paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field

Poco Loco Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
78Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 1-87PLAYHERE
Address: 134 Kurtz Rd
New Hanover, Pennsylvania 19473
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
pinky groff Monday, December 12th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: December 3rd, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish
LVP
THorton
Captin Carls
Review: First to start i do not agree with some of the other negative reviews and prices.

To start with what Kevinag18 said about paintball prices and how to go to skirmish they sell there paint for the same price. Poco Loco Has just as many half price paintball days as skirmish.

Ref: They are great with the safety of you and everyone around you and try to get as many games in as possible so you get ore experience.

Bags checked: They dont treat you like criminals. why you would say that beats me. But they do check for (illegal paint) Because you do have to buy paintballs from them but thats how they make money just like any company. They mainly check for drugs and achohol and like fireworks and weapons.

Difference. The main thing everyone is comparing is skirmish to PLP. The main differnece is the size Skirmish is huge PLP is smaller.

Services- Some of the refs there are good with repairing guns. But the best is the staff of Pimped Out Paintball. They are great with fixing guns and other paintball gear such as hoppers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Benaiah Sunday, January 23rd, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 18th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
LVP South - Not as big, 4 speedball fields and indoor
Iron Triangle - Looks like a fence salesman and a junkyard went out of business and dumped everything on their field. it was cheap, but safety was nonexistent. Never go there.
Wanna Play Paintball - Great field. Smaller woodsball, 4 speedball fields as well.
Directions
to the Field:
Its through some backwoods, but GPS navigation can get you there. address and directions are on their website, pocolocopaintball.com
Review: First off, i would like to say some things about previous reviews. I have been to this field at least 3 times before becoming a member, and i have been a member for about a year, and have been going every/every other weekend. Some reviews claim terrible customer service. I have never seen anything that would be considered terrible customer service. No they do not treat you like royalty, but there is always at least 50-60 people there. Youre not special. They are trying their best to help everybody move through as fast as they can and get them playing. I have gotten to know all the employees personally, and all of them are very nice people, and care very much about the customers. The owner, Jeff, is a great guy and takes time out of his day to personally meet every group. I have even played a few games with him. All around, the people here are great.

The refs are all great as well. They are very knowledgeable about the sport and safety. Two or three refs will spend the day with a group of about 20-30. They always put the players first, and try their best to get as many games in as possible. At many other fields, some refs are young and, not to be mean, are a little lazy. It almost seems like they're being inconvenienced by your presence. At Poco Loco, the refs are always personable and accommodating, and definitely care about their job.

The fields are top notch. Each one is a perfect mix of structured and natrual cover, and every field has its quirks that make it fun to play. Not to bash other fields, but Poco Loco's structures are probably the best around. All well constructed and cared for. Some other fields have rather worn down bunkers, or just random barrels or other obstacles. Every field at Poco Loco was well thought out and planned to be as safe and as fun as possible.

There is no real pro shop there, which is a little bit of a disappointment. The refs and employees try to help fix non-field guns as best they can, and some of the regulars are pretty adept with most guns, but dont go there expecting to be able to get your gun serviced. You can pick up some smoke grenades, basic products like gloves, feednecks, and swabs at the counter, as well as the basic Tippmann line of markers.

The pricing is definitely the worst part about this field. At $99 a case, the paint is outrageous. The rental deals are okay, $69 for a rental and 1000 balls, along with a pod pack and other essentials (as of 1/23/11). If you plan to go a lot, the membership card is a must ($149 for 14 months, as of 1/23/10). Free entrance, free air, $65 a case paint, and you can bring their paint back. You also dont need to wait in lines or do the orientation every time. Pretty much pays for itself after like 4 days. Then if you buy a couple cases of paint and get vouchers on their half price days, you can save a good amount of money. If youre not going to go that many times, try to catch a discount day. $20/$20, Rental/500 rounds. (as of 1/23/11). But be sure to pre-register online as they fill up fast.

Some comments were made in previous posts about them checking bags for walk on paint. This isnt because they think you're a criminal, it is because their insurance mandates that they use only paint that they supply. They can get in some trouble for allowing outside paint on their fields, so they are only doing that to cover their butts. As for checking bags on the way out, Jeff has told stories about people trying to get away with stuff, so thats just to make sure they keep what they rent out.

Overall, this is probably my favorite field, with Wanna Play coming in a close second. From showing up to packing up, its a great day and a great time. I highly recommend a trip to Poco Loco, you will enjoy it immensely.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 16th, 2011 at 2:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sting1968 Friday, November 12th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: August 1st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
LVP South
Thornton Paintball
Review: This was once my favorite go-to field. I loved the place, I was even a member for 2 years.

