paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Palace Paintball Field / Paintball Palace Paintball Field / Paintball Palace Paintball Field / Paintball Palace Paintball Field

Paintball Palace Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
44Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 541-465-4766
Address: 1820 W 7th Avenue
Eugene, Oregon 97402
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
hansy00 Tuesday, April 27th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 23rd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
woodsball shot in the dark hot shots & splat
Review: I play @ pbp all the time I love it. The owner is the coolest guy, if u have problem he will solve it. Just a few days ago this kid came in to play he did not have any air. So the owner galdly hooked him up. then the same kid's gun was leeking air. the owner striped his gun replace some orings put the gun back in the kids hands free of charge in less than 3 minutes. this is just one of many examples of the great service you get there. prices week day 10 bucks cant beat that when most places are not even open. the games are always geting changed team elemination towers/no towers, capture the flag, center flage, speedball, rabbit, so you dont get board and those campers get shot. proshop is great. Dont buy that crap paint at wallmart spend a little bit more and get good paint thats not going to break in your gun bounce and not fly strait. the new girl is hot and super nice and yes she plays. come to pbp and have some fun i do.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Jschoenberg Tuesday, December 15th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Warpaint in Salem
Review: Well lets talk about field paint first.
Sixty dollars for a bunch of dimpled paintball is just plain crap. I have never felt so ripped off as I do when I play indoor at paintball palace.

Dont get me wrong I like to spend my hard earned money locally but when its wasted I have a whole different view.

These guys have no idea. The only way that I would go back to this indoor field is if they had a single day out of the week that they offered to let guys bring in their own paint.

There is only one guy that works there that has any clue about what is happening with a paintball gun and he has only been in there a few times when I have been in there.

Basically here's what I have to say about the palace. I just bought $700 dollars worth of paintball gun and gear from warpaint in salem, I live in eugene (the location of paintball palace). Enough said.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chimo36 Saturday, April 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: February 22nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Private owned place called Chucks Paintball in Cheshire, OR. I personally like Chucks a little better because it is outdoor and it cheaper.
Directions
to the Field:
I don't know how to give YOU directions.
Review: Well, what can I say. I've played at Paintball Palace for a while (4 Years) but I don't go often. I think the staff at Paintball Palace is really nice, but can be complicated to get help from at times. I like playing there, but I think the Paintballs can be a little expensive ($4.00 for 50 rounds and $7.00 for 100 rounds). They also have budget balls which is an OK price IMO. It seems like every time I go, their field has a lot of mushy stuff on the ground when i'm playing. It could be sawdust, mud, I don't know. But besides that, there are also towers which a lot of new players or "Noobs" like to go in and never come out, lol, it can be annoying sometimes. Also, the field itself is really fun and every time I go, I have a blast. I would recommend this place because it is really fun to play at, but just beware that you CANNOT bring your own paint, so you need to use the field's paint. Also before you play, the staff usually goes over ALL the safety rules and whatnot. One thing I did not like was that there are usually no Reff's, so people cheat ALOT. One more thing I forgot to mention was that the lighting in there is not too bad, but a little too dark for me. Overall, I give it an 8 out of 10 because of the very few problems I had. Other than that, I like it, and you should play there, especially on the weekends.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rajel Wednesday, January 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Warpaint in Salem, long ago SPLAT when it was in Eugene
Review: Good place to buy paintball gear, bad place to play paintball.

The field itself is horribly unbalanced. The far side of the field has a huge disadvantage, because they start inside a bastle structure, and if you don't sprint out of it as soon as the music starts, your basically pinned in, because there is basically no cover outside the structure, whereas the other side has plenty of cover to move one-by-one across the width of the field.

Wiping seems to be common, seeing as there are no refs and the lighting is below horrible. I can't imagine that the place has ever been cleaned, and its got the gunky sawdust to prove it.

Like everyone else has said, the paint prices are RIDICULOUS! $80/case for the cheapest, crappiest paint they can find? Only reason I played there was because they had a sale going on for $60/case, otherwise I would've just walked right back out the door.

However, the pro shop was well stocked, and actually had halfway decent prices, unlike their paint. I wouldn't recommend going here at all, much better to go to Salem if you want to play indoors.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

The New Whaca Monday, December 8th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
-Warpaint in Salem
-Splat Action in Molalla
-Action Acres In Canby
Review: It saddens me that their is not a better local field to play at in the Eugene area. There are a number of things that have led me to stay away from paintball palace.

-1. Too many employees are extremely inexperienced. I purchased a drop forward and ASA for my marker and the employee offered to install it for me right there and, thinking it would make things faster, I said yes. Big Mistake. It wasn't until I got home that I found he had cut the macro line too short which caused the gun to leak uncontrollably. On top of that he screwed in the ASA cockeyed, completely stripping and ruining both the ASA and the drop forward, which I had to go back and replace. Thankfully I installed it myself this time.

-2. The field is a mishmash of old boards, large pvc pipe, carpet, and saw dust. The layout for the field isn't balanced in anyway, and I have never heard of it being cleaned. You never should put closed buildings on a field, especially a small indoor field. Paintball palace is basically camper's heaven. Offering tons of rooms and towers with single entrances, small windows and holes cut out of every wall (which will both cause you to not be able to hit a person laying down and blind firing through a small hole in the wall, and also cause you to get hit when leaning against a wall that you thought was solid). The field is small, musty, dirty, cramped, dark, and they play obnoxiously loud linkin park over the loudspeakers.

