paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field

Poco Loco Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
78Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 1-87PLAYHERE
Address: 134 Kurtz Rd
New Hanover, Pennsylvania 19473
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Wing Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Splatter(Jack Frost)
Review: This field may not exactly be one of the 100% top super best fields in the country, but it has potential. Definitely more suited to WOODSBALL PLAYERS.

You'll always hear the most important factor is location, and dam did they get a great spot. Natural cover (boulders, hills, etc.) is EXCELLENT. For a time you will never forget, get together 10-on-10 teams and play the swamp field. The fields have easy to remember names (swamp, castle, etc.) so you won't get confused about which is which. Referencing Skirmish, when you hear the name 'The Gauntlet' what do you expect? Anything! No, these guys KEEP IT SIMPLE and that is good

As for pricing, it is moderate. I believe it is $25 ( $5 less than skirmish, $5 more than Splatter) to get in, and $100 for a full case of paint. The food is a bit on the expensive side, but it tastes good. Basically you GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. Reservations are not nescessary, and walk-on players are treated with equal care and respect.

The buildings are good as well. Most resemble WWII pillboxes, or castle towers and co-exist nicely with the environment. As for the CASTLE itself, dont be too hopeful. This may be their only weakness. It is small (though the addition did help alot) and dismally hard to defend.

In CONCLUSION, it is a great field for SMALLER TEAMS. Most of the field are relatively small so more than 20 people is not recomended. Overall a great field to fine-tune you game on, BUT TAKE CAUTION! The refs are serious about what they do! Any violation of the rules will not be tolerated, especially MASK REMOVAL! If you frequently get into trouble with the refs at another field then don't other coming here! Thats all.

I would also like to add that I have been reading that many people find the price of paint to be high. With Skirmish as my homefield I can safely say that their by-the-case pricing is the same. Jack Frost is only a wee bit less.

NOTE: All fields make their money through their paintball sales. Your whole $100 dollars doesn't just cover the paint. There is also insurance, referee salary, water, electricity, land tax, and numerous other things that are factored into the paint rather than the entry fee. Yes, owners could drastically lower their paint prices, but the entry fee would skyrocket as a result.
Last edited on Wednesday, June 29th, 2005 at 7:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NewIdentity Sunday, May 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Picasso Lake, Urban Assault, Skirmish and Cousins
Review: I've been around and like this place enough to consider becoming a member.

Poco Loco is a great spot because of it's VARIETY! Speedball, woodsball, good scenario game location and a decent practice area for target practice. Woodsball rocks because they have several types of games from "storm / defend the castle", "black sabre (helicopter) attack / defend", "urban assault village", to several "capture the flags" games in a great wooded area with excellent natural coverage. Some areas are a bit rocky (see mother nature about that!) but nothing that good sense and good ankle-lenght boots can't fix.

Pricing? They tend to be pricey especially on their paint ($99 beans for 2k balls). Join their membership and all you have to do is buy paint @ $65 per case. The membership pays for itself after a couple of visits.
They take safety seriously so don't look to goof off...especially those who remove masks.
MY TIP TO YOU: Invest in an anti-fog mask or don't play.
You might want to pack a couple of sandwiches and bring your own drinks cause they only have (expensive) weiners and gatorade!
MY CONCLUSION: If you are into some serious paintballing or a newbie just starting off, this is the place to go. Paintball isn't a cheap sport. If you don't like the place or what they have to offer just bounce to another.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ItVVazntM3 Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: November 29th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cobra Command - Great place... until they moved.
Skirmish - Too much of a hassle to play.
Review: As many of you may have read of how this is a terrible place, I would just like to say that this is all based on opinion. Many people say how bad the prices are, but then say skirmish is 10X better. How can Skirmish be better when Poco is comprable in prices to them. Also at Skirmish you register somewhere else then having to take a bus ride to the field and THEN you have to walk a lot before you even get to the playing field. At Poco you only walk a fraction of what you walk at skirmish and it doesn't take as long in the beginning.

All of the ref's are very friendly to you as long as you obey the rules and don't go around cursing them off. I have seen many people having problems with masks, markers, and Co2/N2 tanks. With most of the mask problems, the ref's will help you fix it because safety is their number one concern. It's all about following the rules at Poco Loco, you do this and you should have a day of good, civilized fun. As for the marker problems, the ref's are willing to help you fix anything to get you back in the game. If you are a n00b and don't know how to turn you're chrono down, they will help. Lastly, with the N2/Co2 tank problems, Jeff is great here. MANY people have had problems with their N2 tanks, Jeff will lend them one for the day, which makes them happy because they don't have to rent a gun. If your burst disk on your Co2 tank blows ($5?), they have extras there to fix it for you. They also have extra o-rings and will fix that for you ($1).

