paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field / Poco Loco Paintball Field

Poco Loco Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
78Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 1-87PLAYHERE
Address: 134 Kurtz Rd
New Hanover, Pennsylvania 19473
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
pbjunkie1220 Friday, October 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Captn Carls (which is a million times better)
Skirmish USA
Global
Cobra Command.
Review: first i want to start off by saying yes i agree completly with pretty much everything that trigger said. hey trigger try captn carls they have really nice refs and steve and chris the two guys that run the place are really nice to. now to the field. as you can see ive only been there once and all i know is i would never go back. the staff is so miserable. it seems like to that Lori the ignorant lady who runs the field has a tendency to change things like special offers and stuff. she seems to like to make her own rules.and the prices are a joke $100 for a case of paint are you kidding me. the whole place is a joke and one giant RIP OFF! its not like skirmish or some other really nice fields where you can say well the prices are high but the fields are great so its worth the money. the fields are not great at all.
Last edited on Monday, November 10th, 2003 at 8:10 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

triggerhappy69 Friday, September 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: POCO LOCO IS A JOKE. I TOOK MY TWO SONS THERE TO PLAY A DAY OF PAINTBALL. BEING ONLY 11 & 13 THEY WERE TERRIFIED OF A JUDGE NAMED "SARGE". HE WAS SCREAMING AT THEM ALL DAY AND JUST DID NOT UNDERSTAND WHY. I'M THE GUY DROPPING OVER $400 FOR THE DAY AND HE'S SCREAMING AT ME. THE FIELDS WERE OK BUT I WAS REALLY TIRED FROM ALL OF THE WALKING.

PRICES WERE WAY OVERPRICED BETWEEN THE PAINT AND THE $3.00 HOT DOG. I TRIED CALLING JEFF HAAS BUT HE WOULD NEVER CALL ME BACK. HIS LITTLE PUDGY WIFE WAS NO HELP WITH COMPLAINTS SHE JUST LIKES TO DEFEND HER HUSBAND. WAIT.. I FORGOT TO MENTION THE RUDENESS OF THE FIELD MANAGER LORIE, HEY LORIE STOP DRINKING ON SATURDAY NIGHT.

I GOT TWO WORDS FOR YOU "RIP OFF!!!!"
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

pbotter Saturday, September 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none...except my backyard
Review: Lets start with the pro's...
1. 11 fields!
2. safety is VERY IMPORTANT there
3. the Refs are great!
4. top-of-the-line guns. Tippmann 98 custom's

cons-
1. Way too expansive- 100 for a case of $50 paint! and 30 for field entry
2. they somehow lost our reservation
3. They spend way too miuch time on the orientation, and i paid 25 extra for camo and 400 pb's, and i got BLACK pants!!!
4. i asked for a refill on my co2...which is free, and i got denied...spuuosedly i had enough, but my gun was shooting nearly as fast as it should

FINAL- it is a great field to go to once and awhile, but not too often, cause its WAY to expensive, and it has great fields. im giving it a 7, cause it was too expensive
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

campguy Sunday, September 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish-more expensive, longer walks, not as strict with safety
Review: I've played at Poco Loco for the past 5 years and consider it the place to go when playing. I've read the other reviews about the price of their paint and I agree its expensive, and of course I really like the half price days. My first experience at Poco Loco was with a school group, I was the adult in charge. The staff and especially Jeff , the owner, was great in accommodating us during the week and meeting our groups' needs. Our students were new to paintball and we were concerned about them lifting their masks or not following the directions. The refs showed a ton of patience with our students while explaining the rules so they would get it and answering all of their questions. My experience was such a positive one that it prompted me to buy a marker and get into the sport. Now 5+ years down the road, Jeff is still great and the fields are better then ever. Over the years I've had marker problems of course and the staff were always willing to do what they can to get me playing. If the marker was down for the day they lend you a rental with no problems.

The speed ball was a great addition several years ago, especially since everyone can watch safely. Then the castle and now the village. I believe with the changes in the fields and the various games available keep the play fun.

The area I took for granted was the concern for safety at Poco Loco. Until I played at skirmish. Poco Loco has a great setup for the players to have no doubt about when they need a mask on. The refs are great for the most part. Over the years there have been a couple of younger refs that didn't have it. I haven't seen any younger refs for several years now. Sarge is my favorite ref, many people I guess aren't sure of how to take him. Here's a tip to know when he's full of it...his mouth is moving. Seriously, all the refs want the players to be safe and have fun. No one is jocking for a tip by looking the other way with any of the rules. I always feel safe when playing there.

I've recommended Poco Loco to dozens of people and continue to bring groups there several times a year. Poco Loco is top notch for safety, fun and convenience to the Philadelphia suburbs.

Do yourself a favor and try the field and form your own opinion. If you're concerned with the price go on their half price day.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

alexander331 Friday, August 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jack Frost, Skirmish, Cobra Command, as well as others in Oklahoma. I have had mostly positive experiences at other fields, however, Poco Loco tops the list in terms of staff professionalism, convenience of play, accessibility, and positive nature of regular customers.
Review: I have played the game of paintball for well over 12 years, so I count myself as a fairly experienced player. Furthermore, I have always felt that paintball is a way of life in many respects. It is not a game for the average Joe, since most people are uncomfortable with the idea of crawling around in the mud, or are apprehensive at the notion of being shot. I do not fall into that category. For me, paintball is a gathering of your good friends and fellow competitively natured associates, whereby you may test your skills of tactics, shooting, stealth, and agility. Above all of these, is the way in which paintball teaches leadership and team sportsmanship. This type of lifestyle demands a convenient and comfortable home in which to practice the sport and to hone team building skills, and Poco Loco has been my home for over 5 years.

