paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Field of Fire Paintball Adventures / Field of Fire Paintball Adventures / Field of Fire Paintball Adventures / Field of Fire Paintball Adventures

Field of Fire Paintball Adventures

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
60Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (661) 297-7948
Address: 23925 The Old Road, Newhall,
Santa Clarita, California 91321
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Univern72 Monday, October 4th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 3rd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, first time playing in LA
Review: Note that I could not play due to a hurt foot, I only accompanied my rental friends. I did watch all of their games, though.

Safety:
Safety was enforced somewhat oddly. The field I usually played at had a rule such that on the staging area side of the netting, barrel covers are required and on the field side of the netting, goggles are required. This field requires you to have your barrel plug on until immediately before the game starts and put it back on immediately after the game ends. Lots of people had their masks off between games. Seems like an accident waiting to happen to me, but maybe that's more normal than I realize. The ref we had chronoed us at the beginning of the day, but we never had to chrono again. I also am not sure he chronoed players who came later, but I may have just not noticed.

Fields:
Upper field: This field is on a hill such that one side starts low and the other side starts high, which means it may not be balanced. It's fairly narrow and littered with wooden shacks. Some places in this field seem really hard to shoot other people out of because they weren't flankable. Overall, this field looked okay.
Lower field: This field is also on a hill. It had a bunch of wooden bunkers, including a wooden tank and submarine. The middle of the field was a claustrophobic bunch of houses. It looked like nobody wanted to go in there and get shot up close. I'd say this field was okay as well.
Hyperball: This field was flat, fortunately. I'm no expert, but it seemed like fairly standard speedball to me. It looked solid. Only complaint is the netting above the field is fairly low, my head almost touched it in a number of places.
Airball: Another flat field. The layout wasn't symmetric and it was fairly small. It looked fun just because I like airball, but if you're big on xball-style paintball, then this will probably be a bit underwhelming.

Hours:
Field says on it's website it has a 9-12 session and a 1-4 session, but we definitely didn't start playing until 10. Fortunately, my friends played all day so it wasn't an issue, but it's something to keep in mind. Also note that there weren't many players until about 1.

Prices:
Prices here are great for rentals and self-equipped. I think it's the cheapest in the area, especially if you get their patch for $5 off admission. Rentals are especially cheap. Field is BYOP, even rentals are BYOP but they come with a good amount of paint already. Paint is $50/case for DXS Triumph. Note that all-day air comes with admission, so if you play stock-class you might be out of luck in avoiding air fees.

Rules:
There is no surrender rule here. I saw a number of people get bunkered. Max FPS here is 280. They played a number of games like attack/defend, center-flag CTF, and some other things. They all generally boiled down to elimination before objectives, though.

Rentals:
Standard 98Cs. The bolt didn't always cycle back when shooting, but they were ready to fix the problems my friends encountered.

Refs:
I only saw two refs. One was friendly, but only reffed a few of the games. The other (Kyle?) had a pretty vicious sense of humor. One of my friends who had never played before started crying a bit when she got lit up early in the day and he made fun of her for it. The other regulars gave him crap for it, but no one, especially not a ref, should make fun of a rental player. I was sitting on the sidelines with him most of the day and he didn't really seem to be paying much attention to the game. When someone would call for a paintcheck, he'd do it, but apparently at one point during a game he took my (same) friend's gun and started shooting at another player on the field. I think he knew the other player, but that's ridiculously unprofessional. During another game, he got shot (probably intentionally) by some player and got seriously upset. Instead of reffing the game, he takes some other player's gun and aims it at some regulars on the sidelines accusing them of shooting him. Whoever shot him probably wasn't very mature, but he wasn't very mature for just dealing with it either. I got the feeling that the refs weren't exactly thrilled to be reffing. I'd recommend you ask for a different ref if you get that same guy.

Players:
My rental friends got lit up a lot by the regulars. There weren't any other rental players until about 1pm, but fortunately my friends got to play some 2v2 games without the more experienced players. I'm guessing they just didn't have enough people to split into two good groups. I'm not sure the regulars there would be my kind of friends, but they seemed nice enough.

Facilities:
Has exactly one portopotty. I don't believe they had a proshop, but we didn't really have any gun problems that weren't easily remedied.

Food:
Pretty average price. We brought our own food though.

