paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Matt's Outback Paintball Field / Matt's Outback Paintball Field / Matt's Outback Paintball Field / Matt's Outback Paintball Field

Matt's Outback Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
132Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 860-742-0201
Address: 677 Riley Mtn Rd.
Coventry, Connecticut 06238
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
tcrossen Thursday, July 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: July 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogans, Xtreme, and Airsports. These fields are nice. Any field has pros and cons. The air fill station, field location, and parking are closer and more convienent at Matts
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest it.
Review: Prices are great. Staff is helpful and friendly. Safety is stressed for new players, and veteran players are treated as such. Fields are constantly being improved, as is netting, and grounds in general. Indoor dome is coming. Lots of knowledgeable players. Good place for a rookie or novice team to play. Factory team plays psp events and usually has competitive rotations around cup time. Ive noticed the woodsball is really taking off, and a scenario game is being planned for september. There are many new structures as well as, a two strory fort 75' long. Rentals equipment includes mechanical guns as well as some electronic guns!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

T3H Saturday, June 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Matt's Outback is by far the best paintball field in Connecticut.

Safety: Safety is always inforced. You are always to wear you're gun condom. There is appropriate netting and facemasks are required, and given to you.

Fields: The fields... where to begin... they are excellent! The X-Ball is official and is perfect for advanced players. It is always being used to it's maximum performance. Tires is where I started, it's mighty addicting and always very fun. Great place for beginners/ younger players. Woodsball... It can't get any better. With 2 castles and sooo much woods that you can't see yourt way out, it rocks. The castles are both at least 2 stories tall made of wood that is defenatelly stable. They cleared out ALL of the twigs that get in the way and have sooo manty wood plies, and bunkers around and in the castles.

Hours of Operation: The hours are perfect. It is open from 10am to 3 pm. IF you get there early you are damn right tired and can't last any longer. Perfect.

Prices: The prices are decently cheap. $35 for a low-end rental including everything with free co2 refils and $55 fopr a higher end rental, Ion Proto SLG! Free compressed air and a bag of paint for all!

Rules: The rules are the same as anywhere, you need to be checked under 300 for speed. Field paint only, barrel condoms on etc

Services: Services are $100 for an adult seasn pass, not just a "season" but a full calender year, and $85 for a child (17 and under.) IF you have all gear it's $15 for all day field passes and free co2/air refils.

Proshop:I bought an Ion Proto SLG marker, Extreme Hopper, and a 3000psi air tank from them (Oh and Proto Mask and a Box of Paint)
They range in everything including tippmans, ions, and many other markers and hoppers. Free tshirts!!!!!! Also paint grenaids that work WAYY better than the ones from Dicks Sporting Goods.

Staff: The staff is the nicest people you will meet. They are soo nice they make you feel very welcome. They always repair your gun and look at it and give advice and help you out. Their dogs are nice too! They are so nice that they sponcored a soldier and all of the staff write letters and send care packets to him/ or her.

Refs: The refs are very laid back. Don't get in the way, but keep an eye out for swipers.

Players: It seems like I meet people there every time. They are always nice and tell me stuff on what I need to know.

Facilities: Their places are nice. They hace a nice log cabin where everything you need is, you might find dogs there too ;)

Food: Free Hot Dogs!!!!! Everyday around noon-1pm and I must say as many as you want and they are akwasys very very good. Cheap Monsters, I think $3 or so. It adds up saving 50 cents over and over. Many cheap snacks like slurpies and twix.

Matt's Outback #1!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

deceitfulangel3 Saturday, May 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Franco's Indoor, Final Shot...Matt's is by far better than these 2 fields in my opinion.
Directions
to the Field:
The easiest way is to go with a friend who knows the way, but any map engine will work
Review: My boyfriend was the first person to convince me to visit outback, now I go every chance I get. The staff there is great, the players there are great, the fields there are great! Every player feels at home when they get to outback, whether it's your first time playing or your first time at the field. (Recently my team kidnapped a final shot junkie and now he's addicted to OB!) I absolutely love going to the fields every weekend, even if it's not to play. Helping ref a few matches or coaching people....or even just basking in the sun with the dogs!! Haha. Brooke, Tom, and Matt are amazing people who love to joke around with everyone..of course it's best not to get on their bad side! Sometimes you won't see them much in a day and sometimes you will...most of the time you'll see Brooke running back and forth between the house and the shop and Tom and Matt ripping up the turf on quads. But you'll always get a chance to speak with them. The prices are amazing, the food is good and plentiful, and the employees are great!! I'll be there every Sunday to play!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

