the conversation short (which is sort of his trademark), and said "Ya come out on Sunday, we got a bunch of guys playing, and we won't mind shooting you up real good!"

I was a little intimidated, but we got our group together and headed out there not really knowing what to expect.

Let me start off by saying that the drive up to the field back then, is even more hilarious then it is now, as the old route really required 4WD at 10 Km per hour and a solid navigator, which for us meant my Dad behind the wheel of a minivan, at 4Km per hour, and a fair amount of uneasy tension.

When we got there, pulling into the "lot" back then everything was getting setup for the day. A barrel was burning with some cardboard paintball boxes in it, a bunch of guys were running around in neon jerseays trying to coral a bunch of the other guests, and stop them from shooting up fish in the pond, and I was looking around wondering what is this Dave guy supposed to look like. Well I should have known.

His arrival was nothing short of epic (as i rember it). All of a sudden we heard this crazy rumble coming from somewhere in the bush. My buddies and I were all trying to figure out what the sound was: Thunder (but it wasn't raining), jet crash (no flames), when racing out of the bush, flying over mounds of dirt emerges the most ridculously beat up old truck with no front grill and a whole lot of other parts - that I would have thought essential to a truck but that day learned were not - missing. And riding high and proud was the man I soon learned was Commando Dave.

He jumped down, took a look at the group, did a quick calculation of our numbers, and said with a strong handshake, "You must be Marc. Come on in with your buddies and we'll get you all set up."

From there on in our collective first paintball experience was truly fantastic, and several skarring nicknames emerged from that day which some of my more timid friends have never quite been able to shake off since.

Safety was key, our breifing on the rules was thorough, masks were always on and stictly enforced, barrel plugs were always in and closely monitored by the refs, and the 4 feilds that we played on, the ones that existed back then, were amazing for our first experience.

I also unwittingly became the victim of one of Commando's timeless traditions, when I was unwittingly paired with a soon to be groom against the combined forces of both of our parties on an extrenely small tire field (now long gone), with a bountry of a bag of 500 put on our "bags" by Dave who mercilessly laughed as our friends unloaded their full complement of paintballs in the longest 3 1/2 minutes of my life.

But that was when I learned that paintablls really don't hurt as much as you'd think, and that dodging paintballs from very close range is possible, and amazingly fun, especially when you're also firing back and seing little explosions on face masks.

The rest of the day unfolded in typical paintball fashion, was awesome, and you really got the feeling that you were part of a family who was taking care of you, which for me has never changed in 10 years.

Fast forward to today, and Commando has grown significantly, both in the quality of fields and gear, in the experience and effectiveness of the staff, in terms of family atmosphere with some great rough edges, and dare I say it in terms of the outright professionalism and management of the oranization. But what else would you expect, the field and organization has grown with the sport over 20+ years, and the staff which are all friends and family have grown and matured to match.

If you mask is broken, they'll give you another, if your rental breaks down (which I have seen happen to people 3 or 4 times in 10 years) they'll give you another right away, if anybody steps out of line, they'll be removed from the field so that everyone can enjojy the day in a safe environment, the roads once treacherous are now totally manageable, there is a seperate latrine for ladies, pizza lunch and a drink ($5) is always delicious, the rentals guns - 98s - are standard and reliable, and if your girlfriend gets shot up from three feet away by a bunch of overzealous paintball lunatics, Dave will set them straight, impose order on the situation, and then give her his gun and an unlimited supply of paintballs to seak here revenge in the next game.

Paint could be considered expensive ($150), but its is on par with anywhere else you'll go plus or minus $20, and the quality and variation in fields you'll get is top notch in Ottawa.

One last thing to note, is that if you're also someone who is interested in playing more than just casually then Commando is a great place to meet up with other players and improve your game. On monthly basis, traditionally Sundays, they have club days, where the more regular member come out to play and practice together.

Commando also fields and sponsors a team that practices and competes regularly and you'll always see these guys working or playing around Commando. So if your interested in competitive paintball, get to know them. For younger kids (and even most adults), on which the sport can be pretty costly Dave encourage people to help out working around the field for impressive discounts.

