paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field

American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
126Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 707-552-2426
Address: 2 Eucalyptus Drive
American Canyon, California 94591
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Howlin' Mad Thursday, June 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood Forest- Exponentially Better
Review: Basically dont go here. You cant play here without dropping a 100$. Their rule about having to purchase field paint is bad considering the cheapest paint to buy is those Fire Foxes. Those are worse than Wild Streaks. Out of 2000 we broke 25. I know how you can turn in unused paint and get a "Paint Pass" but after a day youll never want to play here again. The staff are rude for one. The "Pro Shop" is a joke. Its just some cheap stuff on some hooks. Ref's do NOTHING the whole game. Even then they take like a half-hour between games to do...... something. I have no idea what they do in that time. NOBODY chrono's. I mean NOBODY. The refs tell you to go after the saftey briefing but NOBODY does. The fields arent bad its just that assulting the forts is pointless because they are so strong. The Zulu field is bad because one bunker controls the whole field. The Hornets just come in to random games their not even part of like in the case of our private game. They just walked into our PRIVATE game like they own the place. All-in-all its an expensive, unprofessional, downright dangerous field. Trust me GO TO SHERWOOD FOREST.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
9 Comments - Add Comment

Team Deseption Thursday, June 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
if its obove LA and in cali ive been there
Review: ok here we go ill jus make this simple and seperate it into PRO / CON

PRO:

this overall is a really nice feild i mean im not much for woodsball anymore but hell id be lying if i said that i didnt have alot of fun here. the feilds are nice, the staff is freindly, a bees wax game has to be one of the funniest games ive ever played (just simply for the fact that hornets never attack from the roaside and its easy to flank them) its has a great feel to it, and the feild dosnt get really muddy in the winter with a couple exeptions (see cons)

CONS:

many many poeple cheat and get away with it. the hornets are a recreational team and anyone can join (EX: i signed my little sister up and she got in shes only 3 and dosnt even know what a paintball gun is) i dont know how many other poeple complain about this but in the back theres like a whole God D*mn lake back there and in one place beleive it or not it has to be at least 3 and a half feet deep.

HOW POEPLE CHEAT AND WHAT T0 LOOK OUT FOR:

ok at this feild there really only two ways poeple cheat one is they wipe ALOT and theres really no one there to stop them so if they do !SHOOT THEM AGAIN AND AGAIN IF NECESSARY! i dont know about you guys but i tend to not like getting shot multipul time so eventually they will give up as for if they wipe and elimenate you just get out tell a ref if you want but they cant do anything about it dont lower yourself to there level and cheat back but thats explained in the orientation in the morning.

the only other way ive seen is poeple with electronic markers setting there gun to full auto or a shot burst AKA:3shot 6shot or 9shot on some guns. Then walking the trigger to abtain the max capacity of there gun or hopper whatever comes first in thiscase theres not much you can do but either go another way or take him out but tellin a ref wont do crap so dont bother most electronic guns switch modes witha press of a button youll never prove they cheated im not going to say much about MC Bob but if you shoot him and he denies it dont press the point he'll just get mad at you ive shot him left a huge welt right on his arm and he claimed that it bounced so just take home the satisfaction that you shot Magic Carpet Bob

overall this feild is nice just watch out for some of the players that are young and have nice guns you know what im talkin about the 10 year old you see out there with an Angel or an Eclipse Ego there the ones that do it. I give this feild overall an 9 of 10 and recomend it for all players of all skill ranges
Last edited on Thursday, June 2nd, 2005 at 9:04 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sam0raiX Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I would really recommend this field just because that they have a forest and great bases and covers around the forest, but it would be nice if they would have put this great forest environment to work. Like they should create scenario based games. Too much bugs including mosquitos around the area, but overall the area is a perfect gorilla warefare environment.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

EnProceso Saturday, March 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: i have been playing at the PBJ for a few months now so i know a lot about the field, the players, the staff, etc..