During those five years, I have also introduced this sport to over 250 international students, who study English at my local university. Needless to say, bridging the language and cultural gap between the international community and American sports demands an environment that is both receptive and caring. After all, if taken carelessly, playing paintball may lead to injury, and I am not a person who takes his student's safely lightly. The staff and referees at Poco Loco have at times gone out of there way to maintain a safe environment for myself and my students. They have done so with the utmost professionalism and fair play as well. My congratulations on the most outstandingly well-run field that I have had the pleasure to have played on.

Finally, I would like to comment on the field itself. What more could you ask for! Poco Loco has tangled woods, boulder-strewn courses, marshes, hills, buildings,and yes even a speedball field. I have found each field to be challenging, and always exciting.

In summary, Ladies and Gentlemen, Poco Loco is Top-Drawer.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ZoneGuard Monday, August 25th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: I was just reading a post by JOJODEALIO. From what I read on his post, he has never been to Poco Loco. The owner is always around. I talk with him every time I go there. The staff is professional, and if they lay a hand on you, or touch you in any way, that means you are doing somthing that could seriously hurt your self or others. Paintball is a serious sport where a 250 foot per second paintball can take out your eye, or jam down your throught. If you get hit in the temple, you could be killed. If I do somthing stupid, and I can not hear any of the staff telling me to put my mask back on, I give them full permision to jump on top of me to save my life. You may think it is not that serious, but it is.

Poco Loco is a field for serious players who want to play a serious game while still having fun. I find that people who wine most about PL are people who have been booted for being LAMERS. So I am glad you were booted.

Also, about the price of the paint balls, do you think the Refs are going to work for free? Do you think CO2 is free? Do you think he is working just for fun? He is trying to make a living like you and me, and if you can't handle the price, maybe you should take up bowling, that is about 2 bucks a game.

Simple Fact:

Poco Loco does not put up with LAMERS who are looking to ruin the sport.


I am just writing all this because I am sick and tired of seeing people who ruin a fun sport by breaking rulles, putting people in danger, then go online to wine and cry about the place. GET A LIFE!

If you have never been to Poco Loco, you should atleast try it once. They have half-price day everyonce in a while, you have to check out the site.

I'm out.
Peace.

Last edited on Tuesday, August 26th, 2003 at 7:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tipped5 Wednesday, August 6th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Poco Loco is a very fun very inexpensive field. It has a great staff and awesome playing fields. I dont know what Tippypplayer was smokin when he made his remark on the fields being bad and the staff being strict!? They were some of the nicest most friendly people I know. And for the fields they were good to. I hope that the people who make bad remarks about Jeff the owner and his excellent staff rot for the lies they have told you people on the net. thanks for reading my review and I hope you take my advice and go play.

Alex
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

tippypballer Tuesday, June 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Outlaw Paintball is a great field. 2 speedball fields and a couple wood courses. A lot better than Poco Loco because of its prices and staff.
Review: I have only played at Poco Loco 3 times, all three times have been unenjoyable. The prices are crazy ($8 for 100 rounds). All that money spent on paint is definetly not worth the quality of the fields. Some of the playing fields are ok, like the castle and hill course, the others are just like any other wooded area you may find near your home. The speedball course is not too bad for newbs, but for experienced players you will find it boring and hard to play on. The staff: very very strict!!! the refs and staff made the playing time miserable. The refs flip out for minor mistakes like going out of the playing boundaries (which are poorly marked anyway) and getting hit because they are in the line of fire.

I would not recommend this field because of its high prices and unkind/greedy staff.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rodeo1 Friday, May 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cobra Command
Picasso Lake
Skirmish
Review: After reading a bunch of the reviews for this field, it's sad to say it looks like all of these people have played Poco Loco.

I have played this field about three times.

1. The parking lot is so far from the rest area you can only bring to the field things you do not want stolen. You cant bring two marker because there is no place to leave them.

2. Pricing Oh My God. If you want to play all day it will cost you an arm and a leg.
I played at another field that required field paint, But at least they let you choose the brand. That field would let you buy paint the day before and you could use it at his field and it cost nowhere near $100. Poco uses the cheapest stuff he can find and charges by the 100 ball canister. If I pay for a case I want the case, not a bunch of canisters.

3. We must have lucked out because we all ways get fun/safety conscious refs. no complaints.

4. I like playing wooded fields and his are not bad. However the speed ball field is just a way to get you to waste paint (more money)

I gave a rating of 5 for the field and the refs but if you want to have a cost affective day try another field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

JOJODEALIO Tuesday, May 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This field is not customer oriented. When we arrived with a group that was fully paid for on my credit card I was greeted by a rude staff member named Lori. Lori was supposed to be the field manager she spoke to me like I was a child. Lori told me that since I only had 13 people here physically that I was not entitled to me free pair of goggles. The funny thing is all 15 were paid for. This is the second time I was out of a pair of goggles. After all was said and done I bought two cases of paint myself which costed $208 what a bargain for paint that cost only $54.00. All I have to say is expensive, from the food to all of the equipment. Poco Loco forgets its a privelage for us to come to their field not the opposite. The owner of this field is always missing and never can be contacted to resolve any issues. Anyone with children beware the refs believe that they can get physical with people. Rip off!!! from start to finish.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media