Having played there many times, I have noticed many things about their fields. They always are upgrading. Since I first played there, they have upped the Castle a lot, and added the Village and 4 tanks and 1 helo. They always seem to be upgrading whatever they can to make for better game play. The tanks and helo really add to the experience. They Speedball is played rarely, but is typically played at the end of the day when most people have left.

Prices... what is there to say about prices?? Most people say that they are overpriced.. If you think you will play there quite a bit each year, then get a membership, it should save you money. Their paint prices are $100 for a case, which isn't bad if you compare it to Skirmish. Skirmish has the same prices and when I have gone, they have had some pretty bad paint. Jeff tends to keep good paint in stock, except when the transaction from winter to spring or fall to winter, there tends to be a little more balls that go all over the place.

The food they have there is pretty good. She has a great knowledge of the sport. They also order pizzas which aren't that expensive, but are very good.

The atmosphere at the field is welcoming, as it should be everywhere. This sport is ment to be played for fun, and I have hardly ever seen anyone start to curse off at each other. When this has happened, the refs have it under control pretty fast (it is generally about some kid wiping - which is a big no-no there). Also, I have seen some people get injured. Last year (I forget the specifics, someone can fill us in with a comment) some kid ended up running into or shooting a bee's hive and ended up getting stung pretty bad. This is the only major thing I have seen in all the years I played there, and it was taken care of by the refs and Jeff very well.

As I said, this place is probably the best place around. The refs are great and you are guaranteed to have fun as long as you keep it clean. Jeff does a great job managing the field and I will continue to come back. Anyway, I hope you didn't fall asleep. I know I may have skipped around in some of the paragraphs, but all I'm trying to say is that this is a great place.
Last edited on Saturday, December 3rd, 2005 at 10:38 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rouge agent Sunday, March 13th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
skirmish- pricey, a litlle too much downtime between games, but professional
Review: Well at the start of our day after i was told i need to buy/rent their $5.00 barrell sock cause they wont allow plugs (new rule to me, oh well) our ref/safety Nazi told our group that we were going to split up cause he didn't have enough people for his second group....well, that went over well....after we argued that we would all like to play as one group he got really pissy and finally decided to do things our way and allowed the other eight people to play with our group (duh) now we get to register and equip ourselves for the day, first you get a wristband at the window you pay for your entry then you bet a wristband for your air supply that you have to go to the "other" window which is 5 feet away from the window your at and is part of the same trailer after that you get another wristband if you have your own equip so you get 500 free paintball, which you can get if you walk to the other window that is 5 feet away in the same trailer so now i have my three wristbands on, my tank of c02 and my 500 paintballs. i asked where do i buy the paint at? well its in the other window, so i go to purchase a case of paint and felt it right in the old behind when it was $105.00 after tax for a case of terrible zap paint i could buy at dicks sporting goods or target for $32.50 after tax ! thoroughly pissed i asked the owner Jeff what the deal was and he told me he gets a deal from skirmish for that paint.......anybody who plays at skirmish knows they shoot DRAXXUS paint for 90.00 a case...... anyway back to the wonderful refs, we as a group decided to allow knees/elbows down and halfway to the first field the pissy ref said that's not the way hes gonna ref and like it or not that's how were gonna play, YAY! well that lasted one match until we strong armed him into doing what we wanted as a group ahem... show of hands usually makes good decisions right? well that made him really angry and all he did was whine the rest of the day so now were walking to the sites for our match and if you get shot, you have to walk all the way to the place where you started, one dead zone? once your out and you walk all the way back to camp you can get your air filled because the refs didn't carry any extra tanks/squeegees with them or get harassed that your gun wasn't chronoed right by the kid with the allen keys, i guess that makes you a tech, so they can screw your gun up for you, the day finally got better and there were some good scenarios but i will never go back there again. EXPENSIVE PAINT, POOR ORGANIZATION, UNSKILLED TECHS, POOR, UNPREPARED, MISERABLE REFEREES EQUAL A POOR OUTING and after all that i told them im writing a review on this site and then AND only then did the ref say and i quote: "what can we do to make your day better sir" what a joke, and a waste of our money
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

