paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field

Poco Loco Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
78Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 1-87PLAYHERE
Address: 134 Kurtz Rd
New Hanover, Pennsylvania 19473
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Scuba1412 Wednesday, September 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball on the fly, outlaw paintball.
Directions
to the Field:
go up swamp pike, turn on to kurtz rd. then its there
Review: Safety- The field is pretty safe. There are some idiots that take off their mask on the field. Being a paintball ref, I don't care how hot it is, it sure beats not having an eye. One thing that makes me angry is that they take off the safeties on the rental guns. How stupid is that?

Fields - I personally dont like playing woodsball, but some of the setups are pretty cool. Alot of big rocks to hide behind and some cool tanks and stuff.

Hours - pretty long play but it depends how fast your group can get ready to go back and forth b/w fields. You can play 5 times more at paintball on the fly.

Prices - ugh where to start. This place is almost as big as a ripoff as Skirmish. I guess its cool to suck a lot of people that are new to sport of buying very crappy paint at a high price. The paint grade sucks. At least they make a profit off of paint. Its just over priced, paintball is expensive enough.

Staff - friendly for the most part, but they treat you like you're idiots like you never held a gun before.

facilities - a few trailers and tents, they work.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

A1oneInDarkness Tuesday, July 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Thorton Paintball, Paintball on the Fly
Directions
to the Field:
~~~~~Just Mapquest it~~~~~~
Review: Safety- They definitely keep you safe. They go over the rules again and again. You gotta be blind and deaf not to notice them. They have large signs set up and cones. The refs and staff always remind you. If they see you without your barrel sock on where you should have it on the refs/staff run over and hold you gun toward the gun till you put the sock on. They actually didn't let someone i was there with play because he took his mask off by accident twice. I rate safety a 10.....even though I thought they were a little strict.

Fields- They have great fields....they have speed ball and woods ball set up. I haven't played all the courses but the ones i have played were great. The castle wasn't the best ,but I think that was because too many people had to leave and we didn't have enough people. The fields definitely get a 10.

Hours of Operation- They give you plenty of time to play. I didn't like how long we waited in between games sometimes. We didn't get around into all the fields, but we were there plenty long enough to have fun. I give the hours of operation a 8 because I didn't get to all the fields.

Prices- The prices were pretty cheap, but we did go on a special day. The prices all seamed reasonable except for the paint balls. The paint balls we got were pretty low end and pretty costly. I would rate the prices a 9.

Rules- The rules were all reasonable....if you want a complete list of rules just read them on their website.

Services- They fill all your tanks for free including Co2 and N2. They also will rent you camo and tippmann 98 customs. They rent many different types of good guns. I rate the services a 8.

Proshop- The proshop is nice they rent some good smoke and paint grenades and also sell guns, hoppers, barrels, ect... I rate the proshop a 9.

Staff- The staff is really nice for the most part. As I said they can get a little unreasonable when people break their rules though. They could be a little more reasonable with some of the first timers or younger kids. I rate the staff a 8.

Refs-The refs are cool. They will answer all your questions and get you a paint check whenever you need it. they have plenty of refs around the course making sure everything is running smooth. The refs get a rating of 9.

Facilities-The facilities are good. They have lockers to keep your valuables to keep all of your goods. They also have a bunch of picnic tables and tents set up to rest and relax under. They have a wind tunnel type of thing were there are three cooler with mister fans set up. I would rate the facilities a 10 for sure.

Food- They have great hot dogs and chips. Theres soda all the time and there also some candy and slim jims you can get if you want. I rate the food a 8.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

plamat52 Thursday, May 31st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Ok, so i've played 4 times, but just once at Poco Loco, one of the other times being Skrimish.

Safety - gotta be blind and deaf not to see the signs or hear the warnings about goggles or barrel socks. Actually saw one of refs correct an individual that didnt have a barrel sock on. Some of the fields have huge rocks, and they instruct not to climb on them. 10/10

Staff - friendly, nothing more to say there.... no psycho lady lol. 10/10

Prices - well i went on event day so a case of paint was $65. Admission was $30 i believe, and there is free CO2 all day long. They also have free hotdogs cuz of event day. not gonna rate it cuz i cant make an accurate comment on price cuz i havent been to many other places and cant remember their prices.

