paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Maynard Paintball Club Paintball Field / Maynard Paintball Club Paintball Field / Maynard Paintball Club Paintball Field / Maynard Paintball Club Paintball Field

Maynard Paintball Club Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
41Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 617.941.0123
Address: 183 Powder Mill Rd.
Sudbury, Massachusetts 01754
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Smithy Jones Sunday, September 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire
Review: Maynard Paintball Club is a pretty good place to play paintball
Their X-Ball/Speedball field is pretty good, it better than the Speedball field at Friendly fire. I am one that doesnt care for Speedball because it tends to eat too much paint and the game is over in 30sec, not enough time to fully enjoy the game.

For Recball/Woodsball, Maynard has 2 Woobsball fields, one that is open with not too much natural cover.It is a bit bigger than the X-ball field. It has a good amount of man-made obsticals. depending on how the other team spreads out you could out flank them and come in from behind.

If you live in the Middlesex/Metrowest area and lives for Speedball I suggest you go visit Maynard Paintball Club but if you are one who is into Woodsball you are better off going to Friendly Fire in Upton
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

snoogins355 Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Boston Paintball downtown Boston, MA
West End Paintball Lester, MA
Friendly Fire Paintball Upton, MA
Fox 4 Paintball Upton, MA
Review: Just played there today, had a great time. I live about five minutes away from Maynard, so I would love this field even if they screwed me. But suprisingly the cost is good, in paintball terms, and the fields are decent, a little small but pretty good nevertheless. I usually have to drive over 20 miles to upton at 7AM and then come home driving in rush hour traffic and fatigued. But now I can get up at 9AM and be home by 4.
PROS:
-If you live in middlesex county, this field is a must try, from Boston, still a nice place to check out
-Good Refs, cool stories and didn't put up with the idiot little kids that had ions.
-Very laid back, strange for a paintball place, but still stern, 3 minute orientation (uber fast)
-Can hear shotgun fire in background... (adds to atmosphere)
CONS:
-Little kids with good guns (not the fields falt, but bring a cd player and music to drown out)
-Road to field is a little undermaintained, but hey the place was a landfill (maybe it still is...)
-Field is a bit small, but has a cousy feel. and i hope they change the name to something more interesting. keep maynard paintball, but add something cool to it.
-Cheap paint is what you get, it's not quite round but eggs shaped, go with Combat .68

I'm giving this field a 9 because it's very good, but i've had better

SnOOgins.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

DM5DyeMatrix5 Sunday, August 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Boston Paintball
Fox 4
Friendly-Fire
Review: Wow this is best feild i have ever been to the staff are helpful they know what they are doing and the X-Ball feild is amazing but i would only recomend this place to the MORE experianced players you must have N2 and a gun that is atlease $300 because the people there are really good most of them have like 3 years or more on them so they will pelt you with no mercey.


Warnings:300fps is what they play at
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

griffin3141 Sunday, August 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Boston Paintball
Fox 4
a bunch more
Review: I didn't get a very good first impression of this field. I called about 10 minutes before I got there to make sure that they were open and the lady said that they were. The road leading up to it was not very clearly marked. I arrived with my friend and it was completely deserted. We found the X-Ball field and decided to play 1v1, which was fun, but I wish I knew where everyone went to....
I give this field an 8 because it is still a nice field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

slade17 Monday, August 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
boston paintball
fox 4
friendly fire
cape cod paintball
canobie paintball
playboyz paintball
some indoor field in Taunton... dont remember the name
outlaw ball (go ti sales!!... oh wait no one got that)
Review: Maynard paintball opened only a few months ago, and i have been there the majority of the weekends they have been open. they are a great field with great refs, who are friendly, outgoing, fair and safe. unlike what one other reviewer said, they DO watch out very carefully for safety, and check everyone to make sure they have their mask on on the field and barrel condom on off the field, and they check each player as they exit the field. only new players often do not follow the rules, and many times - repeatedly - take off their masks after they are out, or take off their barrel condoms in the staging area. one day there were at least 10 mask or barrel condom violations, each of which the refs caught, and they often made the players sit out and took their guns, and were on the verge of throwing players off the field for their own safety. i am only going into this depth and enforcing this idea because someone else said that the refs did not watch for safety well enough, when they certainly did. another poster also mentioned that some players filled their own tanks, but these players are employees of boston paintball that are playing on their off days, or experienced players that the refs know and trust. overall, the reffing is great and safety oriented.

