paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Homeland Paintball Field / Homeland Paintball Field / Homeland Paintball Field / Homeland Paintball Field

Homeland Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
31Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 785-418-7700
Address: 6341 E. 268 Hwy
Quenemo, Kansas 66528
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
xXMaxipadXx Sunday, October 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dropzone-Has AirBall and theres always people to play with which is a plus but dropzone is more expensive, with bad judges, a speedball field with bunkers that seem to be caked in old paint.
Directions
to the Field:
Haven't changed
Review: Our First time to Homeland was a bit of an experiment. We just heard about it and were a bit worried that we would drive over an hour to find a lame park with no one else to play with. Turns out Homeland beats DropZone into the dust. We play all day free air with only 15 bucks field fee on their awesome castle field which must be a few football fields, and a NPPL speedball lay out which kicks @ss.

Safty is a BIG priority and they'll let a kid sit a game out for takin off their mask but don't take it wrong, there not jerks there just keepin' your eye balls on ur face.

------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------------
We showed up to the Haloween event on the 28th at Homeland and had a great time. When we heard about 60+ people and strobe light speedball we couldn't NOT check it out. It was fun but not quite what we were expecting, We weren't expecting it to be a kid's event. Teams were mostly kids which is great for a few rounds but after mowin down a row or two of them u kinda feel bad lol. We played in the first 1 hour scenario called Werewolves v.s Vampires which was our first scenario game, and it too was mostly for the kids 15 and under. Each team had a flag to be raised or lowered (keep urs up and theirs down kinda thing) and there were props u could find and return to a judge for points. Also there were death dealer cards which pretty much gave someone 15 or under the ability not to get out unless he got shot in the chest or back.The kids got a kick out of this which was cool. The sides didn't seem fair though. They started by the castle with lots of cover and we didn't get much. We wern't having much fun in the scenario so Kenny let us go to the speedball course for a while to play some 1 on 1's which was really cool of him to trust us like that.

Bon Fire and Food and then to the speed ball

The speed ball was interesting. people wore glow sticks on their mask and gun and turned on the strobes. One of those things you think about but never get to try. we played a 3 on 3 with the spot lights on with another Team and won but it was hard to see, especially with my tinted lens, so the victory wasn't exactly official. It was cool but I got someone out with out knowing it and shot at the little glow sticks not realizing they were out.

Two bad things i think they should work on

1) Friendly Fire was ridiculous. Me and a teammate must have been friendly fired 4-5 times. Some more refs would be nice to regulate a FF to an Out or have them be called out as well for shootin their own team.

2) Our team went to the speed ball course alone for a while which was cool of the judges but we didn't get to play anyone else on the course until it was dark.

(No matter what happened at the event the park still rules and everyone there couldn't be nicer)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

earl quinn Thursday, October 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jaegers Drop Zone- like ive heard before, the refs are there just to get a paycheck they certainly dont deserve. If the truth gets me in trouble then so be it.
Directions
to the Field:
Easily found once you have been there. 35 south to ottawa 68 hiway to pomona lake after sign that says 2 miles to lake look to your left and youre home!
Review: Ken wade was the best at making this event wonderful, very knowledgable and compassionate, all around epitomy of what all paintballers and woodsballers should be. while there was wiping and dead men talking this was no fault of homelands, but it can lead to undesirable play conditions for other players. my rule, if they wipe, light them up!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Schwimmy Monday, October 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
www.homelandpaintball.net
Review: I participated in the Fall of the Third Reich and had a wonderful time. For anyone else who was there, you might know me as "the mortar guy." I was very impressed as this was my first scenerio and, indeed, my first time on a commercial field. I will summize by saying that the standard rate fee of $15 a day is an insanely low amount considering you get all day free air and the level of dedication I observed. It even makes me feel that -I- can afford to go there on my limited budget, but alas, I am a biochem major and cannot get out nearly as much as I'd like. I look forward to attending their next scenario at the beginning of next year, rumoured to have tanks. For that, I'll probably be dubbed "the bazooka guy" instead of "the mortar guy."