Refs - I have no complaints, when u call for paint check they are right there. They definetly kept us and the games moving. 10/10

Facilities - I like the fields, good woodsball. Lots of natural cover. There was very little brush to worry about, so moving wasnt a problem. The Castle was outstanding!!! The walk from the parking lot to the staging area was enough to give me a heart attack (huge hill), but after that it was pretty easy getting to and from the fields. There was plenty of water coolers sitting out, and even mist fans which was a plus, cuz i think i was getting close to 90 degrees outside. The only thing i didnt like was that there were the porta jon toilets. If u were just taking a leak it was ok, but i hate to drop a deuce in those things, not to mention the whole hand washing thing, but if u plan ahead u can take hand sanatizer. I rate the facilities a 10/10, i know you're thinking i was complaining about the toilets and yes i was, but there were the extras, like the cool mist fans and the water coolers that made it even.

Overall I had a blast at Poco Loco, and i will most certainly go again. It's great for woodsball, and an all around great time.
Last edited on Thursday, May 31st, 2007 at 1:03 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

elliott_benner@ Sunday, April 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousin's Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest it (i suck at directions)
Review: I suggest this place to anyone, the refs, Sarge and Pat, are GGGRRREEEAAATTT

the only drawback is that the fields are WAY to small so its easy game if you have a decent marker, you basically can see the other team right away

the staff is dedicated to getting everyone play right away(from what i got)

they check your bags for paint.........FYI dont bring your own paint (watch it)

they check your bags when you leave (i dunno)

they have average prices (expensive kinda)

one drawback....they lower the air in the marker so much that it takes a rifled barrel, (tippmanns) flatline barrels, or a longer barrel, but that doesnt help much.....

THEY ARE STRICT AS EVER WITH GOGGLES SO DONT BE PLAYING AROUND WITH THAT RULE

ABOUT THAT LAST POINT I MADE........THEY STOP GAMES FOR ANYONE SCREWING WITH THEIR GOGGLES SO DONT FIDDLE WITH YOUR GOGGLES WHILE IN THE AREA WHERE GOGGLES ARE NEEDED

FINAL: if you want a good time...go there.........FOLLOW THIER RULES......THEY STOP GAMES FOR ANYONE BREAKING ANY
Last edited on Wednesday, April 11th, 2007 at 4:25 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

barrettshawn Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rogue Element, Paintball Thunder
Review: Went down for the Iwo Jima Scenario.

Safety...excellent on the field, refs were all over the place...only concern was the chrono area where players were walking behind the chrono w/o goggles but this was probably more related to the scenario crowd than the field bc the field was killer safe.

Fields...loved the different terrain...if you need exercise this is the field for you with a lot of small hills...great structures...didn't think I would like the little huts but I sat for like 30 minutes working one bunker for 5 kills from one hut...

Hours N/A

Prices...were not that bad was $50 for paint and $20 for entry

Rules...again with safety were clearly defined

Services, Proshop, Staff, Refs, Facilities, Food...all of these were as good or better than I expected heading there...I particularly liked the changing rooms...good CLEAN portapotties...and the chicken they served that day was EXCELLENT

My only comment probably isn't to the field but more to the scenario organizer...the objectives were clearly defined for the first wave but after that, I and the 3 that were with me were pretty much just knocking down the opposition at random...on the final wave we were heading in for insertion and asked a ref to direct us the the insertion point and accidentally got sent into the middle of the American Line

My summary...loved the field...prices were good...refs were on spot for paint checks...love the different structures that they have built...the helicopter is sweet...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jmoney07 Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 31st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish
Paintball on the Fly
Captain Carl's

Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest
On their Website
Review: First let me say, I am no ordinary user of this field just posting a review. For those of you who have ever gone on a Saturday in the past four years, you've played with me. Yes, I have such little of a life, that the past four years of it, I have been there EVERY Saturday, which is dead true. So if you've played with me, to jog your memory, I probably told you to call me "Mary" , and I was probably wearing my neon green Acid jersey. I have been playing here since I started playing paintball, so let this review be more honest and serious than any other. Now here it is:
Poco Loco Paintball is the place to go for new to experienced players. It offers 11 great woods ball courses. Poco Loco also occasionally hosts scenario games, too. A full day of play at Poco Loco is 9 A.M. - 5 P.M. As far as money is concerned, a case of paint for non-members is $100, 1,500 balls is $75, $60 for 1,000, and $35 for 500. Now, for $149, you can become a Poco Loco Member for 14 months. Where paint price drops, which goes from $100 to $65 for a case. Plus, no more listening to their pointless rambling about safety that everyone already knows, and members can cut right to the front of any line. All day air and admission for free.
