paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Petty's Paintball Field / Petty's Paintball Field / Petty's Paintball Field / Petty's Paintball Field

Petty's Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
30Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 512-601-3235
Address: 550 Bateman Rd
Red Rock, Texas 78662
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
beshwah309 Saturday, November 29th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Does anyone know when the next scenario game will be?








a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a aa a a a a a a a a a a a aa a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

5.slow Sunday, December 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Texas Paintball
Review: First off I want to say the owners Mrs. and Mr. Petty were great and really friendly.

Fields- The fields were fun even with a smaller crowd. I was expecting more from the castle than I got because the website seems to hype it up with all the pics. Its very one sided and I felt like I was just running through the motions a lot. Maybe with a group of 20+ that would be better? The speedball fields were fun but with regulars playing you that have high BPS rates its very quick games if you are a beginner with beginner equipment. The airball fields werent set up so I cant comment on those.

Proshop- Although I didn't need anything from the proshop they seemed to have a nice selection of things even with its small size. They had cheap Gatorade readily available and a few snacks and frozen food items. Even CO2 was reasonably priced and Mrs. Petty was very nice and offered lots of info for first timers.

Prices- I found them to be very reasonable even if you had to rent equipment.

Refs- Heres the problem. The refs are typical kids. Meaning they can be lazy and since they know all the regulars they tend to sit around the staging area chatting and eating. You pretty much have to tell then your ready to play or you'll sit in the staging area all day. Even during the games they didn't seem to be too involved or really care. They spent a lot of time just talking and making inside jokes with no sense of ugency while we were waiting for the go ahead to get on the field and play. I think the owners would be doing a lot better if they hired older people to ref. But I do realize its a family business and Red Rock is far from anywhere so that most likely isnt a feasible idea. But how about making sure the refs do better jobs, it would help business IMO.

Players - Combination of Rec and regulars. While some of the regulars were very good sportsman and fun to play against, some were they typical "I got a $800 marker and you have a rental so I'm better". I see this at every field so I won't pick on Petty's but kids......yes KIDS it gets old. You may have a nice marker but does it really make you any better than anyone else? I know kids will be kids but its a game and way for a lot of people to just have fun. And fields owners and other players wonder why so few people become avid paintballers? I think business would be better if these kids, that aren't even that good, would be kept in check and made new people feel a little more welcome. BTW a few of the guys with higher end markers didn't really play most of the day because they kept breaking balls or flat out not working.

Rules - The norm. Although they had a few odd rules like no surrender rule unless you asked for it before each game. Also when on the field even after you got hit or the end of the game barrell socks weren't required to be on. I saw almost all players rec and regulars taking shots at anything after each game. Refs didn't seem to have authority over anyone.

Overall it was a fun experience but I was a little disappointed. I think that was mainly from the lack of people but its almost christmas so I should expect a lot to be out there. The refs lack of motivation or ability to take charge of groups really blew it for me. I suppose I'd go back to this field with a larger group but not regularly mainly because its so far from me. I think it deserves a 7-8 though.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

arnoldez Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Texas Paintball, before it moved - All woodsball, very expensive, players here suck, and you're limited to four hours before you have to pay admission again (or at least this was the case when I last played, which was about two or three years ago and I refused to ever go again)
Directions
to the Field:
From Austin: Take 183 south to 812 (there's a light here), then turn left. Take this to Hwy 20 (NOT 21!! You must pass 21!!), take a right, then take a left onto Bateman road. It will be down on the right.
Review: I'm kind of new at this whole review thing, so I'm just going to cover what it says here to cover.

Safety: Pretty standard. Masks worn at all times on the playing fields, and when you're not in the playing area your gun must have a barrel bag on. They do not require you to have a barrel bag on in the playing area though, even if you're not playing, so you are free to practice shots off to the side (just be careful not to let your paint stray into another game). Another thing, they do allow players to bring their own paint. If this is an issue for you, i.e. you think people actually might freeze paint (which I've never seen done), then don't come. But there's a reason they're still operating...people don't do that much anymore, and it really saves the players a lot of money to bring their own paint.

Fields: Pretty fun, they have two hyperball fields (one large and one small), a barrels field, a junk yard, a graveyard, two forts (you can play attack and defend, or if you have enough people you can play between the two of them CTF), and they are currently constructing a HUGE castle (I can't wait for that one). They also have an airball course, but the players must come early and set it up if they want to play it, so plan accordingly. I've never played the small hyperball field, but the large one is probably one of the most popular fields here. The set up is adequate. My favorites are the barrels and the junk yard. The junk yard has a couple of "interactive" pieces, i.e. a refrigerator with a door you can open as a shield. The forts are nice, especially the second one they built. It has a tower and locking windows/doors. I'm really excited about the new castle...it really is going to be huge.