fields

i don't exactly feel that i am qualified to comment on the woodsball fields, because frankly i hate woodsball. but to briefly mention them, there are two fairly small but well set up woodsball fields, with well built bunkers.

the xball field is the real attraction to maynard paintball. it is a regulation sized field with a great setup, its a very flat, level field with dirt instead of sand, and some grass growing. the nets are well made, and the field is set up well. the refs are, of course, great. what more can i say? its a great field.

the staging area is also great, there are many tables and they are all in the shade.

overall Maynard paintball is a great field, and if you are fairly close, especially if you are a speedballer, you should check it out. one word of advice though to help out the refs... if you're on the field, KEEP YOUR MASK ON!! and off the field be safe and wear your condom.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Westonman Monday, August 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire, Fox 4. These are well run but a little large for a beginer
Review: I have played at Maynard Paintball (3) times and I have enjoyed myself each time. The location to my home is great, the fields are clean and nicely done and the access to food and drink on site is a big plus. I have found the staff to be helpful and involved when asked. It is a great field for beginner's to intermediate players looking to gain experience and not be intimidated or looked down upon by more experienced players. They offer both Woods Ball and X Ball on well done fields. A nice touch this weekend was the refs setting up a X ball game for the Woods ball players only with non-electric markers so that we could get a feel for the game and how to play. Overall a very nice field with a lot of positives. There are a few observations that I would like to make in the interest of making Maynard a better and safer field to play at. They could focus a bit more on safety and the insistence of (Barrel Bags and Masks on). I saw a few kids trying to fill their own markers up with air. They could also improve on the staging of games (particularly Woods Ball) as there were a few long delays between games. In summary a very well run and fun to play at field. I will be back and that is the bottom line.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bl00dsh0t89 Saturday, July 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Umm...
Boston Paintball, thats probly about it
Review: Well...For starters the staff is extremly helpful and wicked cool to talk to. Ill tell you wat i love about this feild, Its a regulation size xball feild, the refs call great calls, there is food and drinks there for you to buy, there is a lil overhang sorta thing so its shade where u get ready the staff will help you fix ur gun as much as they possibly can right there on spot and just the all out great vibe n envirment is sick. Oh yeah! and its BYOP!!! that means cheaper prices!!! They also have tournoments there so its also a competivie place and just not a rec. place. All in all this place is kick ass and you HAVE to go and play there. Dont worry, it will live up to all these reviews and more. Now go and mow faces!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

C-2Tha-J Saturday, July 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire, Fox4, Boston Paintball
Review: For starters, This field has the all time greatest refs ever. The refs actually know how to make calls on and off the field. My gun broke down, the refs lets me use their Ego, and Shocker. (Thanks guys)....Also the help there is incredible, if anything is wrong with your gun, you can ask anyone...( T2 prefferably ). This field is absolutley great. I recommend that anyone and everyone go here and play, you will love it.

Sincerely,
The Guy Who Bunkered You
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pyro7189 Friday, July 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Boston Paintball, Somerville MA
Fox 4 Paintball, Upton MA
Friendly Fire Paintball, Upton MA
Cape Cod Paintball, Bourne MA
Review: What can I say except, Maynard Paintball Club is great!!! I believe I've been there 3 or 4 times, and will continue to long into the future. Before Maynard's opening around a month ago, my friends and I would usually spend summers at Fox 4 or Friendly Fire, both of which are outdoor woodsball/speedball fields, and winters at Boston Paintball, an indoor speedball feild. Though I live very close to this feild, I beleive it would be worth a longer drive for those a bit farther away.

Fields > Speedball

The outdoor speedball at Maynard is certainly one of the best features of the field. A 10 man x-ball field (large inflatable bunkers, one of them a 15 foot standing X) is comparable in size to that of Boston Paintball and Fox 4, much larger than Friendly Fire. The field is currently sand, slowly turning to grass. It is soft, provides just enough traction, absorbs moisture, and protects you during a slide or fall. This is a big advantage over Fox 4, Friendly Fire, and maybe Cape Cod. The compacted dirt of other outdoor fields tears through skin and clothing, while turning to mud after rain. The carpeted indoor field, Boston Paintball, is more of a personal preference. While it provide little traction and can cause rug burns, (don't wear shorts w/o knee pads) it is just as soft and allows for unparalled slides and other floor maneuvers. However, of all the speedball fields I've played, Maynard's layout is definitely the best.

