paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Dragon Man Paintball Field / Dragon Man Paintball Field / Dragon Man Paintball Field / Dragon Man Paintball Field

Dragon Man Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
44Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (719) 683-2200
Address: 1225 Dragonman Dr.
Colorado Springs, Colorado 80929
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Pballer4Christ Tuesday, April 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Admittedly, Dragon's paintball fields are the only ones I've ever played at, aside from playing at friends' houses and other non-established fields. Nevertheless, having played at Dragon's for over five years, I can definitely say that his fields suit my style of play.

Since Dragon caters to both gunmen and paintballers, he has a 100-yard shooting range for any legal firearm you want to bring out there. This runs perpendicular to the road, with a large berm on the west side of the road. The paintball fields themselves are on the east.

There are five paintball fields in all, each separated by a berm. Field one is certainly interesting, as it provides for a close range combat effect. I haven't played very much in the other fields, but I can tell you that each field is covered with wooden slats, huge tires, old cars that Dragon has filled with bullet holes, trenches, mounds, and various bunkers.

I believe the best field is field five. It seems to be the largest, as well as the most diverse. When you first enter the field, the ground is relatively flat and there are some decent bunkers. The further in-field you go, the rougher the terrain gets until you find yourself in a series of trenches, holes, and ditches. Next to all of these are mounds, perfect for body cover at an angled shot.

All in all, I've had very few bad experiences with Dragon's fields. I can't say that his rental gear is stellar, as CO2 problems seem to be the order of the day at times, and a faulty mask that was rented to a friend of mine is the reason my friend lost the vision in one of his eyes. To be fair, the person who shot my friend was playing with doubled PSI levels, so at a normal impact the mask would've more than likely withstood the blow.

Dragon caters to almost anyone, and his prices are pretty fair. The fields are better for small groups (less than ten), but I've played against thirty on them, and we did alright; there were certainly quite a few "friendly-fire" shots that day, though.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vitamin_J Saturday, March 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Adventures, friend's backyard
Review: THIS PLACE IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!! i highly reccomend it to everyone!

at first i was kinda iffy about it because of some of the other reviews and because i live in Denver and i wasn't sure if it was worth the drive. but when i got there i was greated by a manakin soldier manning an old WW2 AA gun! i walked inside to pay (only $12 ALL DAY) and immediatly saw a whole wall covered with vintage and modern day weaponry, it was really awesome. Dragonman has all sorts of army vehicles, weapons, and other stuff, the place is practically an interactive museum!

there were tons of people there and none of them seemed rude, they all played fairly and showed good sportsmanship. there are 6 GIGANTIC fields. they're all unique and sooooo much fun!

there's no refs and no chrono's, but everyone seems honsest, so it's all good.

the rentals are kinda crappy, but if you own your own equipment this is the place to play, just remember to bring your own paint, i've heard the field paint sux. but it's cheaper at Garts anyway.

i went with my friend and we immediately were able to join a game and there were enough people to play all day long.

i'm not going anywhere else from now on!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballer5 Saturday, November 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Dragon Man is arguably one of the coolest paintball places there is. For example there are tons of fields you can play on. Just bring your own marker and gear. And I don't know what you guys are saying about the staff. They were very nice. I ran out of co2 and they gave me a free fill up. Plus they fixed my friend's E-99 in no time. Plus the other players there are good people. They don't go full-auto on you or freeze their balls. Plus they are usually of medium skill level. And if you don't like playing with them just go to another field. And where in the world can you hop into a firetruck, ice cream truck or car to take some cover? It is incredible. Whether your a begginer or expert Dragon Man is for you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonathonbarton Saturday, November 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
303 Paintball, Centennial, CO. Totally different classes of field. One's indoors with soft obstacles, one's outdoors with all kinds of weird stuff...
Review: Far more than just a paintball field, Dragon Man is Airsoft Friendly and there's a Real Steel shooting range and gunshop onsite. Veteran's Day weekend sees plenty of real-steel automatic weapons firing, ranging from Mini-UZI's to Browning .50cal. Machine guns that you can rent on the RS range for a high-powered kick. =)

There are 6 fields with very diverse terrain fields. It's a great place to play with friends, or groups that have a fair amount of sportsmanship and organization, since there aren't Refs to tell you what to do and when to do it.. You can get LOTS and LOTS of action in if your group is organized. Not much shade. Bring $10 entry, high SPF sunscreen, lunch, and plenty of water, and a sense of good sportsmanship.

