paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field

Poco Loco Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
78Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 1-87PLAYHERE
Address: 134 Kurtz Rd
New Hanover, Pennsylvania 19473
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
USSEAL18 Monday, May 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dell hobbies and Skirmish both better
Review: Just plain horrible dont go. The only thing there thats good are the woodsball fields and its newb friendly except the refs kill it with bad attitued towards them. I only tollerated it cause skirmish was to far a drive but now I found dell hobbies so its all good.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

brickinpa Monday, April 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cobra Command's old field - yuck
Skirmish - $$$$$
Review: Poco Loco Paintball.

Letís play.
Tastes great. Less filling. Republican. Democrat. Too obscure?

Youíre sitting in front of the TV watching the game. How easy it is to criticize when the QB slides right to the first down marker as opposed to going for more yardage.

In America we are so good at criticizing, so good at judging, so adept at being, hmmm, unmarried marriage counselors. How many of you own a business? How many of you own land? How many of you have overhead? How many of you have a staff? How many of you pay insurance for said business?

Iím a tough customer. Iím nice; donít get me wrong, but I DEMAND service and courtesy. Especially if it is regarding an expensive hobby like paintball, and one of my most favorite things on the planet.

I play scenario ball. As a kid I always played some variation of army. Slithering through someoneís bushes, waiting ambush not moving for untold minutes in a tree, and the adrenaline rush of being one against six! But I was sick of, ďBang! I got you Tommy!Ē ďNo you did not!Ē in paintball, 99% of the time, if Tommy doesnít wipe, I got him!

Did I join the army? No. You might only get to play in one game. Then along comes paintball. Wow. But why the heck didnít I get into this sport 20 years ago when I first heard about it?

Have any of you critics checked the prices at Skirmish? Poco Loco charges the same, if not lower. And if you are an advent player and do live in the area or at least within the commutable vicinity, becoming a member is an incredibly financially intelligent thing to do! $150 for14 months of walk-ons. Hmmm. Play 5 days and itís paid for! I can do that in less than 2 months!!

So you walk up a hill from the parking area. Hey! Keep my car away from the risk of being shot at? Love it! Let me guess: some of you are those people who fight to park as close to the doors at the mall so you donít have to walk that much to walk around. Lazy.

And I have not heard of one car being broken into, thank you. And yeah, there are two CLEAN porta potties. And Iíve NEVER had to wait more than maybe two minutes for one, even on the busiest days.

When I get to the top of the hill my membership card gets me processed at the desk super fast (yup, I get called right to the front of the line), and <snap> Iím ready to play. HEY! Join any club or be a VIP at any restaurant and thatís the same service one receives. Ooohhhh, some of you have never had the juice to be VIPs, I get it!!

Jeff, Laurie, Mrs. H, and any of the people working the trailer have always treated me and mine with courtesy and respect. And Iíve witnessed them do the same for non-VIPs.

The refs. They do their jobs. When they donít they get canned. Yeah, there was one, a real clod. Heís GONE. But Sarge? Mike? Barry? You do not know these guys Ė they are nice people, good men!

Law of averages, people. Take x amount of people and a y number of them are gonna need to go. Jeff has been overly fortunate on the quality of his staff. But whatís this stuff about refís standing over players giving their position away? Have any of you ever watched a professional game? The refs are RIGHT there. Otherwise youíd be complaining that the refs donít see cheaters wipe paint or youíd complain that the refs take too long to get to someone, or yourself, for a paint-check.

But a few years of experience has shown me the refs only stand near the inexperienced players, mostly to keep them safe. Me and mine are known at the field Ė a ref might start to walk towards us but as soon as they recognize us, they head elsewhere.

The funny thing is that on two separate occasions I once overheard Jeff (occasion 1) and the maligned Sarge (occasion 2) talking to new refs when they did not know I was nearby. Safety, safety, safety. And guidance. Those were the first, foremost, and emphasized topics.

Iíve seen them corral fools who took their masks off on the field. It was like a shark feeding frenzy. Ok, thatís an exaggeration but the action was fast and the words loud! A paintball can shatter some of the goggles out there if it travels in excess of 300 fps. Think what that same paintball can do to a nice squishy eyeball. Think of the speed of arrival of the lawsuit our litigious, letís-blame-someone-else-Ďcause-we-weíre-not-too-bright-soci
ety, would clock at if Poco Loco was not known for being so rabid about safety.