The refs at the field are very friendly and answer any and all questions people might have. I have one piece of advise to follow. If you get the ref named Justin "Mouth", trust me...do yourself a favor and request a new ref. This will make the group you are in much...much happier. As far as safety is concerned, one rule is the mask rule, which pretty much every place has. Only Poco Loco's is pretty strict. Taking your mask off first time in the field results in sitting the next game. Your 2nd offense, they kick you out w/o refund. Their only other rule is no bunkering, which is fine, because it's woodsball, not speedball.
Only problem about it is food is E-X-P-E-N-S-I-V-E!!!!!!!!!!!! It costs $6.50 for a cheeseburger and fries, and $1.25 for a water. But I mean it's location. It's not like there is anywhere near there where you can get the stuff they got. So all in all, this place is great. But don't take my word for it, bring some buddies up and come play.
Last edited on Sunday, November 1st, 2009 at 4:12 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dynaman Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 1st, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Picasso Lake
Paintball Action
Local Fields in the woods
Review: I'll reiterate that safety is a high priority at this field, well enforced.

Minor complaint about pricing, we went on a day with food that was supposed to be free, but ended up paying an extra $10 dollars when we arrived. The food was great though. (standard buffet stuff, but after a morning of paintball...)

The fields are excellent, lots of cover and structures and I see that since we had been there they have added more. The helicopter down scenario game was especially interesting. My friend tells me that the castle game was too small of an area with too many holes in the castle (I missed that game, see below). I do like the fields though and will be playing there again. The fields are all recball types except for one speedball field right next to the staging area (no climbing the hill to get to that one!)

Only negative on the layout, you have to walk up a pretty large hill to go from the staging area to the fields. Last year I was even more out of shape then I had been in a while, meaning I skipped a couple games to take a break - which I normally do not do (it was also very hot that day, low in the lower nineties I believe)

Prices for paint are high $100 a case, but it is obviously being put back into the facility, the layout is very well maintained.

Final note is the reffing was very well done, in addition to keeping the safety level high they also kepts the games rolling along. They had over a hundred players there when I went and everything ran smoothly, from purchasing paint to the layout for lunch.

If you are looking for a place to play paintball with lots of structures and different fields this is a good one to try.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Brick-TSSOCs Tuesday, March 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: December 10th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PaintBallOnTheFly - indoor speedball - superb as is, not a comparison
Cobra Command - used to suck muck. I understand they've recently recieved an infusion of cash and some intelligence and have been revamped. Bear's checking out.
Skirmish - the legend has faded. Time to get off your laurels and get back into the paintball business
Review: What’s your favorite of the five senses?

Hearing? I LOVE music, classic rock rules! The electric guitar climax in Pink Floyd’s Comfortably Numb…. Man! I’ve got to have music on every second possible and I would definitely miss it!

Taste? I have my local Chinese restaurant making their diced chicken with cashew now with hoisin sauce for me (plum-based), and I can’t get enough!! I still dig a great ginger ale and this Propel stuff ain’t that bad!

Touch? [censored – wink wink] I love my wife! [censored]

Smell? Ok, I could do without smelling the Boy fart ever again in my life. But when the cat leaves a stinker in the litter box in the office…. Ok, that I wouldn’t miss either.

That leaves sight. Being able to drive, see a sunset, movie, amazing female body, or play paintball – now that would indeed be the GREATEST lost sense in my opinion.

Poco is hyper on safety and for that I can’t thank them enough!!

Last week I played at Stalingrad at Skirmish and you STILL can walk along their “trails”, their muddy, dangerous, ill-kept trails, right between LIVE firing, without your mask on. You can hang at the tables and fire your gun as much as you want and not be accosted by Skirmish staff.

I played at EMR last fall and I can’t beat this example: a ref was on the field near a firefight with his goggles off, cleaning it. Another was on his cell phone.

Yesterday I was at On-Target. In the dead zone were lots of guys, masks off, and lots of guys with guns with no barrel covers. And yeah, refs were in there too.

Each of those three places will put your eyes at risk. No ifs and or buts, you cannot defend those actions. If your barrel cover is off, you can launch a paintball. If your hopper is on and your tank is on, you can shoot.

