paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Big Pearl Paintball Field / Big Pearl Paintball Field / Big Pearl Paintball Field / Big Pearl Paintball Field

Big Pearl Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
14Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 434-258-1200
Location: Glasgow, Virginia 24555
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Papadoc Wednesday, October 6th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 18th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Painted Forest (now closed) was the only other local field to Lynchburg. Big Pearl has many structures and has plans on adding more to the existing set up.
Directions
to the Field:
Near Natural Bridge Virginia google map it.
Review: The fields are good woods ball playing with several different areas to give a variety of play during the day of rec play. An important part of the field are the refs and staff both of which are fair and personable working hard to teach the inexperienced and keep the games moving.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Splatzballz99 Saturday, September 26th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 17th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Directions
to the Field:
Umm, I don't know. Look at mapquest I guess.
Review: This is a very nice field, and I greatly enjoyed going there. They are a Christian field, and they are good on safety and rules. They don't have food there on site. They are pretty good with prices. (buy a case, get in free. $15 entry fee. $10 rental.) There field is AWESOME! my Favorite field is the village. It has the huge buildings you can get in! I love defending it. The tallest one is 3 stories tall!

Great field.

EDIT:

Big Pearl Paintball recently raised their prices.

Entry fee: $20
BYOP fee: $15
Rental: $15

For this reason, I am dropping the rating.

Last edited on Wednesday, January 20th, 2010 at 7:30 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

JDGOAD Monday, August 3rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No direct competition in the area. Closest field about 1 hour drive away.
Review: First time at this field. Very nice group of people. This is a christian oriented facility with no profanity and they say a prayer before each day of play. They are adament about no overshooting and are very concerned with safety. This is the first time I've played in over 4 years and had a great time.

Now they have spent quite a bit of time building the fields. One field has 4 very large buildings with multiple levels. The fields are very large and great for rec ballers. They fill both nitrogen and co2. If I remember correctly they have 4 fields with various types of bunkers, buildings, and terrain.

Now, everything is not perfect. They don't have top notch facilities. They don't have a proshop and work out of the back of a truck. In other words they don't charge an arm and a leg to pay for extravagant buildings/property. They do have a clean portajohn though. They do not have any tournament fields(airball). They have dedicated themselves to woods/recball exclusively.

Their attitude and friendliness goes a long way. Most(not all) fields treat you like a number and count on you spending money. They did go out of their way to help my daughter(very young) learn about paintball by walking with the ref and let her shoot a rental gun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mbrya012 Thursday, February 5th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Painted Forest
Directions
to the Field:
See other posts or just Google it.
Review: I've actually only played at the field twice once in 2007, and then this year. I'd have to say that everybody's reviews are great. Except for the one dude that can't take more than three shots, he's referring to the Rambo rule at Painted Forest which says you can't shot somebody more than three times, which I think is a really dumb rule with today's markers that shot 15-20+ bps.

I'd have to say that this is a really awesome woodsball field, far outweighs any other woodsball fields I've played on. I love the fact that this is a really clean playing field, no cussing is allowed, cheating, and or unsportsmanlike conduct. The field features a awesome little village with several 2 story structures and one really tall three story tower. There are also a ton of bunkers scattered around perfect for some close combat. I love the creak bed, you can travel up and down it and stay hidden the entire time. The scenario games are awesome and every game is different each time. They do a great job splitting the teams up to make it fair. The refs do a great job as well, they keep you playing safe and encourage new players to play by giving them helpful advice. Speaking of safety, it is their highest priority. They require barrel plugs in at all times, mask must be on while at the crono. They wait till everybody has barrel plugs in before masks are removed at the end of the games, and your not allowed to discharge your marker near the setup area.