Overall:
Pretty average field. The thing that makes this field stand out is the great prices. If you're strapped for cash, this is a solid field. I don't know other fields in the area, so others might be better though.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

*bandit* Monday, November 23rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC VILLAGE, Conquest (old one off the 210?), Tombstone reball
Directions
to the Field:
Off the 5 fwy at Calgrove exit. easy to find. maybe 3 minutes or less after you exit the freeway. check website for directions
Review: I like this place a lot. The prices aren't bad at all. For players with your own gear...Half day/Full day = $22/$28 all day air included. Rental prices aren't bad either. Their website has all that info. The staff is very helpful and nice, they don't act like they'd rather be somewhere else and you're hassling them. We got to the field around 11am and the older guy gave us half day prices that were supposed to start at 1pm. The ref we had was Sean and another asian guy (I forgot his name, sorry). They were cool too. The people that were out playing that day were mostly all friendly people. A handful of regulars 8-10 that I could see, quite a bit of new people to the sport. Seemed like a 50/50 mix of honest players vs wipers or newbs that didn't know better. I'm not a big complainer about that anyway and the crowd will most likely vary. This was just my one time experience there.

Let me get to the things that will probably be constant:

SAFETY:
It's pretty lax. They only enforce goggles on while you're on the field and a game is in play. I saw almost everyone with goggle up while walking to the field and also at the staging areas of the fileds while rules were being explained. I understand it can get hot and uncomfortable but I'd rather not lose an eye. Barrel cover/blocks are required up until gameplay starts so I guess that's why they're pretty lenient with the goggles. But we all know there are people who love to "test" their markers before play begins. I just told my group to leave goggles on all the time unless we were at the parking lot, just to be safe. Accidents happen. The target range has 2 chronos for you to use and the refs double check you with hand-held chronos before your first game and then again after lunch. 280 fps max.

GAMES:
They had some good games. Fox and the hound, defend the city, seek and destroy. You are rewarded for winning some of the games with a bag of paint!! The turn-around between games is really good too. You're not gonna wait more than 10-15 minutes before you get to go to the next field (unless it's lunch time). Most of the games we played that day had either one or both sides with the ability to re-spawn after walking back to the starting area. I like that. I guess it SHOULD cut down on wiping since you can come back and not have to wait for the next game before you can play again.

FIELDS:
AIRBALL: looked to me to be good for 4-on-4 at the most. We did 3-on-2 and it was really nice.
SPEEDBALL: they have pics of it up on their website but I didn't get to play it or even see it and I forgot to ask if they even still had it. It looks like it would be fun, from the pics anyway.
LOWER FIELD: wooden bunkers, a tank, a submarine, and 2 or 3 tunnels. we had 25-35 people in our group that played here. It didn't seem overcrowded for that number of players.
UPPER FIELD: Has a "town" on one side and a giant hill that is in play. For the number of players in the group, it seemed a little crowded in the town. I think it's an ok field. they just need to keep players on the hill side from starting up the hill before the game starts.

REFS:
Good at explaining the rules. Good at getting games going with no long waits. They don't really go onto the field for paint checks and just watch from the sides. Not a big deal because the fields aren't that big. I DID hear someone ask for a paint check on another player multiple times but didn't get it then got mad when the ref called him (the accuser) out. That guy was understandably upset. Also didn't see them enforce the no blind fire rule enough. I think they did a good job for the most part.

SNACKS/FACILITIES:
chips,soda,water, hot dogs. You can also have pizza delivered. Their drinks are cold, the dogs are nothing special but not bad in any way. They hit the spot when you're starving. I didn't order one but they told someone else that the pizza wasn't the best. The field is maybe a quick 5-8 min drive away from a bunch of fast food spots anyway. taco bell, in-n-out, burger king, mcdonald's, jack in the box, wendy's, and carl's jr. are your choices. Didn't need to relieve myself so I didn't even look for a port-a-potty or restroom.

I gave it an 8. I don't give 10's because I haven't been to enough places to compare yet. Would have gotten a 9 but it needs more fields and the air fills were only up to 3000psi sometimes 2500(no biggie). I think the prices,prizes,and awesome staff make up for it a bit, so 8.75

also forgot to say it's b.y.o.p. but they also sell a box of stingerz for $50
Last edited on Monday, November 23rd, 2009 at 11:46 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kafutunga Friday, February 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest Paintball
Review: Field of fire was alright id give it a 6 because the scenario games are good and theres lots of friendly people this was the first place I went paintballing at as for food it was cheap and good 1 probglem I had was the lockers they were basically just worn wood and the doors were almost torn off although I would understand its been there a while the refs are good and they can see most of everything that goes on on the field the bathrooms...not so great basically a port-o-potty that looks like it was hit by a hurricane of crap but my experience ass my first time ever playing paintball there it was all in all good.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

d2thearkangel Wednesday, June 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sc villaige
urban quest
tombstone
Fields of fire (awesomeness)
Directions
to the Field:
umm... off of the 5 before magic mountain
Review: the went over everything, the safety issues the barrel plug, the masks. they didnt have many fields on the lot, but with alot of people coming only for the 1/2 day and different people coming after that, it was nice to see such a switchup of people after awhile, not to mention that almost every game we had was scenario ( hold the bucket, bomb the tank) it was fun! a good mix of people between nooBs and others, everyone who i talked to was really friendly!!!

