paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / First Prize Paintball Field / First Prize Paintball Field / First Prize Paintball Field / First Prize Paintball Field

First Prize Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
49Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (518) 449-BALL (2255)
Address: 245 Morris Road
Albany, New York 12206
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
BWcaptain Monday, May 25th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 13th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: The speed ball field was messy and the bunkers were deflated, the refs were laid back and were distracted during games, the woodsball field was small and open, the paint was expensive, the village was fun, the mound field had good cover and was very dependent on cover fire from teammates to get to cover ahead of you, although the fences in the mound field were full of holes and openings for paint to get through, and the paint rarely broke and made it more painful being shot
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DvSkD4 Wednesday, October 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Haven't been to other fields in the area.
Directions
to the Field:
maps.google.com
Review: I have been playing paintball on and off for a few years now, usually just in the woods with friends. The other weekend my buddies and I got together and drove over to this place. Everyone had a wicked good time, people were friendly and called themselves out for the most part (when they felt it), the refs were really laid back - which was cool because you could just grab someone to ref whatever you want to play (ex. a 3 on 3 game with your friends). We were just playing pick up games with other people basically, but there was also a paintball tourney going on around us - so you can do whatever you want. Reading some of the other reviews, I would definitely agree that the blowups need to be inflated, the supplied paint could be better, and that the refs would need to be better for any serious paintball game.

All in all I would say that this is an above average field for the person just looking to go have fun with some friends/family, but just an average field for those looking to play in a seriously competitive tournament.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ego8baller Tuesday, May 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None thus far.
Directions
to the Field:
Take I-87 and exit on Wolf road. Follow the ramp to get on Central Ave. Follow Central ave towards West. After passing their Pro-Shop, turn left on Lisha Kill Road. When stopped at the T in the road, turn right on Albany street. At the first light, turn left (Morris Road). Follow the road to the field.
Review: Hours of Operation: To my understanding, they're open from 12PM-5PM on Saturdays and Sundays. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Prices: $12 for field fee, $50 for sub-par paint for case of 2000. If you wish to bring your own paint, there's a $20 cost for using them. $5 for all day air. I don't know the prices on rentals because I use my own equipments.

Rules are simple: You get shot, you're out. Their refs are not experienced, thus you'll not see much calling people out. People playing on field seems to be more integrity than not. They will call themselves out if they feel their shots. Alas, if they get shot on their gear or anywhere where you can't feel, obviously they continue to play. When the paint doesn't break, people will continue to play.

There's not much "food" at the facility. They do sell junk food, but I normally take my own food, which many others are welcome to do, to my understanding.

There are few complaints about the field
1) Their lack of air when filling tanks has been continuous problem for my gun. After two games, I gun will experience re-cocking issues. I heard their CO2 was not the best either.
2) Their X-Ball field was heavily deflated providing minimum cover from certain angles. Cleanliness was not their concern.
3) Their paint was crappy, to say the least. It would curve a lot, providing no accuracy, balls will plainly hurt like hell without them breaking, and it's $50 for a case of 2000. They do have access to their Pro-Shop, I do not understand why they won't stock verity of paints for players to chose with wide range of prices. I consider it cheaper to buy paintballs from a different vender for $30 for 2000 and paying the extra $20 to play with my paint.
4) Their woodsball field was quite small with little cover. The trees were thin, making it a bad place to hide behind. Say goodbye to sniping, because you're practically facing each other before you start, thus no time for hiding.

Praises for their field
1) Even though you're not going to have a professional ref (which I didn't expect having in the first place), their refs are really laid back. Their employees are laid back and everyone there are friendly.
2) Their village field was extremely fun. Their mount field was exciting as well.
3) Their Pro-shop carries wide range of markers and accessories for your excitement from woodsball to speedball, for novice to pros. If they don't have what you desire in stock, they'll likely have it ordered and in store within few business days. I had no issues with their shop, thus far.
4) Most of the people in Albany area seems to be novice when it comes to paintball. I enjoyed playing with people there and meeting new people. I hardly ran into people who complained about the pain and left.

All in all, I highly recommend this field for anyone who wishes to have a good weekend. I will be returning to this field every chance I get. I feel that they need few improvements for their field, but that's the nature of the business... you'll always get criticized.