The Field:
the field is awesome. its huge, filled with bunkers (made of branches), barrels, forts, trees and lots of other cover. they have 6-7 different forts to gaurd and attack with plenty of space between them all to fight in. if you like scenario games this place will be heaven for you. they just opened a airball course but i have yet to play on it but will very soon since i'm more into airball than scenario. the only downside to the field is in the winter time, its full of puddles and mud, but it cant be helped since it takes weeks for the field to dry since the trees dont let the ground see sunlight much. there is no poison oak and no mosquitoes or ticks. the field is well kept and never really looks rundown.
rating:10

The Staff:
i havent really dealt with the staff other than morning sign up or getting my bottle refilled but for what its worth they seem cool and friendly. they enforce their saftey rules which is very important, a person was hit with a ball that was obviously fired from a hot gun, the very next round chronos were checked twice (but they always make you fire twice over a chrono anyways) and i saw a ref with a hand held chrono watching for anyone looking to turn up their velocity.
rating:10

The Walk On Players:
walk on players (aka the other players you are playing with) are always cool and friendly, everytime i go i end up chating with many different people. i have yet to see any kind of argument at the PBJ, everyone gets along very well. you get a mix of every kind of player, young kids, guys who play MilSim style, guys who play speedball style, etc.. so it makes for interesting and fun games that are always action packed since everyone has their own style and strategies.
rating:10

"Magic Carpet" Bob and the SF Hornets:
i have played numerous "beezwax" games, beezwax is when bob and the hornets play all the walk on players, and i havent seen anyone wipe or cheat before. i have heard stories of cheating but as far as i know thats all they are....just stories. the beezwax game is the first game after the lunch break, so eat fast and let your food digest so your at 100% when you play. my only grudge with the hornets is when they have you corner'd they will UNLOAD on you, so when you get hit once there will be 4-5 more balls in the air right behind that one about to hit you, but this paintball and stuff like that is part of the game so i really cant complain about it.
rating:9

Conclusion:
I love this feild and have no means of leaving it. the 1 thing i hate about this feild is the surcharge for bringing your own paint. that rule makes NO sense to me, your there to play paintball so of course you need to bring paintballs to play! also i read some people saying they overcharge for paint, that is absolutly NOT true, check their site cuz they have their prices listed. $60 for 2000 rounds sounds like the right price to me (and no its not cheap paint either). overall its a awesome field and i have had nothing but fun there, i dont know why some people are bashing it, i guess everyone has their own opinion. if your wondering about the field for yourself, i HIGHLY suggest you come and play there someday, i promise you its not half as bad as some of these reviews make it out to be.
Last edited on Saturday, March 12th, 2005 at 5:06 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

bwillis1089 Monday, February 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Midway Sherwood
Review: This is how i look at it. this is a great place to go. it has a great woodsball and now has an awesome airball field. the refs and costomer service are great. although there are not enough refs at certain times the ones out there are great. i dont know why this field has such a bad review. one thing i would like to change is the surcharge for bringing your own paint. i will admit some of the hornets cheat but not a lot. just a few. bob on the otherhand is one of the most honest player i have seen. he has never cheated from what i have seen. this is a great place for newbies and now with the airball it is a great place for semi and pros. the paint is not that bad of a price. although a little expensive the only cheaper place is online. people do not know what they are talking about if they have only played to field one time. they do not have enough expeirince there to give a bad review. maybe the day that they went there were not enough staff or something related to that. the field is well manged unlike midway or sherwood. there are no hot guns. i dont not know what people are talking about. if by anychance there was one that person would be thrown out of the game. paintballing is expensive and people should not play if they are gonna whine about the money.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

