paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Providence Indoor Paintball Field / Providence Indoor Paintball Field / Providence Indoor Paintball Field / Providence Indoor Paintball Field

Providence Indoor Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
29Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (401) 467-2815
Address: 199 Thurston Street
Providence, Rhode Island 02907
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
RIfreerider Wednesday, December 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Playboyz The Hab)
Review: This place COULD be a goldmine!
Let's start with the positive!
Proshop was very neat organized and clean. Staging area was plenty big with tables and seats to view games(Floor was very slippery which was an extreme hazard). Netting around fields was in tact and hung well. Guns were chronoed. The (2) refs were very cool and involved. Fast games 2 to 3 in a row which kept things going.
Ok now the negative!!
Proshop was undermanned, the one person seemed overwhelmed when more than 4 or 5 people were in there, paint prices $65 for a case and only one brand! Why? Field bunkers were not anchored to the floor and moved with the slightest touch. Fields were extremely slippery and there were patches of rug pulled back that revealed nothing but slippery wet concrete. Waiting for a air refill was very lengthy cause of the lack of counter help. Need more lights on each field. The slippery staging area floors are an immediate issue that needs to be fixed.

Even with all the negatives about this place I enjoyed my time there cause I got to play and really, that's all that mattered. When I say this place could be a gold mine, it could with serious effort to improve the negatives this place has. More staff, lights and improvements to field floors could throw this place over the top! Thank you for reading!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

socom3player Saturday, December 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire,Fox 4,Playboyz.
Review: ok i just played here today for the first time. It Stunk! Let me list the reasons why.
1.) I paid 15 dollars to play and I'm fully equipted. My friends paid the same and they had to rent equiptment yet they paid the same, AND they got 200 paintballs. I got none!

2.) I had to pay another $5 dollars for all day air
3.) i'm ok with the rule of using the fields paint only, but try to have a selection! don't offer only one kind of paint that costs $65.00 for a case.

4.) today our party was with about 15+ people there also was a party of about 10 kids and a party of 8 guys and then some stragglers. so total almost 35 people give or take. instead of evening the games up we had to sit and wait turns, which wasn't bad except when 2 dads and thier 4 kids straggled in and got to play on the big field 3 times in a row while everyone else waited! 6 amatuers on the big field?

there was only 3 staff on today. 2 refs one per field and one guy in the shop. which makes me glad i brought my extra 9 oz. tanks since the guy in the shop helped a blonde woman for over an hour while everyone else waiting to buy paint or fill air had to sit there and not play.
in closing for the money i paid today the small field was tiny and by the way...the bunkers...yeah non of them are stationary so don't slide into one cause you'll just push it ahead of you and be exposed. for the money i apid and the service i recieved.. I will NEVER go here again nor will I recommend this palce to anyone till they fix these real obvious and real bad problems they have going on.
don't book this many people and be under staffed, I know the owner made a ton of money today and there is no reason he/she couldn't afford to bring on another worker to help today unless the owner is a cheap SOB.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
12 Comments - Add Comment

ctan00 Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Playboyz - Amazing
Fox4 - Awesome but a bit sandy
PnL Bridgewater - Great
Hoops - Better than Providence
Review: This field is terrible. Seriously, you'll save money by taking the drive up to Playboyz or Fox4 even with high gas prices because those places will let you BYOP anyday, and it's much cheaper for entry and all day air ($15 at Playboyz, $25 at Fox4). Both of those fields also have a staff that CARE.

PiP is dark. It's like playing at night. If you're going to come here, bring a yellow lens. The staging area is a bunch of tables on a concrete floor which is slippery as hell from all the paint on the ground. The fields aren't much better for traction. It's an eighth of an inch of green carpeting, and it's starting to be pulled up from use. There's spots of bare exposed concrete on the fields, and there's random rugs and patches of carpet covering up seams and holes in the flooring carpet. The bunkers themselves are usually covered in paint but once in a while they hose them off and have them clean. This place is grimy, no doubt about it.

The prices are horrendous. It's $30 for entry and all day air on the weekend, and then it's $65+tax for a case of field paint. The paint is a lot better than what it used to be, but it's still paint you could pick up anywhere else for $35-40. On Wednesdays you can BYOP for $35, but it's still costly considering what you get for the money.

The refs don't like being there and it shows. They never check people for hits and don't do anything against cheaters or guns that shoot hot. The people working behind the desk and nice and courteous, but on the field, the refs just stand there to make sure you don't go blind.

The proshop prices are ridiculous as well. It's $12 for a Dye sweatband. $240 for a SP Ion. $90 for an old-style Profiler. $65 for a case of $40 paint. The newer stuff they've been getting in has more reasonable prices, but it's still high.