Keep up the good work, guys!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball518 Saturday, April 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
super easy to get to from major highways and road ways
Review: A complete overhaul of the place has been going on new store on central ave very nice state of the art location.New staff and the field has been overhauled looks like this will be a key year for this place.New managment has been going crazy trying to revamp the hole structure of first prize.Lets see how they do......From what ive heard a huge tourny source for players and tons of expansions on the scenario side. Along with the new proshop.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MR2 Woodsballer Saturday, January 19th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Not really in the area but NVP Paintball in Rochester (4 hours away)
Directions
to the Field:
Don't bother!
Review: OK im gonna be honest if your a turney baller DO NOT come to this field!!! I recently moved to the area from Cali and i have to say this is by far the worst reffing staff out there. I hadn't played in about a month so i was looking to have a good time and get back on a field. Some of the guys in the proshop actully know what they are doing. Mabey 1 person I think his name was Jessie. This was a horrable experience i call ahead of time to ask for a ROF Cap (rate of fire) and not one person know what the hell i was talking about. I simply ask whats your ROF cap 15, 20, what? The response i get was what are you talking about crono? I then proced to explain what BPS is (balls per second) witch they still didnt understand after 15 mins of explaining. That should have sent off a red flag but i decided to go anyway, so i get all suited up and go to fill my tank the psi wouldn't even go over 1300!!! Witch is a complete joke. So slightly annoyed i would have to fill up after every game, i walk onto the field. Look around at all of these deflated bunkers take a deep sigh and say something about getting the bunkers blown up. They look at me like im freaking crazy. I procede to take another sigh and wait for this joke of a reffing staff to call the game. They didnt even know how to call a freaking game he goes 3,2,1 GO (very fast) didn't even ask if everyone was ready. Witch we wern't, we were trying to decide where we were going. So I end up having to tell this retard reff who is a freaking 14 year old (or so) smart-*** kid how to properly call a game. Once the game gets started finally. I go to snake side temple i procede to hit this one guy on his hopper he ducts down in snake wipes it. I gog him he ducks down and wipes it again i ask for a reff to check him. He looks up at me from his phone, for about a second or 2 staring and then returns to texting without so much as a second thought to do his job. I should have thrown a few his way but restrained myself. Trust the bad reviews people I had such a bad time I have sence been driving 4 hours to a decent field. I will never go back to this crap hole of a field.



F-
Last edited on Saturday, January 19th, 2008 at 3:26 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

deitz Sunday, August 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
a.p.e. indoor field and outdoor field
Review: when i went there it had recently rained but the fields weren't that bad. the staff was really laid back (which i liked) but the ref was a horrible ref, no paint checks, no penalties for wipes. and the paint was pretty good except it was oily and greasy. it curved coming outta the barrel and was very inaccurate. The beez wax field was good, it was small, but that makes it more fun because of the close range combat. the speedball field was dirty, and the bunkers were very soft with very little air, most of the bunkers were completely deflated. But all in all, the staff and the proshop wasn't bad (but very limited selections on guns, barrels, e.t.c.) but the speed ball field was pretty bad.
Last edited on Sunday, August 27th, 2006 at 5:12 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

stevo132 Tuesday, August 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: i was at this Field a week ago and the people are very helpful because i never played speed bell before they set up my new gun (i knew how but i let them do it )the ref stood right behind me and helped me a lot there were not a lot of people there because of the heat but they all helped me get used to speed ball and the prises are kind of expensive but that's how they make money i give this Field a 7/10 for all the help they gave me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RideCuStomy2k Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Factory- Nice but closed do to several problems
Directions
to the Field:
245 Morris Road
Albany, NY 12206
USA
Review: I have read many bad reviews on first prize, but personally I think the field is great. When I went there for the first time, on a saturday, I couldn't bring any friends along so I felt kinda lost. But the staff was so laid back that after 5 minutes of being there I felt fine. Some people want there fields very "professional," but I like the staff to be chill and laid back (but that's just me). There were like 4 other people there with me, and we all made a pickup game and it was a lot of fun. People in other reviews said they had problems with the ref, but I had none. As soon as we all had our gear (because some rented), he was by are side waiting until we were ready to play. The guy hung out with us the whole time.
I only played on one of their speedball fields, in which the bunkers were all stable and fully blown up. It wasn't too small, just a little dirty and needed some cleaning.
There was a bad thing I did notice though, the cost. The entry fee was 20 dollars which I thought was kinda ridiculous. There was also no all day air purchase available. But all in all, I give this field an 8.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Frontman3 Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Missions- much much better than first prize and cheaper
Friendly Fire -Better than here
Review: Refs were inatentive to get of there butt's and do a paint check. 2 fields 1 x ball 1 scenario. I don't think they should call that scenario its horribly tiny for scenario. The Airball field is extremely dirty and smells from there sewer system. The paint is horrible, it chops and curves like u wouldn't believe. Proshop is bad whats pro about it theres nothing in it besides acouple of tippmanns. Owner and runner are cool always trying to help. The players are all 2 faced and don't get along with each other and fights occur.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

robb2269 Tuesday, December 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 20th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Albany paintball club, Splat Factory, Headrush, Spaz paintball
Review: 3 of my team went to First Prize's new reball indoor field. The filed is real clean with astro turf. You don't slip or slide at all. Lighting is good. We got ther alittle before 6pm paid the $30 fee and aired up. One of the worker's explained the rules of the field checked our equipment to make sure we did not accidentally bring in real paint and we were in. I should mention that we had the field to our all to our self. We did a couple of snap shooting drill's when Dale the owner came over and asked us how we like it. And told us we could move bunkers and set up any drill we wanted. He then gave us some examples. Which where real good drills we did for awhile. We worked on breakout drills. With the silhouette's of shooter's to target. Then we finished with some 1 on 2 breakout drill's. Great fun, great drills, help and coaching, Good air fills, temperature was perfect not to hot not to cold. We shot a whole bucket of re-balls refilled and shot some more. Dale said that there was about 7 cases of re-ball in there so we did alot of training for alot less then if we had been using paintball's. I think this will be our winter training place. Try it it is well worth it. I highly recommend if you trying to get your team to practice. Best indoor First Prize has had yet.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media