Commando Dave is a staple of the Ottawa paintball community, his organization and his field is continually improving and shifting focus to reflect the demands of his clientelle and the ever changing aspects of the sport, and overall I would say that time spent at Commando is worthwhile and will lead to a great experience.







Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Scorcher Sunday, June 28th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 28th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
PSI Indoor
JT's Frontline Paintball - Little cheaper, fewer fields
Directions
to the Field:
It's on their site, if you're paying attention you won't miss.
Review: Ok, so I'm gonna go from worst to best here, which is also about how you're experience at this field will go.

So the first thing you notice driving up is the facilities. It's this dingy cabin with rag tag insulation and old car seats for chairs. Not a great first impression. Out-houses or the bushes are your bathrooms. You should probably just stay outside while there, the view outside is much nicer.

Prices... I was really disappointed with this. At JT's I paid 120$ for a nice case of paint, (actually I've got a membership so 80$), here at Commando it was 150$ a case of "Economy Grade" paintballs "Best used for practice", and I quote from the case itself. If nothing else, at least try to make in appear like I'm spending more for that stuff. (Hate to bring up JT's again but I've yet to have a break while playing there, that's about 3 cases, but I had quite a few break from my case at Commando.)

Rentals were crap. I was in a group of about 20 guys, about 15 of us were using rentals, 2 guys had to exchange they're rentals because they just didn't work, the rest were very, very "well used", and there was even a guy whose mask fell apart, luckily it fell apart at the end of a game and not during.

I'm torn about the staff. The guys in the shop didn't seem to even realize what was going on around them, they were completely just out of it. The refs on the other hand were friendly, helpful and vigilant. They explained the games clearly and did a good job of running the games.

Food was pretty good, $5 bucks gets you three pieces of pizza and a drink, pretty standard. You can also buy drinks or pepper sticks from inside.

Safety was better then I've read in here. They gave you the quick, standard overview at the start of the day are were making sure people were using the barrel condoms or wearing their masks when needed.


The other people there playing were great. All friendly, went out when hit, share paint, etc.

Now for the most important part, the fields. So I played on "Army Base", the speedball field next to army base, Navy base, and the Fort.
Army Base: Not overly big but is a lot of fun. Good cover but lots of ways to get an angle on someone. Also it is fairly wide so there is a forested and non-forested sections which is great.
Speedball next to Army Base: Quick you'll waste a bunch of paint but it's good fun.
Navy Base: This is a FANTASTIC field. It's fairly big, lots of cover, a few choke points, good spots to flank. You see it and you think the team on the hill would have a huge advantage but it's not the case.
The Fort: This field was my least favorite. It's fun to attack but defending is just awful, only one way out and by the time you are allowed to leave the door is surrounded by a handful of their guys, while the rest run around and shoot you in the ass.

If you can get past the initial impression you will have a lot of fun. My one piece of advice is to use your own equipment.


*UPDATE* The next time I went back the refs were atrocious. They didn't do much of anything, and we ended up starting the games ourselves most of the times without refs. The paint this time was better quality but cost 150$. Not Worth it at all. It Shouldn't Cost 250$ for air, a 5$ Lunch, and a case of paint. This field may be close but I'll be driving further to other fields from now on.
Last edited on Saturday, October 24th, 2009 at 1:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MR ZEAGLE Friday, February 6th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: January 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Commando, lots of Fields, some ok some look good but dont play well. gear is in really bad shape, not a family friendly place.

PSI, only in door in the area and its just so so, out door is sad, gear ok

Ottawa Ex, small only 3 fields and they are all the same, good for pump only, needs new gear

Tactik. very good set up, good fields, ok gear, very good props and scenario games

Frontline. Very good set up, largest fields i have ever played in Ottawa, best gear i have ever seen for rent. great field layouts, still growing and should get better with time.

i wont even bother to name the rest but have played all over north America in the last 22 years
Directions
to the Field:
Directions to Commando is ok, you probably will drive pass the entrance the first time, the sign is small and dark and blends into the back ground.
Review: i just want to say that i have been playing for over 20 years and have played all over north America. I look at what the field has to offer, eg. Fields, gear, safety, knowledge of the sport and gear, cleanliness, prices, staff and Refs and facillities, ect

i have been playing at Commando for over 8 years, this is not a place to bring your family or kids, i wont say why but lets just say its more for the the younger partying type.

