paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Mr. Paintball USA Paintball Field / Mr. Paintball USA Paintball Field / Mr. Paintball USA Paintball Field / Mr. Paintball USA Paintball Field

Mr. Paintball USA Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
63Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 877-472-4682
Address: 25320 Lake Wohlford Road
Escondido, California 92027
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
paparach Monday, November 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Camp pendelton, Velocity, SC village
Review: I had little respect for this place, i played my 1st game of paintball here when i was 11 the refs were mean, the players wiped infact i almost quit playin paintball all together because of that incedent. I am 17 know i recently went to Mr. paintball witha group of friends that wanted to try it out. WOW has it changed for the better, the people are all nice, they all help one another and the refs are all cool, they look at problems from your shoes, unlike the refs at Camp pendelton. The place has some cool speedball courses, and a lot of wooden fields. I had a blast, even though Camp pendelton is still my favorite place Mr. Paintball has gained a lot of respect in my eyes, and it is an alternative.

I give it a 9 because nothin is perfect but this is close.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamXFactor#63 Sunday, November 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Weeken warriors,Velocity,pirates grove(sucks)Camp pendolton
Review: Ok first of all i'd like to say that this fpark is really nice
GOOD:
The refs there are a little young but expreinced and very helpful.
The fields aren't messy ,bunkers cleaned alot and paint swepted out of the way then dumped.
Free refills on co2 or compressed air.
The fields are cool air bunkers and a varighty of wooded fields.
Good prices.And some overall fun
They even have a little speedball course you can play with a group of friends with just a parent or someone else watching.
BAD:
Some lack of saftey,Kids with no barrle plugs or barrle condoms in,I saw some little 5 year old and his dad walking off the field with there masks in there hands during the game were they were in a very dangerouse spot,the ref just simply told them to put there masks on,they did of course but they didn't get talked to at all,I saw this happen several times throuhgt the day. The rest is pretty cool
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

XxWGPxX Monday, November 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
velocity
weekend warriors
Review: The fields were okay. Being down in the trenches is boring. Too many beginners with the rental guns go there. They let start your own game on the speedball course, so that was cool. The staff is ok. But lack of safetey needs to boost up a little.....a LOT

whatever, the field was okay but needs more help
Would go again
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

CTC_Thought Monday, October 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pendelton, Pirates Cove, etc.
Review: Well, letís start off with the situation that you are not self-equipped. The rental you receive is fairly terrible and well NOT worth the price to rent (the total price). It chops balls a lot and has terrible accuracy. The range before it goes shooting in a random direction is about 50-60 feet. Itís not too bad in a speedball game. Jumpsuits absorb the pain (well more of a sting) from a paintball. Their masks arenít really good. Just about average or even slightly below average. They give you a 20oz c02, which lasted me a good 4 games.

Now self-equipped is a different story. They make you buy their paintballs (a rather annoying rule) but the benefit is that you get free c02 refills. At Pendleton, you have to pay for refills but you can buy your own paintballs from a store (way better deal in my opinion). Anyway, the maps on the fields are rather boring because of their simplicity. No real strategies needed. Trenches is possibly the only good map. For the price, I would definitely recommend bringing your own gun for more fun.

I recommend you bring your:
-Own Marker
-Hopper (well no duhÖ electric definitely)
-Mask
-Co2 Tank (or n2)
-Whatever elseÖ

Overall, the place is a 10/10 for beginners/beginning to get experienced players.
4/10 for experienced players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mstorer Thursday, August 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Velocity, Camp Pendelton, a couple others. Check the other reviews.
Review: My company paid for about 50 of us to go out to Mr. Paintball a month or so ago. I'm hooked.

Having read some of the comments on the field here... well... they just didn't match up with my experience:

1) I didn't see any fire damage. I'd imagine they've been busy repairing their fields after the San Diego fires last year.

2) The refs with us were very good about making sure everyone had their masks on and/or their plugs in when appropriate.