Don't go here, and don't buy your stuff here. It's worth the drive to go to the Paintball Supply Shack to buy things, and it's definitely worth the drive to go to Playboyz, Fox4, Boston PB or PnL Bridgewater.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamRamRod22 Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pnl
Review: There are 3 fields here, 2 indoor and 1 outdoor field. Prices are okay, I've seen alot worse. Wednesdays are great, it's byop and the crowd is always good. Fields are on the small side, but thats fine with me. Tournaments are run extremely well. At the tournament my 3 man team played in was reffed by Team Armageddon and it ran smoothly. The staff was also really helpfull, my ion was having all sorts of problems right before the tournament started and they got it running perfect. My team actually won 1st place in the tournament, and the prizes are good. My only complaint about the field is the floors are on the slippery side, but if you can deal with that you will have a great time. This is where I started playing, the big crowds on wednsdays are great, its a nice place for new players all the way up to experience players, and I think this place is awesome.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigcity_balla Saturday, August 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Riptide
Directions
to the Field:
...
Review: This place is pretty good. I guess the best way to describe it is laid back. The reffs dont really do much to stop wipers hot shooters etc, but on the other hand, the crowd is usually pretty good so you dont have to deal with a lot of foul play... there is this one guy who shows up in a dynasty jersey who loves to wipe and stuff, but he isnt very good and it was nice to give him a couple extra... anyways its pretty dark, and the fields are small, and its kinda messy, but its still paintball. its a good time, and contrary to what someother reviews say its not that expensive. ive seen much worse. if you dont want to pay that much for paint come on wednesdays (byop day). the crowd is better then anyways.

Pros: good crowd, three fields, indoor
Cons: messy, small, refs
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jeremyr44 Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 6th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
war zone, fox 4 not much other than mostly backyard
Review: i thought the prices were outrages. its like 65 bucks for a 2000 pack and 25 on top to get in. I also thought the reffs were not so great they really didnt care to give any advice and werent very helpful to the player in my opinion but i herad they fired all the reffs and got new ones. the field was covered in paint which to me was good because you can slide which is a big advantage.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballer20 Monday, July 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: December 10th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
WarZone, Fox4paintball.
Directions
to the Field:
Take 95south to exit 17 take left on off ramp and stay on the right till you see a sighn saying prov paintball this way.
Review: I have to admit he is right about the staff at Providence paintball. They dont give a rats ass about anything, and its a good thing im not working there too cuze the owner fired everyone including the manager. Yes the staff has to know about the guns including the R/T. My best bet is to come down to Warzone and have fun there. Warzone is a clean envirment and the staff/ Refferee's are exelent. I am one of the ref's that work there. Nick the owner has paint, he sells Stingers and another brand made by PMI u can also BYOP. The crony is 300fps and under.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BiGReD6674 Sunday, February 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Strategy Plus Paintball
Review: Upon arriving to the field, the first thing I noticed was that it was rather dark. I figured this was just part of the entrance shop and staging area, but the light on the field was even worse. I started the day off with a tinted lens in my mask, and had to change it out after one game because I could not see. To make matters worse the lights that were there were all old fluorescent, and needed to be changed as they were flickering.
The second thing that disappointed me was that paint seemed to be everywhere. I have been to indoor paintball arenas before, and I realize that when playing paintball in a confined space you are going to get paint buildups, but this was ridiculous. You had to be careful walking in the staging area, because the concrete floor was covered with a layer of paint, making it very slick. Once I got onto the field conditions worsened. The corners of the fields had huge piles of broken balls where it looked like the ref's had just been pushing the balls around instead of disposing of them. The field too, was coated in a thick layer of paint, which made running from bunker to bunker nearly impossible. Sliding was out of the question, because the flooring was just a cheap green mat over a concrete floor (and parts of the floor were actually exposed concrete), and the amount of paint on the ground meant you would slide behind the bunker and keep going right out the other side. The bunkers themselves were also coated in paint. I didn't even want to touch them because they were just coated with paint. The paint was several different colors, none of which was the color of paint being used that day, indicating that the paint had been there for some time.
I brought my own equipment for the day, but a friend of mine attempted to rent one of their Tippmann 98's. The first gun they gave him wouldn't keep the velocity steady ranging from 120 to 270fps, making it impossible to chrono. When he was finally able to convince the staff that the gun was in fact broken, they gave him a different one that didn't have any air in it. Being a new player, he didn't think to check this, and didn't discover the problem until he was on the field in a game.
I had another friend with me who brought his own Tippmann 98 with an installed response trigger that developed a problem early in the day. Despite the fact that the field’s main rental gun is a Tippmann 98, and the A-5's they rent have response triggers, they told my friend that there was no one there who knew anything about the 98 or the response trigger.
This leads me to the thing that I found most disappointing, the staff. In my entire time paintballing, I have never encountered such a negative atmosphere towards the sport. The ref's did not want to be there, and had no problem displaying it. When we arrived, we were told that both of their field would be running, but every game we played we had to go to the window, wait for the people inside to finish talking to each other, and then ask a ref to come out and do his job. When they did come out, they complained about doing so, and if everyone wasn't ready, they yelled at us. I was appalled by their behavior.
To cap it all of, there was cheating on the field (not just wiping but players continuing to shoot each other after the game had been called), and maybe 2 hours into the day the party at the table next to me had some of their equipment stolen. The staff couldn't have cared less. They made no attempt to stop the cheating on the field, or do anything to help the party who had been robbed.
The lighting and the amount of excess paint on everything annoyed me, but I was just disappointed by the conduct of the staff and officials. As I mentioned earlier today was the absolutely worst paintball atmosphere I have ever encountered in our sport. I would not recommend this field to anyone, especially beginners. Perhaps I just caught the staff on an off day, and I sincerely hope that this was the case, but the conditions of the field and staging area, and the mentality towards the players that I did see leads me to believe otherwise.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

bassplayer7673 Friday, February 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: February 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Warzone
Review: Decent field. Sometimes the roof leaks and can soak the field. Also get's pretty messy. Pricey as far as entry and paint goes, $65 a case and $20 for entry, plus another $10 for all day air. Tournaments are run well. Would recomend the field to anyone looking to play indoors.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media