this place is thee shiznit
Last edited on Wednesday, January 14th, 2009 at 6:47 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Runamuk Monday, January 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: December 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Urban Quest (so, so), Paintball USA (not so good) Jungle Island (ok)
Review: I have played at Fields of Fire off and on for fifteen years now. I love the place. All of the staff is friendly and courteous. Dennis is the head ref and he alone can make the day worth while. I think he is one of the best I have ever played under. Safety is good, They really discourage overshooting from high R.O.F. guns, so if you like to "shoot ropes" this might not be the best field for you. Personally I like it, I don't need to lay down the paint, or take four hits getting out. Cheating (Wiping, shooting hot) is NOT tolerated and I like that allot.
They have a Porto-John and It always seems to be clean. There is water available for cleanup if needed. and lockers if you need secure storage.
As far as the fields go, there are essentially two separate fields "city style" one smaller and one larger The groups play all different assortment on games which are always entertaining and allot of times winners are rewarded with 500 rounds paint. The two fields are separated by a ridge that comes into play on the larger of the two. One of the best things is you always seem to be kept aware of what is going on with the games. Turn around is quick and back to back games can be numerous, sometimes they will say "bring extra paint" to get an extra game in before lunch. All that adds up to allot of good fair play.
I forgot to add they now have an airball field.
Last edited on Monday, January 14th, 2008 at 3:06 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ruiz_edward@msn Friday, June 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fields of fury ACTON, paintball USA :(
Directions
to the Field:
take the 5 freeway north get off on Calgrove make a left under the bridge and go for 1 mile and find the Rat with guns.
Review: The field is great for newcomers that have not played yet. They also have scenerio games that keep the paint flying without getting bored of the same game. I took my 10 year old son and he had a blast. The ref was very informative and was on top of everything when the games were going on. They are adding a new field in a couple weeks.

They have portapotties that are clean as they can be, they also have great hotdogs and drinks.

I will go back when my son gets out of school.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shaaban Sunday, May 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
California Paintball: Haven't played there in years.
Paintball USA: Haven't played there in years either.
Directions
to the Field:
Exit the 5 freeway at Calgrove and take Calgrove West until it turns into the Old Road. Field a mile ahead on the right.
Review: This is personally my favorite field to play at. The fields are real cool(and changing), the players there are for the most part really nice, and the refs are always keeping an eye on the game and making some really cool game types. I was just at the field today and I was talking to the owner about some construction they were doing and found out that they are going to be adding an AIRBALL FIELD to go along with the other speedball field and the two towns. Says it should be done in the next few weeks.

Here's some notes to complement other reviews:

Safety: First thing the refs do in the morning is chrono everyone on the field. Then the go through a the different rules: mask on when on the field, keep the barrel plugs in at all times except during the games, quarter-size paint mark, all the stuff to keep the games safe and fun. They also encourage the players to yell at players that take off their mask during a game so that they get back on asap. They're always really good about safety so that no one worries about getting shot during a break on the field.

Fields: They have three fields soon to be four. First, the top field is a smallish town that also has a hill on one side and some bunkers in whats called he alley( pathway around the hill on slightly higher ground than the rest of the town. This is my favorite field here as it gives close quarters action with a wide variety of bunkers that gives it a realistic feel. Definitely a fun field.

They have another town on the bottom field which is fairly large. Has some trenches and tunnels under it. A wide variety of bunkers too. Some what one sided as it is on a slope and one team always starts at the top. Still good for some great games.

Speedball field is kind of neat. It's a mix of water tanks and different wooden bunkers. Its pretty cool, but not my favorite. I don't care for speedball that much so the field being poor doesn't concern me too much. I have watched the advanced players playing on the field and they just go crazy sliding into different bunkers and really working the field. Many players and reviewers have voiced the need for an airball field, which I'm happy to say they started working on this weekend.

AIRBALL FIELD: The field will have an airball field within a few weeks if everything goes to plan. The refs and the field owner were talking about needing to get a tractor in to level out the ground for the field and they have already started working on the supports for the fields netting. The spot is only about fifty feet from the parking lot so no hiking to it. Should be really cool when finished.

EDIT: The Airball field just opened up last week and I got to play there this weekend. This is the first airball field I have ever played on, but it was balanced really well with the bunkers setup so as to mirror each other. I played more speedball this weekend than I ever have before and it was really fun. The new air bunkers are really fun to play with instead of water barrels and tanks. Watching some of the more advanced players should me some new ways to use the bunkers so I hope next week will be even better.

Hours of operation: Gates open about 8a.m. First games between 9-10 a.m. and the last go till around four depending on the players and how everyone is doing.