chugalug Friday, February 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I have been to this field several times, and I was always impressed by the quality of the fields. There are never any pricker bushes, ditches or any other annoying things to hurt yourself on. They have a good speedball field that is well reffed. They don't have over-shooting penalties, and safety is very important to them. They also have a very cool castle and village field. Like I said before, the refs are very good at spotting wipers and retards who continue to play with two splatters on there mask. The only thing I am not impressed with is the fact that they don't always have there speedball field "up". All and all, a good field with cool people.
Last edited on Friday, February 25th, 2005 at 10:35 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xtremeballer20 Monday, February 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
captn carls- worst fields, unorganized
skirmish- great fields, too many people, expensive
Review: ive been to poco loco several times, and i feel it is the best bargain in the area. i agree that the normal prices are very expensive, and i probably wouldn't go there unless it is a half price day. but it is definitely the cheapest place to play on these days, and has great fields along with a nice staff.
if you like woodsball you will love this place. we played on at least 6 or 7 different wooded fields and of course the castle. they also have a spedball course, but i am not a big fan of speedball anyway. the refs were kind and let us pretty much choose what fields we played on. they also knew a lot of different games for us to play, and let us in on a little strategy before we started.
ther is a crazy lady that works in the trailer, i believe her name is lori. she is always yelling out at someone or something. i like to mess with her, because she seems to try to get under peoples skin, but i just smile at her and agree with what she is saying. its funny seeing kids play there for the first time, they have no idea what this crazy woman is yelling about.
all in all, i would recommend this field to anyone. you cant play any place this good for a price like this. $20 entry fee covers air fills, equipment, and if u have all your stuff they give you 500 paintballs! plus its only $49 for a case!
i know i'll be there on the next 1/2 price day SUNDAY FEB. 20th. if i was you, iwould definitely go here.
Last edited on Monday, February 14th, 2005 at 6:03 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mike19087 Thursday, January 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
skirmish
alpha
capt carls
Review: this could be the worst field in the country!
It took over an hour and a half to start playing after everyone else got equip.
crappy fields and they dont even use there speedball field
WAY TOO EXPENSIVE it is unbelivible how much 100 paintballs costs $8 i can go anywhere else and its 6 or 5 and just to get in u have to pay a arm and leg
They decided to put my gun down to 260 at the crono so i couldnt do anything
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

H410M4573R Wednesday, January 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish - TOO EXPENSIVE
Cobra Command - biggest *expletive* in the world. i waited around for an hour with a friend and only 2 other players showed up...
Review: my name is Rich and i am a frequent player at poco-loco just about every weekend im there I am VERY supervised at the reviews about POCO-LOCO. I have been going to poco-loco for years now and have never once been disappointed. i have seen their fields grow and change and they have never been better. THIS IS NOT a place for speedball or recball people, and it was never meant to be. POCO-LOCO is a WOODS BALL/SCENARIO set of fields NOT speedball. there is NO ARGUING this, if you love woodsball/scenario this is the place for you. there is NOTHING bad about their fields. they are very large and can EASILY host 25 vs 25 games. they have a VERY diverse set of fields the refs are very good people i know most of them and they are never rude or impolite to ANYONE. they are extremely safe and always try their hardest to allow you a good time.
As far a prices go, admission for nonmembers is ONLY 27 dollars, this admission comes with 500 FREE paintballs if you have your own gun. if you need a rental which includes a gun goggles and free airfills you get 300 free balls. which is a very good amount. air refills which can rack up after 6 hours of play are ALWAYS FREE AT POCO-LOCO, that right air refills are free all the time. the paint there is almost exactly the same price as other places.

and in relation to OTHER REVIEWS (see below) the fields are in fact rocky THEY ARE WOODS BALL FIELDS. what kind of *expletives* would expect there to be no rocks in a woodsball field. almost all of the rocks are so large that you can cover behind them so they pose no danger to you. and diving?? ive been playing woodsball a long time and i DON'T DO DIVING at all you don't need to dive in woodsball that's the point of cover and move play......
I love this field, its the best ive ever played at. GIVE IT A TRY i promise that if you give this place a ytu you will be going back over and over again. its a great place.

don't listen to someone who had a bad time because they got their *expletive* kicked while playing there try it for yourself.