The field has been significantly upgraded since everyone's post on here. They now have a bathroom on site, they have a dead zone that has netting up on all four sides to protect you from wardering paintballs. The air fill station is located at the playing field so no more long walks. Check out their website for more details and videos, bigpearlpaintball.com

I highly recommend playing at this field. I give it a 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tipp_pro Thursday, February 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Painted forest-Sux
Directions
to the Field:
Between Glasgow and Natural Bridge, Virginia. Directions at
www.bigpearlpaintball.com
Review: Basic rules, teams always split evenly, enough refs, loads of bunkers, different fields, different game each time. They are always working on adding to the field so it is forever changing so it's not the same games and bunkers each time you visit. One field "The Village" is kind of like a speedball course. Only field in this area that has towers as well as bunkers. If you're into woodsball this is the real deal.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SixPepper Friday, June 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: June 2nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have not played at any others but I have seen them and it looks like Big Pearl Paintball puts a lot more time and effort into their field.
Directions
to the Field:
Right past Glasgow VA on Route 130 going towards Natural Bridge
Review: I have played at and visited other paintball fields and Big Pearl Paintball's field is definitely the best. First of all they have hundreds of bunkers with four towers that you can get up in and shoot out of. Their biggest is 14 by 16 feet, 3 stories and 20 feet tall.
For the speedballer- there is not a speedball field but there are places where bunkers are so packed that it gives the same effect. For the woodsballer- there is everything. Ex- creeks, building, dense areas, clear areas, roads, trails, etc. Big Pearl’s field staff is younger (high teens) but they are very mature and fair. They look like they work hard to make your experience better. Prices are cheap compared to other local fields and if you want a free entry fee just go to one of there work days. Food and drinks are sometimes sold but not always. There is not a bathroom right next to the field but the land owner’s house and some other businesses are nearby. I have been to a few of their scenarios and those are also exceptional. Mortars, bazookas, grenades, fireworks, tanks, mines, claymores, hidden objectives, props, and smoke grenades are just a few things that describe them. If you want a field that is cheap, friendly, and cares about making the game of paintball better I recommend Big Pearl Paintball. PS. Check out their website. Easy to navigate and if a product is not on their site call or e-mail them and they can get it for you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Saltine Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: November 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Painted Forest
Review: I've been playing with Big Pearl long before it was called Big Pearl. I played with the company when they were trying to come up with a name. I know many of the staff very well, and I definitely know how the organization operates during games or an event. I will not be bias in my review. Although, I've been restricted in my paintball playing as of lately due to my job, I enjoyed going to a Big Pearl Paintball event because of the atmosphere. This field is very fun because of the many different playing areas at the field. The refs are young, but they improve every event I go to, and I know how hard it is to be a woods-ball ref. I say they do a great job. The big scenario events seem to be well organized every time I or my Dad attends. Yes, he is in his mid-40s and he kicks tail. He has bragged to me after every event he goes to and he tells me how much the field improves every time he goes there. Sometimes, especially at big events or scenarios they sell snacks and drinks. I'll be honest, the safety wasn't the greatest at first; there were rules, and an area for you to test your gun, but to many kids played around. Now, the safety is strictly enforced and I was impressed myself at how much they improved on safety procedures. They usually recommend you read the rules on their website. Also, they do something most fields don't usually do. One, they let you get into high rising forts, and they film most events and post them on the web site. They also take stats, which sometimes people take advantage of, but you can usually tell by the stats whose telling the truth and who really is doing pretty awesome. BUT THE BIGGEST REASON TO PLAY AT BIG PEARL IS THE PRICES. You can't play anywhere else that I know of for so cheap, and sometimes, depending on the event, you can get free air, sometimes if you help out the company by volunteering to build forts, you don't need to pay an entry fee. It's just a great field to play at that continues to improve. I give the field an 8.5 because there is still some room to improve in, but that's expected because they still are a growing company. Highly Recommend!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xps35 Tuesday, December 19th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: September 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
if u wana get riped off there is painted forest>
Directions
to the Field:
directions on the site.
Review: Realy good prices there is a field entry fee but it covers geting 1 tank filled co2 or nitrogen, they have paint there for sale starting at i think 35.00 or 40.00$ for a case of 2000, its good paint i have an ion and it does very well with the paint. they have gun rentals ther, u can rent out the field for b-day partys and such, the rental includes guns masks and air , u can bring your own paint or buy from them, and reffs r sefty minded but not hyper anal about people shooting to close only about safty. the field is woods ball, lots of bunkers and a few towers. pritty safty minded, the reffs cant be everywhere at once, but they do a good job, the owner is realy helpfull, doesn't mind helpin u if he can, there website is cool u can buy just about anything, if its not on the site u can e-mail them and they will get it, there is a page of pics. and a video from every event. i say that they do a better job then most people could, i think u need to try and run your own event before u critisize someone about safty or prices. they try and promote a fun an christian atmisphere, there is no smoking or drinking allowed. and ya thats about it great field great prices great fun.