hobomaster Saturday, February 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
MidWay: its way better
Review: I just moved into the area,(from southern california) and have been looking for places to play at. I looked on the internet and saw this course listed, and decieded its so close, I might as well check it out.I went there once with my brand new gun and first chrono'd it, it unfortunetly started leeking a little bit so the guy there took my whole gun apart, and said i blew something in the gun,(i asked how) so i had to go home, and i didnt get my money back,(i hadnt even got to play a round). I went home, and my dad fixed the problem in like 10 minutes,( the problem was that it just needed to shoot the leek out). Then i went back a week later with my gun working and started off wandering around trying to find the new airball course. i walked a little less then a quarter mile, to find there was no one there, so i couldnt play. i walked alll the way back, and then walked back to that area AGAIN to do an actuall game. We started out at some kinda cool fort thing and then began, after an agavating 15 minutes of sitting there doing nothing. I began to run up, noticing everyone was walking, and about 5 minutes later I found someone(sides are hecka far away from each other). I shot at the guy and the forest was so dence, 80% of my balls hit twigs and the other percent flew in the air,( i had to buy there crappy paint cause otherwise they make you pay like 5 or ten dollars if you bring ure own paint). I finaly hit someone, but it didnt matter cause there are no refs watching the game, therefore your opponet can wipe all they want. The dumbest thing was that you can pick whatever team ure on, so when i played 90% of my team was first timers with rentals,(which suck) and the whole game they just hid in corners of the base, completely freaked out.I pretty much hated this field, had no fun, and payed probably more then i should have. If you absolutly love dense, crappy jungle terrain and playing with 70% noobs, this would be a great field.This is my own opinion because i like airball and speedball far far far over jungle, but even for people who love jungle play, its not very good. I would recamend MidWay which is above vacaville,(i think) its waaaay better then this. One cool thing though is they have a raffle,(for very measly prizes of course) and on every other sunday they give away like a crappy black dragun,(raffeled too).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shooters Wednesday, December 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mare Island
Review: I havent been to many other fields at all but Im qualified to write a solid review because i've been playing and gathering enough information over the years to find out that there is no better place to paintball, especially once the Jungle gets the new Air Ball field put in. American Paintball Canyon has around 50 acres, easily and has many different scenarios to play in. PaintBall Jungle has two speed ball fields, an air ball field coming soon, 1 HUGE area including multiple big forts & plenty of room to flank or whatever else you want to do. Summer time is the best time drawing about 200-250 people Saturdays & Sundays but anytime is a good time to go. In addition to the main HUGE area with all the forts and bunkers and teepes and shrubs and other fun stuff there is a separate smaller field right next to the HUGE one! Its set up alittle differently with just 2 flags one on either end corner and has a stream running through, a couple bridges, a ton of teepes and bunkers and much more fun stuff.
The local team at PBJ are the Hornets. The local Hornets are a groupe of about 15-20 who either work at the Jungle Saturdays and Sundays, or are there playing all day Saturdays and Sundays. Other Hornets walk on once every week or every other, so on a Saturday or Sunday we usually get anywhere from 17-30 Hornets for the BeesWax game, which is Hornets vs. Everyone else. Its a great game always win or loose. The one thing us Hornets have that the walk ons don't is love for what we do, although we arnt pros, and a good strategy. That really enables us to do what we need to do. In my time at PBJ I havent seen any Hornets cheat in any way, although of course I can't say for sure. What I can say for sure is that if ANYBODY is cought cheating they will be done for the day and/or removed from the game.
ACPBJ is the top field out there hands down, and once the Air Ball field is put in, PBJ will be top in the Nation.
There are a lot of whiners out there just whining and whining and whining about two things, cheaters and how expensive paintballing is. Thats just a load of crap. Cheating isnt tolorated at all, if cought staff will act accordingly. If your complaining about the money, find a different sport.
10 for 10 and getting better and better.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
8 Comments - Add Comment

