paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Providence Indoor Paintball Field / Providence Indoor Paintball Field / Providence Indoor Paintball Field / Providence Indoor Paintball Field

Providence Indoor Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
29Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (401) 467-2815
Address: 199 Thurston Street
Providence, Rhode Island 02907
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Trac453 Wednesday, March 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I had read the previous reviews on this field and decided to give it a try. I must say I was disappointed. If you dont have some kind of cleat you will have zero traction the turf is soaked in paint. The time between games was ridiculous, you would play one game then everyone would stand around and talk for 20 min before thinking about playing again. And one last thing safety at this field is of almost zero concern. While in the playing field masks were routinely removed right after a game barrel plugs in or not. They also call for you 250 fps and I can tell you from the bruises I have a lot of people were shooting much higher.

On the positive side the fields were set up alright in terms of where the bunkers were again the problem was getting to them because you couldnt sprint or you would just fall similar to trying to run on ice
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

robbybhawks15 Sunday, February 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Providence indoor paintball is a decent field. If you are going to go here for a birthday or just to play u would need to buy there paint.But on wednesdays you can take your own paint.This field has 2 fields.A big field with alot of bunkers and a smaller field good for begginers.The staff is awsome beacuse they give you free CO2 refills.There is alot of paint on the floor but it is a paintball field so thats what you should excpect.This is a decent field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

the reganator Sunday, February 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
friendly fire, fox 4, boston paintball
Review: ok i see every one complaining about paint on the carpet and paint pushed into the corners, the fact is that this is an indoor field and it isn't going to get washed as often, even boston paintball has paint pushed to the sides and soaked carpets, but this is a great field, the lighting may not be great, but you can see to the other end, and assuming you weren't dumb enough to wear tinted lenses you can see every thing fine. the staff is very nice and very helpful, in between games, if it isn't too busy they will sit and talk with you and give you tips. i was there while they were changing the big field around the the ref doing it listened to my suggestions and we ended up having an excellent set up. the refs may not always notice if some one is hit from across the field, but if they are understaffed then you cant expect too much from them, most people are good about calling them selves out anyways, its not like its a tournament and you will not get the prize because someone wiped. the refs do a good job of making sure people have masks on and barrel condoms, if someone in the staging are doesn't have a barrel condom they get on them right away. they don't have food there besides snickers, Gatorade and water, but you can order pizza or chicken from park side (just ask the refs in the pro shop for the #). in conclusion this is a great field, if the owner would just pay for some new carpet, and they squeegeed the bunkers off more then this would be a great field both for renters and people who have been playing for years.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

pm5kid Thursday, February 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
P and L paintball, Fox four , Play Bozs
Review: This field gets a bad rap but it is not true , it is a very nice field the thing that sets it apart is the staff. I started going thier 4 months ago and now i am like really good friends with every one who works thier. They are very help full and are all ways ready t help any one not just thier friends. The fields are not in the best of the best shape but its not thier fault they try but is the owner who controls that side. But thier grate for learning how to become a good speed ball player.The prices are ok but not cheep but are you kidding wat is sheep in paint ball, NOTHING !! and come on who has ever been to a field wear every thing is grate take the good with the bad and go to Providence Indo paintball i is a grate place to play and learn about the game come on down and play with the regulars like me on wendays or saterday when i go. The staff is grate so come to play but stay to learn the game with us. Thier are 3 fields to chose from so come on down play.
Last edited on Thursday, February 15th, 2007 at 4:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

derek h Thursday, February 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Woods ball mostly.
Review: Providence Indoor Paintball is an OK field. The bunkers are kind of deflated but they do OK. The lighting is dark so its hard to see at night. The floor is carpeted but there are some cement openings and is slippery. When you tap some of the bunkers that stand up they might fall over like the back triangles on both fields. The paint there is Heat so that's one good thing. But all in all it gets the job done.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SomeKid Sunday, February 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Directions
to the Field:
Its off elmwood on somthing called thirston
Review: Ratings are on a scale of 1-10

Just to start off getting there is a lil bit of a pain. The giant sighn on park leads you into like a gym turns out field is like on outher side of complex so you have to go down elmwood and the sighn at end of street is the size of a piece of papper.

Prices-8(Wed Night BYOP) 5 (During Weekend 65 a case adds up)

Counter Staff-8 Helped me with my gun spent 15 minutes tracking down the problem and didn't charge me a thing.

Refs-7 When there's 2 guys on the field they do good job of checking ppl but when there was only one guy he had a hard time checking ppl seeing he literally had to run around the entire field and watch 10 ppl by himself.

Safety-8 Refs were adamant about checking barrel covers every time we left field. Also i saw em getting on ppl right away when they were lifting there mask in the dead box when i was in it.

Lighting-4 Relay hard to see once the sun goes down. On the small field at night u cant see the outher end. Big field is a bit better but sometimes ur eyes play tricks on you and you cant tell if ur shooting someone or just waisting paint.

Players-7 Besides the occasional ass everyone that played there seems to be pretty good guys. No one really wiped and they called themselves out when hit.

Concessions-4 Sinkers and Gatorade. Thats about it. You can order pizza there with is a plus but i guess i don't really expect them to have much to eat after all it is paintball field not a restaurant.

Fields- 3 The rugs are horrible. A good 20% of field has random trow over rugs covering the holes in the real main rug. Also there impossible to slide into w/o completely recking yourself. Also if u weren't hitting a cement floor in the holes in the rug u were hitting a ocean of waves the carpet made cause you to trip alot. Also after about 2 mietns ov play u were coverd in paint from the bunkers. They ether fall on you or roll away or jsut are so underinvlated u still get him when laying in the snake.