Someone complained about someone not having their gun calibrated until after a few games. Um, EVERY person is told they must have their personal guns calibrated before play. So if someone breaks the honor code and breaks the rules and endangers other peopleís safety, youíre supporting him? Yo ho, Matey, you sound like honest folk!

Skirmish charges a small fortune for paint. At Poco Loco I pay $65 for 2000 top quality paintballs. What I donít use I ďbankĒ for next time, no questions asked. Jeff and his staff have been very generous to me regarding lost or broken equipment. VERY. And think about it Ė I actually may NOT be a profit center for Jeff. My walk-on fees average $5 or less. I do shoot an average of 1,500 balls a day. And Iíve got a 4,000 O2 tank and a spare 20 oz and get free air for both. And of course my own gun and camo, etc. So the people who pay full price and rent everything present more of a profit margin to him. But Iím treated like, well, Iím a VIP, every time.

And the fields!! You people are really taking up a lot of my time here. Open your eyes. Itís scenario ball. Itís woods ball. There are rocks and trees and gullies and swamps and sandbags and structures and tanks and the mail truck. So what? Itís perfect. I can slither through bushes getting the drop on people. I can hide in a bramble or dive behind a rock. The more bruised I am, the harder I played!

But wait, some of the other people posting said that some of the structures have holes. Uh oh. Letís see, letís give someone a place to barricade themselves where they canít shoot out and I canít shoot in. wow, what fun. YEAH, there are holes. Be sharp, be aware. Know your 360 and defend it.

Oy vey!

And some of you want perimeter fencing throughout the ACRES of fields heís got out there? Why? Your precious Skirmish doesnít have them but I didnít see you complain about that. I guess youíve never been to Poco Loco when the whole place was one huge field! Wow? You bet!

But letís not forget to mention the YELLOW and ORANGE ďtapeĒ (itís not tape, itís heavy duty bands of nylon stuff) that delineate each and every field. If you canít tell where one field ends and another begins, drop the red cane and have the dog lead you home.

But you gotta see the new castle! Whoa! The old one was nice but this is amazing!

And someone else complained about having to walk from base to field to base. You know to me golf is a waste of real estate as well as a waste of good paintball property. But they ay the exercise of this ďsportĒ is in the walking around. Welcome to paintball where you RUN around. How close did you park to the mall? Have you ever been to Skirmish as opposed to heard stories? You do NOT play as much as you do at Poco Loco and you pay more. Oh, and thatís after a VERY long drive off the turnpike after a long drive ON the turnpike. And Iím a FAST driver.

And there was the complaint about time between games. Look Sparky, a good host considers all of his guests. A good host that charges money takes even better care. Not everyone can gogogogogogo. Some need to rest, most need to re-equip (paint, air, clean underwear), but usually the downtime comes from the hotshot under 18 year olds for whom daddy bought an Angel and they dropped it and canít figure out where this little tube goes. Or the rules need reviewing because of wiping or mask violations or otherwise. I would say that the average game is 20 minutes followed by a ten minute break and then another game. You know when it seems like longer? When you get shot in the first minute and sit on your can for 19 while the rest of us were smart enough to seek cover.

Like I said, me and mine are known there. More often then not weíre placed with groups needing some more of an edge or to just round out counts. So we meet a LOT of people. Some are individuals or small groups, and others are large youth groups or company outings. Ya know what? In three years, no one has complained!! Well, no one except the rule breakers.

Iím a manager, certified at that. Process improvement is my forte and the most important guiding principle we look for is whatís known as, ďthe voice of the people.Ē I watch people, some very closely (ok, I also used to be an investigator and surveillance specialist with Ė truly Ė hundreds of arrests to my credit), and I think Jeff Hassí Poco Loco team does a great job of listening and serving their customers.

But please donít forget Ė he is in it to make money. Heís entitled to a profit and in return weíre given a safe place to play a great sport. There are no perfect companies out there because you cannot please all of the people. But I really think Jeff and his team not only try, but I feel they earn my money. I feel his pricing is fair, his staff competent (human, at that), and I consider myself very lucky to be able to play there. Poco Loco is a great field!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

riddick Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
ambush, Assult, next level
Review: The staging area has tables and some shade which is good and on the day I was there they had water out for free along with snacks and sodas and gateraid to buy.

they were not too carefull with the markers that were brought to the feild. I played three games before I found someone to tell me who and were to go to to crony in.

