paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Mr. Paintball USA Paintball Field / Mr. Paintball USA Paintball Field / Mr. Paintball USA Paintball Field / Mr. Paintball USA Paintball Field

Mr. Paintball USA Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
63Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 877-472-4682
Address: 25320 Lake Wohlford Road
Escondido, California 92027
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
cockerrocker Tuesday, February 16th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 15th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I was staying at Harrah's in Rincon over President's day weekend and I went here that Saturday and Monday because it was only 9 miles away.

I'll break this review into parts so I can keep it straight in my head.

FIELDS: 6/10
The fields were okay for rec fields. However, half of them were played sideways on a hill. The bunkers didn't seem to really have a purpose, just kind of put there for you to use. The high side always had an advantage, and each field had a dominant starting side. I understand they did what they could with what they had so eh.

PRICE: 9.5/10
Very good price. When I went on Satuday, the lady charged me $19. The only "weird" thing was, when I went on Monday, the guy working the counter (Middle Easterner?) charged me $20 because he said it was "$19 plus tax so it's $20". Now, I wasn't going to argue over a buck but don't lie to me! haha The tax on $19 is not a buck AND you can't charge tax on a service...but whatever.

SAFETY: 1/10
I can't in good conscience give it a 0 but I am inclined to. There was really no goggle or plug enforcement at all. Really, not at all. After EVERY game, people would immediately pull their goggles off and weren't checked on it at all. There was no barrel plug enforcement and there were even people shooting at boxes and other things in the parking lot. Now, the parking lot was about 40/50 yards from the booth but I could see it from there so they should have also. I am not complaining per se about it, but it's just part of the review.

PLAYERS: 6/10
It was kind of newbie, but there were some decent players there. There were too many who would; shoot out all of their paint the first game then call themselves out, or call themselves out without being shot, or shoot their teammates in the back. Yes, I know they are at all parks, but there were a LOT here both days I went.

STAFF: 5/10
Aside from not enforcing safety rules, the staff was kind of up and down. There were a couple refs who were on the ball somewhat. They didn't really "ref" but more like started and stopped the games. I will say though that some of the fields were not conducive to reffing. Meaning, there wasn't really a place for them to ref from, and doing paintchecks on the side of a mountain can be both exhausting and treacherous. They did have a lot of refs though and broke up some of the walkons so the numbers wouldn't get out of hand.

I would say play any field once to you can get a clear picture of it, including this one. I wouldn't make a trip to this park unless I was at Harrah's again, but I wouldn't rule out not ever going again.
Last edited on Tuesday, February 16th, 2010 at 7:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball088 Sunday, November 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: October 31st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I have been going to Mr. Paintball USA for the past four years and i have to say i always enjoy my time there. This field is GREAT for begginers and just as fun for advanced players. The staff is very friendly and the refs inforce the rules so that the games are safe and fair. Scuba Steve is my favorite ref there cuz he's hilarious. The prices are very reasonable and there is all day air. 19 DOLLAR ADMISSION AND ALL DAY AIR. I love this place and highly suggest you check it out and play there. I have no doubt that you will enjoy your time and love the variety of fields. Fox Holes is a really fun one with the sturdy bunkers. Go there!
p.s. i heard that they just started opening satudays for airsoft.
Last edited on Sunday, November 1st, 2009 at 9:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SoCo Warrior Thursday, March 5th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: July 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Velocity, Old Weekend Warriors
Directions
to the Field:
Past Escondido, on Lake Wolford Rd.
Review: Ok. Mr. Paintball USA has a little bit for everyone. The have several small fields, several medium and large ones. I have played on almost of all of them, but have never been to Raza. Prices aren't bad. Entry includes all day air. You can also bring your own paint which is nice. The staff is cool, but the owner is really greedy. I worked for a paintball camp last summer and i have personally seen him charge a little kid $5 for one tank o-ring. Other that that, they aren't bad people.