Overall-6

The place could esay be a 9 or 10 if the lighting was fixed and the floors redone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lUCcH14 Friday, February 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 13th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
havent played so much at real fields mostly woods-ball
Review: providence indoor paintball it a decent indoor feild. the feilds are compelty coverd in paint unless you get there early when there cleaned. the floors are carpeted but still have some openings of cement. some of the refs dont really want to be there one of them was yelling at us because we were hitting him because he was right next to the bunker where someone was. and if you call them over to see if you got shot they just stand there.the lighting is horible and the bunkers always fall over if you tap one of them. but it gets the job done for the only real indoor feild in RI
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DUNNMNZ Monday, February 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PNL outdoor,Woods
Review: To start, the field layout is okay and they do change the setup on both fields from time to time mainly due to the fact that bunkers deflate and can't be refilled. As far as safety goes there is a chrono but no one checks so its based on the honor system. Most of the players use barrel condoms but I have seen a few people walking around with barrel swabs stuck in the barrels with nothing said. The refs are there but don't really do anything other then start the game and then stand around.

The fields are filthy and never cleaned other then pushing the unbroken balls to the corners, the turf is beat and there are holes every where to trip over. The bunkers are covered in paint and that's at the start of the night also the tie-downs are all broken and the bunkers move or fall over with the slightest hit and it's very dark due to most of the lights being broke. As far as the staging area goes it's big with a lot of room for your gear but again it's covered in paint,very dark and very slippery but they do seem to clean it from time to time.

Price wise I only play on the night(Wed.) you can bring your own paint so $35 with all night air is a good price, I think. I do have to admit the paint is a bit steep at $65 for a case so bring your own.

In all, I like the field and the players are a great bunch of guys and a few girls. For a guy who shows up alone they are great about getting you into games and helping you out with whatever you need, but most importantly it's a place to play when it's 12 degrees outside.
Safety: 4(they could do a bit more)
Field : 4(just clean it and would say 6)
Staff : 3(people pay to be there so just care a little bit)
Value : 7 (BYOP night only)



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
19 Comments - Add Comment

snypre Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Final Shot Paintball
Strategy Plus Paintball
Review: I have to say this was my worst paintball experience ever. The staging area and fields were dark, games weren't organized, the Refs were just kinda there, and the fields were comepletely soaked with paint. But lets not forget the cost to play: $65 for a case of paint, $10 for all day air and $35 for the field fee. Let alone a friend lost his adjustment screw for his Model 98 and they wanted to charge him $10 for a replacement. $10 for an Allen screw? It's a freaking $ .50 screw. I doubt I'll ever go back even if they're the only indoor field within an hour. Literally the refs did nothing the entire day. Actually I'll take that back, I know they called one person out the entire day, me. After I kept shooting for apparently 5 minutes or so because I didn't know I got shot. All day though people played hit, overshot, and shot dead players. Is it just me or the universal sign for out in paintball your gun raised straight up in the air over your head. Be warned on this field, your gun will get lit up when you do that. Let alone you'll get 3 or 4 shots in the back while you walk off the field. This place is horrible. I'm gonna stay away and recommend you do too.

And I almost forgot, halfway through the day the chrono ran out of batteries, so they just removed it and kept things going. No replacement chrono of any kind. So you could shoot hot all day and it wouldn't matter they had no chrono to check. Safety is definitely a concern on this field.

Snypre
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PortagyPlaya12 Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Haven't been to any others in the area.
Directions
to the Field:
It's off of Elmwood Ave, probably 4 or 5 streets down from St. Matthew's church. It's an old brick warehouse on Thurston St. There will be a sign, but it's really small...
Review: Providence Indoor Paintball is the only field in my area, so I decided to go with some of my teammates. We took a few wrong turns trying to find the street, but then we noticed the small sign, and eventually found it. The parking lot is big enough for the amount of people there. They have an outdoor hyperball field, that's kinda beat up. It wasn't open the day I went but it seemed kinda worn down. We went on a Wednesday, and every Wednesday is Bring Your Own Paint. The entry fee on BYOP days is $25, or $35 with all day air. I gave the guy my waiver and payed. He gave me my wristband, saying that I payed and had All Day Air, and I was on my way.

The place is pretty big. The staging area is pretty big and there is plenty of room to keep your stuff. There are tables scattered throughout the area, and there are two private booths with seating, in the staging area. My friends and I took one of them, and a few friends took the other. The staging area is clean and people are always willing to help you out. I set everything up and was ready for my first game. There are two fields: Field A, the smaller 3-man field, and Field B, the larger 7-man field. I played on the big one first. My first impression was "wow!" The field layouts are cool, but off the break I slipped and fell flat on my face. The field is incredibly slippery and if you don't have cleates, it's very hard to run, especially off the break. The bunkers aren't tied down, and in almost every game I saw, someone knocked a bunker down. They are also covered in paint, and I was called out in the snake because I had paint on my gun, from the bunkers. My barrel condem, pants, and jersey were soaked at the end of the day because of the excessive amounts of paint on the field, but it was still a lot of fun. The refs do their job and people usually do a good job of calling themselves out. The field runs at 250fps, and I only saw 1 person shooting hot. The refs took care of him. They have a cleaning station, and a fill station. The staff can fill your n2 tank for you, or you can fill it yourself. Co2 fills have to be done by the staff though. They also offer bottles of Gaterade for $1. Overall, I had a really good time. I just wish the fields were cleaner.

Pros:
-Large, Clean Staging Area
-Good Refs
-Nice Crowd
-Good Field Layouts
-Good Service

Cons:
-Slippery Turf
-Turf Is Patched In Places
-Bunkers Are Soaked In Paint
-Dark In Some Places

Overall, I had a really good time. I just wish the fields were cleaner. I'd recommend going there, but if you want to avoid slipping and sliding, come prepared with cleates.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media