As for the safty issues other then the one listed above they are good with penaltiesfor braking rules like removing goggle son the feild.... a big no no.

The staff is plentiful and for the most part try to be your buddy how ever they are foul mouthed.

The feilds are great. They really lucked out with the natural landscaping. Then they built a village with 15 + building that gives the feel of urban warfare. how ever they are at least a 100 plus yards from the staging area which cuts into your playing time.

Bathroom is a porto potty. while this is normal for feilds it is a huge down fall all a shortcoming in my mind.

Prices are $40 some dollars for feildfees. we were there that day with a group and even if you had your own gear it was the same price. Paint can be bought in several amounts from 100 and up. the prices worked out to be around upwards of $200 if you buy them by the 100. There is no reason to rip people off like that. I understand $75 or so a case but too make up too 300+% on a case of paint is criminal.

All in all they have what could be the best feild around if they watch their mouths and lower their prices.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

LTJRocks77 Thursday, April 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Del hobbies - 1000x better. Much cheaper better feilds and better teams
captn carls - alot better feilds but not as good prices as del
Review: Poco Loco sucks.

Anyone that says pocolocos prices are fair is in denial. Del hobbies sells draxxus rec sport for 40 and another type of draxxus for only 45. That is much better then the expensive 100 dollars for a case. Also del gives you the case un opened unlike pocoloco which gives you little 100 round containers.

Feilds: they are ok woodsball feilds. Some are actually fun but most are just annoying (ex: swap and the road.) The speedball feild is terrible. You wont learn anything on this feild because the angles are bad. The bunkers are terrible and its too small.

Refs: They are pretty good Sarge is annoying and loves trying to get people to spend more money. Most others are pretty cool.

If you have a gun that requires nitro you wont be shooting more then 300 rounds a game. They use scuba tanks and most of the time its only to ~2600-2800 psi

Setting up and other things: I hate how they run things. Getting started takes FOREVER. One time it was easily an hour and a half before we even got to buy paint. The owners are rude some times.

if you have played more then 2 times dont go here. It is filled with annoying noobs and its too easy.
Goto del. You will have much more fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mk2003sh Wednesday, April 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played all over the U.S. , mostly in Pa . SKirmish , global paintball , jack frost.
etc . They have all been really good solid managed and funs fields , i have been playin at poco loco , for about a year , was thinkin about getting a membership , but the last 3 months i have been playin, it just keeps getting worse and worse .
Review: Upon having things set up and situated before are sat outing , we had to fill out forms
and give a credit card which one was fine. We where told over the phone that we could have are own field for are particular group , since most of us , have been playing for almost 5 years and over . We get up there and i understand each place has to have there own rules , fine , but it was to the point where they take the fun out of the game.
first off we started at 10:am , we had to get guns checked since most of us had are own
equipment , and they wanted the gun to have a rating of 280 velocity, mine was around
285 , and so was a couple of the ppl from my group , so they didnt let it pass , and they cut springs on our guns and turned it down to 260 , at this speed ,you shot a paintball ,
and it dropped after 10 ft , taking in mind we got there an hour early , everything was
very un-organized , so i missed the first 3 rounds of play time , as did the others ,
Then they told us upon arriving that kids 17 and under are 25 dollars , and 18 and over pay 30 , which we had no problem with , then the rude lady at the counter , says, the
ppl that are 17 and under have to pay a fee or tax because they are under-age, which was $7.50 . Then b4 play was to begin they gave us rules , saying that we could not charge ppl , and if we charged another person on the oppoosing team we would be asked to leave, also if we where using paint other than there would be thrown off, the premises , which is understandable, but some ppl did argue , that running around towards ppl and manoveuring is part of the game. Also during game play we couldnt do anything , but sit and wait to get shot , and shooting at other ppl was pointless as since the velocity on the gun was turned down , u could not shot anything beyond 20 ft.
most of the other places have the gun velocity tested at 290 or 300, and the only reason i see to turn down that much is to have us waste paint , so we buy more.
all day i had played 3 games , to me that is not a deal at all , nor did any of are group or other that are experienced that we played against had any type of fun.
also during the game play , the refs seemed to be on top of the hits and misses , but
3 of the refs , gave away key positions , to our team . which made things worse .
Then one of player asked for assitance on the field as the gun , we losing air and just stood there and did nothing , said nothing when help was asked for , but yet if a paintball got too close to them they would stop play for that , but not for a player in need.
we have sent an email about the quality of play and they way we where treated to the owner , and his remarks when u have ur own paintball company then say something to me kid. Also another email entails him saying sarcastically , im glad u spent ur hard earned money. The woman at the front desk displayed vulgar language to are youth.
In turn there where a couple of good fields , caslte etc, most of the others though where to rocky and no where to run . are group spent over 1000 dollars just on paint .
this was the biggest waste of money , We had no problem after leaving , but the owner kept running around asking how did ya like it , and we told him , but yet we emailed him and those where the responses we got , him being all sarcasic , and didnt really care
what the customer had to say.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