Fields > Woods

So far, Maynard Paintball has only 2 small wooded fields, or when used congruently, 1 mid sized fields. For the purpose of this review, lets call it the later. Like all other woodsball fields, this one is, thatís right, wooded! Trees are well spaced, larger and mostly bare throughout the middle of the playing area, smaller and more densely packed, with lower branches along the inside perimeter near the tape and one corner fort. Half of the field is flat, while the other is centered on a hill. There are no swamps within or streams running through the field. Although the wooded area can accommodate a couple dozen players, its main disadvantage is still size. It is much smaller than Friendly Fire, and nowhere near the size of Fox 4.

Staff

Awesome. Every ref Iíve encountered has been fair, looked out for players, and helpful both on and off the field. Regardless of the extraordinary number of their guests that seem not to respect the game or other players, the staff watches fields and staging like hawks, intercepting mask and barrel violations, monitoring equipment, advising new players, and making sure every player is safe and enjoying themselves.

Rentals

Honestly, I havenít rented a gun for 3 years, but I am confident rental players will be satisfied with Maynard Paintball Club. Rental packages are well priced, as is paint, so long as you use one of the many discounts they offer. All packages include a marker (field model spyders, maybe piranhas, w/ hpa tank) all day air, mask, and paint. Any problem with rental equipment is quickly remedied by the staff. Management appears to plan private parties very well, as every birthday/bachelor party group Iíve seen has been having a blast. Referees on the field are constantly aiding and advising new players, so one has no reason to be afraid if theyíve never played before.

Self Equipped/Staging

Veteran players will be quite happy with this field. Prices are good. BYOP. There is, was or will be food on site, this Iím unsure of, so find out for yourself. A small store at the entrance sells the essentials; o-rings, pods, squeegees, etc. Two Porto-potties are located on the opposite side of staging. There are several picnic tables scattered along the perimeter, shaded by some large tents. What else can I say; itís a great field, check it out!

Prices

$29 --- Entrance/All day air
$70 --- Entrance/All day air/Case of paint (2,000 rounds)
$30 --- Entrance/All day air/Rentals/200 rounds
$40 --- Entrance/All day air/Rentals/500 rounds
$3 ---- 9 oz. CO2 fill
$4 ---- 12 oz. CO2 fill
$5 ---- 16 oz. CO2 fill
$6 ---- 20 oz. CO2 fill
$20 --- 500 rounds
$70 --- 2,000 rounds

Other Stuff

-Remember, itís BYOP for self equipped players

-Maynard Paintball Club is partnered with Boston Paintball, so they have the same rental equipment, merchandise, etc.

-If you buy paint at Boston Paintball, your receipt can be used as a coupon for $5 off the entrance fee.

-Theyíve only been open for a month and already have an awesome field. Itís only going to get even better

-Right now they are open only Saturdays, but in the coming weeks they will open for Sundays as well

-Best speedball field around, small but good woodsball field, nice prices, and great staff

-By the time I finished writing this, I had made over 40 spelling/grammar mistakes
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8nt_kyd56 Sunday, July 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Canobie
Boston Paintball
FF
Fox4
Review: This field is great, as a player I found many many positive things about this field. For starters the staff there is awesome, usually a helpful and cool staff can make or break a field for me. Everyone was very heplful from the registartion table, to the chrono booth, staging area, and the field. They are very strict about safey but at least they aren't dicks about it and dont make kids feel stupid when they make a mistake. I can't even think of a single person that broke a rule come to think of it..... There were 4 refs the day i went and about 20 people, which was awesome because we had like back to back games and didn't have to sit around and wait all afternoon for a field to "open up" so we can play. The xball field is awesome, biggest field i have ever playd on seems like there was 50 bunkers. Plus the staging area is netted around the field so you can watch all the action.

John and dav are awesome they taught me some tips and showed me how to adjust my velocity, they ever let me shoot their guns an ego and octane shocker! Some of the other refs played with us too.. one guy named t2 played on my team for a bunch of games and showed me exactly where to go so i wouldn't get hit and let me use his DM4!!! he set my ION to shoot wicked fast too! Everyone there is great and easy to approach with any problem, there really is no such thing as a stupid question.

I brought my own paint there and the rpices were pretty cheap. They have food too all day, they grill burgers and hotdogs and have drinks and candy... and wendy's is down there street hahah.

Only problem I can see is that they are not open on sundys, I thought I heard they would be open all weekend soon..... i hope it's true.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media