The fields are great, however the owner has a distorted view of running a paintball operation. He's profitable, the field is probably the second most popular field in eastern PA, however the prices are out of control. $100 for a case of paint is simply unfair.

A case of paint (with the bulk amount they order) must be under $30/case, so the mark up is 200%...talk about retaining your margin and ripping off your customers.

Now the ultimate insult...they charge for air fills. This is the new thing that both Poco and Skirmish (THE #1 most expensive PA field) have pulled recently. I don't know who they think can afford playing there, but apparently someone can and they are taking full advantage of it.

The recession has hurt many of us, but not Poco Loco. Two great alternatives are Thornton Paintball. They have only one field, but it's large and the staff there are awesome. Another great place that is HUGE is Outdoor Adventure in Chesapeake City, MD.

In my humble opinion THE best deal for the $$ is LVP South. There is literally nothing to complain about with this place. THE BEST in PA.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kevinag18 Sunday, June 20th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 25th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish
Capt N Carls
Review: DO NOT GO HERE! They are exspensive and have poor customer service.

They used to have a special where it was a $15/$15 day; $15 entry and $15 per 500 paintballs. This was great and one of the only reasons I would attend. However, it has been increased to $20/$20 day. In effect, a case of paint is $80. In addition, any leftover paint you have, you can not bring back unless you have a membership which is a few hundred dollars. Ripoff!!!!

Instead of paying $80 a case at Poco's, go to Skirimish on half price day and load up on paint for the next 4-5 months until the next half price day. At least at Skirmish you don't need a membership to bring back your unused paint!

Another interesting point about Poco Loco's... they use the exact same paint as Skirmish. To those unfamiliar with Skirmish paint, the ball is divided in half...one side pink and one side white with the skirmish logo stamped on it. I tried to bring in a bag of paint I had previosly purchased at Poco Loco's and was told I wasn't allowed to use Skirmish paint. The policy is Poco Loco field paint only and that they don't use the same paint as Skirmish. Well, I bought a few bags of paint from the person who informed me of this policy and wouldn't you know it, same exact paint Skirmish uses.... I guess 2+2 does equal 5!

The final straw was being stopped and having to open my bags to make sure I wasn't stealing anything. No other paintball field that I know of does this. Not even Skirmish which is much larger than Poco Loco's. Skirmish does use wands which is understandable. I can somewhat sympathize with Poco Loco with this issue, but not in conjunction with the other issues.

The also know make players who bring their own guns pay for air refills.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Slickrick214 Saturday, June 19th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 10th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Captn Carls
Gino's
OC
Review: Of all the places I've been to in the Philadelphia/ tri-state area this is probably one of the worst. First of all I think its a joke that they check your bags to make sure your not carrying extra paint. Most of the other fields I have been to are also field paint only but none of the other fields I have gone to have taken such extreme lengths to make sure your using field paint only. They basically treat you like your a criminal.

Pricing- Poco Loco and Skirmish are probably the two worst places in terms of pricing. Their prices are absolutely outrageous. $99 dollars for a case of paint. Thatís a joke. No paint out there on the market is worth that much especially when the paint they use is junk. At Captín Carls its 55 dollars a case (as it is at most of the other fields I've been to). By the time you get done paying for everything your going to piss away alot of money on overpriced stuff. To say the least this place and Skirmish is a huge ripoff in pricing.

Staff/Refs- The refs aren't to bas. Most of them have been there a pretty long time and know what they are doing. The people who run everything else are pissy and rude. I know they deal with alot of people especially new people who don't have a clue of what they're doing but still you shouldn't be pissy its bad cutomer service.

Fields - They have a good amount of fields, that are overall very fun. The fields are the best part of the whole place.