METAL MILITIA Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Global Paintball (Alpha Paintball) - way better
Skirmish USA - crap! 2 expensive, 2 many ppl, and bus rides are 2 long
Review: This place sucks. The fields were all bad except for the CASTLE. . I didnt like the owner, and the way the refs reffed. INFO below.

----------SOME RULES: 1. you cannot rush 2. can not shoot anyone less then 20 ft. I mean come on. I have heard of 10 ft but not 20 ft. 3. The refs were to worried about getting their paycheck and doing everything right along they way 2 get it.
----------The refs told us full auto or bursts werent allowed, and the fps were supposed to be below 280. We played 8 games, and i got shot in 2 of them. Well in those 2 games, i was shot by the same guy. And guess what, the guy who shot me with an auto. I told the ref, and he didnt even go out to check. He didnt even radio in the other ref on the other team to check. When we got to the picnic area, I went up to the guy who shot me. I said, I thought the ref said no full auto's. He was like, "well sunny, my gun shoots about 20 bps, and i can shoot that fast by pulling the trigger." I was like "yea, ok...whatever."
----------The day before we went, my buddy bought a brand new Spyder E-99. Well he was so anxious to try it out the next day. When we went to get chrono'd the gun we not go below 280 no matter what we all tried. So the refs cut his spring, and after that he couldnt shoot more then 50 ft. I was pist along with my buddy. That was mistake #1. I mean a brand new gun ruined. I know springs are cheap to buy, but the refs didnt even give him a replacement spring.
----------On one of the last games we played, my buddy with the cut spring gun was playing. All of a sudden it started to shoot on its own and wouldnt stop. He quickly ran to the ref and told him the problem. The ref jus sat there and was staring at him holding the gun. Finally like 10 secs. later the ref said "oh, i cant help u there" I witnessed this right in front me. That pist me off so much, im glad i walked off the field. (story below)
----------Someone on my team wasnt shooting field paint. The refs stopped us in the middle of the game. Took us to the main area, and had us all empty all our hoppers and pods. I got up and started makin a scene. I was like "are you guys asses or what?, me and the people i brought spent more then $2,000 hear today, and u wont even let us use our own paint" The owner seen me and came over and was about to throw me out. I told him the straight out truth, and he was gonna throw me out, but i did the right thing and threw myself out. That place is a dump. My teammates and I all left, cuz we were fed up with that.
----------Then the owner kept asking us "Did you have a good time?, Did you have a good time? He must have asked me that about 20 times.
----------The fields were ok, like i said b4. The best field out of all was the newly-remodeled Castle. It was great. Also, be careful when playing on fields with rocks. wear kneepads. My legs and knees were all tore up from climbing, crawling, and doing RAMBO maneuvers.
-----CONCLUSION-----
I went once and never again. The place is horrible. 99% if the fields are horrible. The owners suck and so did the refs. Overall this field was horrible.
Last edited on Monday, June 21st, 2004 at 2:25 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rooster1 Tuesday, March 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Global Paintball- not as many fields, better field paint, worse rental guns, ho hum refs
Cobra Command- many refs were kids, not much field selection
Skirmish- greatfields, but very lacking in overall concern of players, refs were very slack in enforcing goggle rules, especially as they walked us to and from fields in between games in progress.
Iron Triangle- I went there once, never again!!
Review: Plenty of awesome natural terrain! Huge rocks to hide behind, great places to crawl and hide. Very well constructed, solid, sturdy buildings and tanks. There is a helicopter being built that will be 40 ft long. Also, the castle was closed this week. A ref told me they we adding some second story towers to it and like 5 new buildings around it. We walked past the construction recently and it looked great. Lots of different fields and good variety. Also good variety in the styles of games played.

