paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / PSI Xtreme Sports Paintball Field / PSI Xtreme Sports Paintball Field / PSI Xtreme Sports Paintball Field / PSI Xtreme Sports Paintball Field

PSI Xtreme Sports Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
54Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 727-538-9946
Address: 8220 Ulmerton Rd.
Largo, Florida 33771
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Jweb617 Saturday, January 16th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 16th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
only played here
Review: This was my very first time paintballing and I must say it was a very positive experience. I chose to play at PSI Xtreme sports because they were less than 15 minutes from where I was staying on vacation and seemed like a descent place.

Safety: The safety measures were top notch and even though some of the referees were pretty young they were still serious about the rules and enforcing them. A few times a new player forgot to either decock his gun or forgot to use the barrel cover and the refs were on them in no time. There were at least 2 refs per game and I counted 5 refs total at the field. All guns are chrono’ed at 260 FPS and it's a smart move considering the fields are smaller than most.

Fields: The fields are nice despite being somewhat small and a little cramped at times when there are a descent number of players playing. They have a "city field" which consists of several walls and half-buildings to hide behind as well as a somewhat small speedball field for those who enjoy that. The only downside was that there were tons of paintballs lying around and even small puddles of ooze from countless paintballs being stepped on.

Hours of operation: The hours are very good as they are open for long periods of time. They are open on Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays for walk-on play and will open during the week for a group of 5 players.

Prices: The prices are cheaper than most paintball places. 20 dollars will get you in but if you buy and use only their field paint they will knock 10 dollars off the admission fee. It is BYOP if desired and they sell pretty good field paint for 15 dollars for 500 balls.

Staff, Services: The staff are incredibly friendly and know what they are doing. My incredibly cheap Brass Eagle T-storm marker wouldn't go below 280 FPS and the staff disassembled my gun, trimmed the hammer spring, and put it back together in 30 seconds flat and I was ready to go. Without them I wouldn't have had any idea what was wrong with my marker. They can fill both CO2 and HPA on-site and have good selection of markers and apparel to purchase.

Overall: If it were possible I would transplant this field back to Pennsylvania with me because it is a great place to play and the staff are fantastic.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

volatil3 Monday, June 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Games, Kohn Sports, PSI
Review: I played here a few weeks ago. I first arrived and went into the store. The store was pretty well rounded with a little of everything there that you needed. The staff was friendly enough and was helpful they helped me get my new marker set up.
When I went out to the field they had one urban type field with wooden bunkers and a few wooden buildings. I had a lot of fun on this field the layout was even. It kept the games fast, entertaining, and competitive enough. Other than that field I only saw and played on one airball field or xball field I am not sure what the proper name for it is. I went out there and played with a scenario marker which was surprisingly fun. The field felt small (but I like to play in the woods and city type fields) and the blow up bunkers seemed like they werent filled up all the way (this was my first time on one of these fields but the pics of other and vids I have seen the condition of the blowup bunkers seemed low overall in comparrison and I was able to push into them really far it seemed) but they got the job done.
Overall I liked this field the only downfall was the price. For the two fields available, the field fee and air fee are seperate and ended up being $30 for all day air and play. The other fields I have been too have been in the $20 to $25 range with a lot more variety in play. If the prices were comparable I would definately play here more often.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JMWPainter Wednesday, April 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gladiator Paintball in Largo (back in the day)
Orlando Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
It is in the middle of Ulmerton Rd. somewhere.
Review: I had been there a couple of times few years ago when it felt weird and unconfortable to even walk in, as if you were burdening them because you were there, but now it has changed completely.

I came in about three weeks earlier to have my tank hydrotested so I could play with my friends on April 1st. The tank wasn't ready on April 1st so I had to borrow a tank from a friend. They were nice enough to switch everything over for my borrowed tank and have a leak fixed and change a battery without me needing to ask for it.

The field was very fun but they only had one big "L' shaped field ready to use. No air ball field. I made the best of it and had a lot of fun.

Being over a month now I havn't received a call about the tank that is still in hydro testing which I was told it would take only 3 weeks. That is the only issue that I have with them right now.

Overall very good field and excelent service.

