paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Matt's Outback Paintball Field / Matt's Outback Paintball Field / Matt's Outback Paintball Field / Matt's Outback Paintball Field

Matt's Outback Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
132Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 860-742-0201
Address: 677 Riley Mtn Rd.
Coventry, Connecticut 06238
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
ctmom Monday, April 27th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 24th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
First time
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest worked fine
Review: My 11 year old wants to have a paint ball birthday party and because no one in the family has ever participated, so we went to check it out. It was the first time for every one who went - 2 boys - 8 and 11, two teenage girls, myself and my husband - mid 40s.

We had a blast. For $35 you can rent gear - helmet, gun, chest protector, air, 500 paintballs. You got a Matt's Outback t-shirt.

Free hotdog, multiple vending machine for drinks. Perfect.

Our ref was awesome and gave us plenty of tips for the newbies. He helped my 8 year old aim the gun. Laughed when one of the teen age girl left her gun condom on during a battle. When a large group of college kids joined in the mix, he helped us newbies be successful during the battle.

Brooke could not have been more helpful. Great tip about bring a garbage bag for each kid.

We played in the woods area - meat grinder, castle - it was fun.

The ref let us go as a family to the tire area when our 8 yr old got bummed because he could tell who was on which team when a big group joined in. It was really muddy - but it was April in NE.

I have read reviews from experienced paint ball players who liked Matt's Outback.

I thought this newbie experience might be helpful, it was great.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

squirinjate Saturday, April 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogan's Alley - I have not really been enough to truly judge this field, but from what I've seen they have similar fields and competition. The prices seemed a bit more prolific and steep than at Matt's Outback, and there appeared to be a greater degree of control across all playing levels (which can be annoying for relatively experienced players who fully acknowledge paintball safety).

Strategy Plus - Again, I have only been here a couple of times but from what I've seen it is mostly woods - not a great field for competitive play. It is perfectly adequate for a casual player.
Directions
to the Field:
http://www.mattsoutback.com/directions.html
Review: I have not played paintball routinely for about a year and a half, but having just visited Matt's Outback last weekend I have seen some vast improvements. .

This field is great for beginners and experienced players alike. The rental package is an all inclusive package. They give you a gun, mask, pods/pack, 500 paintballs,

Safety: The staff at Outback are very good about instructing safe practice to newer players - especially those heading to the woods and tire fields.

Fields: They currently have a great X-Ball field which has grass now! (used to be wood chips) Oh and by the way, there are pits and a stand on top which offers a sick view of the field. There is also an adjacent field in which another X-Ball setup is on the To-Do list. There is a 7-man sized field with tire bunkers down below. There is quite a large woods ball field which houses castle-like forts. Oh and did i mention they have a dome? Winter weather holds no bar for this part of Connecticut now. I believe it will go live Winter 2009.

Check out the fields at http://www.mattsoutback.com/tour/tour.html

Hours of operation: Open Saturdays and Sundays, but also offers weekday group outings/parties and clinics. For more information including specific hours, check out www.mattsoutback.com.

Prices: Best in Connecticut, period.

Proshop: The staff is always willing to order anything you want if they don't currently have it. The proshop also houses all the necessary tools and parts to fix most if not all paintball equipment.

Staff: Excellent. They are all very friendly and do what they can to help rather than get your money. It is very easy to get someone to look at a broken or misbehaving gun.

Players: Having just been there a week ago, I found myself shaking hands with players whom I played with many years ago. There is a large volume of regulars, including Team No Name, Team No Name Kids, and UConn Huskies. There are probably more but like I said I haven't played there in almost two years.

Food: Free hot dogs, 'nuff said.

Overall, Matt's Outback keeps the players coming back through the same set of principles it has consistently upheld - The fields are excellent, The prices are great, the people are friendly and helpful.

www.mattsoutback.com



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dbott1008 Monday, March 30th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 28th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Boston Paintball would be the closest
Directions
to the Field:
I just punched the address into the GPS and had no issues getting there at all.
Review: I drove down from Boston to meet up with some friends that live in CT. None of us had played at this field before so we weren't really sure what to expect. I can say without any hesitation that it was well worth the trip. Great atmosphere, the staff was very helpful and friendly. Upon arrival we filled out our waivers...picked out our paint...and away we went. The field fees and the paint prices were a bargain in my opinion. We were able to jump right into a woodsball game (we did an attack & defend game with one of their two level forts). From there we went over to the tire field which provided a faster paced game (it gives you more of a speedball feel but the bunkers are pretty big so you have lots of cover)....we spent most of the day on this field rotating with different team combinations (a good mix of rental players and Matt's Outback regulars). Towards the end of the day we hopped onto the speedball field and got a few games in...at this point we were all pretty drained from the day but we still had fun. Overall my first experience at Matt's Outback was a great one and I hope I can get back there soon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paranoidmonkey7 Sunday, March 29th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 29th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
splatter zone R.I.P.-----played here two years had fun while it lasted
Hogans ----- hate that place
strategy plus--- only been once
Matts is by far the best outdoor and hopefully soon indoor in CT
Directions
to the Field:
take three rights a left then a right and your there.
Review: Great field by far best in the state only have been here 3 times but will be here every weekend over the summer and fall
great staff and proshop has everything you could need
hotdogs at lunch are so key
the only reason i gave it a 9/10 instead of 10/10 is that its an hour drive from my house however its worth the drive
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jdog333 Tuesday, March 24th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox 4 It's good but definately not as good. Friendly Fire dosen't even compare.
Review: First time I ever went I thought nice fields. I walk in the shop they have everything you need and the people working the counter were very nice and told me were to get air etc. Then I saw the fields I saw that wicked nice new Xball field they just put up, then the dome which wasn't up at the time, they have the huge tire field, and The woods of course with the huge castles. They probably also have the best competition there along with the bet prices. The items in there shop are reasonably priced no upmarking. Also the refs were great I had no complaints with the refs. All around best field, definately worth the ride.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 6th, 2009 at 1:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MJFONTA Saturday, January 10th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Strategy Plus - Very nice woods field. Speedball field is lacking. Quality of the paint available to purchase is not that good. They do not have a pro shop just a small trailer where they keep their gear.

