paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / California Paintball Park / California Paintball Park / California Paintball Park / California Paintball Park

California Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
83Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (310)261-2439
Address: Charley Canyon Rd.
Castaic, California 91384
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Mustang_SVT Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village, Field of Fire, Paintball USA.
Review: This field may not be the type of field that you see in the NPPL games, but it's good for people that want to go and play paintball with there friends, birthdays, or have a private team practice. They have good food, plenty of parking (there's a 1/4 mile dirt road to get to the park.) The park is not as bad as the people say its is.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PotatoSlice Tuesday, June 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village, Paintball USA in simi, Urbanquest, friends backyard etc.
Review: Well paintball california park sucks, no runing water, dirty bathrooms, rentals fallin appart, didnt fill CO2 all the way, didnt fill nitro all the way, only to 2000 and i wanted to use my new 4500 so i could shoot like crazy but i had to fill after every game also they have a compressor in the back that can fill higher but they wont use it for nething but tournaments, long lines to fill tanks, DONT take a low car there, will tear it up on the road, dont check crono, fields falling appart and dangerous otherwise they were ok fields. house paint very expencive but whos isnt,opend late and closed early, no tables for ur stuff gotta use ur car, have a snack bar but it sucks has no variety just gatorade buritos and chips. so i give them a 1 just cause there fields were good even though poorly taken care of. my advice, DONT GO THERE find another place theres plenty
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sarcastic489 Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village, Jungle Island, Hollywood Sports
Review: This field sucks. DO NOT GO HERE!!!!! The worst field I have ever been to. Sure, the fields were acceptable, I guess, but this place needs to get their act together. They opened half an hour later than their webpage says, and they closed an hour early. There were only three people working there all day. Let's see... what else... Oh, yeah, you can't bunker anyone here. How stupid is that? You have to run PAST the person without shooting them, then they're considered out. One of the refs played a few games with us, and guess what? HE CHEATED! My friend followed their stupid 10 foot rule as mentioned above, told the guy to surrender, and the guy then turned around and shot him in the crotch. Oh yeah, a couple of us got shafted on CO2. Even if you pay for all day air, you still can't fill up on your own tank if you're using a rental gun. And they made me pay for all day air when I paid for admission. I then didn't need a fill all day, but was going to fill on my way out. Then they screwed me over. They told me, "We can't give fills at the end of the day, sir. Liability reasons. Because you might go home and shoot someone." What is up with that? I got cheated. I'm never going back here again. Once again, DO NOT COME HERE!!! THIS IS THE WORST FIELD I HAVE EVER BEEN TO!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PackNHeat Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village, Tombstone, Jungle Island, Mr. Paintball's Hidden Valley, and all of them were way more organized than CPP.
Review: Pros: Our ref was cool, had a private group, the fields were decent, paint sold was decent but still majorly overpriced, was able to use passes

Cons: Oh lord where to start, disorganized and small staff (refs also refilled CO2/air, the woman taking money also handed out rentals and filled CO2, there was a significant lack of specialization), poor nitro compressor (only filled 2000psi on a 4500psi tank), no running water, shady personel (said their hours were from 9-4 on the phone and went from 10-3), won't let you refill personal CO2 tanks when using rentals and won't allow refills at end of day, opened an hour late and closed an hour early so we could "beat" traffic, registration and rentals took WAY to long, poorly maintained rentals (some of them the safteies didn't even work), overpriced paint.

I took a lot of new players out for a day of fun, when I saw the way they operated i was PO'ed beyond all belief, luckily we still had a good time because we were paintballing among friends. Only went there because of the passes I got for free. It was relatively cheap because of the passes but it appears you get what you pay for in this case. Overall, I went once but I will never come back again. Anyone thinking about going for a day of cheap play, that's exactly what your going to get, a cheap-A$$ park. Worst field I've ever been to, only reason I give it a 2 instead of a -1 was because of how much fun the newbs I brought along had, anyplace that you can still have some fun at deserves a bit of credit (albeit not much)
Last edited on Tuesday, June 1st, 2004 at 9:57 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

who Friday, May 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Full force, PCP
Review: I have been to California Paintball park one and will NEVER return. They rarely check the speed at which you are shooting at and many people are shooting hot. The rental equipment is in very bad condtion and they often end up not working. The park cannot afford to get REAL bathrooms and get the road up to the fields paved. The fields are in pretty good condtion not the best of all but it could some new fields. On one of the fields there is broken glass which is a helath hazard. The refs are pretty good about catching cheaters but I saw many people who were wiping paint off. There are not many tables to eat at. There are only 2 or 3 to eat at without reservations.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