At Poco you try that crap, not only will a ref be all over you, us members will be all over you. Why? ‘Cause none of us want to risk loosing an eyeball. I’ve had great games and bad games. Won, lost, and tied. But without my vision, it all ends.

And this should scare all of you: I have an ION. I’ve had it for over a year, now, so all you Johnny-come-latelies, listen up (this includes YOU, Mary, you whining coyote), with my tank off, and my hopper off, if there is air in the regulator and my gun is on, if there is a ball in the chamber, I can FIRE it. AND, sometimes if I jiggle the marker just right --- it WILL fire.

And the ONLY place I’ve been to that seems to acknowledge that is Poco Loco.

Hyperactive vigilance, people. Please. Wipers are not the biggest threat to this sport: each of us are the biggest threat TO EACH OTHER’S SIGHT and it is up to us to police each other. So if you’re in a “safe” zone with me and I see your marker has its hopper and gas on but no cover – if you’re in proximity to me I will grab your barrel and hold it towards the ground and ask you to cover it. If you’re not within reach I will shout at you, most likely in a gruff voice – courtesy might not be present.

To do a slight repeat: if you are in a safe zone and you have to cover your barrel, please point it at the ground as opposed to pointing at upwards. That should be a “duh,” but if I had a dollar for every time I saw that happen . . .

So thank you Poco, thank you Jeff, for providing me and mine the safest paintball field I’ve been to, to date!!! Thank you to Poco’s refs for caring about me and your jobs. And I thank in advance for anyone who’s still reading this tirade to incorporate into every minute of their paintball day the vigilance to help keep, me, you, and the people we play with, SAFE, our sight intact.

Disney may be the happiest place but Poco is the safest!

Note to self: find a classification for Hooters.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

surfinsk8r Sunday, October 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cobra Command - Cobra Blows.
Skirmish USA - Poco Loco Blows Compared.
Review: Well I went to their D-Day summer camp 2005 and had a blast, we traveled up to skirmish for their D-Day scenario game, and than the next day we had a speedball tourney on Poco Loco's sole speedball course, which I won and received a small prize.

Today was much different.
My Opinion of Poco Loco Paintball 100% changed after how today worked.
First of all, I spent 4 hours yesterday putting together my group, which started at 8 people and ended at 4. Anyways, one of the major problems was that we WERE going to use the 'small prize' mentioned above (a 10 person free entry on Poco Loco's highest 'Deluxe' Package. ($75 a person)) Well the week before he said it included paint, and yesterday he changed his mind, and he said anyone who already has equipment (all of us had guns, 2 of us needed pods, one helmet.) would not need the credit, and it would actually cost them more because they would have to buy paint. So he said I should put down $30 a person and that included 500 paintballs and entry, and tommorow we would work out how to use my pass. So I went online and used a credit card to make the reservations. Tommorow comes, and we arrive. They tell us they have no record of our transaction and that Jeff never remembered the six conversations from my cell phone. An hour later they verify that the transaction went through, and than they ask for the credit card. I PAYED ONLINE WHY I NEED A CREDIT CARD?!?!?! So I didnt have it with me so he said I would have to pay via a different method. All the money from my group was left at my house. My one member had extra cash so he payed himself in, and my other member and his father, both playing, had a credit card and they payed for me. How much? $30 for entry and the bump up including 500 paintballs for $57?!?! What happened to $30 for paint and entry? Since he had no record of our call he said he didnt know what I was talking about and that that would be how much it cost. So anyway he decided to let us in after the hour spent waiting at the gate (You have to wait until they have a record of the transaction (the one that later we found out we wouldnt need)) So we played for 4 hours and had a pretty good time, despite the very negative morning.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hubbert15 Monday, September 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish
Jack Frost
Skirmish i guess (but i only played D-day)
Review: I don'y know what all of you r talking about, pocoloco rocks. Yes the paint price is little high, but the people r friendly. There ham and cheese sandwhiched were quite good. Jeff is extremely nice and jokes around with us all the time. I went to paintball camp this summer and i had a blast. Well they gave us a discount on paint and free food, whats not 2 like. The castle is my favorite place. People say their castle isnt good. I think the openess of it gives it a challenge 2 defend ur turf. I don't really live near any close paintball fields. (skirmish, jack frost, pocoloco). And an indoor field i havent been 2, but i like this place, and ill probably stick with it
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media