paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Thornton Paintball Field / Thornton Paintball Field / Thornton Paintball Field / Thornton Paintball Field

Thornton Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
17Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 170 Dilworthtown Rd
Thornton, Pennsylvania 19373
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Phenom93 Friday, April 8th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 27th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pocoloco - Pocoloco is a little on the pricey side compared to Thornton, but each field has its pros and cons.
Directions
to the Field:
From the west chester area or exton take 202 south untill dilworthtown road.

170 Dilworthtown Road
PA 19373
Review: I have played here a bunch of times every so often. They have no field fee which is a great plus. Their paint is very cheap and affordable since they offer two different qualities. They have only one field which is alright since theres no field charge AND they start teams in different locations each game. The refs and staff are very friendly and safety for all players is the biggest rule.
Overall i highly recommend Thornton to anyone that wants to have a good time and not have to pay too much or drive to far to have fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Globalchaos101 Monday, March 28th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 26th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Directions
to the Field:
there are no signs, just an average driveway so lookout and the rest can be found on their site.
Review: being the first field i've gone to i can't say i have tons of experience, but while i was their though...

*The staff was helpful and very friendly
*other players were nice and showed sportsmanship
*safety is the rule of the day
*prices are fair
*they can order pizza which tastes very good (like all pizza)
*the field was big but not TOO big
*more than enough cover but plenty of open areas to move around
*only 10 or 15 minutes from philly and areas nearby

I intended to have a good time and Thornton did just that and then some. :D
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

helm42 Wednesday, September 22nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 18th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only played for the first time at Thornton.
Review: I found Thornton Paintball on PB Review as I was planning a friend's bachelor party and it got great reviews. We were coming from Philly and it was so much closer than any of the other major fields.

Needless to say, our whole group had a great time and we were not disappointed.
The owners/operators were friendly and super cool. They stressed safety from the get go and there was never a problem.

I would highly recommend Thornton to anyone who wants to have a great time at a more than reasonable price, and who doesn't want to drive 2 hours from Philly to play paintball.
Last edited on Wednesday, September 22nd, 2010 at 9:00 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DaveZ Monday, June 21st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played a few down in Delaware and Maryland, but forget what they are called. I usually just play casually.
Review: This is a very good field. It only has one field, but it is very nicely laid out and can support dozens of players. I will go through the field's pluses and minuses.

Pluses
1. Price - No field charge. Just pay for paint and air/CO2 if necessary. I hate cover charges and this field does not have one. A huge plus. The paint is reasonably priced and is offered in two grades, field and medium. I used the medium when there and it shot well. Air is also reasonably priced.
2. Location - I only live a few miles from the field and just discovered it. I'm pissed that i've missed it for so long. It's very convenient for the area.
3. Field- It was very fun to play. There are so many bunkers and cover that it's easy to move and be aggressive. You can flank the other team and strategize. The field's big enough to allow plenty of space, but small enough as to not be out of the action the entire game. You don't get stuck in one spot the entire unless you want to be. Plus, it's setup where you can play various types of games.
4. People - Unfortunately I was unable to get the names of the guys who were running it the day I was there, but they were really friendly and into it. Good refs too. They aren't over top of you the entire game, but let you play and make sure things are fair.
5. Equipment - Have lots of gun rentals, Tippmans 98 Customs. ( A great, reliable gun) They also have CO2 and HPA refills. They also rent thermal masks, barrel upgrades etc.
6. Safety - They are good about safety. You must use a barrel bag and have you mask on whenever you are on the playing field. They have a chronograph, but I just walked on and played. Nobody said anything to me about it or asked me to check my gun. Personally, I don't really care. To me, there's not a big difference between 280fps and 320fps. (Plus, if you want to crank up your velocity, good luck hitting anything consistently)

Cons
Field - There is only one field. Also, unless you have a group of 10+, the only way to play is to go to the public games. That's when I played. I wish they would have more public games as looking at their calendar, they seem to have one about once a month.

That's really the only con. A great field to play at, easy going and great for all ages and experiences. When I was there, there was a nice mix of ages and gender. I will definitely be going back the next public game.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

surge42 Thursday, May 6th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 10th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Poco, EXC,
Review: This is a well run field.

The field is excellent with many bunkers
The price is right
The environment is friendly

The refs are good.

They take photos of your game every time and post them on their site (bonus)

They have N2 and CO2

The paint is good

Try them! Its really fun....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Doug Morrell Tuesday, October 6th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 27th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Directions
to the Field:
Get on Dilworthtown Road and look for the firewood for sale sign. If you miss it, too bad. Turn around and try again. The guys are so good they do no feel they need to advertize out front!!!
Review: If you want to play woodsball however, this is the place to be!!

Pros:
Staff own the field and care about the game. This place is saftey first at all times! The owners also ref the games, players also ref as well.
It is one field and is just large enough to give everyone room and just small enough to be able to punish someone without having to go too far. It really keeps the games going.
Prices are fair, service is top notch, air compressor and CO2 on site, Tippmann 98 rentals.
Service is as good as it gets.

Cons:
If you want a fully stocked pro shop, tough!!!
Food is ordered in (although when they have meatball subs, grab one), and same for drinks!!!
Hours: Public can play once a month, unless you rent the field with 9 or more of your closest friends (Doing it twice).
The can is in the woods.

