paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Dragon Man Paintball Field / Dragon Man Paintball Field / Dragon Man Paintball Field / Dragon Man Paintball Field

Dragon Man Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
44Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (719) 683-2200
Address: 1225 Dragonman Dr.
Colorado Springs, Colorado 80929
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Van Helnick Sunday, October 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Battle Creek- It's alright, the staff was kinda annoying. They're closed now I think though..
Mr. Biggs- Do I really need to comment on how bad it is, they closed..
Splat Masters- Good only if you like speedball
Directions
to the Field:
From Academy and Platte Ave in Colorado Springs (the Citadel Mall) follow Platte Ave. east out to Highway 94 (following the signs to Schriever AFB). Once you get on 94 go roughly 8 miles to the first stop light (Curtis Rd.), turn left at the light and go 1/2 mile north on Curtis Rd taking your first left, Dragon Man Drive.
Review: To start off Dragon Man is a Class III Full Auto Dealer so he does have real guns and a shooting range, don't let that scare you. He also has a military museum and a custom machine shop. The staff, especially Mel (Dragon Man), is very friendly and helpful. Each time I have been there any questions I have had have been answered. There are no full time refs but if you ask one of the staff members to ref they gladly will. At the beginning of the day the have one of the adult players take out their chrono and set it up.

The main people who go to Dragon Mans are beginners and rec players (weekend warriors, which I proudly call myself). The weekend warriors will gladly help anyone who asks with any problems, from fixing guns to tips about playing. It's very easy to jump into a game at Dragon Mans. Some of the nicest people I have ever met were playing paintball at Dragon Mans. Every now and then you will get some team players who are you're usual stuck up "know it alls".

There are you basic safety rules such as a 20 foot surrender rule, a mask on during game play, and whatnot. Barrel plugs are not a common sight though because most people know what they're doing so there's no real need for them. If someone does ask for the barrel plugs to be put in though everyone will gladly put the in. I will put in one small warning about rattle snakes though. I have seen one rattle snake while playing at Dragon Mans. If you happen to see one don't bug it, tell the other players, and then tell the staff. You are in Colorado and in the plains so snakes are to be expected.

Food and drinks are available for purchase in the shop along with CO2 and HPA, all priced very cheap. All day play is $12 if you have your own stuff and $22 if you don't. Paint is cheaper than at most fields but why not bring your own since it's allowed? There is no real pro shop for paintball here so bring your own stuff to repair your gun and whatnot. The rentals are stock Tippmann 98's with 9oz tanks.

All 5 of the fields are amazing. If you play speed ball this isn't the place for you. Dragon Mans is set up to be scenario fields. Because there are no full time refs players can make up their own games and their own rules. If there is a problem either work it out yourselves or don't play with who you have a problem with. There is a staging with 2 huts, one is open on all sides except the top and the other is covered on the top and 3 1/2 of the sides.

Dragon Mans is the best paintball field I have ever been to. It's the only one in the Springs area I will play at. My advice is to bring plenty of water (even though they sell drinks) and sunscreen unless you like dehydration and sunburn. Other than that I cant say anything other than, "what's not to love about Dragon Mans?"
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

v1l2u5 Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Rating from 1-10, 1=poor, 5=avg and 10=good
Safety-1
Fields-9
Hours-7
Prices-6
Rules-1
Service-5
Proshop-5
Staff-7
Refs-1
Players-7
Facilities-8
Food-5
---------------------------------------------------
The poor. Lack of refs, rules and over all concern for safety. No enforcement of barrel plugs, chrono or wearing of mask in non safe area. People shooting weapons in safe area. No refs at all, which is ok but they could enforced the no shooting in safe area or by peoples cars. There was guys there shooting hot and we had to break off because we had 3 kids in our group and didn't want them to get hurt.

The Avg. Don't expect the Proshop to have product to buy, but the do have HPA/c02 air, and Zap Paintballs (<---too expensive). The service was fast and friendly and the staff seemed very nice, plus they've treated me nice in the past as well.

The Good. The Fields are great and IMO the best other then just true woodsball. They have a nice staging/safe area and places to use the restroom. The price isn't that bad, since they are pretty much the only recball field in CO.