asian2dragon Wednesday, May 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
The jungle, Pendelton
Review: I've played at this field 4 times and that's because it's the closest field I can find to get some quick shooting in with friends. That's the only reason I go.
1) Arriving: The road is long, windy and you seriously need a 4x4 to get in without getting your teeth chattered throughout the whole ride. The facility provides 6 picnic tables that only 3 you can use because the other 3 which are under a tent must be reserved. There's only 2 portapotties and no water hose. As advertised, there is supposed to be water misters (must be underground), and drink/snack bar that I've only seen running once during the times I've been there.
2) Equipment: I bring my own equipment, but my friends usually rent theirs. The field rents tippmanns with hoppers that are held on by rubber bands. Tippmanns are supposed to be very durable if MAINTAINED. We get about 3 equipment failures out of 5 each time we go there and then have to trade it in for a different gun. The mask rented are mainly v-force with some JTs (rare find). The camouflage clothing provided are scraps of ripped up, sweaty cloths. A rarer find is to get a camouflage outfit that doesn't have to be tied together.
3) Cost: The cost of CO2 / Air refills is ridiculous and most expensive compared to other fields I've been to. For 1 fill of CO2 is $7 and nitro is $10. I usually bring extra tanks and get my refills at the local paintball store for $3. They send out coupons to different paintball stores that gives free admission and equipment but you have to buy paintballs and Co2. The coupons are not fully honored. The cheapest deal is supposed to be $10 for balls and $7 for Co2 = $17. Every time we go there they make us buy their package deal $35 which you don't need the coupon for. The only thing I've found the coupon useful for was the bring your own equipment and play all day for $12.
4) Fields: They claim to have 10 great fields, but only 7 are actually playable. The have blank fields which have boundaries but nothing else. The tire fields are decent, but don't lean on the tires too much, they'll actually fall off. The trenches are nice and deep and some of the sceneries are nice. Because the fields are not maintained, there's a lot of hazards. The plywood in the city field does break apart and can fall on you. The trenches had some trash that wasn't cleaned up that my friend broke his leg jumping into it. A 2 foot trench caused him to have a malleolous fracture. A total of 3 fractures on one leg because they don't clean the fields. Now he's out for 8 weeks. After that incident, we're not going back to this park again.

Positive: Nice sceneries like the city and trenches with a real boat in it.

Negatives: Poor maintenance. False advertisement. The cost of the playing here is not worth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

brandaman Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC village, jungle island
Review: This field is were i go most of the tim to play. Usually brcause it the closest to my home. I can tell that they don't keep good care of their field so it make it dangerous. When ever we go there there are board breaking bunkers falling down. I have lots of fun there and i recommend it and i don't. If its your first time going you shouldn't go because you have a higher chance of getting hurt. If you have been playin a long time it is ok but still be care full!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mal Monday, March 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: So hear is the deal…I have played for about 4 years generally in the Midwest. We had a bachelor party outing with 11 guys all of them newbies except me. All of them enjoyed the experience and wanted to play again, even though the groom slipped on some loose dirt and dislocated his shoulder.

Pro’s: Inexpensive, Multiple fields, Quick games, and Good refs.

Con’s: Serious safety issues, hit/miss instruction, Only 5 employees (2 refs) for over 70 consumers, Rough entrance road, No running water, and Lack of prep space.

This is a great place if you have your own equipment. For newbies the rentals are in poor condition, (some the safeties did not even work) field/safety instruction was hit and miss, (our group did not get any but the group after ours did) no one was chrono’d = hot markers, (the group was comparing welts afterward, and they were huge, even with several layers of clothes on) teams were unbalanced, (90% newbies with 4 or so people that were regulars), and markers were being fired every where. (in the parking lot, in the prep area, walking to the actual field.)

Bottom line….I’d play there again with my own equipment and do a private party.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NYSATGMUS Sunday, February 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village -- not as good (see my review on sc village)
Review: Well ladies and gentlemen,
I have to say that I had a great time at California Paintball Park. I read some of the other reviews and in general i agree with the good reviews and disagree with the poor reviews. Nonetheless, I will offer my insight into the pros and cons of the park.

PROS:
- Not too many rec players...team sizes were just right at about 20-30
- Teams were made small on speedball (10 players at most)...except for one time
- teams were balanced pretty well
- Refs were very involved and really made sure that no cheating occurred! (I hate cheaters)
- The staff was very personable and friendly...as were the refs (One of the biker-looking refs with a long goatie was in the way during a speedball game and i remarked 5 times that he was in a bad position but he didn't move...i ended up shooting him - and the player hiding behind him - but he was really cool about it)
- we played a ton of games (about 30) from 9am till 4pm
- The players were all cool throughout the day (no hot-heads present)
- The staff gave me 2 free passes since i drove really far to play at CPP
- the fields (although not too many) were in good shape and were fun...all had a ton of hiding spots; perfect for shoot and advance maneuvers
- You can use your own paint if you bring your own gear

CONS:
- Not a whole bunch of fields to choose from
- fields were kind of stacked (i.e., one side usually had a huge advantage based on the field outlay)
- only one ref during the games (but he was really paying attention and made excellent calls)
- Not enough time to hydrate and fill up on paint between games (5 minutes between games)
- Lots of little kids when i went...you start to feel bad about shooting them so you end up taking one for the team when you ask them to surrender and the little buggers turn around and pop you at 5 feet distance!
- The restroom (if you want to call it that) consists of 2 porta potys (YUCK!)
- No running water (bring some to drink and some to wipe off your facemask
- The refs aren't very diligent on checking for chrono...this of course relates to people shooting HOT.

I hope that assists you in your decision to visit CPP. I would suggest that you at least give this park a try; I had the best time of my paintball experience at this park (although I do realize that I am a fairly new player). Regardless of what any reviews say, you should make your own judgement and of course you need to realize that everyone is looking for something different in a paintball park so don't rely indefinately on reviews only.
I will give this park a 8 since i feel it is pretty good, but could definately use some improvements. I will be frequenting this park more often...I hope to see you there!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hyperdude302 Tuesday, February 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
felid of fire paintball usa proving grounds
Review: i think this place was awsome! it had aton of feilds so that private partys and walk-ons where seperated. they had very nice refs feilds where taken care of and snacks and a big picnic area& alot of areas to sit down the only thing i did not like if that the only had two port-a-potys.
Last edited on Tuesday, February 17th, 2004 at 4:16 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media