I personally would not recommend Poco-Loco for paintball. Their prices are a joke and their staff isn't the best. Yes they have nice fields and ok refs but I still don't think it's worth it. IMO I think this place is a rip-off and if you want to piss away a lot of money and on overpriced stuff then this is the place for you. I believe there are alot of other places out there that offer the same fun at reasonable prices and I would recommend trying one of those out instead of Poco Loco. I would give this field an overall rating of a 4 out of 10.
Last edited on Sunday, June 20th, 2010 at 2:51 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FIRST SARGEENT Monday, May 17th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 11th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
A goodly number. Amongst one of the best
Review: This Sarge and the reason I'm here is to say Goodbye.
To all the players and refs that I've had the pleasure of sharing this sport with I just wanted to say goodbye and thanks for all the good times.
Maybe I'll get to see some of you one day if I get a chance to play.
So for one last time.
Remember to keep your googles on, cover your barrel and
LEAVE THE TRIGGER ALONE.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lacerator Friday, September 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
lvp south/north
Review: well I enjoyed my time at poco. I went on their half price day 16/16 anytime you can get 500 rounds for less than walmart its good to go.
the ref were very fair, they didnt eject me from the game where they could have cause i took my mask off but they were serious about safty and gave me a warning.
the terrain was steep getting in you have to climb a nice grade just to get to the base camp cause cars are not permitted. we must have played a good 4 games before 2pm the time limits were acceptible for me giving all enought time to play several games at a time. i enjoyed it there and will return for their next half price game. even though its a good half an hour from my home.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

julrichh Monday, July 6th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 20th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
about 9 other fields in the area. (50 mile radius)
Review: Well I was looking forward to playing on fields. But after being searched to see if I had any walk on paint and that they were charging 99 for a case of paint. Then I heard a bunch of people saying that paintball is to expensive. I chose to leave pointing out to these folks who were complaining that I know other fields where you'll get a great time for 1/4 the price. Sorry poco-loco. Youd have to be either ignorant of the real price of paint and price to play or rich.....or just LOCO
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

murderedout Sunday, May 10th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
capt carls plus some others don't recall all of them.
Review: yea went to play there again cause iv had some good experiences in the past but this time the place really showed its colors.

First off their gun smith is none existent and if there is one there claiming to be a marker gun smith hes ether self tought or worst and more than likely only knows a thing or 2 about tippman 98's only.

So if u got a marker other than a tippman 98 and you need something replaced on it or fixed those guys will look at your marker like its a peace of equipment from outer space.

The price is very expensive compared to other places i been to and they make most of their money by charging you 60+ dollars for a case of paint.

Bottom line is if you got a lot of money and dont mind paying 60+ a case of paint plus ridicules entry fees and have a gun that wont need any parts replaced or any repairs on your equipment than go to this place.

i give it a 5 cause the fields are good and the reffs are alright.
Last edited on Sunday, May 10th, 2009 at 5:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Rak10786 Friday, May 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 3rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I'll walk you through a typical day here.

You show up walk up a hill, semi tiring but you don't do much for a little afterwards. Once you get the the staging area you bags are checked for paint, beer, illegal substances, ect. (you have to buy their paint). Then you go through an orientation that goes over the standard rules and you get your paper work to fill out. Once you get called to registers your day begins. You get all your gear and stuff you rented and wait for the rest of the group to catch get their stuff. Then the games begin, for the most part they have pretty decent size fields and a good mix of Structured and non structured fields. If you are buying lunch there they now have a set time when your group eats to not overwhelm the one person that cooks all the food. Then you play a few more games and depending on the season your day ends at 4 (winter) and 5(spring-fall). After you hand in all your rented equipment and such and leave your bags are once again checked for their equipment and such.

now for my ratings

Safety - For gun safety I don't think you can get much better, the refs harp on you about your barrel socks and googles and there is a 2 strike system with googles. Some of the refs are a little more relaxed on it but for the most part they are pretty strict. However you a field can account for personal stupidity and arrogance, IE jumping on rocks like spiderman and what not. 10/10

Staff - The refs are pretty good, from what I can tell most have been there a while and know what they are doing, some of them do carpet your group with arbitrary things to account for one person but that is this business. The register people are somewhat grumpy per say but then again they deal with 100+ people on an average day where the ref just deal with your group. The food people seemed semi nice but then again I only dealt with them when there were like 5 people down at the staging area. I'd say on average I give the staff about 7/10

Prices - a little steep but for the area its a really nice field a lot of structures out on the fields and a good amount of structures back at the staging area like lockers and a changing room. for prices I'd say about 7/10 for prices - service return rate.

Fields - a good amount of fields, with a decent placement of structures and when you go up the 2nd hill (not the initial one) there is a small staging area that is semi out of commision at the moment due to storm damage, but that should be fixed soon. 9/10

For the most part the field is a good field, good fields, good refs, decent customer service, however the prices are a bit steep, but with gas prices now, you save money going here instead of hiking up to skirmish (only compareable field in the area) I'd say if you plan on going and bringing a group tell your people to bring about 50-100 on top of the entry price for them to fully enjoy a day here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media