paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Tactical Paintball Texas Paintball Field / Tactical Paintball Texas Paintball Field / Tactical Paintball Texas Paintball Field / Tactical Paintball Texas Paintball Field

Tactical Paintball Texas Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
27Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 830-540-4200
Address: 12590 FM 794
Harwood, Texas 78632
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
noname00 Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Petty paintball(red rock texas) Realm paintball(san marcos)
Review: This is the greatest field ever. This was the first field i ever played at. And the good thing is it is 2 miles from my house!!!!!! The field is great they have 3 scenario fields and 2 airball fields(i play speedball most of the time tho, i rarely play in the scenario fields)
The scenario fields are fun especially the city and the whisky outpost.The airball/speedball fields are great.The first airball field is a nppl 5 man field and the other one is a 3 man.They only have about 2 refs(usally only 1) The man ref,roy,is very nice and c00l.He will chew u out if u dont have ur barrel cover on tho. The owner Jon is kinda a ...A...hole. The prices are pretty good($55 for a case of premium grade paint,$15 to get in and play,when u pay the $15 u get free fills all day) They are working on their pro shop.


this is a great field for beginners!!!!!!!! play here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!..they also have a big scenario event coming up! check the website!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xhizolm_trayl Friday, September 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
petty paintball,the realm,paintball usa
Directions
to the Field:
visible from the highway right on the on ramp on I-10. between Houston and San Antonio by the little town of harwood. contact the website for more specific details
Review: What can i say its an awesome field. its a field made for paintballers open 6 days a week closed on mondays i think. its a dream remember day dreaming of playing in a city, in the woods,forts,villages and lots of players just like u well your dream has come true with this field it has a CITY a VIETNAMESE VILLAGE actual FORTS,tons of wooded area. 120 acres was what i was told.Actual HELICOPTERS (stripped they cant fly any for saftey reasons).The field staff are always finding ways to improve upon it. lots of places to hide they hold BIG games there up to 400 players with missions and everything.

Rentals are free how awesome is that

No feild fee,just all day air for 15 bucks that includes co2 and nitro 3000 and 4500 psi tanks

Field paint only for safety reasons but it is awesome paint for the price

Party specials as well

A few speedball fields with lights so u can play at night

WHAT AN AWESOME FIELD!


The staff are really awesome they have been in the game for like 15 years very helpful and encouraging.This field improved my game so much im a totaly different player now that i have played on this field with the help of the owner and the field manager teaching me stuff i didnt kno before.Just ask and they will help u out.play w/e game u want as long as its legal with the field. capture the flag,rescue the pilot out of one of the helicopters,attack and defend,fox and hound,you name it.Texas Throwdown will be there this year.If u cant afford to play GET A JOB SO U CAN ITS SO FUN

It was desighned to be a paintballers dream and it is

STOP READING THIS AND GO THERE SO WORTH EVERY PENNY

Its affordable,high quality,so much cheaper than other fields,nice staff welcome all players from ages 10-? paintballers paradise for real

It has only one downside the thorns and cactus just wear pants and thick soled shoes and youll be ok.You could get a thorn through your foot if u wear tennis shoes so just try to avoid the thorns as best u can its not real bad but its there

the reason i kno this all is cuz i was there everyweekend and sometimes during the week as often as i could i was there

The field gets a 12 but i can only go as high as 10 so 10 it is
Last edited on Friday, September 22nd, 2006 at 12:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigworm Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Relm and Krossfire don't even compare to this paintball field.
Directions
to the Field:
harwood texas
Review: This is the best paintball field I have ever played at. There are many fields out there on the 122 acres they have. They have a full scale city, a vietnam village, whisky outpost off of star ship troopers, fire base alpha, a fuel depot., and a satellite base. There is endless brush out there making games so much more fun than they are at any other field. They also have 2 air ball fields and one pipe cource. This cource is the best scenario field I have ever seen and it has a great tournament ball course too. The refs are some of the best out there. this paintball course is the best out there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pdinunno Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: Tactical Paintball, Harwood TX

Two of us traveled down from Massachusetts to go to Tactical Paintball’s opening scenario event – The Battle of Mogadishu (Blackhawk Down). We had a blast and it looks like four of us will be traveling for next year.