Game types: all games are usually 8 to 15 minutes long.
-Elimination: self expliaining. sometimes they have a period in the beginning for reincarnation. If you get shot during the reincarnation period you just go back to your starting point, wipe of the hit and go back in. Keeps the game going for a bit longer.
-Capture the flag. Reincarntion usually.
-Football: a bucket is placed in the middle of the field. Have to get the bucket and take it to your enemies base to win. Reincarnation usually.
-Easter egg hunting: New game type the used today. Three buckets placed at the fifty of the town on the bottom field must collect at least two of them and control them in your base at the end of the game.
-Foxes and Hounds: One of my favorites. Its usually 8 players( foxes: the most experienced or gutsy players) verse everyone else at the field called the hounds( 30 to 50 players on average). Depending on the field they will either put the foxes in the castle/ base at the top of the bottom field, or let them hide in the top field's town and then be hunted out by everyone else. This game is often pretty fun. Reincarnation for the hounds only for usually the first half of the game. Foxes get no reincarnation.

Prices: Really good.
-15 dollars half day till noon-ish.
-20 dollars all day.
-7 dollars for all day nitro/air
-4 dollars a fill for CO2
-35 dollars for half day gun rentals plus 300 paintballs and air.
-45 dollars for all day rentals plus 500 paintballs and air.
-Bring your own paint or they have some house paint. I just bring paint.
They have field patches for ten dollars that on your next time there get you 5 dollars off admission. Pays for itself plus some after a few visits.

The guys in the shack will give you a hand with your marker if its not working. They're also pretty cool about o-rings and small stuff. No nickel and dimin' ya.

They serve hot dogs and chili dogs at lunch. 3 dollars for a chili dog. They're actually pretty dang good. Also have chips in the little lunchable bags and water and soda. Water dollar and soda 75 cents.

They have an andy gump there. They keep it pretty clean and full of the chemicals needed so it never smells that bad.

This is a great field to play at with its different field types, cool refs, and the price is right. I would recommend this field to anyone in a heart beat! Have fun flinging paint!
Last edited on Sunday, August 19th, 2007 at 7:54 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigbonusballer Wednesday, April 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball usa in simi and newhall, and CPP
Review: overall.... good feilds especially like the top feild whic has the mntn but the speedball feild is horrible cuz theres only septic tanks(empty ones lol) and in the back they have the weirdest shaped bunkers i have ever seen. MUCH worse than pb usa but i go to this one cuz the newhall one closed down and i dont like the simi one.

also theres always only 1 ref per game so theres wiping galore. also lots of first timers out there too gawking at you 0_0 all the while. paint is pretty cheap too i think its like 35 bucks a case ALSO if you rent you get 500 rounds free and also theres games where they give out paint if you risk getting shot to oblivion=). for lunch they give out the best chili dogs youll ever EVER have for 2 bucks and a soda.

they also have the nicest dog in the world you can pet it and such but DONT SHOOT IT!!!!

id give it a 7-7.5 all cuz of the dogs
peace
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Artticus Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Unknown
Directions
to the Field:
From san diego 5-N , Calgrove Exit, Left, calgrove turns into old rd.
Review: Fields - They have 3 fields I only got to play 2. Of the 2 I played i really only like the field with the mountain in play. Seemed to me that the fields were to small compared to how many people were playing.

Refs- At first refs were GREAT! But the leading ref left to watch a tournament and left us with 2 guys that really could care less when the game started. They were good before making sure no one was shooting and had barrel plugs in and also chronoing before the game. But once the game started Seemed like they were just helping there buddies that were playing. (ie. Their friends would call a hit to the ref and he would go look at the other guy and make him pause while he looked over his body for paint.)

Also i think lot of people were wiping paint and it would have helped if the refs were looking alot better.

Pro Shop - This was ok I didn't really need anything i came fully equipped but i did see some of the rental guns and people were saying they sucked (they were tippman 98) but no personal experience.

Players - We had a huge array of players. Lots of Little kids that never move. Lots of adults that rarely moved (pros) And a good hand full of amateurs. Seemed to me that everyone that played had Really good guns and were just spraying the field from afar.

Overall - This is a BYOP field so that was nice. I did have fun early in the morning there were not so many kids and games were alot more eventful. Later they were CRAMMED with kids that just spray the field so that gets annoying. There were only 3 refs for about 80 - 100 people which was not enough because they were not all watching the game at the same time. I was playing on a tournament day so it might be different some other days.

I give this field a 6 out of 10 and will look for another field to play at.

Hope this was helpful
Last edited on Sunday, March 11th, 2007 at 9:59 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

alexmum Thursday, December 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 29th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
california paintball
Review: well i think this is an ok painball feild for beginers or family outings. Such advanced players as myself would think that it is a good beginer or intermidiate player field. i normaly go to california paintball because it is a better field and i live like 1 mile a way from it lol.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media