-JMWPainter
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MeTaLFrEaK7531 Sunday, December 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have not been to any others besides PSI, but i want to go to GATOR
Directions
to the Field:
Its just on ulmertin you will see a big sign that says Florida Paint
Review: This is a great field mostly everyone is nice they can be a little strict about safety but they need to mostly because your carrying guns that shoot Paintballs lol but all the refs are pretty cool. They have fairly decent prices they have a really good proshop except they dont sell anything spyder so if you have one and it breaks or you bust a o-ring your screwed but their cool mine wasnt working one day so they gave me a free rental which was pretty cool. I dont like some of the players i have seen some them wipe off paint in games and we actually caught one guy on video and he still said he didnt wipe lol until he saw the video but most or all the players there are really nice and its good to get to know other paintball players, Jason the guy that works there is great if somethin happens to your gun or you need somethin he will hook you up. They dont really have food but right next door there is a place u can eat some decent food and theres a taco bell right down the street :) but overall its a great field i highly recommend this field we could always use new players!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lime Thursday, September 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none are closer to it and by looking at the reviews of other locals i dont want to go anywhere else
Directions
to the Field:
its on ulmerton, and has a big sign
Review: This is a great field, the saftey netting is in perfect condition. The refs are very nice and helpful usually at least two refs per game. Thier airball field is incredible. The city field is nice but the sides are slightly unfair. The refs do a great job of dividing teams up, none of that pros vs rental people. If you have 5 or more people they will let you do a private game. Lots of drinks and snacks. Prices are decent, 20 dollar field fee, if you buy paint from them you get a free filed fee, all day air is 10 dollars. It is slightly expensive but judging from other reviews, it is byfar the best field in the area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

aestud2469 Saturday, December 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
gator,fpc,orbital,kohn,break 50
Directions
to the Field:
right off ulmerton between belcher and starkey
Review: Awesome local field i didn't even know this place was here until about two weeks ago and thought i'd save the drive and go right around the corner and try it out the people and staff r super friendly and refs are very helpful and serious definitely some of the best reffing ive seen they have a great pro shop as well they have an xball and ghost town field which i consider good enough for being as close as it is i definitely will be going there more often you cant beat the prices
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tai_mishuu911 Thursday, November 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gladiator.
Directions
to the Field:
www.psiextremesports.com
Review: This field is alright. i had to start playing here ever since gladiator had closed down. when i first started playing there there was barely any grass and so much sand and rocks. Now they've planted new grass and i might even get a field sponsorship.
They have a well stocked proshop and stuff at great prices. the reffs are responsible and are very serious about safety of the players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

section 8 Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gator
Review: I have played twice at Gator, a great place. But I was tight on time so I went here just to get a few hours in. I'm from Ohio and am use to playing more open/woodsball type stuff (but I do enjoy X ball) but thought for $20 I'll have a little fun. I was never asked about chrono but I always leave my marker at 260 so I checked myself. Nobody seemed to be hot. The airball field was impressive and there were hardly any attitudes there. I did something I shouldn't have and the guy laughed it off. Reffing was probably the best I have seen, and I've played all over the country. Most places refs stand around by netting loading thier good friends against the noobs. They seem to try and balance the games as best they can. One of the regular "pros" was there, I thoght I had tagged him and was walking out and he had at least two hits on him. I just pointed to his mask as I went by and a little blonde girl checked him and called him out. He started arguing and she stood her ground and pulled him. From the moment I walked in the door to register till I left I had a great time. The city was a little tight for me, as I like to run and flank, but for in the middle of town it was OK. They had a birthday party with some very young boys and let them play by themselfs and play with us and watched them so they had fun also.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tbj Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
n/a
Directions
to the Field:
right off ulmerton road
Review: Honestly the only other field ive been to was in ohio and personally it wasnt to good but as i play here now i must say this field is great the refs are friendly and very good wiht saftey policies paintchacks are never an issue but as with all paintball fields priciing is fair but couild g down a bit seeing as i can use up about 100$ there service is great as i had a friend break a bolt and they fixed it no charge and even replaced it but all in all great feild
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Clay tatt Sunday, June 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
i played Gladiator a lil while ago but they closed down now
Directions
to the Field:
its easy to get too theres a sign outside saying paintball so you know where to turn
Review: I love this field i mean the guys that work there are real nice and its very safe they are very strict about masks and barrel socks but they should be they have great hours and prices there rules are good the proshop is great The fields are great they have the airball and the city one there refs are always there if you need help or a paintcheck and they serve food there i would reccommend anyone in the area to go to this Field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media