The Lowdown: (each area will get a 1-10 rating)

-Safety: Tactical seems really good about safety. The number of refs in the field with us was impressive and it both made for a safe day and a day were I saw little to no cheating (very refreshing). Their safety briefing gets a chuckle every time I tell the story in the Northeast. Most safety briefings start with mask safety. At Tactical, this was third on the list. Number one, “don’t hide behind cactus”. Paintballs go through them and bring things. Number two, “If something rattles, leave it alone.” Texas is a different world. Safety gets an 8.

-The Layout: Land is not a problem; there is no shortage for this field. The parking and camping areas are adjacent to the staging areas and just on the other side of a safety net are the main playing fields. Chrono-ranges are stationed at the entry points to the field and we found them to be relatively efficient. Air fill at the time was slightly distant and would be better to locate near the future pro-shop. A mask cleaning station near the playing fields would also be welcomed. Food was supplied by a vendor and was nourishment, but not especially tasty. They’re still building. Layout gets a 6.

-The Fields: I completely ignored the airball fields (sorry folks). The scenario fields have buildings. Steel-sided wood-framed buildings, some of them 2-story, dot the landscape. When paint hits the outside, it sounds like gunfire to those within. We had a blast running from structure to structure, poking out of windows, shooting from the towers, sneaking around the back alleys. Can’t wait to go back. The helicopter shells are a great addition to the atmosphere and the call to prayer played over the loudspeaker as the game began sent a chill down my spine. Nice job. There are even more plans to expand the fields. Check out the pictures on their website. Fields get a 9.

-The Staff: Friendly, knowledgeable, and safety conscious. The refs handled themselves very professionally as well. At night, I asked a ref if it was acceptable to throw grenades into buildings – launchers were prohibited at night due to safety concerns, but I was uncertain about hand thrown grenades. Instead of giving me the standard “No” response, she called in through radio and got a clarification on the ruling. She apologized that grenades were not to be used at night and explained that they felt they would pose a hazard for the players. I appreciated the time she took and the curtsey of her response. She treated me as an adult. Staff gets an 8.

-Parking: The lot is dirt and nearly unlimited in size, depending on the amount of mesquite they want to clear. Finding the parking lot was our only difficulty. I don’t know if it was a lack of coffee or just a lack of clear signage. I’m sure they are aware of this and knowing the owner, he’ll get to it soon. Parking gets a 7.

-Bathrooms/Wash Area: Porta-potty solution and no washing facilities is not my favorite situation, but it is a standard at most fields. It might be fine for smaller games, but the events at this facility are not going to remain small for long. Bathrooms get a 5.

-Pro Shop: Still under construction at the time. The staff was helpful with all of our technical issues.

-Prices: Tactical produced a very reasonably priced scenario event. They charged a pre-registration fee of $35; I have no complaints. Air was free with registration. They charge for paint, but had my favorite brand of paint – Black Ops, at $65. Overall, I’m happy with the cost of playing at this field, even though it takes me about 10 hours to get there (O’Hare airport is a pain and Texas roads are designed to confuse Yankees). Price gets an 8.

Summary: Great experience on this field our first time down there. The scenario event was enjoyable and action-packed. I have a feeling that their events will grow and I look forward to next year.


LT.
_________________
Paul “LT” DiNunno
1st Lieutenant
Yankee Division Paintball Team
www.ydpaintball.com
Last edited on Wednesday, May 31st, 2006 at 9:49 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBPacMan Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I went to this field for one of their scenario games in Feb. and I have to say it's the best field I've ever seen. The sheer size of it is what amazes me. Strategically speaking, their so many ways you can attack and so much you have to defend, which makes it extremely challenging. A perfect blend of structures and woods.

The people were very friendly and helpful. Many people I've never met before were more than eager to help me with my gun (The guys were even on the other team) or let me in on certain strategies that could help out in the field. The atmosphere is very inclusive, no matter your age, gender, race, or level of experience in paintball.

I can't wait to make it out there again. Coming from Houston, I would not hesitate to make the 1.5 - 2 hour drive out there for the day. It's better than anything else we have here. Well PBUSA is cool too, but I don't think it compares to this field.

