paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field

American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
126Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 707-552-2426
Address: 2 Eucalyptus Drive
American Canyon, California 94591
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
autococker4life Thursday, January 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
crossfire paintball, venture games(worst field ever made) and schwinn field, sunol field
Review: this was my main field, not anymore. For beginners this is a good field cuz newbs dont care if people wipe anyway, but i hate wipers. Hornets cheat a whole lot. I was there and bob dropped a 175.00 crossfire tank and started yelling at the guy cuz he was mad. who wouldnt be mad. the paint price is rediculous. 15.00 or buy there paint, at crossfire its 5.00 a case if u bring ur own, way better. the proshop isnt bad. newbs should go here, not experienced players like me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

chris bigelow Wednesday, December 31st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
venture games
Review: everyone acts like this field sucks. THey say that all the hornets cheat. I am not saying that they don't but not all of them cheat. I have been there about ten times and it has only happened to me once.

Also everyone thinks that the prices are to high. If the feild wants to stay in bussiness then they have to make a profeit right.The prices are only about 3-4 bucks more. The refs are not the best but they are not bad. I think that they just need a few more because the feild is 70 some acres.

The terrain is pretty good if you like the woods ball stuff.The teams are usually fair but you can never really get real fair teams. It is great for people that just want to have fun.

I give it a 10 because they give away a gun every other sunday and the guy with the glasses is really nice.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

igmoofreak Wednesday, December 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood Forest
Review: Well, where to start?

Good things about the feild: Great area, plenty of coverage and NO POISON OAK. The saftey issues are really forced here, i saw a kid get booted for removing his mask on the feild. The rental guns are OK, mostly phirannas and spyders but they are decent.
Gameplay: They have 3 variations of play, elimnation, CTF (capure the flag) and Beeswax.

Beeswax is the hornets against all. The majority of the time this game is played, they are let the on the feild early and dont chrono in. Also there is a LARGE amount of cheating being done, you name it, anywhere from wipes to them leaving and coming right back on the feild. recently i NAILED a hornet twice on the chest and i starting screaming "i hit you!" and she tagged me in the mask, it cause my nose to bleed and i had to sit the game out.

PAINT:
Not only is the paint expensive, but they have a 500 round minimum you must buy.
the avrage case is about 60$, and thats "Team Colors" paint :(

"PRO SHOP":
this "pro-shop" is a false advertisment, i saw a kid with a tippmann a5 and a RT trigger. They explained to him that they arent allowed and made him disable it by taking it to the "pro shop" where they disconnected a hose, and plugged it up with a screw! Now, im not a expert on paintball gun care, but thats not right. Not only that, but the prices on guns, hoppers, masks and everything in between are way over priced.

Overall the feild is great, but the only down point is lack of ref's and the cheating factor played out by the hornets. Plus: the hornets are the largest paintball team in america. i wouldent call the SF hornets a paintball team, but a club of cheaters more so.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

Be0da0o Tuesday, December 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none, but i'v played in other fields all around the us
Review: I had one of my first rec-ball experiances here, and it was great....Tha refs were nice, and There were chronos everywere. The Hornets were really good, and It was very fun.. Even though i got shot at 5 feet(that was my fault) Anyways, it is a great field, and i reccomend it to anyone who wants a good time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB_Reviewer18 Monday, December 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Midway, Operation Paintball, Venture Games, Sherwood Forest, Sunol
Review: After reading some of the bad reviews of this field, I decided to check out the place for myself before passing judgement. Now that I've played there for about a month, I can honestly say that Paintball Jungle is not a great field to play at.

Pros:
Great terrain for woods ball.
Good bunker constructions and layout.

Con:
Many of the SF Hornets (home team) who ref the games and play in scenarios are cheaters.
Expensive even if you are self-equipped.
Tons of players with hot guns and firing full-auto.
Not a safe environment.

My first experience at Jungle was good, and that's what encouraged me to come back. However, the last 2 times I played there left very bad impressions. The field fees and paint prices are expensive, but the cheaters are the worst problem. The SF Hornets praise themselves on their "sportsmanship," but rarely practice it. Many of the Hornet refs allow cheating, often times from players who sneak onto the field without armbands. There are a lot of players with hot guns, and firing full auto. I witnessed a player's goggle cracking after getting shot, and his friend had to carry him off the field because he couldn't see. During a beeswax game (SF Hornets vs everyone else), I saw some Hornets wipe, and also come back into the game after getting eliminated. I shot a couple myself, and they just ran off and continued playing.

I accept the fact that there are players that cheat, but it's disappointing and unacceptable to have refs that cheat. Although there are many Hornets that break the rules, I have met some that I respect greatly. If only there were more honorable Hornets.

I am giving this field a 2 rating and not a 1, only because the layout and fields themselves could be fun without cheaters.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