Conclusion
----------------------
I used to go to DM's a lot about 3 years ago and they used to have refs and enforce safety, but not now. I think if I go again I will park my car up by the main building and walk all the way to it to eat lunch and get PB's and rest. I would not recommend the field for young kids, unless your playing with your own group. 7/10
Last edited on Sunday, August 13th, 2006 at 3:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

tyler61703825 Sunday, July 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Master - Way too many rules and refs were......questionable
Directions
to the Field:
Go to the web site WWW.DRAGONMANS.COM
Review: This place is absolutely awsome Field 1 has fences put up all over the place with a huge mound in the middle with a tunnel going thru it. Field 2 is my favorite it has a bunch of old junked cars that have been burned and shot all over and a bus that u can actually go in(not recomended however) Field 5 is probably the largest and is used for capture the flag some times and all it is mainly a turain with some care tires here and there. Field 4 has giant Monster truck tires all over the place and it makes for an entertaining game when some one actually getts in one. I especially like that there is no refs there and you dont have to worry about having safety on plug in mask on at all times All the people there are cool and laid back theres no need of anyone shooting you off the field and the whole thing about getting shot by a fire arm isnt a real risk the only real way to get shot is if u go into the shooting range.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Celticwarrior Sunday, July 16th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: As we drove up to Dragon Man, we expected to see signs saying "Dragon Man Paintball." Instead, the sign said, "Dragon Man Shooting Range." Our suspicion increased when we started hearing gun fire, even automatic. It disturbed us that the paintball field was sharing land with a shooting range. The dirt rode leading to the field had large mounds of dirt blocking everything from view untill we reached the parking lot. Upon reaching the parking lot, we discovered there were no nets seperating the parking lot and staging area from the field. Also, people were walking around without barrel covers/plugs on in the staging area. Many people were not wearing masks on the field! We saw no refs. One person was actually shooting his marker in the staging area! We immediately left. Upon further inspection of the waver, in the section listing personal injuries that may be caused, "injury by FIREARM" and "puncture from EXPOSED NAILS" were listed! We were very glad that we left and had not ran the risk of causing personal injury.

Positive: None other than the field looks neat.

Negative: No nets
No refs
No HPA
No mask inforcement
No barrel covering in staging area
Shares land with a shooting range
questionable bunker condition (see above)

Overall: We were scared when we left. This field should be shut down. I wouldn't even give it a 1.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
16 Comments - Add Comment

Tsaaron Sunday, July 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatmaster-terrible to many rules
Battle Creek- kinda like dm's but not really
Review: This place is great cool laid back people their, unlike Splatmasters where the staff seems to have a stick up their a$$, its a sweet field unlike anyother i've ever played on. This field offers a wide variety of bunkers like burned cars, that have been shot up by dman, wire spools in which you can roll to give you moving cover, large dirt mounds, Trackter Tires and fencepost type sticks. this field has no refs which has been stated in many reviews but its not a big deal becuz everyone here or atleast that i've played with has been honest. There are 5 fields

Field 1: two big dirtmounds and a tone of 2 by 4's sticking outta the ground it is shaped like an L. This is my personal least favorite of the fields but i have talked to people who love it

Field 2: this one has a mix of cars and tires. there is a bus close to the middle of the field where a player can hide out and snipe but be careful cuz its easy to get pinned down in there. there is a wood fence in the middle and from my expierience the first theam to controll it normally wins.

Field 3: better known by the people there as the car field due to the fact that it has tons of cars that provide good protection this is probably one of the most popular field there just because you can get in the cars, hide, sneak around, and just snipe from the back

Field 4: another mix field it has an icecream truck in middle and alot of cover on the west side while the east side in the middle there are just a few bunkers. This field is fun because the games can last a very long time and the field isn't very big alot of gunfights.

Field 5: Wow what can i say this field is huge my guess is well over 2 acres alone you can easily play a 30 on 30 match and still not be at all crowded this field is basicaly the ultimate Mil-Sim field very fun and long games


I give it a 9/10 just because they dont fill compressed air but they will soon so when they do it gets an easy 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ipsofacto Wednesday, July 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Check the website
Review: I went out to play this field with a group of Army buddies. We were a big group, so the guy who organized this event picked this field out of the Yellow Pages because it said it had the largest fields. They weren't kidding. This place is HUGE, and there is so much you can do here!

As other reviewers have noted, there are no refs on the fields. This isn't speedball, it's field paintball at its finest. Anyone who's ever played Capture the Flag in the woods is bound to enjoy these fields. Just remember, play with HONEST people and everybody will have fun.

