paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Air Assault Paintball Field / Air Assault Paintball Field / Air Assault Paintball Field / Air Assault Paintball Field

Air Assault Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
25Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 763-479-3113
Address: 5130 Industrial Street
Maple Plains, Minnesota 55359
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
sneakyweasel Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in the area but plenty back in wisconsin
Directions
to the Field:
website
Review: not a bad field and somewhat harder to play when you are told it is a full xball field. However it could be worse.

Pros:
1)Decent airball bunkers they didnt seem too trashed or anything
2)Light was pretty good coulda been better but definately better than alot of indoor
3)floor was soft and sorta a turf like substance so that was pretty good
4)paint could been worse but not too bad

Cons:
1)Field was too narrow
2)floor was not cleaned very well and full of paint
3)staging area seemed sorta small considering it was a tourney
4)air fills decent but the type of airfill station they use is hard on the tanks and fill nipples ruined a friends fill nipple to which an employee said "just hit the reg a few times that usually solves it" and bangged up mine to the point where my cp nipple cover doesnt slide on and off anymore
5)field speed is 275 thats kinda low for my tastes. i dont care taht its indoor or not most shots in airball will be the same distance away as an outdoor field just as getting bunkered indoor or outdoor is the same distance field speed for any tourney should be 300 fps

field rating ill give them a 7 out of 10 since they could have been alot worse and for indoor they were a decent place to play
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xbrinelax2011 Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
adventure zone, splatball
Directions
to the Field:
see website
Review: Alright. I can easily say that this is the best field in Minnesota(to the best of my knowledge) and is the only field that can, at the mention of its name, make me immediatly want to play paintball. The safety is great. They enforce all their rules, are completely unbiased, etc.... They have the most spacious staging area I have ever seen, their staff can fix almost every gun, and their prices are fair. They have paint that shoots just as well as if you went to a store and bought a case to shoot in your backyard, they rent sick guns( last time I was there they were renting Ions, Shockers, Pimps and Angels), and they have a great selection in their shop. The refs are great!!! They always will stop whatever they're doing and come ref your game whenever you ask. They always get respect, even from snobby posers, becuase its such a great field. They have always been my favorite field, and probably always will be.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Lonestar2222009 Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Tag, Special Forces, Northside Sports, FSL, SYO
Directions
to the Field:
Please see website for directions
Review: Overall, a great field to play at. Close in location and nice terrain, however there were some safety concerns.

I noticed a sponsored player leaving his marker in the staging area without a barrel sleeve on, still aired up and loaded with paint. The sign on the wall not 10 feet away said "barrel sleeves are mandatory" outside of the field. In place of a barrel sleeve, I saw a squeegie shoved in the barrel. I asked the field staff about their policy, and they simply said all players must have barrel sleeves. When they heard it was their sponsored player, they merely shrugged it off and did nothing.

Later, I had a disassembled marker in hand (no barrel, no hopper, no tank on, etc.) without a barrel sleeve for repairs. The field staff promptly informed me that I needed a barrel sleeve on the disassembled marker. I do not know if this double standard was enforced because I brought it to the ref's attention earlier, or if they just always give different treatment of the rules to their sponsored players.

Overall, good building and field, but I question the field when safety rules are ignored for some. Perhaps other rules are also allowed to be broken?

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

mnballer4lyfe Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat tag...Decent
Review: Well this was the first time i've played speedball,and let me tell you this made get into the sport even more. They are very good on safty. The field is unbelievable and huge! The staff there are very nice and help you if you need help with somethin. The prices are awesome, except the paint. Its 75 dollars for a case and for me thats way to expensive. The rules are very good and they enforce them. The players there are glad to help you anytime and are very nice. Overall this is the best place to go during the winter and play speedball, infact it might be the best one in minnesota .