Last edited on Tuesday, January 23rd, 2007 at 6:51 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballmomma Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I enjoyed playing at their field in Glasgow. Great woods-ball. My nephew and niece love to play there every chance they get. Very cheap compared to other fields. I am sure that my son will be playing as soon as he is old enough to hold a paintball gun. It is a newer field but every time I go there, they have built new forts or barricades, so it is constantly improving.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wrightusmc02 Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Painted Forest Adventure Games -- Alot more fields. Alot more safety minded
Review: I played this field for the first time during their Blackhawk Down Scenerio game. The playing field itself is great. It is true woodsball. The woods have not been cleared out. There is a village set up right in the middle, with a creek bed that runs along side the outskirts of the village. The creek bed is deep enough to walk through with te banks still above your head. The bunkers that are spread throughout are big. There is plenty of room for bigger people to get behind.

The prices are good. If you preorder your paint and registration for the day on their website, the prices are even better. It only cost me $8 to register for the scenerio game. You can also bring your own paint if you want to. That doesn't really matter though because the prices are so good. You can get X-Ball Bronze for $42.50 a case.

However, the safety is not the greatest. The chrono station is right in the middle of the staging area, and they dont make you wear masks while chronoing. Also, there were people shooting in the staging area. There was not the first scale there to fill tanks. Every time I had my tank filled, they just held it in their hand. My tank was never filled all the way. Once my wife had her tank "filled" the very next game she ran out of air with a 20 oz tank.
After one game was over, a paintball came flying through and hit my wife in the face. Luckily she still had ger mask on. Nothing was done to that guy for shooting after the game was over.

The actual field is great. I would play there again. But Im not going to until the safety issues are addressed. I am rating this field only half way because of the safety issues. If they are improved upon the field will be an easy 8 or 9.



NEW STUFF

I went back to Big Pearl a couple months ago for the Cops and Robbers scenerio. They have made quite a few improvements to the field, very nice. As I originally said, my complaints were on the lack of safety there. The chrono was moved out of the staging area - good, They dont allow shooting in the staging area - good, Barrel Covers on when not playing - eh, needs improving. There was still alot of people walking around with Barrel Covers off while others didnt have on masks. I saw that the refs did try to make an effort to make people put them on - good. There was still some shooting while no masks were on, i.e. chronoing. As a side note, I noticed that some of the bunkers and forts had nails sticking out really bad that someone could get cut on. Overall though there was an improvement to the safety of the field. Good job guys keep it up.
I know there will be a couple people inparticular (xps35, wallride2) that will dispute this for some reason or another. I know you think Big Pearl is Heaven's paintball field here on earth, hey thats great, thats your opinion. Just keep in mind that Im not bashing the field, Im only pointing out safety concerns. I like the field too. Oh and by the way xps35, I noticed in a comment you told a guy when you are using an electro and it starts ramping, you dont know what its gonna do, I can tell you are a player that relys on your gun and not your skill.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 30th, 2008 at 11:46 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
12 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media