Cheers, Schwimmy

***UPDATE 12/17/06***
I attended the Santa Clause Down charity scenario and had another fantastic time. I was sorely out of practice, last paintballing at the above mentioned scenario, my markers weren't teched (the only one usable was my pump cocker), the 120 people signed up didn't show save for about 25 of us, making the field insanely too large for the amount of players (and making my air cannons nearly useless), and it was roughly spit into teams of hardend scenario players vs newbs/walkons (guess where I was :P). But naw, it was great. I got pwnd a lot, and did some pwning myself, like when I bunkered the guy with my bazooka:

/me stands up: Surrender!
him: Holy "shizzle"! (jumps behind dirt mound)
/me: Well? I did say surrender. (jumps on top of dirt mound)
bazooka: WHOOOOMP!
him: HIT, HIT, QUIT SHOOTING ME!!!
/me: AAHH!!! (runs away with bazooka, only to get thirty feet before him's two friends light up /me's butt)

One thing I really want to know is...what is that sniper's setup, you know, the one that hits you with pink paint from +120 ft? I heard from an unreliable source that he uses a 98c with a 24 inch barrel, but then...consider the source, it's just what I heard!

Oh, and sorry for dirtying your vest Ken, you should let me know when you're entering the field of play (especially with the group that's been pounding our butts :P). I'm Motorola channel 5 ; ) .

But seriously, great people, clean play, good times had by all, no excessive vulgarity...who could ask for anything more? Ok, a paint sponsorship would be nice, but this is the next best thing? Right? Right???
Last edited on Sunday, December 17th, 2006 at 8:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

bigdummie Monday, October 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: I was there for the Fall of the Third Reich scenario game and it was great! This was my first scenario game so it was a bit overwhelming, but I had played at this field three times before so that helped. However, the field of play was several time larger than my previous visits and this really added to the feel of a BIG game. The worst parts was walking back to your base after being eliminated. They had three 2 hour games and I only lasted for the first two, but it was great! They had two sides to the game and each side had two commanders who than broke us up into smaller groups to get organized.

Only things I would recommend for improving would be having maps and objectives available online so players can get an idea of what to except before arriving. This might help with some of the confusion I experienced myself and from others. Also, no fault of the games organizers necessarily, we could have had our mobile voice communications better organized. Maybe most of what I experienced was from not being in the right place at the right time.

Don't get me wrong, it was great overall. I learned a great deal and will be more prepared for the next one. Keep up the great work Rodger and Ken!!! Maybe I can get the catapult working for next time... LOL!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

monkey4paintbal Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
battle splat and jagers
Review: This field is prity cool it is huge i like it a lot. for $15 bucks and free air this is awsome it seemed prity safe.the refs are fare. do not for get to bring food or you will starv. the staff there will go out of there way to help you if it would be fixing your un to wating on you to play . over all i like this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jugernaut Wednesday, August 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Directions
to the Field:
Directions to the field are at www.homelandpaintball.com
Review: Very intense with good competition. My favorite course is the castle. Sneaking up behind your opponent could be easy if you are adaptable to your surroundings. This course is very intense. The owners are really easy going but still hold the rules. They play by the honer system. They make different games for extra excitement.
The speed ball field is great. It has a snake that is the length of the field. A new game that I played is called Thunder Dome with teams of two. Very competitive and one of the best fast pace games I have played. Come out and play. Its only 15 dollars with all day Co2.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

albino mexican9 Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dropzone paintball park. I like homeland a lot better since there aren't as many rules and you can make up your own games if you want. Also homeland is cheaper.
Review: The staff here was pretty cool. They werent always telling you what you cant do. All they really care about here is that you have fun. There are a few safety rules like wearing mask and all that you would find at most paintball parks. They do stress safety though.

One of the best things about Homeland Paintball is that they let you switch rules around for games and you can just make games up on the spot and go play them. Heres also a good thing, if its just you and a group of buddies they will let you choose if you want to go by the 10ft surrender rule or if you want to just go all out and no matter how far away you are.

The only bad thing i can thing of with this park is finding it. The best way is to use mapquest and get their address from their website. The one thing you have to watch for is a sign that says Tornado Alley still instead of Homeland Paintball. I think they're trying to change that though,
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