07ego*bOnusBall Sunday, April 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only field that I have played at, and that will never change. The Outback is great.
Directions
to the Field:
Either go on Google Maps, Map Quest, Matt's Outback website, or call Matt's.
Review: Matt's Outback is the best paintball field out there, not just in CT. No other fields compare to it. First ill start off by talking about customer service. Like most of the reviews have said the customer service is through the roof. Examples of their customer service can be: If you have any question about paintball someone there knows the answer, they always have techs to work on any gun problems, they have a huge selection of things to buy in the shop and prices are great, and if they don't have a part you need just tell Brooke and she'll order it for you. The people who work there are the best. The Matt's Outback crew is the best there is. There are so many diverse people. First off there is Tom, Brooke, and Matt. They are the owners of the Outback. All of them work extremely hard, Brooke is always in a great mood and greats everyone with a smile. She is always in the shop helping people out with whatever they need, trying to make the Outback experience the best it could be. She is also always making sure that everyone stays in line so that the Outback is always safe. Next there is Matt and Tom, both spend endless hours working on the fields always improving them, making them better for everyone. They are also both techs that are always there to help you with your gun/hopper/tank problems. Next to come is Shane. Shane is a great guy, he is always doing whatever he can to help out around the Outback. Sometimes he is selling people stuff, sometimes he is repairing things, and other times he is out helping with fields. Next is the the best tech at Matt's Wilkey(sorry if I got the spelling wrong your name wrong buddy). There is not one gun out there that he can't fix. Then there is the rest of the Outback crew: Carly, Logan, Jason, Jake, Robbie, and Eddy. Together all of them help out to keep the Outback going. They are all always doing what they can to help out and to keep the customers happy and safe. Next are the fields. Matt's currently has one X-Ball field, a 7-Man field, and tire field, and woods ball field with a huge castle and tower of doom, and the soon to be dome which will house other fields for when it is raining or snowing. The food at the Outback is great. At noon everyday Matt's serves FREE hot dogs. They also have a great candy selection and drink selection with 4 different vending machines. Matt's also has all day FREE compressed air. Matt's is a field paint only field, but that not bad because the paint prices are very good. They also offer memberships which give you great benefits and some discounts. Matt's also has rentals, so if you have never played you can try it. It cost $35 for a rental package, and in the package you get: a Tipman gun with hopper and CO2, pod pack and pods, chest protector, mask, and 500 paintballs. Also you get FREE CO2 refills with rentals. Matt's saftey is also very high, they are a very safe field. They are constantly making sure that everyone is safe. Overall Matt's is a great place to come and play and have a great time. Try it, they offer birthday parties, group events, and much more. Matt's Outback also offers 3-Man, 5-Man, and 7-Man tournaments throughout the season. Thanks for reading~Eddy~
Last edited on Tuesday, April 15th, 2008 at 6:23 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Logan D Sunday, November 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have never ever played at any other field in my life!!! Nor do I want to, this is by far the best field in CT!!!!!!
Directions
to the Field:
Coventry, CT go to Matt's Outback's website for more detailed directions
Review: Well, let me start out by saying Matt's Outback is run,owned,and maintained by mostly Tom,Brooke,and Matt. It is also run by the outback staff and members. They do Birthday parties,rental parties,and even big company parties. They have about 150 to 175 rental guns for people to come and play with. For only the small fee of $35 dollars you get a gun,chest protector,two pods,and pod pack,a hopper,a co2 tank(free refills all day),a proto mask,and 500 paintballs. Talk about a bargain. If you come on Saturday you get in free on that Sunday. Again what a good deal. When you go outside a staff member will come out and tell you all the basic rules of the fields. Which are barrel condoms on at all times when off the field. Masks are on at all times when in the field, no questions asked. Matt's is very strict about safety. And the last and most important rule is to have FUN. You can become a member at Matt's Outback by easily doing three things. Paying a low price of $85 youth or only $100 for adult. Filling out a 2 second form. And taking your picture. That's all you