The fields are ok, some look amazing but they dont play very well. others are not bad but needs to be thought out better when being built.

Gear, well what can we say about the gear. same as most places good old Tippman 98, the work horses of paintball but not in very good or safe working order, the masks are really bad and get washed in the water from the pond. not very hygienic, cheap lenses so lots of scratches and fogging issues. Overalls are bad, they smell and ripped and just sitting on the floor for you to go through, right where the last group left them. paint is good old white box paint with there name on it, OK paint to use.

if your lucky to get a safety briefing, its not very good anyways, same goes for the Refs, if your lucky to get one, keep your eye on him/her, they tend to disappear and leave you waiting to long in between brakes. they really dont ref games, more like stand off to the side an watch.

i find the place is very muddy when its not a dry spell, the facilities well there are non really, the go huts never are clean and smell so bad you cant get close to them, you really don't have any place to gear up except for a few picnic tables and a "club house" that is dark and smells but over all OK, you do have to be careful of the staff that rips around in some of the vehicles, they drive like its a off road course through the playing fields and staging area and then you need to watch for the 4 wheelers. they are even worse, i dont know how many times my truck has been hit with flying rocks being kicked up from them driving around like that. Dead zones of safety zones, small and not very good and not to many of them,

price is the same as everyone else...

over all its just OK. i play at many places and go back from time to time just to play with some friends but would never go if it wasn't for them, this field needs a complete overhaul and new friendly staff.
This is just my opinion from what i have seen and witnessed first hand, i have seen worse fields but its far from being one of the better fields...i'm sure this review will be trashed from the staff and owner and his sons.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

mangyan Saturday, October 25th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PSI indoor/outdoor
Like apples and oranges
Directions
to the Field:
Very easy to find,If you can't find it you can't read directions
Review: First of all I would like to say that Commando is the only field for me,I've been playing and organizing there for 8 years.I never heard anything bad from the people that I brought there to play.Counter staff are friendly helpful,big receiving area with a woodstove that gives enough heat on cold days
staff are very safety oriented,every dead box is netted so you can watch them play in the dead box.Rules are clearly explained,they will help you with all your needs(giving tips to newbies)
Fields are great and good variety,they have field for every player,be it speed or woods they have it all,not to mention clean,garbage can in every dead box,Refs always have paper towels handy for your shots in the mask.
Equipment is second to none,they are cleaned and checked at the end of the day
The price is unbeatable,$55.00 get you all your equipment with 500 balls,air for the whole day ,and lunch(3 slices of pizza and a drink of your choice)

The owner Dave Pitts is doing nothing but improving the place every year.
That's why Commando Paintball is the best field in Ottawa

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FishStixballer Tuesday, January 15th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: November 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nothing comes close....
Directions
to the Field:
www.commandopaintball.ca
There is detailed directions
Review: Id like to start off by sayed that I have been playing at commando paintball for 8 years now and have never looked back.
Safty:
Commando paintball is a very safe paintball feild. The owner goes into detailed rules with your group and always adds a couple jokes to losen everybody up for a fun day of paintball. They are always strict on the masks and barrel bags which is the biggest concern for any paintball feild. There is netted dead zones at EVERY feild. Where you get to sit down relax and watch the game safly with your mask off after you get hit.
10/10
Refs/Staff:
All of the refs and staff are always very helpfull and will answer any question you have or play any game/feild that your group wants to play! They even have some fun games that they like to suggest!! They do not spend time sitting around bettween games and are always ready to go!
Equitment:
Tippman 98 what else can i say? very reliable.. awsome gun. They even have some with proto barrels and double finger triggers now. If you ask 99% of the time they will give you one of those.
Masks- nice V-force masks with new lences. If the lence is to scratched up they will pop a new one in for you in 30 secounds.
Coveralls- Allways clean and they have sizes for all!!
Comprased air for the rentals but they also have c02 if you have your own gun. They will lend you a tank free of charge if you would like to use compraised air!
Paint- They say commando Dave on them!!! How cool is that... They are awsome balls they dont brake in the guns and mostly always brake on the poeple you are shooting at.