When it comes to the obstacles set up on this course, there is SO much you can do. We played mostly Capture the Flag games, and at one point one of our guys guarding the base hid out in an old truck and popped up to shoot people as they got close. No one knew where he was. In another game, I was getting surrounded and my partner had already been hit, so I jumped inside of a stack of huge tires to hide out until the pressure was off. Two guys from the other team actually hid out behind the tires I was hiding in, and as soon as they moved I popped up and tagged them. I got hit in the process, but it totally shocked them.

All in all, this was a great course for our group. I wouldn't suggest it for groups smaller than 16 people, but if you have a big group and you want to do some Army-style small group tactics training, get out to this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nkatzboy Monday, June 5th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Masters, Battle Creek, Coloseum (denver), Shutdown(parker)
Directions
to the Field:
Check the link..
Review: I went to this field due to the temporary closer of Battle Creek and sudden lack of fields at Splat Masters. This field is way out in the middle of No where, east of CO. Springs.
As soon as you get to the field you realize that it is 95% a gun range. Just about all the signs are for the gun part.

Positives:
- Chrono provided when asked (paintball equipment is only certified to withstand certain FPS)
- The good things I can say about this field is that the fields are definatly unique with fences, spools, tires, cars etc. 5 different field setups. It's more senerio type fields.
- You can buy food and drink at field
- Friendly staff

Negatives:
- There is NO HPA Fills at this time (have been told several times it's coming)
- People were walking around with marker with no barrel covers and shooting in the parking lot
- People were not wearing masks on the fields at all time in fact 1 kid was only wearing a pair of motorcycle goggles and not a mask.
- While staff was watching and paying attention to the gun range... No one was paying attention to the paintball side of it. (reference previous comments)
- When a kid ran out of the HPA that he brought they suggested and said that CO2 would work just fine in his marker (regulated B2K) With in a few min his macroline blew out. Some people will say that this is a players responsability to know... but as a working field staff members should have enough knowledge to not recomend something that could damage a customers equipment.

I've been to this field twice now and still see many of the same problems but some differences and things coming in the future. The lack of saftey equipment and regulations is still an issue. Things are way more strict on the gun range but should also be strict on the paintball side. I believe with HPA coming and a friendly staff this field with some work has possabilities.

To those who have commented or are going to comment... realize that this review and many others are not written to trash or promote fields. They are written to give peoples impressions of places and equipment. Hopefully truely knowledgable people will understand this and that negative comments that are made about fields could possible be fixed by them creating a safe and fun environment for everyone not just those unwilling to do things correctly.
Last edited on Sunday, July 9th, 2006 at 11:37 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

slyfox21892 Sunday, May 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Battle Creek
Directions
to the Field:
On their site, I believe
Review: Dragon Man's is out in the middle of no-where, so the ride is fairly boring. When you get there, you see a car he has destroyed and his bike park. The proshop doesn't sell any paintball items I saw, just machine guns. He has an incredible collection of machine guns for sale, though. Once you get out on the fields, there are five and they have very unconventional bunkers. There are your usual spools and fences, but you are also going to be ducking behind a car which Dragon Man himself has pumped full of bullets. I love the fact that you can just play a small game within your friends or a big game at any time, and due to the fact that there are no refs at all, you can play ridiculous amounts of paintball, here. I believe I was here for four hours and played around 20 games. CO2 was real cheap, and even the field paint was decently priced at around 20 bucks for a thousand. In all, this field gets an 8/10. It is a big, fun place where you can play lots of recreational paintball, but the complete lack of a ref system gets annoying.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

anchor101 Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: February 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ALL OF THEM
Review: DM is great for rec players, it offers a very uniqic enviroment i give it a ok rating ONLY because of the lack of REF's or any kind of SAFETY inforcement. They offer a really cool thing though, YOU can rent real guns and go shoot them at the REAL target range and that is FUN.

6/10 because of lack of anyone who gives a %$*$ what happens on the field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Leavit2weaveR Saturday, January 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: This is a good rec baller-field. There are plenty of fields to choose from and they are all right. The bunkers are mostly wood planks or old tractor tires, and there are a few fields with cars on them. There are no refs. The staging area is all right too- mainly spools and two sheds. The rentals are stock Tippmann 98s with 9oz tanks and cost $22 (including field fee, 100 rnds, and a mask). The field fee is around $12. They do not fill compressed air, and CO2 costs about 25 cents per oz plus a little tax. I give it an 8 b/c it isn't SC village, they do not fill compressed air. Other than that it is a decent place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media