Overall I give it a 9. It has the backyard, family feeling, that you look for in anything, and that personal touch is something that is genuine. The extra point can be gained if they did not make we wait a month between games, although my wife would give them an 11, as I spend more time with her then and less dollars at the field. A second field would also be nice and perhaps a tower, or some other idea for variety. They also lose s point for the zombie games we are forced to play!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

krautech19 Monday, July 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish
Directions
to the Field:
If you miss it the first or second time by, keep trying. It is there. (#170 and a firewood for sale sign)
Review: I have to give it a 10 for its class, because I've only played at Skirmish. The owners, and their assistants are very friendly and helpful, and this fact earns it a 10 in itself. (my son played here for the first time, with a new gun that wouldn't chrono., but one of the assistants quickly remedied it) Prices are great, safety is enforced well, and the field, is well maintained. This venue is good for a first timer because there is an observation area where one can get a feel for what is going on before they play. Games are roughly every two weeks. There is only one field, but it's well groomed and there are several lines to take. Experienced players alternate to make up the reffing corps. The bathroom is very large; several acres!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

68cal. balls Wednesday, May 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Woods
Directions
to the Field:
Turn right at the fire wood sighn

Review: I really like this field, I played for my first time ever heer

Staff/reffs- I Really like steve and jeff, they know what there talking about and there are very nice

Prices- I thought about playing paintball for years but the prices had always scared me away, but when i heard about this place! I dropped the airsoft gear and picked up a marker because the prices kicked the crap outof airsoft. $15=500 balls NICE! Very cheap air fills also

Field- The feild amazed me. ITs about like 3 acors plenty of urban/woods ball style cover. 2 forts. barrels. The boundrys are clearly marked. HUGE mulch piles.

Rental equipment- My cheap vl gun broke so i had to rent a marker. I had about 6-7 elimanations using the rental marker. There pretty scruffy looking and the paint on the gun is all chiped off and what not. If you purchase a sniper packadge you get a nice smart parts barrel i think its a freak.There pretty acurate and they didnt chop at all. And best of all they make an AWSOME sound.

Rules- Uhmm pretty standard as far as rules. One thing that pissed me off was getting hit in the gun counts.

Food- I sugest bringing a little snack for yourself. You do get very hungry because they are long rounds like (20 on 20) People usually order pizza but its like 5 bucks and somtimes people steal ur pizza =)

Facillities- DONT GO TO THE BATHROOM ANYWARE AROUND THE FEILD.

In conclussion i really really love this place. Its great. See you on the feild
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

new_Faction64 Sunday, March 30th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 30th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Field was pretty difficult for me to find the first time. Just keep an eye out for lots of parked cars, and don't move by the houses too fast or you'll miss it easily.
Review: I played at a Public Game, not a private game. Do not know if private games are done any differently.

-Safety: Safety rules/regulations are well enforced during play. Refs pay a lot of attention, and will do paint checks if requested. Refs also very friendly.

-Field: Only 1 field, but it is a ton of fun. Bunkers include two major "forts" made out of plywood, lots of woodpile bunkers, some wood chip pile bunkers, and many large trees.

-Hours of Operation: You can reserve private games, but they also have Public Games every 2-3 weeks or so, which are really great.

-Prices: AWESOME! Paint is pretty well priced at $15 or $17 for 500 rounds depending on grade.

-Rules: Standard rules of paintball, nothing special, bad, or amazing.

-Service: Awesome. Everyone very friendly and helpful.

-Proshop: None, but you can rent things, see their website.

-Staff: Helpful, friendly, knowledgeable.

-Refs: Fair, attentive.

-Food: At Public Games, everyone pools money and buys a bunch of pizzas that get delivered. Yummy!

-Facilities: No bathrooms except owner's house. Use the woods for #1. Staging area has some park benches, and large layed down trees.


Other Notes: Giving it a 9 mostly for the awesome prices and stuff/refs, as well as the nice field. Though it only has 1 field, and I haven't really been to any other real field yet.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

born2dive Monday, March 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
Don't miss that turn.
There are no sign so punch the street address in your GPS.
The entrance of the field is basically the house driveway.
BTW I keep on missing that turn every now and then.
Review: Come play at Thornton and this is what you will find:

1) Friends. The Philly paintball group plays there at every public game. A few new players show up every time and almost immediately want to join the group. Every one is welcome.
The owners, Jeff and Steve, are very likeable characters and they will help you if need to be.

2) Your match. If you are an expert, bring it on. The battles are fierce and we are always looking for a challenge.

3) A coach and mentor. If you are playing for the first time or just started at the game you will learn fast the basic skills of paintball.
That’s the field that you want to start on. The size is right so you can keep your distance if you want to play conservative, and players will not gun you down at close range.

4) The best bang for the bucks. There are no entry fees; you are just required to buy the field paint, which is usually of good quality at a very good price.
You are not require buying a whole case (2000 paintballs) and can limit your purchase to bags of 500 rounds.

Thornton is basically a large speedball field in the woods. The field is about 150yards long by 50 wide (give or take 10-20). It is packed with little piles of woods and some larger bunkers. There are more than enough places to hide, and enough room to run around and flank the opposite team. It is always pretty clean of debris and free of mud.

The refs, mainly Jeff and Steve and whoever else wants to take a break from playing are doing it for the fun. And FUN is the name of the game.
I have seen too many bored kids doing poor jobs at refs all over the place. Who can blame them when they are paid below minimum wage?
Well at least you will have good refs at Thornton because everyone is a ref.
Players there play fair and most of the games could operate without refs. Refs are there primary for safety.

Safety remains rule #1.
From all the games that I played there I have not encounter an incident. Jeff and Steve will keep on reminding you to keep your goggles on while in the field of play.
There is a netted area located on the top of the hill on the side of the middle of the field. It is a good spot for people that just want to watch the game.

You can rent equipment and have your CO2 bottle filled. Some players have scuba tanks for air fills. There is usually plenty of air for everybody.

Finally you will get a mug shoot as Jeff is out there with his camera…
Last edited on Tuesday, March 25th, 2008 at 4:28 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media