Feilds:

New Army base- very clean has real army trucks, oil depo, 20 foot towers, army bus, big canon, pill poxes. It really looks like a army base... Amazing feild with lots of game opportunitys.
Village- 20+ buildings with a big fort on one site which has two levels!!!
50x50 defend and attack fort- Witch a hudge tower in the middle!! Great with trenches that go around and just an mazing field.
Hamberger Hill- HUDGE feild with bridges that go over a creak and up a big hill. The hill is in the middle of the battle groud so it makes it very fun to play!
Air ball- Nice air ball feild for those speedball lovers
Speed ball- Tires and barrels with an awsome snake!!
Feild 4- a big woods ball feild with toonz of bunkers and very clean
Death vally- Big feild, and in the middle of the battle zone is a big fally where one team has to make it accross to win the battle!!

All of the feilds all very neat and trimed. Your balls will never brake of a twig because there always cut!!! The groud has to twings or stick to trip over and the out of bounds is clearly shown with 2 roaps going around each feild.

Driveway:

This year the driveway has been fixed and it is now actually very smoth to drive down

Building:

The building is very big and very confy. There is seats that go all the way around so everybody always has a seat to them self. No matter how many are there! If its spring or fall they have a hudge woodstove that kicks out a lot of heat and worms you up real fast! It is always clean and the staff constently cleans/ picks up the garbidge.

They have two clubs at commando the "woods ball club" and the "speed ball club" The woods ball club loves to play the armybase and any other woods ball feild. The speedball club plays alot of speedball but in the last year has really started to play with the woodsball guys. There is a club for everybody here and every year it grows bigger and bigger. I think there is about 40 people now in the woodsball club! Its easy to become a member at commando, You pay 20$ and do 3 workd days or pay $150.( I think dont quote me on it you would have to ask dave) From there you have free entrence and free air!! $80 on the case!

The lunch:
Gabriels pizza.... 3 big slices and 1 can of pop! for 5 bucks??? Its great!

I would recoment to anbody to give commando a try and play there for your next get together, batchlor party or just getting togethe with some old buddys!! great place! great staff! great feilds!! 10 out of 10 rating for daves place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

happynoob Monday, August 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PSI
Xtreme
Directions
to the Field:
Review: Ok, first off I'd like to say sorry to Dave and his Staff for my earlier review. It was unfair and wrong. After a few months of playing at your field and attending Kapital Kaos 3, I feel I can make a fair and accurate review.

Kapital Kaos 3 was awesome and intense, Dave and the Staff had a major responsibility to organize I believe 23-26 teams of 4-5 players. They did an awesome job. Though my team didn't do the best, we had a blast and would like to thank you.

Ok, the basics

-Safety is a huge concern at this field, refs are always checking for barrel socks and safetys. A safety briefing is conducted in the morning and to any other groups that show on. Players who usually walk on, as myself, recieve a briefing as well, though not as detailed.

-The staging area is very nice and clean, new benches and tables have been placed outside, and are in very nice condition. There are some cool fish in the pond to!

- Refs are good, they will answer your questions, some go nto great detail well others don't. I can understand why, as when asked the same questions you do become lazy at answering them. But over all great refs. My one complaint is the time in between games. The refs do sit around, and let the players talk,but at times this talking period becomes to long. After all we are here to play paintball.

-Teams are divided up evenly. I mentioned in my earlier review that the refs seperated a batchlor party on one team and put experienced woodsballers on the other. After speaking with my friend who played with me, he informed me that the Batchlor party did have 2 speedball players on their team, but were hard to notice because they were out fairly quickly.

-FIELDS! There is not one place in Ottawa, or around Ottawa that has the most amazing fields I have ever seen as a woodsball/scenario player. Recently constructed is a field called "Army Base", which is so cool, as there are towers, pill boxes, REAL army trucks. Just so cool for a woodsballers piont of view. I do feel speedballers wil enjoy the field as well. Other fields include forts with 2 floors, a village of easily 20+ buildings,various barriers and sheilds to hide behind. I can't stress how nice the fields are. They are free off brush and most fallen branches, as well tree's and such are trimmed making it easier to have a fair and fun firefight!

-The players that show up,are all nice and willing to make friends and teach others new things and give tips to rental groups. I do like the fact that they sometimes mingle experienced players with rental groups, of coarse only with the groups permission. I feel this is great because it adds to the style and feel of play.