RAGEAHOLIC Tuesday, November 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Let me see, Venture Paintball Games, Sherwood Forest, Sunol, Midway, WAP, Homewood,
My private property field, SC Village (in the area means in California...right?) Mare Island, and Paintball Sams in Sac, now closed.
Review: Alright, let me start off by saying, the most horrible thing about this field is the way they rip off their customers. How do you justify a $15 bring your own paint surcharge, when you have been in business 13 years, the owner owns his own alternative company, and your one of the ONLY fields that has this policy. If you do not wish to pay the surcharge, you are required to buy their paint at obnoxiously inflated prices. Newsflash guys, nobody is still charging 80+ for a case of paint, even marbalizer. Several times it has been an emergency and I have purchased paint at the field, only to find multiple broken balls ensuring a crummy paintballing experience. Heres a tip to players at the field, take advantage of their paint pass policy. If at the end of the day you walk up to the desk and show them 500+ rounds leftover, they will give you a paintpass exempting you from the surcharge the next time you go there to play.

The best part of their paint pass policy is that any 500 rounds will do, they have no means of differentiating paint bought there from paint bought elsewhere. Oh ya, and go there with friends and have a different person walk up to the desk with the same 500 rnds of paint 3 or 4 times. This way, you just dont have to worry about it anymore. Of course I have no idea why you would want to come back to this field anyway.

Oh ya, about the Hornets. I am a Hornet, but now, I use my old Hornet jersey ($45) as my marker rag for cleaning up paint. You want to become a Hornet; walk up to the desk there and say "I want to become a Hornet." They will give you an "application" that can be filled out by a psychopathic convict in jail and you send it in to the address they provide and a month later, cha-ching...you are now a Hornet, a model of good sportsmanship. I have been on the other side, I have played with the Hornets. The strategy, they pin all the non-hornets into one of the bases in the corner so there's no way to run, such as Dave, or Hornet's Nest (dont be fooled by the name, if you get put in Hornet's Nest and are told that all you have to do is defend the base until the end of the game, the Hornets are really outnumbered and need all the help they can get). Here's a tip, dont stay in the base. They want you all clustered together so they can shoot you all easily.

But now on to how the Hornets cheat. Bob splits the Hornets up into three teams, one is told to flank, one is told to head pretty much straight for the opponents, and one is told to make unhittable targets that get the opponents excited and wastes their paint. There is another way of describing this third party, wipe. Hunker down in the bushes, where the refs, all younger Hornets themselves not wanting to piss off any of the senior Hornets, can't clearly see if players got hit or not. "invisible targets" Now the best part is that I quit playing on the Hornets side once i found all this out. I then made it my naive ambition to eliminate Bob. I had witnessed Bob's favorite scam when I played for the Hornets, not thinking too much of it. If eliminated, Bob, always escorted by no less than 3 close experienced players, makes sure that the player eliminating him also gets hit, either by him, claiming that he fired shots before he was eliminated, or by his escort. At this point he will confront the eliminating player and offer him a deal at which he may return to his side on the anti-Nornets team, if he just allow Bob to continue play.

This policy is not made apparent in the pre-game orientation, and I believe goes by the name of cheating. While I played for the Hornets nobody refused the offer, often being too stunned by the fact that they were able to eliminate the infamous "Magic-Carpet-Bob". When I eliminated Bob however, I had made up my mind not to accept his offer, walking off the field after being eliminated by his henchmen with plug in and hand waving just as one should. To my surprise Bob did not accompany me. At the announcement of his offer and my rejection I was surprised to find that still Bob did not wish to join me for the walk back to the staging area and that I was now being labeled by him and his escorts as a poor sport. This is not the end however, after the close of the game Bob confronted me in the staging area and exclaimed that if he ever saw another display of poor sportsmanship like the one he had just witnessed, that I would be kicked off the field without refund and not allowed to return. Isn't it the job of the field owner to make sure eack and every player has an enjoyable time at his field.

One of their favorite tricks however, is to extend the length of the game if the Hornets feel that they are winning, or, depending on the style of the game, shortening it if they feel they are losing.