Our refs were great Barry and J. They were really informative about each field we played and were always around between games cleaning off goggles at our picnic area. Not afraid to get in the action to make calls. Once they stopped a game because a kid took his mask off. I guess the kid wasn't thinking but it's good the refs caught it.

Our youth group didn't have enough people to play a private field but the owner did a good job mixing us in with another group of eight players who matched our ability well.

I have played many times before and have my own gear but most of our players rented guns. I didn't see any gun problems at all, no major break downs or chopping paint.

Paint prices were a bit high for ZAP. $100 a case, for that price I expect RP Scherer. But at least air was free. And at least I didn't see the paint breaking in the guns.

I've seen people on this forum complain about having to walk to some of the fields. Oh my gosh, you might get some exercise playing paintball. Hey, I've walked tons more at Skirmish. I've also seen someone here say they bring you out for 2 games and tell you to bring enough paint anf they only do that to sell you more paint. NO, you MORON, they do that to keep you from having to walk as much between games. They are doing you a favor!!

Our youth group played eight games total, they did a good job keeping us playing and not wasting time.

Overall I've played this field many times. I say this, save yourself the time, trip, and gas money from going to Skirmish and go to PocoLoco. I give 8 out of 10 only because the field paint is overpriced.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lawace Tuesday, March 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: This field was run like a business. From the start, it seemed that they were only after my money. They required that I fax them my credit card information to be able to play that weekend, charging the entry fee if I didn't show up ($30). As a consumer, this type of practice rubs me wrong. You are required to buy field paint. I paid $60 for 1,000 paintballs.

When you show up, you park at the parking lot, then hike up a gravel road. There were two Porty potties on site. There were several fields, but we only played on four of them: the road, the swamp, the hill?, and black hawk down. The castle and speed ball fields were closed for some reason.

They covered safety pretty well and required outside guns to be chronographed (marked with yellow tape after successful testing). When I was there, there were a lot of allegations of paint wiping.

The road is a field with a road in the center. You have to move a barrel in the center of the field to the other side's base.

The swamp is a fairly large field with a stream and bunkers. There are some pools of water, so if you are ducking for cover don't go into the water. While trying to flank some guns I ducked for cover and ended up waist high in water (water is not good for paintballs).

Black hawk down is an old mail-truck that is supposed to be the helicopter. You fight it out to save/capture the pilots.

The hill was a capture the flag field. One side is on the top of a tall hill. The other side is at the bottom of the hill. The side on the top of the hill almost always wins. Even after we eliminated all of the players at the bottom of the hill, nobody wanted to run the enemy flag up the hill to our base.

They provided arm bands for colors of the teams. There are a lot of rocks on this site - wear knee pads.

They encouraged people to pay $150 (something like that) to get an annual membership fee, so that the per visit would be less.

The terrain is wooded with little hills. If you have lots of money, then you may enjoy this field more than me. I enjoyed the terrain, but the experience was tainted by the feeling that they were only after my money. The rating reflects this feeling.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MFULTON13 Sunday, March 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played all over PA,MD,& WV
Review: I've played at alot of fields this field has to be one of the best.Everyone was friendly,the fields were in real good shape,and prices are reasonable.Maybe all the bad reviews were from dumb kids with no experience.I would tell anybody comming to or living in the area to go to Poco Loco.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jules150 Saturday, March 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish
cobra command
Review: Well most people that have posted are not very expireced in paintball. people complain about MUD!! WIMPS!! one of the best parts of paintball is diving in mud, anywood ball field would be muddy. people say it costs too much!! GET USED TO IT PAINTBALL IS VERY VERY EXPENSIVE!! skirsmish costs just as much and you walk more and they have to drive you around to get to the fields. if you want to lower the price, you'd be smart and get a membership its a great deal. they have lots of great fields and there getting that new saber down game and they are redoing their speedball course. SARGE IS THE BEST REF EVER HE IS SO FUNNY!!!!!!!!! and the owner jeff is great. his wife is a pain sumtimes though. the only thing i dont like is they dont name thier fields!!! they call em like field four and stuff like that or if there is a name it isnt very creative. they give you free c02 i like that GREAT FIELD I LIKE IT MORE THAN SKIRMISH
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media