If you paintball players see the Airsoft guys out...come say Hi...we're usually happy to show off our toys. =)

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

mdm143 Sunday, November 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fusion, and it is not as good because Dragon Man is twice as big and you are allowed to use your own paint. In dragon man you can do stuff like hope in the back of an ice cream truck, fire truck, old ambulance and much more. IT'S AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review: If you are an experianced player or just starting this is the place to go. With a 10$ entry fee, no reefs, and the ability to use your own paint it is awsome. In my opinion there is no better place the staff is great you can have air soft wars, and the C02 fill ups are cheap to $2.50 a fill. You have to go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ccgeogeek Thursday, October 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dragon Man's is the only field Ive played at in C. Springs.
Review: Hmmm cool fields, big and fun. No referees, so there is ALOT of cheating going on at this field. No required chrono-ing lots of HOT markers at this field- wear puffy clothing If you have to rent markers here you are going to have a long day. Duct tape holds all the hoppers to the tippy procarbines. Also duct tape keeps the breech of the gun from being exposed. In other words rental equipment is falling apart. Cant see out of their goggles because they are all scratched. Employees are not very helpfull, and Dragon man is fuc*in nuts all kinds of automatic weaponry lines the walls of his shop, plus manikins of dead people (his examples of what happens if you cheat him, or enter his property after dark) as you enter the field. Oh Field paint is worse than brass eagle, buy you can bring your own.

Overall a fun place if you have your own marker, and you are gonna play with friends who don't cheat. Otherwise find another field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

the_briarpatch Wednesday, October 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rocky Mountain Paintball- better fields, better staff, better rentals (see review)...
Review: This field disappointed me. As I came out, it looked cool, and I like the size of their fields. That's about as far as the good goes, however. My friend came along and rented, and he had to trade his rental in twice before he got a gun that only worked moderately, and even after that the one he was using broke down. I ended up just letting him use my gun for a few rounds, after the rentals staff harrassed him about "breaking their equipment," which he did NOT do. If you have your own equipment, this place isn't so bad, as long as there aren't too many irresponsible 12 year olds there (in my case, there were... One of the kids was shooting his rental everywhere, ultimately shooting his mother, who was there watching them.). One thing that I did like about this place was that the refs would let you pretty much do whatever you want as long as it's safe. My group of four had no problem doing 2 on 2 games, as long as we could find an open field. Also, CO2 fills are a lot cheaper than expected here, which is one of the few good things this field has going for it.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend coming here unless you own your own equipment and have no problem with being totally ignored by the staff... Oh, and if your gun breaks, you better be able to fix it yourself, because the staff doesn't even seem to know what end of a paintball gun the paint comes out of.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

brood Sunday, August 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Texas Paintball
Review: I took a risk coming to Dragonman Paintball fields because of all the bad reviews here, but i liked a lot, they have 5 huge fields, varying from a course that had a fire truck and a big hill you could snipe from and its hard to hit to a course with random things like tires, big mounds of dirt and cars. There are no refs but there is always some one watching with one of the groups taking pictures of filming, there kinda the refs. You can bring your own paint as long as you hav your own gun, you have to use theirs if you rent and paint there is $50 a case and $35 a half case(1000). Its $10 for all day and CO2 fills cost from $2 to $4. They have a chronograph and almost every on who goes there is pretty honest and fair playing. Theres not much shade on the field but there are pavilions in the staging area. I would recommend this field to any one who's not a scared little woos who need some one (a ref) to enforce the rules,
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

t16pb Thursday, August 7th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only field I have played on
Review: I am new at paintball, A couple of my friends from school introduced me to this exiting sport. So my friends and I went to Dragon mans for my first paintball experience. When I called dragon mans for directions to get there the guy that worked there was very rude to me on the phone. I still went ahead to Dragon Mans for the paintball experience. I got there with my buddies and the employees at Dragon Mans were very rude and mean. They yelled at us while we were inside waiting for a rental gun for one of my friends.

The only thing I liked about Dragon Mans where the fields. There are 5 fields of varying sizes. two of them have wooden fenses for playing in. and two of the fields has old cars, a Red Cross truck,a really old firetruck and a bus. My favorite field was the biggest one because it has trenches, hills, wooden fences and old vehicles.

I am giving this field a 3 out of 10 only because of the good fields. The other 7 points are lost because of the employees bad attitudes.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

blade7 Friday, July 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
rocky mountain paintball park
Review: that last review....waaaaaaa if and i say IF someone was to go loco he would get hammered with paintballs AND dragonman would kick him out. and yea I would love to take a dive on cement oh boy. As for a shop....did you take a look in the back??? they have a huge shop and they are qualified to work on your gun. RMPP I took a tippmann in to the field shop nad they could not even figure out to take out all of the screws. so we can dispense with who can "work" on a gun and who can't. as for rental guns...open you eyes they have over 30 tippmanns. This field gets a Big 10 lots of fields big and small, cars, nice rest area, try it you will like it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media