-3. There are no refs. People can wipe and bonus ball you as much as they want. Something that is very common. There are two kinds of people that play at paintball palace, kids and people who have the money to blow.

-4. Which leads me to my next argument; the money. 10$ entrance fee (With your own gun, extra 10$ for a rental), 85$ a case for low end paint(no you can not use the other paint they sell, you must use the "special" conveniently priced indoor paint) and to top it all off, 5$ to fill my 68ci/4500 tank. That's 100$! for 2 hours! It's another 10$ if you go over 2 hours! That's as much as I spend at an all day 3v3 tournament or big game!

In conclusion, I am sorry, but in no way can I support this field. It's a monopolization of the Eugene area. Someone needs to open another field, because it would be so easy to beat these guys out. I give them a 3/10 for trying and because in theory it could always be worse.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Airborne1 Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Action. Large outdoor field complex. No comparison really.
Review: First of all, I play at this field a lot and I think it's great. Yes it's expensive(ugh). Yes its dirty (it's paintball, you're going to get dirty). And yes, it's dark in there. But if you like to work the shadows and sneak up on people, then this is the field for you. Once you become familiar with the field layout and learn the angles, you can sneak around in the shadows and wreak havoc on everyone else. The down side is that people can cheat because it's so dark. But most people are pretty honest and call their own hits.

The field layout is pretty cool. It's an indoor field approximately 60'x80'. Each corner of the field has buildings with three of the building having towers. The center are is a hyper-ball layout made of plastic culvert pipe and plastic barrels with some plywood "x"s mixed in. They play music during the games and use the music to signal the start of the game(Tip; you don't want to be standing in the open when the music starts. If I see you, you're going to get shot.). The lighting is low, so you can move around in the shadows and keep the other team guessing. The floor is covered with wood chips and can get pretty messy so dress accordingly. Also the walls are covered with paint so try not to lean on the walls.

The staff are very friendly knowledgeable and do their best to make sure everyone has a fun and safe experience. They try to keep the teams fair by making sure that the more experience players are divided evenly between the two teams.

The pro shop is well stocked and the prices are reasonable and comparable to what you might find online.

Most people complain about the price of paint. I too wish the paint was less expensive. I would play a lot more and I think more people would get into the sport. But when you compare the total cost with other fields it balances out. PP paint cost 80 bucks for a case where other field might charge 60. But PP only charges 5 bucks for all day air when other fields might charge 10. The field fee is 15 bucks where other field might charge more.

Overall I think PP is a fun place to play at and would recommend it to anyone. Once you become familiar with field and learn how to use what other people might consider weakness to your advantage, it becomes a challenging game of strategy and lots of fun.
And it sure beats playing in the rain.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

c3nturion Friday, August 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Warpaint, Salem OR - Much Better
Review: I would only recommend this field to someone who absolutely can't drive the hour to Salem. Their paint prices are absolutely outrageous, and the field is not nice enough to make up for it. The staff is friendly enough, although not particularly knowledgeable. I wish that I had something positive to say, as I'm all about supporting the local field, but $80-$100 for a case of paint is ridiculous, unless it's hellfire (which is certainly is NOT). Just for comparison, Warpaint charges $40 for a case of low tourney grade paint (much superior to the paint at PP).

For regular paintball players, their prices are prohibitively expensive.

Rating= 1/10 for highway robbery, gooey sawdust, and an unknowledgeable staff.
Last edited on Friday, August 17th, 2007 at 10:05 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mountaingoatmur Saturday, July 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: July 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i do not know of any other fields in the area
Review: Well, ive only been to the field twice, but both times i was dissapointed at the field, lighting of the field(or whatever you wish to call it), field maintanance, price, and the second time, service, i asked for a fill on my nine ounce tank and they filled it, but without weighing or in any way measuring how much air was put into the tank that i could see. about an hour later, the burst disc blew, i took it back and explained the situation, the person at the counter completely denied that it was in any way possible that they messed up, they replaced the disc and we went home, but it happened again(they filled it). this time when we brought it back there was a different person there who explained what may have caused the disc to rupture, they were good reasons( sudden change in temperature,etcetera)but the tank had been sitting in a closet for 2 hours, with no change in evironment,the person there gladly replaced the disc and filled the tank, we had no further problems. Mostly for field conditions(never cleaned,poorly lit, saw dust flooring,etcetera)id give it a 2. But the store was not bad, selection was good,prices there werent too bad either so ill give it a 5
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Logik1205 Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
friends field- way funner
Review: ive been to the shop a few times and the people that work there are great BUT as far as playing at the field i was very dissappointed and will not return, the prices are too high on paintballs, and the field isnt fun to play on (for me atleast) theres no ref, its dark, and its too small, i find it hard to move anywhere or see anything. also on the particular day i was there, there was just a few regulars about 22-26 year olds who were poor sports.i dont like the place, as a matter of a fact im on my way out to my friends field now, peace!!! ps. dont go to pp
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BadAce Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
There are none for at least 40 miles. But in the woods with friends and no refs is better by far than tis place.
Review: This place is bad. I had no fun and thats hard to do when your playin' painball. The place is dirty, prices are very steep and if you ask me the service is no good. I asked them for a simple tune up on my marker and they didn't even field strip it! It looked like they just sprayed oil into it and called it good. I would rate this place a 1 but things can always be worse.

I have and will continue to buy my paint on-line or drive to Salem or Portland for it than go to the "Palace" again. Which sucks since I live in Eugene. If you ask me don't waste your time or money at this place, unless you have to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media