its_big_drew Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
dropzone- good field, some employees aren't too helpful (just trying to make paycheck and not there to help people out).
Directions
to the Field:
from kc take I-35 south to exit 187 (Kansas highway 68) take right onto 68. once on 68 go through ottawa, go through pomona and 68 runs into 268, once you're on 268 it's only a mile on the left hand side, sign still says tornado alley but it just hasnt been changed yet.
Review: Never in my 9 years of playing have i experienced anything like this field. the castle is just INSANE. It can be confusing but it's still fun. There was only one ref, Kenny, reffing 10 players but he was still on top of the action and players here are seem to be very honest even if the ref(s) arent watching. Kenny was one of the coolest guys you'll meet playing paintball. My friend was talking to him about how great tippmanns are and all of a sudden Kenny pulls out his completely tricked out A-5 and lets my buddy use it. I eventually got to shoot it too and I've never seen a tippmann shoot 20+ per second until that day. And then my gun jacks up on me, I asked Kenny for some loctite and he says "I have something better you can use" and proceeds to hand me his Ion. How great is that? No ref at dropzone is gonna do that. If the castle isn't your thing there speedball isnt too far away and it's a regulation NPPL field with bunkers made of drainage tubing. they also have and old fashioned speedball field with wooden bunkers but it doesnt look like it gets used much. Keith was really creative with the games when it seems like everyone was tired of regular castle elimination games. MY OVERALL RATING OF THIS FIELD AND STAFF 20 OUT OF 10. After playing here you'd have to drag me to any other field. Oh and if you didnt already know, it's only $15 field fee, no byop fee, air is free, and they'll even air up your tanks when you're leaving (just tell the ref before they put the stuff up).

Edit: I got the refs name wrong so i edited that. Also I've gone back once since writing the review. The second time I went out it was just me and 3 buddies but we called before we got there and the owner showed up to let the 4 of us play. AT THIS FIELD CALL AHEAD IF YOU'RE WALKING ON. That will help you make sure they have other players. The owner was just as cool as the ref (Kenny) and even gave us a guided tour of his 200+ acres. He offered to drive us back to the TRUE WOODSBALL (only natural cover) field. He basically will drive players to the "hard to get to fields" if they dont have 4x4 vehicles. Not all the fields are hard to get to though, the castle is right up front and the regulation speedball course is within reasonable distance. He's currently working on expanding the castle field for a scenario game on SEPTEMBER 30th which is supposed to be pretty cool.
I would definitely recommend this field to anyone in the Kansas City, Lawrence, or Ottawa areas who are looking for something a little different from DropZone and Jaegers. And if the turnout is good enough at the September scenario the owner plans to host at least one scenario a month throughout the year.

second edit: I know it's been a while since the game but the Fall of the Third Reich game rocked. The German generals didn't show up so Kenny asked me to fill in. Somehow we lead the first 2 rounds of play but unfortunately didn't win the game. I'll bite my tongue as to why but let's say someone (not me) made a bad choice. I also went to the Halloween game. This rocked too.

third edit: I've played a few more times out there and it just keeps getting better. Nothing more fun than a scenario based on the Wizard of Oz. I mean, how often do you get to use real life bananas as grenades?
Last edited on Saturday, April 21st, 2007 at 7:46 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

turgon Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: As DammCmdrKermit said great field. For the money I doubt you get as much anywhere near KC.Very helpful staff. Field judge's where fair and keep a good watch on the huge field. Me and DammCmdrKermit got a personal tour of a good chunk of the land with the owner and he showed us some of the future plans. This place can only get better and its damn good now. The castle is a blast but they also have a speedball course and a woods ball in the making. Definitely go if you have the chance.
Last edited on Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 at 12:36 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DammCmdrKermit Monday, June 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Private property with friends, no ref, no chrono etc. fun but nowhere near as interesting.
Directions
to the Field:
From KC take 35 South to K68 take K68 to 268 field is on the left, easy as all get out to find, less than 2 hours from Kansas City. A few miles away is a large lake/recreation area with great camping and full facilities.
Review: We arrived at 10am on Saturday morning, were given to oppurtunity to tour the field and take a look at the area, very impressive barely begins to cover the scope of this area. Other players were more than willing to explain the rules and the objectives. We Chronoed our Markers, had a safety meeting were the rules of the field were explained and then spent the next 8 hours having a ton of fun. The refs were fair and did a pretty good job keeping an eye on things, a daunting task with the size of the field. Teams were picked at random, which helped to keep things fair, and avoid an us versus them situation. We tried the speedball field, not my cup of tea, but fun none the less. Roger gave us a tour of the land and showed us the areas he is planning to develop in the future, suffice to say this field is only going to be getting better. 10 out 0f 10 for sure!!
Be sure to sign up for the email updates on the web site!
Last edited on Monday, June 19th, 2006 at 7:24 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media