Ok well i went there again. I found out that they change the field around every week or so. I can get very busy and they do 7 on 7 and 5 min rule so it goes by faster.
Last edited on Saturday, December 30th, 2006 at 10:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball_Doc Friday, December 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Special Forces (comparing apples and oranges here), Splat Tag (same as SFP), Splatball (horrible on all counts), Northside Sports (great outdoor field, cheaper), FSL (closed now), SYO (closed), Action Packed Paintball (great guys, good field, but further away)
Directions
to the Field:
Refer to field website, it's really easy to find.
Review: This field is the best indoor field I've been to, and is one of the best air ball field facilities I have played at. The building is really easy to find.

The field is clean and well set up. The turf is a lot friendlier to the knees than cement (as is common on some indoor fields). There's plenty of space in the staging area, so overcrowding isn't much of a problem.

The prices are fair compared to other indoor fields that have existed/still exist. Air is self-serve, which is always a nice benefit. The staff are friendly, and the refs were fair.

I went to this field with a pump gun, playing up against the electros, and there were no incidents relating to the "rec/ tourney war." There were few incidents of players not going out when hit.

EDIT: After playing several more times here, I would like to make the following addendums:

The field seems to support 3 varieties of paintball players: the rec player, the good natured tournament player, and the "agg" tourney attitude players. This last type has frequently been allowed to do what they feel like unchecked. The other 2 categories of player mix well at this field, and usually everyone leaves having had a good time.

If you can find the times the poor attitude teams (which on a side note are not sponsored teams) are not present, it's a great place. If you're caught with them there, it's going to be interesting.

My overall rating of the field does not change. It's still a great place to play overall.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 10th, 2009 at 7:01 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

halojack22 Thursday, December 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
thunder alley- Crap CRAP CRAP CRAP
splatball- its ok but i hate the floor
Directions
to the Field:
on website
Review: great great great kick a$$ field. Rent out sick guns. Paint isn't that expensive, great field. It is a littl slippery but better than the cement at splatball. The setup is always different, and there are always people there. GO HERE GO HERE GO HERE.




Great field, best in minnesota! Turn off your computer & get your a$$ over to this field.

10 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ProtoBoy17 Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None i just started at air assault paintball
Review: i gave this field a 10 because the owner is really nice and he helped me pick out my gun. if you are playing in a wrong way like leaving your hopper out in the open. the refs are good because they watch you very close. they check you FPS if they think you are shooting to fast. the field is very nice because they have turf and the owner just bought a X-BALL field. and they change the field every week. and the players that play there include every body in a game so no body is left out. and some of the players help you to get better. the lounge area is nice because they have a flat screan T.V. and they put in paintball videos for you to watch. the rules are good. the pro shop has about every thing you would need for your gun or your gear and they have out side paint for a good price. and they have a party room in the back for birthday partys. and they have ok prices on paintballs that you have to use in the field that is $20 for 500 paintballs, $40 for 1000 balls, $75 for 2000 balls.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jstnevns Sunday, April 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
FSL indoor course is kind of like this place but it is defiantly not as good.
Review: This place. Well I am not a big speed ball fan im more of a woods ball fan but this is one of the greatest indoor places I have ever been to. Its easy to fill your gun by yourself with the compressor. And like other reviews said they fill C02. I don't know how often they change there course but they did a good job setting up the bunkers. Plus they have reasonable paint prices. overall I would recommend this place for anybody. specially if its a rainy day or bad whether
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

pure-pressure Friday, March 31st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
only this
Review: Who doesn't like xl turf small place and with premium refs building bunkers and a person there that can fix your gun if it brakes who wouldnt go there.
there is a staging area and a stricet 275 fps. rule.
they have a area were you buy food and equitment and a party room on the back
and all in all this is a great place
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

airassaultluva1 Sunday, January 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SYO, Splatball, and special forces.
Review: For the first time i went to air assault and i had a blast. The pro shop is big, the staging area is nice, and the refs are helpful. The paint is well priced and the guns are great. The gun selection is: Pimp,shocker,ion, and pmi piranhana. The field is perfect for moving up on and sliding. They are strict on their 275 fps rule. I would recommend this field for everyone.10 out of 10.
Last edited on Sunday, January 15th, 2006 at 12:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media