I'm trying to get some friends from here and Austin to make the trip with me one weekend. I know once they try it, I won't have any trouble getting them to come back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Medusa Sunday, January 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball USA - Home field for my team - Texas Rangers
Paintball Zone
BSG
Review: The field is awesome! And I didn't even get to see the whole field. The structures are great! Lots of room to manuever and hide. Great for both Scenario and Rec-Ball. Jon and his staff are great! Lots of camping. Its a brand new field that will become very big. I can't wait to play there again - Texas Throwdown! The only I didn't like about the field was the thorns. That's nature and you've got to play around it. Just be sure to wear thick boots. All and all - great field! Way to go Jon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

1stCavSoldier Sunday, January 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None just moved here.
Review: WOW! That's my description of this field. Right now in it's infancy the field has to be one of the best scenario fields in the nation.

As of now there are 3 bases:
1. a Vietnam style fire base (Firebase Alpha), the walls are made with bags of quickcrete which has already cured. It also has a real UH-1 Huey Helocoptor. Alpha is complete with morter pits and a tower.
2. a base modeled after Starship Troopers. It is 100% metal and it is elevated, with ramps and screening on the walkways. This base is known as Whiskey Outpost.
3. The city, from my understanding the city was built just for thier opening event, Blackhawk Down. The city has a second real Huey which has been prepared for play, I managed to fight my way into it twice! It is in the center of the city surrounded by, I would guess 35 buildings, with a couple of them being 2 story. The city has either no angles or way to many. depending on how you look at it.

At the opening event there were somewhere between 260 and 300 players, and one sick battle, it was AWESOME. Tactical Paintball Texas is a definite world class scenario field. With a great family environment.

It also has 1 maybe 2 airball fields.

Jon the owner is extremley friendly, although very busy. After talking to him for a bit I realized this place is growing fast, with 122 acres at his disposal I can't wait to see it grow. Check out the websit to see some pictures, and for updates and events. You will NOT be disappointed.

For the events there is plenty of camping room on site, just bring something to put under your tent. The ground is rough, and prone to put some holes in tent bottoms. But it is free.

The field only allows field paint which is Armotech Black Ops Premium, at $65/case. I am not sure on air prices, it was included in the entry fee.

To get there take exit 637 off US-10. The field is off the right side of the on ramp to west bound US-10 at exit 637. The field can be seen from the highway.

From the website:

TacticalPaintball.   The ultimate scenario field built and owned by scenario players.
122 acres of rugged paintball field.    3 tournament fields.  Real helicopters. Real buildings to clear.
You will not find pallets and spools on this field.  Plenty of parking, vendor areas, proshop and US headquarters for Miltec, Black Ops Armory, Tacticalmarkers and more. We built the field to be a player's dream.



With the help of some of the biggest names in scenario paintball, the field was designed from the ground up. Nothing has been haphazardly thrown on the field.


Fire Base Alpha
This Vietnam style firebase with walls, 5 mortar pits,  a real Huey helicopter and a tower is huge.



Whisky Outpost
This all steel base was inspired from the movie Star Ship Troopers and includes towers, ramps, and a center base making this one a real challenge to defend or to take. (Watch out for the bugs.)



The MOUT site


This is probably the only place in the United States where you get to actually play in a city.  We built the city to test your skills tactics and nerves.  36 (and still growing) buildings, two are multi-story with angles that will make you think twice (or more times) before you round a corner.


SAM sites


There are 4 SAM (Surface to Air Missile) sites on the field to control.


Fuel Depot
  You have to find it first, then defend or conquer this military camouflaged installation.



Air Strip
    This massive installation is scheduled for mid 2006 construction.  This one is slated to have several planes and control facilities to make it as real as possible

UPDATE:

I was down there again this past weekend and it is getting even better! ( I didn't think that was possble) They have the speedball fields up and lit for nite play. I heard them say that they are a certian tourney size. ( I don't know anything about speedball)

They have a practice range up, for testing and sighting in.

In the camping and vendor area they have the electric connections up and running.

For the scenario field they have added a Vietnam hooch village, commo base, and a drug lab (for the MXS/PMI event on Feb 25 & 26)

I can not put into words how awesome this place is. After talking to the owner, and realizing how much money he has put into this place, I am in awe. There is nothing done second rate here. If you are into MilSim paintball this is the place to be. It is also the HQ for tactical markers, with an awesome pro shop about half complete.
Last edited on Monday, February 20th, 2006 at 9:33 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media