have to do. Some cool things a member gets to do is one, get to play paintball for one year for free. The day you buy it 365 days later it expires. Two, you get a discount on paintballs when you buy it. Three, when you buy anything in the proshop Brooke tries to take as much off as she can to help you out. MATT"S ONLY ALLOWS FIELD PAINTBALLS ONLY. YOU HAVE TO BUY MATT"S OUTBACK PAINTBALLS ONLY.LEAVE ALL YOUR PAINTBALLS AT HOME BECAUSE IF MATT"S STAFF CATCHES YOU WITH ILLEGAL PAINT IT WILL BE TAKEN AWAY. Matt's has three different fields right now. They have a very competitive psp set up speed ball field. Matt's holds tournaments which people come from all over to play in. This speed ball course is a very cool course. They have a tire field that is a blast to play on. And last they have a 17 acre woods ball field. About 2 weekends ago Tom and Matt made a giant castle in the woods. You have to check it out. HOPEFULLY by this winter Matt's is going to offer you something NO PAINTBALL FIELD IN CONNECTICUT can offer you and that is a indoor paintball field. This paintball field is going to have turf. The building or dome I should say is BIGGER than a football field. YOU HAVE TO COME CHECK THAT THING OUT. Matt's Outback Paintball Is open Saturday and Sunday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Matt's proshop has a lot of paintball stuff. If you are looking to buy something and for some odd reason they don't have it in stock just tell Brooke and she will order it and it will be ready for pick up the next weekend. Talk about great service(Brooke we love you)!! If it's cold outside just go into the proshop and warm up. The proshop sells a ton of different great low priced drinks and snacks. MATT"S HAS FREE HOT DOGS AROUND LUNCH TIME. I can tell you no other paintball place does that. FREE COMPRESSED AIR!!! Like I said the staff are great. Brooke keeps the shop running she works all day long doing work work work. Trust me she works hard all day. Without Brooke there would be no Matt's Outback. Brooke greets every person with a smile, if she knows you or not. You have to love Brooke. Trust me Brooke is serious when it comes to rules if you f around you will pay the price, but on the other hand she knows how to have a good time :) Tom works hard to keep the fields in great shape and working on peoples broken guns. Without Tom there would be know one there to make you smile(he has some great jokes). Tom is a really nice guy he is really layed back and is the boss at Matt's. He is a really helpfully guy. On the other hand Brooke told me about this one time where he took a dirtbike and hit a rock and almost landed in the seven man field. The rock was about 300 feet away from the field. Talk about crazy. Matt also works on guns all day and helps out a lot around the place.Matt is a very hard working person. He is nice and friendly and always has a smile on his face. He is a very cool person. I worry about him sometimes because today he used the hose to spray down his 07 ego. He is real smart, that gun will never work again. We have the best tech person that can fix any gun in the world welki (sorry i bet i spelled that wrong :( . He is a cool dude, he is Matt's partner in crime. He can put a dye ultralight frame on a viking talk about skill. He even knows how to use a saudering gun.
Then comes to Shane he is a really cool kid with really cool sunglasses. He has been working there for 4 or 5 years now. He does everything. He can tell the same joke ten times in a row and it will get more funny ever time. Then comes to Jacob. He is 12. I think, you are probably saying to yourself 12, he is useless. WRONG he is everything but that. He is known as the "best garbage man at matt's". He does garbage, sells people whatever, and cleans up the place once in a while. He lives right next door to the outback. Then Robie, he is on Team No Name. Team No Name or TNN is Matt's Outback's home team. Anyway overall Robie is cool and he also does rentals, and sells items to customers. If you come to Matt's and see someone riding on a blue quad doing garbage with Jacob and me, it's Robie. Then this kid named Jason came along. Brooke calls him "slaveboy". He helps around the shop and helps people when needed. Other then that he is probably just riding around on the cart eating sour skittels and drinking a green monster. Then the newest member of the Outback crew is Carly. She is the only girl that works there (besides Brooke). She sits in the shop and sells people everything. She is kind of weird because she thinks bananas have hair on them. Which duh, they don't. But other then that she is a nice girl. As you can see Matt's Outback Paintball is the best Paintball place in CT. So get up and come down to Matt's and get ready to have a blast. Thanks for reading ~LOGAN~ Shane rocks :)
Last edited on Monday, November 26th, 2007 at 4:54 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