Hours of Operation: I've never really paid too much attention...They're always open when I want to play, which tends to be Saturdays from about 10 to 4, although I was there until at least five yesterday, and people were still playing when I left.

Prices: Very reasonable pricing. I'm not sure of the exact prices, but I played all day yesterday with unlimited air for about 17 bucks (with a $5 off coupon) + paint, which I bought elsewhere (yes, they allow you to bring your own paint). I do know that admission (which covers you all day, as opposed to four hours at other places around here) is $5 if you buy field paint, or $10 if you bring your own. Paint prices are reasonable, considering it's field paint. It's still cheaper if you bring your own.

Rules: Pretty universal, but their surrender rule is different than other fields I've played at. In most games, there is no surrender rule, but you can request to play with one before each game. If the rest of the players agree, then it is a forced rule. That is, if you are within ten feet, you have to say "surrender," and the other person has to give up. they cannot turn and fire, and you cannot fire on them. Most people don't play with this rule, because it kind of ruins the fun, and the refs usually just assume no one wants to use it. You can bring your own paint if you want, but admission is $5 more. Umm... other than that, it's pretty basic stuff.

Services/Proshop: The guys here definitely know their stuff. They have a lot of old-looking stuff (Their "proshop" is just a shed with dusty guns on a wall behind the counter), but they can fix just about anything you throw at them. As far as parts, they may not have exactly what you need, but they'll definitely do their best and tell you how to fix it if they don't have the part ready on hand.

Staff/Refs: The place is owned and ran by Mr. Petty and his wife (whose name I've yet to learn, but I suppose Mrs. Petty will suffice). You'll know which ones they are when you get there; usually Mrs. Petty runs the cash register, and Mr. Petty distributes and works on the equipment behind her. They're both really great people, and really knowledgeable about paintball. The refs at Petty are all strong players, and know the rules quite well. They're all young, ranging from I'd say 18-23, give or take a year or two. They're fair, they do a good job, and they can usually help fix small problems out on the field (problems that don't require tools/parts). Expect them to jump in a few games with you, because they love to play just as much as everyone else.

Players: Most of the kids I run into out at Petty fall into one of two categories: Newbies (I won't say noobs here, because they're not bad, just new) who love the sport and enjoy themselves, and seasoned players who play the game the way it should be played. Generally, the newer groups want to stick together and play their own games, at least for the first couple of hours, but the other, more experienced players like to play with everyone. They're all pretty good sports, and mostly consist of refs. Every now and then a rich kid will come in and spoil the fun, talking trash, but his lack of skills ends up getting him owned anyway, and there's very few of them out there.

Facilities: This is definitely not a high-end fancy paintball course. You park in the grass, pay admission in a shed, , there's random old junk cars in the fields everywhere, and there's no A/C anywhere. If you are someone who requires what some may call the city life, this isn't for you. If it's a hot day, you will be hot until you decide to leave in your air-conditioned car. However, this being said, the actual game area facilities are wonderful. They're always adding new things, and it's definitely fun in a backwoods kind of way.

Food: The food options are limited. They basically have microwaveable burritos and other frozen foods and snacks. As far as drinks go, they have water, Gatorade, and sodas. The prices are reasonable though. Most places charge two or three bucks for a Gatorade and a dollar or two for water. Gatorade here is a dollar, and water is fifty cents.


Well, that's all I really have to say about Petty, hope it helps to those of you who are considering playing there. It's my favorite place in the area, hopefully I'll see you out there sometime.
Last edited on Sunday, March 25th, 2007 at 2:44 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

davidlanzi Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tactical - Actually offers something other than speedball / hyperball.

Other Fields - Offer just about the EXACT same thing that Petty's offers. Can someone make something original please?
Review: I've read a lot of reviews about this field and have hear a lot of talk about it from other players. I guess it just didn't live up to the hype for me. I was thinking that since players talked it up so much, maybe it offered something that other fields in the area didn't already have. I was wrong.

I'm from Northern Virginia, and we have a lot of woodsball here. In fact Pev's field is only about 5 miles from my house (they are a large nationally known brand and field that offers several different types of games like capture the flag, football, and attack and defend. All Petty's offered was side-on-side elimination). I guess I expected something other than 5 or 6 variations of the same game of speedball / hyperball from just about every field between Austin and San Antonio.

And that is exactly what you get at Petty. Yes, they have several different fields... if your definition of different is having one speedball field made of black hyperball tubes and another made of blue 55 gallon drums.

Sure, they have a castle that they are building, but it's definitely NOT ready for play.

Maybe I'm just out of my element in Texas. I come from the land of the $500,000 townhouse and land is VERY expensive (20 acres is going to run in the millions). I shouldn't have assumed that since land is in such abundance in Texas that the fields would actually incorporate large, tree-filled areas. Instead, all you get is field after field of the same thing. Your choice of black or blue plastic bunkers.