I can't realy compare it to any other fields, I haven't got anything to compare it to. They have a number of fields (website says 10, I played on 4 of them). They had a single building on one field.

#1 One field near the entrance (bit of a hike from the staging area) was a "speeball" course (if I've got the terminology right). Small, netted in field with a lot of plastic barriers.

Symetric course.

#2 A closer field was on a slope after a smaller hike. It had a combination of spools, trees, terrain (gulleys), and a building for cover. About 4 times as big as the speedball course.

Asymetric course. We played two games, and the same geographic side (nearer to the staging area) won both times. Could have easily been a fluke with only the two games played.

#3 We played on a course called "the jungle" that was aptly named. Dense underbrush, lots of trees, no artifical cover that I saw. A bit bigger that #2

#4. A long narrow field. Cover was almost exlusively cement barriers 3 or 4 feet tall. Lots of crawling around. There were a couple spools, but not many. This was the last course we played and it was starting to get dark enough that it was hard to see where the balls were going.

I didn't see any artificial lighting on any of the courses, but I understand that's pretty rare.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

koolaidTD Wednesday, August 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in area
Review: Mr. Paintball, is a great field to play at. while I am not a big fan of speed ball, I enjoy their spools course, because you almost get a CQB effect, because it is really tight, and there are no buildings which is the only real con to the field. the trenches, is one of the most brutal courses I've ever played on. a)you gott walk about 200yards uphill to get there b) the trenches themselve is built on the side of a pretty steep hill, so a lot of huffing and puffing during play. my third favorite their is notably called the "jungle" namely because it was a thick densly bushed area that made distance shooting, anything but possible. after the fires it made the jungle really interesting, because there is no underbrush, which makes cover sometimes difficult. you have to croutch to crwal to get around there which totally changes the tempo of the game. where Mr. Paintball really shines. is when they host scenario events. they let us camp out in the very back of the course, and there is about a 2-3 square mile are that becomes the field. and because it is in the middle of some tightly pack mountains, ther is a lot of humping to do, and it is a blast. I haven't played any other fields in so cal, but the only thing this one is missing are some buildings (EDIT: they have a tiny 10 X10 building that is more or less a bunker, by building I mean multiple rooms, multiple floor multiple entry ways know what I mean), for cqb. the employees there all the way to the owners are great people and really nice. they do anything they can to help you out, and they explain the rules every morning in a 30 minute safety brief before any games start. so get there early if you have any questions and don't hesitate to ask.
Last edited on Thursday, September 16th, 2004 at 11:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintflyer03 Sunday, July 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Velocity Paintball
Review: This field was alright, but i still had a good time. Due to the San Diego Fires some of the fields were toasted but most of them were still open. They had a couple good fields that had some good bunkers to hide in, but a lot of the fields like the spools and the hyperball field were WAY too small. Plus the spools were a half spools course. one side of the field had a bunch of spools on one side, and you had awesome cover. but on the other side the only cover was some like roadside cement blocks or something with trashcans and a couple spools that were sitting on the side. (so it looked like a a big T). almost no cover at all. i had to lie on my stomach at the cement blocks and im only 5'8". They have a couple good fields but the spools and hyperball fields were the ones that kinda annoyed me. the rest are alright.

the people that work there are pretty nice, they aren't as stuck up as the people at velocity are. you know, the people that always think they are better than you, which may be true but no need to be a jerk about it. one thing i noticed about the refs is that they never explained the rules/or all of them to my group. i was with a group of friends that were newbs so we were playing novice and this guy came up and tried to bunker me. which he sucked at cuz he didnt even hit me. but since i returned fire at him the ref called both of us out. which i understand and im not mad about but he neglected to tell us the fact that u cant fire back at someone who is trying to bunker. im sorry but i just cant do that. its a natural reaction to return fire at someone who is firing at you. plus he was like 3 feet away.

my biggest concern about this field is that there is almost no concern for safety here. at some of the fields you aren't required to have your mask on if you outside the net, but then at others you were. so i was confused about that. but the biggest problem was people running aorund with no barrel plugs outside of the field and in the staging areas. these people even had their guns at their hip and their fingers on the trigger. no supervision=someones eye getting taken out.