Epyon08 Thursday, December 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
WAP,Midway paintball, action paintball
Review: Hmmm where can i start????? Overall the layout of the field is pretty bad ass...its about 65 acres of bunkers, bushes, trees, well fortified bases and teepees. They provide lots of free drinking water..and they're pretty big on safety there which is a plus Although theres a big negative side to this field. For one the prices aren't really the greatest....for an arm and leg you can get a case of marbalizer, which isn't worth it at all. Primarily, the local team..or club they have there....the SF Hornets.....all the accusations of this club..team...whatever cheating.....yes these accusations are true....all of its true. From the whiping on the field down to the overshooting they adminster on newbies. These folks pretty much think they're some type of god on the field...since they suppose to be the role models of good sportmanship for the sport of paintball. But in reality the majority of the team all cheat in some way or form...whether turning up their guns super high (315-340fps...trust me my friend was bleeding when we got done wit one game) or even letting their guns go full auto on people as they restrict customers from using reactive triggers or full auto setups, which simply just takes away from the fun of the game when they can't even follow their own rules.... I think blasting a dude with 4 rounds and then after he gets shot...he returns fire on me?? WTF is that?? overall this place is fun in terms of the setup they have....but the people who play there are mostly just cheaters....for the people who plan on playing there...just keep your eye out for cheating
Last edited on Thursday, December 11th, 2003 at 11:00 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Travisimo27 Wednesday, December 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
-none-
Review: This was my first field, so I had nothing to compare it to and thought it was normal. But now that I've gone other places, this one sucked. The players cheat a LOT, especially Bob. The friend I went with, and I saw it, called to out to Bob asking what team he was on. during the game. Bob turned around and started shooting at him. Jumping out he was like "Hey I'm green, what are you?" Bob shot him up a bit more, and then said "I'm green too. Wipe it off and keep playing." I've seen too much more cheating to even list.
Worst points list:
Fifteen dollars to bring your own paintballs. I've only once seen another field do this, and it was just for people renting, which would need it anyway.
Muddy like a swamp cause it was one.
Rushed to get ready, then you're out on the field doing nothing before the game starts.
High paint prices. Firefox is close to OK price, but I wouldn't use that stuff for a door stop.

Everyone, play in a backyard for much more fun. Even sitting back and shooting a can is better. If you agree with this post, then add a comment
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

dethsoldier Thursday, November 6th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sunol Paintball, Sherwood Forest
Review: I really like this field. After reading all of the other reviews people have given this field I got sick of them. All of the incidents that happend to those people have never happend to me. All of the staff is nice ( the proshop guy is a little mean, but he does every thing needed to your gun). Some one said that you have to walk a long way and I do agree. Some bases are way far away than others, you do get tired. But whoever said that they were always waiting for action? I have the complete opposite problem, they give you like 4 minutes to wipe off, clean your barrel, fill up, and leave and the games never last for more than thirty minutes. Maybe you just arent the greates paintballer and get out in the first five minutes. The beeswax games are the best. These games are held directly after lunch. This is when you get to play the largest paintball team in the world. These people consist of 15- 20 ( number of people you play) of very advanced kids, adults and women, and some of them dont even play with there own gun, they rent like shutters. You also play against one of the greates paintballers, Magic Carpet Bob. hes so good that hell give you 1000 paintballs just for getting him out, and he is that only hornet that doesnt wipe ( we all know that the hornets are embarassed to get out so they wipe off all of the shots unless its purely obvious. The scenario in the beeswax game is always th same, they have to succesfly get into your base and steal the flag and get it back to their base in 30 minutes or less. Watch out for two things. The first is that roght when the game starts the hornets are already close to you so its good if you stay aroud your base beacuse ther is no point of going to theirs. They obviously cheat unless they all are on some kind of track team ( nobody runs that fast). The second thing to watch out for is their little strategy. Most people who have played jungle once or twice knows it. What they do is they send one man to run up real close to you, fire a couple times then retreat. When he reatrats hes hoping for you to fully him, DONT! I repeat do not follow any retreating hornet. If you follow him two more guys will ihnialate you, its not fun trus me, I know from experience. Some of the downsides are that yes refs are not always present, so what if the guy you shot wipes than if he shoots you, you should wipe to, But when there really shood be a ref present there probably will be one. The chronoraphs are there but no one ever chrono's except for the beeswax game. Big deal, if they turn up there gun, you turn up yours. It is woods ball but there are lots of open fields with just teepees and barriers, its still fun. Some one said that you cant use your flat line, so what, you spent the 115 bux, not every body has a tippman with a flatline, just use your stock barrel, its not that hard. Yes I admit the the teams are at times a little un fair, or alot, but if you tell the staff theyll change it. The cool thing is that all of the guys one your team are always very nice, you always eneding being with a group of people you dont know that are really nice and you guys from your own little team. It is true that you cant use automatics but it's still okay. The place is a little xpensive but its woth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

necr0tech Monday, October 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood Forest - I like it more just cause I like speedball more.
Review: Despite the bad reviews, I tried it out just cause my friend likes this field more...
Good stuff:
Area is large, lots of covers. Excellent fields!!! Bunkers everywhere.
Unlike in Sherwood, you wont be inhaling tons of dirt/dust when you run/slide on the fields.
Refs are strict. A hornet was actually kicked out of a game for removing his mask inside the field.

Stuff I didn't like.
Fields are big which makes it difficult for refs to to catch those who wipe.... I saw a lot of people cheat. More refs needed in a game.
That $15 dollar paintball pass fee.
Horse sh!t on the field.... x_x

Update:
I went again this weekend and it wasnt better. The refs didnt balance the teams and we were pretty much outnumbered at least 2 to 1 in each game. Also, I was only asked to chrono once for the whole day. They werent as strict as the past week for some reason.
With that, I'm lowering my rating to 6.
Last edited on Friday, October 31st, 2003 at 11:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shibby12 Tuesday, October 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sherwood forrest- better
fairgrounds paintball- out of buiseness, caus it was horrible!
Review: Well, I think that it is pretty fun. prices arent too bad, the refs are ok, they dont really talk to you. A good experience, you will love it if your a woods player. If you like speedball like me, you want to try sherwood forest, its on the same road. The problem is that you dont really get much action, so many people just sit there and dont move. Beeswax is fun though. Its where you play the san francisco hornets for a match and get your butt kicked. But its a lot of fun. Cool bunkers, and they have a raffel every sunday, and give away a bunch of stuff.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media