I'm sure someone will dispute this review, but every word is the truth.

I was disappointed with my experience at Petty's and other fields in the area for only offering slightly different scenery while playing the same type of game over and over again.

I would give my experience a 5 out of 10 because that's what it was. Average, average, average.
Last edited on Monday, March 12th, 2007 at 12:35 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

El Cabrito Saturday, February 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
most of them
Directions
to the Field:
look at web site and google
Review: I normally put 3 pros and 3 cons followed by an opinion but I really can't think of 3 cons to put. I have been to this field years ago when it was only speed ball but I went for a scenario just to check it out and I was amazed. I didn't expect much going there but I had one of the best experiences of my life there. I ran into some equipment problems and every part I needed was on hand even the harder to get parts. Enough people to have a good game. The missions were actually fun to do unlike some scenerio missions and an all around good atmosphere. Every time a player got hot and said something not so nice they later came back and shook hands and buried the hatchet.
all and all this was a great scenario field and a good speed ball field too. I will defiantly go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

naruto1986 Friday, October 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: December 17th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: Now this is a great place to go paint balling, the rices are far, not great but pretty good, the feilds are loads of fun, i mean damn i could tell you tons of stories about every feild, the ref's can be crappy at times, but that really depends on the time of year, if your renting the prices are a litle high, no where close to texas's but i wont go in to that, the players vary from renters to pro's (usly never on the same feild lol) the owners are great they will help you out with miner reapers and can fully service the top end guns, not that i own one(98 custom flatline), i would give them a 10 out of 10 but the ref situation really bugs me some times, if you are lookng for a really good time and great feilds(mostly) petty's is for you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PinkFloyd53 Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Texas Paintball (WAY to Expensive)

Outlaw Paintball
Review: I heard that Pettys was A great Place to go. I had just bought a superstock and had never used an autocoker. at firrst the bolt was turned upside down and had to ask mr. petty what was going and he fixed it in less than a second.

the fields there are some of the best fields that i haver played on. The Proshop is great and mr. petty and his jordan can fix anything. Everyone there is very friendly. The reffs are great they watch for wipes and actually give you advice on playing. Jordan Petty is really fun to play against in Big Hyperball. But one hint dont let him get to stonehenge.

The entire field is my favorite out of all the others its cheap and fun.

i give it a 10 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Clark89guy Monday, April 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 13th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have only been to one other field, in comparison Petty is far better.
Review: Well I have only been to Petty 3 or 4 times. But the times that I have gone I found the staff friendly, easy to work with and the prices fairly reasonable.

Personally I am not much of a speed ball-er , I prefer woodland games. But when I am fealing up for a rush Petty is definitly the place to go.

If you are like me, and prefer woodland games then Petty is still the right place for you.
They have an awsome woodlands course, complete with one of the coolest forts you could ever imagine. And its built just for paintball ! ! ! ! ! !
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rittalout Monday, March 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
homosexual ones
Directions
to the Field:
they have one on there website www.pettypb.com
Review: its prices are good ($5 buy there paint $10 B.Y.O.P.). there fields are great Rec. and woods - some neat forts huge field and another one with gulley's brush ect. only down fall FIRE ANTS, MESQUITE, CACTUS, AND MORE CACTUS (freaking ouch). even with my heavy woods Cammie's i still get scratched up pretty bad, (how i play that's not surprising but still OUCH:( . there gigantic rec ball Field (the junkyard) is sweet but almost to big if you cant long ball at about borderline 300fps. you cant reach the other side without angling the hokysticks out of or your shots ,. ive walked the border of the stage and got four bounces from a 14 in barreled cocker lol!. the one thing i almost forgot to mention were the people all very fun and nice - they know there stuff GOOD. over all its a GREAT place to play - minimal jerks and refs are not bad. i recommend it DUH. tell Mrs.Petty and Jordan i said hi 4 me.(i play every weekend.

Good pro shop, mr petty can repair f'n anything nice staff, burritos & pizzas,also restrooms
Last edited on Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006 at 12:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

gregsf66 Sunday, February 26th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Texas paintball
OUtlawpaintball
Review: THe field is really cool. their website says it all. Cheap, and byop. The only problem is when I went the other day, the ref that we had was horrible. we did 6 - 10min games in 4 and 1/2 hours, This dip S*** had no idea what he was doing.

THe fields are really sweet. But the ref rouined the whole day for me and my other teammates. If it was not for the friendly people that own the place I would have given this place a 1 on the service. GET A NEW REFF. HE SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

But because of the fields it brings it up to an 8. Air ball fields were not up, b/c it was sprinkling :/
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media