-Service is great, They do rent out a Air tank to you for free if you are using Co2, which is good these days because some can't afford an airtank, or really don't need one as their style of play doesn't require it. The service is relaxed, and fair. I once forgot most of my cash and was allowed to put a down payment and play until my cash arrived, via a friend.

-Now there is a dog, that does like to run around and be very friendly towards players. My first time there I was not informed on the proper way of dealing with the dog if approched, and so the dog really liked me, and wouldn't go away. Now I am aware of how to deal with the dog, and he really doesn't bother anyone. Its actually kinda nice to have an animal come and greet you after a game.

-Food is great as it is Gabriels Pizza, which is the best pizza hands down. You get 3 slices, which I might add are huge and a pop for 5 dollars. Very good deal.

-Pricings are alittle high for paintballs, its 40 $ for 500 paintballs and 150$ for 2000. Its 15 dollars for walk on fee and rental equipment, which is very good. I am definantly willing to pay the price for paintballs as the fields and play is totaly worth every penny.

Conclusion

This facility is amazing, nothing else like it in Ottawa. I would recommend this field and only this field, other will seem boring comparred to this one. Good job Commando!

One word of advice to all other reviewers, play at the field at least 3 times before making a review, and if you have a bad experience,dont rant about it and make a false review. I learn't that very quickly, and once again my apologize to anyone offended to my earlier review.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

illman17 Saturday, June 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
PSI, wasn't very fun, its way too small and the employees are very rude to the customers
(renters and experienced players alike)

Xtreme Paintball, Great place i don't like it as much as commandos but everyone's really nice there and the staff are laid back
Directions
to the Field:
i'll give everyone a hint... its called google maps
Review: Feilds are the best i've ever seen, great diversity too cuz they've got speedball aswell as a 2 story building and a fort. Prices are great for members you can make almost half of the price of a membership back in one day. I must admit the refs don't do much but the fields are huge so what are ya gonna do. besides its everyone plays fair and goes out when they get hit.
food is a great deal (3 slices of pizza and a drink for $5
Staff is really helpful and the owner dave is a really nice guy
also all the really experienced players know to take it easy on the renters and ive never seen anyone get upset because of somthing a player did to a renter
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ithaka Monday, April 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintstorm Indoor - It was fun, but i enjoy outdoor speed ball and forest maps much more. Also, it was small, i've played in much bigger indoor fields.
Review: I love this place, it's simple, i enjoy going there because the atmosphere is strong and makes the day much more enjoyable. Commando brings the thrill of paintball and the safety that everyone wants together very well, everyone checks for there barrel plugs and always keeps their masks on, unless advised that they may remove them.

But of course, with every company there are always some clients/workers that bend the rules but it's as simple as leaving a comment to a ref or even the owner(which is at the fields almost 24/7) to straighten things out, communication is the best tool.

The fields are top notch, they have their own Dead Zones and have been blocked off with nets and/or cords to show the out-of-bounds areas. And the owner is always coming up with new ideas for more fields and will be implementing some in the upcoming year or so. Can't wait!

I do hear alot from friends that the prices are a little high compared to shops, but i don't mind, i pay the price for the quality of the paint(which is always perfection) and everyone at the end of the day agrees that it was worth going to Commando and being able to shoot one and other.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gh_speedyg Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintstorm PQ
Directions
to the Field:
Just south of Orleans
Review: I have rescently joined a paintball team that plays here. The first time I played here was last year and it was the first field I ever played on. Lots of fields, (six and growing) really safety concious, and the owner, Dave, is awesome. They have a heated clubhouse, HPA powered 98's that are in great shape, and everyone gets CLEAN camo coveralls. This is by FAR the best paintball in Ottawa BAR NONE! The ref's don't try and make you waste paint like other places I've been to in Ottawa (see above). They are friendly and helpful and the only big rule is keep your mask on until instructed. Pretty fair. Prices are descent, especially if you have a big group. A day includes lunch of Gabriels's pizza (not cheap ginaric pizza) and once you're done for the day, you sleep like a baby. I would definatly reccomend this place to ANYONE! Only negative is the driveway, hopefully they fix the potholes (lakes). Once they are fixed, you have an 11.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media