Pro's:
- Nice staff
- Bring your own paint
- A lot of fields
- Good for beginners

Con's:
-Kinda far
-Expensive to rent
-Only a few non-recball fields
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fahqnut2 Monday, May 26th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Velocity, and the new one on MCAS Miramar
Directions
to the Field:
in Escondido, CA about 5-10 miles off I-15 (heading East). Make right on Lake Wohlford (sp) Rd, winds up a mountain side for about 2-3 miles, when you crest the top, it is right on your Left.
Review: Okay, so this may seem a little one sided, but it is due to the constant degradation of play and service there. I have been going there every single Saturday or Sunday for almost a year now with my friends. We consider ourselves Intermediate players that hold our own at the least against the kids whom are sponsored there. Well lately it seems that service has declined substantially to where we don't go there anymore. It is too packed for the type of play we like, which is tourney style, maybe 8 on 8 at the most, but the groups always seem to be like 15 on 15, so on the break, you and 4 others are bolting for the same bunker, in which 2 don't last long due to lack of cover required when 4 tools are behind the same bunker.... Myself and others have voiced concerns of splitting into maybe 4 different groups instead of 3. the 4th being 16 players MAX. We were told we can do walk-ons on the Sup Air field. This last time, we played 1 dual round match in a matter of almost 2 hours, to our surprise, our ref clocked out and another ref took over, but never called for Group "C", and instead took the Sponsored kids out, while the rest of us sat around, as soon as we found this out, pretty much half of left, and that was the last straw. Granted this place has 11 fields for every variety of play. They seem very good and more attentive to the Birthday Parties, and not the single or dual players that come. We aren't the money makers Because we are self-equipped. All in all, it is a great field to play at, highly recommend for any function or party, they are truely safety nazi's, prices are reasonable, rental marker's are Tippmann 98C's and BK something or others. Lately the walk on groups can wait for an hour around lunch time to play, and 15 minutes between matches easily.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

richboy96 Saturday, April 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Velocity- a much better field in comparison
Camp pendleton- tottaly hate, just more of a speedball guy
Hollywood paintball- awesome tourney ball
Review: Ok lets get this over with this is not some hardcore speedball place. This is paying $25 dollars for a great day. Im honestly into speed ball way more than woodsball, but i liked this place.
Refs: not the most proffesional ever but are nice guys
fields: a blend of speedball, woodsball, and hyperball, love the village one of my favorite fields ive been too
Prices: $25 for all day air and admission, thats my kind of deal, paint is over priced though just like at the other placess ive been to, not too bad though, food is a rip you pay 15 for a pizza that costs 5 there
Table area: tables are dirty and have dirt on them, i dont reccomend stripping your gun on one of those tables, will get everything messed up
Rules: NO BUNKERING!, theres some surrender rule where if your in 10 feet you have to offer a surrender, really hate that rule, they got rid of the having to use thier paint rule!
There policys on in play rules are normal you have to chrono your gun to 250fps before you hit the field.

Summary: a good field with a few minor flaws
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xfactor6911 Thursday, December 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: November 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: Mr. Piantball is agreat place to go for any paintballer. The fields vary from speedball to woodball to one place called trenches which is just what the name sounds like. The new airball field in now open. Groups go there sometimes and you can always get a game going with some of the players. The size of groups is from 20-30 and there is enough room for everyone. The cost is 25 and you get free air with that. The field fps is 250 so they chono for you. Lunch can be bought for 15 a pizza, but escondido is 5 minutes away so you can go there. Also with raza Park inside Mr Paintball you have four tournament fields combined. This place is good for the beginner to the advanced for the many fields, small groups, and great air fields.

Update.
Also forgot to mention about the owner. He's a nice guy and is understanding to paintball players. I just went there today and it was raining. there wasn't really anyone there so they gave my free entry and air the next time i come. $25 value. That is just an example.
Last edited on Sunday, February 3rd, 2008 at 9:40 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Let_us_Prey Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Camp Pendleton
Jungle Island
Review: This was my 1st time to Mr. Paintball USA and I can say my 12 year old son and I truly enjoyed our Sunday. I’m getting a little long in the tooth so I only played 4 fields, but the variety between them was appreciable. My knees are still sore from moving around on some (all?) of the sloped fields, but that’s more an issue w/ me than the average player. The park wants folks to run down in the 250 fps range so if you have a chrono at home like I do you can dial your markers in before arriving. If not the refs have the gear & knowledge to help you set up your markers speed. The sufficiently netted range is right next to the 25+ covered tables and has fun metal targets to plink at between matches. Also available by the tables are a pair of hand washing stations and a table equipped w/ mask cleaning spray bottles & tissue paper. Free all day air & CO2 for those that have their own gear & paintballs for $25. I didn’t check out the rental gear too closely, but a nice feature is the availability of a full jumpsuit for those that want to protect what they wore to the field.
Both private parties and walk-on’s were playing Sunday w/o issue as the refs used radios to co-ordinate field play. A large, 20+, group of airsoft guys were also playing, but I don’t know if they were walk-on or private party. To a man they were equipped to the nine’s; Mil-Sim digital desert cami’s, belts & vests, real wood stock AK-47 replica’s, M-16’s, etc. It was pretty impressive, but really, what’s up with that?! :D People think I’m over-the-top because I wear a holstered TAC-8 pistol, but I was just not in these guys league.
We didn’t play a single capture the flag game as all contests were elimination. If the game starts to drag the ref will begin a countdown to hurry it along, and I agree w/ this field management strategy. Play is the usual thing
1. walk to the field as a group
2. split up to numerically equal sides
3. discuss any lingering issues/ field specific questions
4. walk to respective corners of field
5. ref checks w/ teams & starts game
After the game, teams swap sides and repeat play. Then everyone heads back to the tables to get more ammo & air. Repeat until field closes.
All the walk-on’s initially played together regardless of experience, marker type or ability. I’m not a big fan of this in general, but the more experienced/better equipped players handled themselves well, no trash talking, not overly aggressive/combative, trying to help the newb’s forward, etc. The walk-on’s were split up in the late morning into beginner/advanced groups because the # of players was finally big enough to allow it.
Overall I had a very positive day w/ my fellow competitors. I recommend this field and hope to see you there soon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