one thing that sucks is the fact that gun hits dont count and its player hits only. it makes new players skills go down. they get used to not getting out on it. for me i got shot prolly like 3 or 4 times in the day in the hopper and once in the barrel and i didnt have to get out. which brings me back to my other point of them not telling rules. becuz i actually called myself out on a hopper hit in the first game i played. i also got about 5-6 gun hits during the day which again didnt count.

the prices were cheap, but i heard it waas only like that cuz its summer, and there were free refills all day which is good for co2 people. all in all i had a good time despite a couple mix ups and dumb wipers and people bunkering when they arent supposed to.
but i probably won't be going back too soon because of the lack of concern for safety and the field only paint requirement. although they do have evil, marbs, and big ball on sale. but u still have to spend 18 bucks on 500 rounds of field paint as another requirement. i liked this field because it wasnt as crowded as velocity and doesnt have so many advanced players preying on novice players. (like me! haha).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Drew_NE Tuesday, May 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Weekend Warrior
Review: The safety precautions at Mr. Paintball are treated like a joke. There is a large picnic area under a canopy were everyone gathers between games, this area is full of people running around without barrel plugs. There were several instances where individuals were mis-firing and purposely firing thier markers in the middle of large groups of people. Its only a matter of time before someone loses an eye in this place.

Outside of this there were few problem and I enjoyed thier courses, but if you do chose to go here bring some sunglasses or something to protect your eyes when your not wearing goggles.

Last edited on Tuesday, May 4th, 2004 at 10:34 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sdshadow Monday, May 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Weekend Warriors. Mr. Paintballs is just a little better the WW, only because fields are better maintained, field paint is cheaper and lunch is included.
Review: Strengths:
-Lunch
-Decent Fields
-Good air
-Nice employees.

Weeknesses:
Extreme lack of safety. Barrell plugs were not enforced. Kids were dry-firing (hopefully dry) in the staging area, same place everyone eats lunch without barrel plugs. And it wasn't just a couple, it was a couple every second. I like my eyes how they are, I will not be going back because of thier complete lack of safety enfocement.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

radpin Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pendelton, weekend warriors, pirate's grove
Review: So I just got back from there, and here's my review:

- The new owner is cool as hell. Very nice guy, super professional.

- The refs are young and kinda lazy, but not nearly as bad as some courses. All in all they did an okay job, but not the top notch style you get sometimes, where the refs are running around all over the place, watching every move.

- The fields are pretty good. Some of the speedball courses are kinda dumb, but that's because I hate speedball. I'm a woods guy, so pittsburg and trenches were my two favorites. Survivor is crap, but the others are just fine.

- Prices are cheap. $20 for all day, which includes all day air and lunch. I bought evils for $65 a case, which really isn't too bad. Bring your own water, and you'll be all set.

- Professionalism. 18 year old kids are 18 year old kids, and it's hard for them to act all that professional when they're making minimum wage, if that. But they did a good job considering. The refs were rather responsive to where the group (of walkons) wanted to go, didn't do that whole "power trip degrading" thing where people get yelled at for minor infractions. The people doing the air where top notch (they fill HPA to 4500, by the way), and the people taking money were extremely courteous.

- Lunch. It sounds trivial, but having lunch delivered is a nice touch. Tereyaki chicken rice bowl for me, orange chicken rice bowl for my friends, and then pizza and subway sandwiches for others. Unless you're not planning on playing any later than lunch, I'd avoid eating a pizza in 90 degree Escondido heat, then running around twenty minutes later.

Overall it was a nice place, and I'm glad we went. We'll probably hit up Pirate's Grove more often because it's closer to San Diego, and Baja because it's cheap as hell with awesome courses. But I certainly wouldn't hesitate going back, and will probably do so in the next few months. I give it an 8 because of some slighly lame experiences with some refs, and dork speedball courses that were slapped together in twenty minutes.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media