Unlike American Canyon, if you ever find Venture Paintball Games charging for an O-ring, or time spent helping a player with a difficult gun, I would be shocked. This is not the attitude however at American Canyon. Oh ya, about American Canyon being woods ball, its not. All the trees are in line and the same size, the entire area is flat, and there are no rocks...woodsball, I think not. About the Zulu field, I can dteremine the outcome of any Zulu game within the first 30 seconds of play. The first team to take control of the woodpile inevitably wins the game...watch a few games, and you will see. No bunker should hold this much power on any field. The best part is the refs and Hornets refuse to divulge this information to anyone, always taking advantage of the younger and more experienced players.

Do I have a personal grudge against American Canyon, no, its just that everytime I play there I feel like I am being tricked in some way. And heres another tip, do not write a field review if you are new to the sport, or have only played at a limited number of fields, i.e. one, especially if that one is American Canyon. Of course paintball is always fun pretty much no matter what, and I am able to have an alright time if I go with my friends, never go here alone though, you will not be welcomed. Field gets a 4.
Last edited on Wednesday, November 24th, 2004 at 1:26 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
12 Comments - Add Comment

valgard123 Sunday, September 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
260 acres owned by friend in the Sierra Foothills.
Review: Very nice place. I like woodsball, they've got plenty of it, lots of eucalyptus. Some of the fields are large enough that when I thought we were being slick and flanking, we were walking WAY off target and sneaking up on vacant forts not in play. So you can stay a bit tight to the field. No poison oak, burrs, etc, so you don't wind up throwing out a pair of socks each time. Minimal holes, ditches and other stuff to trip in/break ankles. Good forts, wood blockades and stuff to hide behind.

Players have been great when I've been there. Age range is from about 10 years on up, you'll undoubtedly be playing with folks all around your age which is cool. Some of those "little kids" will light you up like a Christmas Menorah on the 4th of July :-)

They're pretty good about safety and the staff is always watching for goggles and barrel plugs (they have refs watching as you enter and leave the field) and they chrono all non-rental guns before every game, on the field. 290fps max. Resident pro is friendly enough and had some good advice for me (newbie).

Staff is very friendly overall, I didn't see anyone being grouchy or anything with the players.

Hornets seem like a good bunch, keep in mind that (according to Magic Carpet Bob) there are something like 3000 of 'em (???) so you may get a few bad apples. They're supposed to be selected for good sportsmanship, not necessarily being kick butt shooters, and they have all behaved excellently. I haven't seen any poor sportsmanship, complaining or cheating from them. They've been friendly and helpful, complimentary of good shots (even when they got nailed), say "Hi" and "Fun playing with you, see you next time" (from a business standpoint you need to do this), just generally setting a good example. We played Beeswax at lunch, something like 70 (of us) on 25 (Hornets) and got creamed. Watch them and learn.

Somebody complained about Bob telling people on his team to keep playing when he shot 'em by accident - that's the field rule and it's spelled out for everyone. Friendly fire doesn't get you out.

Sportsmanship I've seen is good - nobody wiping hits, saying "you missed" when they got tagged, or being a jerk. I have seen a lot of people, including Hornets, call themselves out, realize that it wasn't a break, and take it in style.

Things I didn't like...

1. I've seen a couple of folks (including Hornets) with barrel swabs used as barrel plugs. That should be a no-no.

2. One or two kids going full-auto (a specific no-no, field rule).

Overall, very nice field, excellent staff, resident team and other players. There's room for improvement but I'd take friends there.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dm4Sho0teR Saturday, September 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
There is sherwood forest but i never played there before.
Review: Nice field! Great People. They have 3 speedball fields and like 7 scenerio field that are all great. Its a fun way to play. They play at 290 Fps and you have to buy their paint. Well, you really dont have to cuz i dont but they usually never enforce that rule on me. I guess admission and your accessories are great.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media