[DQS] 2 Friday, July 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: Even though both times i was at the feild, the one thing i wanted to do most, airball, was not up, Mr. Paintball USA is a great place to paintball. Here are the Pros and Cons. Pro: -The staff are very friendly, and they helped me with any problems i had. -The feilds were a lot of fun. Even though some were pretty small, it was still a lot of fun to play them. -The prices were very reasonable. -I had tons of fun right when i went into the park. Cons: The only major problems i had was it was hot, dirty, and, well... hot. But if you are looking for a great place to paintball, then i highly sujest you go to Mr. Paintball USA today!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mkrdech Tuesday, April 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Camp Pendleton- Much better in every way possible
Review: Free air
$25 entrance
1 SICK airball field
Have a shop
Pit noobs w/ advanced
Have drink for sale
No food (you can order from lil' caesars though)
Hopper hits don't count
Refs suck dick
Fields are fun
Don't help fix stuff
Can have either barrel condom or butt plug

HATE IT!!! GO TO PENDLETON OR JUNGLE ISLAND

3/10
Last edited on Sunday, May 11th, 2008 at 11:26 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Schnauze Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: December 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Other SoCal fields are generally better than this place
Directions
to the Field:
by lake wholford and sort of near valley center, my house is like 2 miles from the place so i go there all the time.
Review: Good Things :)
The fields are all pretty fun
The staff is nice and helpful
Only 25 bucks to get in (if you have your own gear) and its free air all day
They have a store with some supplies you might need (macroline, etc.)
The refs keep the game going and enforce safety pretty well
They let you use their tools and workstation if you need it (well they let me...)
Open rain or shine!
Fast moving lines for HPA refills
The team that always practices there will sometimes help you with tech problems
The park is open for quite a long time which is awesome
You can request fields to play by asking your ref (sometimes they say yes)
Open on a lot of holidays
Shooting range available
The staging area (tables) are in the shade
There is a friendly easygoing vibe around the place, not a bunch of piss and vinegar

Bad Things :(
There is a lot of sitting around time between games
Field paint is expensive as hell and almost every bag has a break in it
The staging area is filthy so service your gun at the work station if needed
The bathroom is an effing port-o-potty so crap before you leave in morning
The fields arent maintained too well (swamps of paint, ditches, fire sensitive brush)
The airball field is always occupied by the team that always practices there (NOT COOL)
Some of the fields require a long long walk in the heat to get to
Advanced players get mixed with noobs resulting in no challenge, but its good for noobs
They make you pay $15 for a $5 pizza from little caesars lol
Slow moving line for Co2 refills (i use HPA so it doesnt really bother me)
There is this one ref who ALWAYS gives this dorky speech (its kinda funny)
The team who always practices there can sometimes be jerks
Bunkering rule... sometimes not used if both sides agree on it
Sometimes you get stuck in matches that are like 20 v 20 on a small field
Sometimes the chrony operators dont know what the heck they are doing

Conclusion: All in all this is a great place for beginners, still fun for advanced players but if you are an advanced player either go alone and play with the other advanced players or bring like 5 of your friends who are also advanced. Its a good field I hope you guys go to it and maybe see me there sometime! (im the teenager with the black phantom pump, black/white redz jersey and the black/white JT 07 pants)
Last edited on Tuesday, July 15th, 2008 at 1:05 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media