Hogan's Alley - very nice speedball fields. Awesome pro shop with plenty of gear. Great technicians. However, I feel they overcharge for membership and day passes.
Review: Matt's Outback is hands down one of the best paintball fields in Connecticut.

The owners, Tom and Brooke, are extremely down to earth, friendly, easy to deal with and very conscientious towards their customers.

They by far have the best prices for memberships and day passes of any field I've played at in Connecticut. They also really go out of their way to make sure their customers are happy. Matt's provides free HPA for members as well as for those who just pay for a one-day pass (no charging extra or per thousand PSI to fill up which is annoying).

Annual membership fees are $100 (which only gets you a 10 day pass at Hogans) and that includes free HPA, access to their fields anytime you want to play (as long as they're open) as well as discounts on paint and gear. They also provide free hotdogs for lunch which is definitely a plus.

The prices on paint and gear are definitely the best of all the fields at which I've played. For example, the same price at which I was able to purchase a crappy case of Empire Ramp from Strategy Plus which came dimpled and deformed the last time I played there, I can get a case of All Stars from Matt's Outback.

On most days Matt's will have at least six to eight different brands of paint to choose from ranging from $40 to $65 per 2,000 round case for members (extra $5 for non-members typically). However, they don't have as much gear for sale in the pro shop compared to Hogan's but they do have a good selection and Brooke can order anything you want and will take good care of you. They provide a lifetime warranty on markers you purchase from them so if it ever needs repairs they'll fix it for free for life, whereas most fields only give you one year.

The quality of the fields is excellent and they've gotten even better over the past year. Matt's has great speedball fields, one of which is an Xball field and the other a seven man field, a tires speedball field, and an awesome woods field with several different sections.

They've really done a great job of upgrading and improving their fields. They put up two new castles in the woods, covered dugouts next to each speedball field which helps with entering/exiting but also acts as shade in the summer time when it's really hot out, and they're in the process of putting up a dome for winter play. It is also the home field for the UConn Huskies paintball team.

Lastly, the quality and caliber of the regular players that frequent Matt's is top notch. Very good speedballers as well as woodsballers who respect the game and each other.

If you're looking for a field that takes care of their customers, has awesome prices for play / gear, and is a ton of fun at which to play then head out to Matt's Outback and check it out.
Last edited on Saturday, January 10th, 2009 at 3:35 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kr3w Saturday, December 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogans Alley which isn't much competiton to MATTS OUTBACK
Directions
to the Field:
Go to www.mattsoutback.com for any information.
Review: So i was playing at Matts Outback Paintball today and it was my first time at this field, I just moved into Conn about a year ago so i have had time to play at other fields around Connecticut like Hogans alley. Well as i drove down the hill i went into a coma when i saw the massive bubble, where the 2 regulation size xball fields were inside. at first i was like thats cool but after playing the the local teams TNN kids and Uconn i realized this was the best field i have ever been at. the enviroment and people are mad chill and cool. The staff is cool and the players are clean. they play a good game of paintball too putting up a good fight every game. I guess Uconn was a two time national xball champion team and TNN kids play PSP world cup and are doing NEPL season. this field is flawless and easliy the best field in connecticut hands down. they have super cheap prices for all gear and piant. not only is their paint/gear/ and entry fee cheap the lunch is free. yea thats right. they offer a free hot dog lunch here. The dome is absalutly sick with the regulation size fields and no poles in the way. You dont know what your missing out on if you dont play at MATTS OUTBACK.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

unicycle1348 Thursday, October 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: October 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
noothing this is the cheapest and best competion
Directions
to the Field:
well there is this turn and then another turn and if you pass the turn you have gone to far
Review: gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo here. i have been going for about 4 years and cant stop going. competion is the best in CT i believe, they have uconn and tnnk and ccsu to practice with. great people and great refs who know there stuff (uconn and tnnk are refs) personally it is the best place ever.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Beanofdoom Tuesday, October 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogans, Providence Paintball
Review: Matt's is by far the best place to play! The staff is awesome!! The players are great too! The proshop is well stocked, FREE gun teching, and FREE hotdogs!! I can't wait for the indoor dome to be up! that will be a major plus!! Come play with us!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dragon_Tom Friday, July 25th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Directions
to the Field:
I-84 to exit 67, follow route 30 to coventry, take left at light and follow to North River rd, take a left onto N. River, turn right onto Riley mountain road, Field at end of road.

Or just follow me and my pals.
Review: This field is a great place to play. The referees are experienced and highly concerned with safety of players and all people who attend this field. Tom and Brooke are great folks, and help with anything they can from travel to funds. They will help support and advise you to the best of their abilities.

The fields are well maintained, and have just been renetted, freshly woodchipped and grass is even being planted on the x-ball field. The woods field is a great place to play with many veteran's and rentals, players are never at a lack of people to play with. The fields are maintained by staff and players so as to guarantee a knowledge of the strategies required for play on the field.

Hours of operation are 10am to 4pm.

Food: Free hotdogs, soda machines on site, slush puppie in the shop as well as hot chocolate, a full selection of snack foods inside the shop.

Players: Players range from first time newbies to veterans with years under their belts and management of scenarios and more. Players are safety minded and willing to step up and help out as much as necessary to support a productive and safe environment for all.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media