READ THE COMMENTS FROM THE PREVIOUS REVIEW and see some more reasons why poco-loco is a great field
Last edited on Wednesday, January 19th, 2005 at 6:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Glacier5 Wednesday, October 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Capt Carls. Outlaw, Alpha Paintball...........ALL light years ahead.
Review: This field is TERRIBLE!!!!! Been there twice. Fool me once shame on you.Fool me twice shame on me!!!!!!!!!!

First of all the thought of having to be robbed of $100 dollars for that crappy paint is painful. Prices are supposed to give a fair profit for the owner, not make him Midas. And don't even think about getting your own pizza. You have to have them order it for you and then pay twice the price they pay. And the Gatoraid is marked up too.....$3.00 for a bottle that goes for $1.30 or so at Turkey Hill or Wawa.....UUUGGHHHH!!!!

I also don't like the fact that they serve food but have no where to wash your hands after a trip to the Porta Potty. Thats gross!! Do the employees have to wash up before they handle food????? Maybe the board of health should be notified.

The fields are rocky to the point of danger.There is no where the rocks aren't a hazzard. The larger ones do provide good cover but you can sprain and ankle or twist a knee there. Try to dive for cover and it's a concussion for sure. Is anyone there First Aid Certified?

The owner is terrible too. While we were there waiting to check in and ask a question he had his ref's in a meeting and while they stood there he was dropping the F bomb left and right to them. Does anyone deserve to be spoken to like their animals? And the woman in the snack bar ( the wife I guess) is just as bad. She is rude to kids and speaks poorly to workers as well. I don't know what they pay the guys there but it not worth the treatment you receive. Note to the employees.......call the labor board!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The only plus for the field is the safety. They are nuts about it. But then again if you screw up as a worker you can bet on getting a few more F bombs tossed at you.

Don't go there if you have kids or church groups. When we were there the second time they had a group from the city and the language was awful. There were kids in the groups we were playing with and the parents were disgusted. But no one (even the owner) said boo about it. There was even a guy who shot one of the refs numerous times at point blank range and he had blood on his neck. He only sat for one game and it almost started a brawl. Lemme see.....10 refs and 4 workers vs. 60 BIG guys from the hood. Who wins??? But i guess thats OK as long as the money was paid. Why back the ref? Just one question???? Does anyone there have the clearance's to work with kids? I know I don't want my children to be around pediphiles or felons.

Closing thoughts. DON'T GO!!!!! The conditions they have there with regards to the clientel makes it unsafe for kids. Don't waste your money on an owner who thinks he's God and can treat workers like he owns them.There is a reason the guy is always hiring workers. Don't spend money on items marked up 2X the original price.

Remember it's your money not theirs. Your money would be better spent ( and more appreciated ) elsewhere.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

Juggernaught33 Wednesday, October 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Capt. Carls
Review: As a person who has been paintballing for years now I feel pretty qualified to write this review.

First off let me say that the prices while high are not that much higher then other fields much farther away. People have to remember this isn't like playing other sports. There are costs involved that people either don't want to except or just don't care about. In the amount of time I've spent there the owner has upgraded the fields and staging area. He recently added a large generating system to power shops and concession area. Does anyone think this can be done for peanuts?

Second I think the refs there are great. One of the guys can get a little flustered at times but the time I saw him get bent out of shape it was because he was dealing with some obnoxious jerk who was swearing at him for something that was his own mistake. I would of decked the guy after 2 minutes. But he remained calm and waited until he left them took 5 to get it together.

And the safety there is something that is never questioned. You follow the rules or you get out. I can say I agree with that. After all there have been children and newbies there each time I played and I appreciate their concern for my own and my kids safety. You don't mind getting hurt? Then go play in traffic.

Third the food could be a little more then just hot dogs and bagged foods. I do understand that there is no running water and the health codes don't allow for much anything else. Bring your own food if you can. if not a dog and soda should suffice if you don't mind.

Forth is the how long it takes to check in. That could make anyone crazy. I wish that would go a little faster since I am paying to play and have limited time.

I've never had a bad experience but like I said the prices can shock you. And whenever the owner has been rude its been to some idiot who talked to him like an animal first. The girls in the shed ( Laurie ) can get blah,blah blah but that doesn't bother me. I'm used to it at home so I can tune her out. My wife is the same.

I'd give it an 8 out of ten just because of the paint prices and the concession.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media