nodent Thursday, November 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtreme Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Go to MSN maps and change to Birds Eye view to see the fields.
Review: Rating the following 1 worst to 10 best

Safety 8 ( enforced more so by the players then the staff , but what field isn't?)
Fields 9 ( Speed ball is wood chip based. Woods large, Added a cool new castle, terrain is very rocky )
Prices 7 ( Decent, Free AIR )
Proshop 9 ( TOTAL support from the staff on what ever you buy )
Staff 10+ ( The customer service is through the roof )
Refs 7 ( Not there for every day play,never played an event that needed them but I hear they are fair )
Players 9 (Everyone helps the other, There's allot of people there, with allot of people trust is always an issue )
Facilities 8 ( Running water didn't realize how important this was until I played at a field without it No shade made for hot sweaty days )
Food 8 ( Good veriaty of drinks. Free hot dogs )

The thing that sets this place apart from ANY business is the customer service.
I have never seen service like this in my life.
Any new comers to paintball will emmidiatly feel comfortable and safe to this extreme sport. Example: Last time I was there, I walked out of the proshop, and there was Tom giving a group of new player the run down. Not only did he explain things well, he handed the group off to some regulars. The regulars were very eager to take them under their wing for a fun filled day of paintball.

Matt’s Outback has spoiled me and got me hooked on this sport. Thanks for making my credit card payments higher, Outback. ;-)

Last edited on Saturday, December 1st, 2007 at 7:04 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

darksteel772 Saturday, November 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have not played at any other fields because I didn't feel the need to try any others after playing at matts outback. once you have played at this field you will see why i felt no need to go anywhere else.
Directions
to the Field:
just go to their site mattsoutback.com
Review: Matts outback has 4 fields one is 5-man X-ball another is a 7 man corse which they are growing more grass on, a tires field for begginers and a woods ball field which is perfest for capture the flag games or defend the castle games. They are making an indoor field and are adding more stuff in th woods but I am not sure how many fields or what fields they will have for the indoor corse. Everyone that I have met and played with at matts outback is nice and help me out with things that break on my gun, or if i ask them what paintball marker i should use for my skill level. Also people are always coaching me through the snake or whatever position i need help with and i have definatley got alot better than i was when i first started. I give them a rating of 10 because of the customer service players and everyone i meet their. and you know this is one of the best fields (not trying to put down any fields) because look at how many people posted a review on Matts Outback than the other fields. you should get a group of friends or your family together and go sometime. The x-ball course is always changing around to mach any tournaments like world cup comeing up and matts outback holds both 5-man and 3-man tournaments. and if u r really into woods ball they sometimes hold big games in the woods just go to their website to see when the next one will be held. these is an awsome place to either hang out with your friends or get some practice in. if you dont have a gun but want to try this sport out you can also rent guns. depending on which of the guns the price will change but all the rental packages come with 500 rounds of paint and free air/Co2. they have a rental for speedball woodsball or a cheap one for reck play. if you can get ten friends or family members together and you can play or practice during the weekday. but best of all if you play saturday you get in sunday free.
Last edited on Tuesday, October 14th, 2008 at 5:23 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pointblankpb16 Monday, September 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: September 2nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Strategy Plus, Extreme Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Riley Mountain Road (all the way at the end)
portions unpaved.
Review: Matt's Outback became my field of choice after i went there the first time. They have an excellent enviroment and always great competition. They have 1 regulation X-Ball field (currenty set up is the World Cup 07 layout), One 7 Man field, 1 tires course, and a woodball field with castles and other cool bunkers. They will have an indoor setup by this winter so we can all play all winter.

They are open on Sat and Sunday and also open by appointment. Their proshop carries all of the items you will ever need, and if by some chance they dont have something you need in stock they will not hesitate to order it for you as soon as possible. Prices are very reasonable with cases of paint starting at $55 dollars i believe.

The port-o-potty is gross, but its that is to be expected. They have all kinds of snacks available at the field and give out free hotdogs at lunch time. They recently got a snapple machine in addition to their soda and gatorade machines. The air fill station is located convieniently right outside of the shop.

Their tournaments are always very well run with plenty of referees. They usually hold a tournament every month. They have all kinds of prizes. They gave out E-Teks last tournament and they are giving out PM7's for the upcoming 3-man. Teams travel from all over New England to play the Outback tournaments.

I would recommend this field to everybody in the area, and also to those far away. It is worth the drive. Best field in the area by far.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunker_king1003 Wednesday, May 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 13th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
one of the other fields that i have played at is hogans alley paintball.
Review: The saftey at Mattsoutback paintball is very high. they have 4 fields, and X-ball field, 7 man field, a tire pit and a woods ball couse. Matts out back is open Satudays and sundays from 10 a.m. till 4 p.m. both days. There prices are very good. paint ranges from 50$ a case to 65$ a case for paint. They have a walk on fee of 15$ and FREE compressed air ALL day. They have a proshop that fits everyones needs. Matts outback has FREE hotdogs at noon for everyone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bleedblue Friday, April 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Played at Final Shot in Voluntown, Strategy Plus in East Hampton
Directions
to the Field:
www.mattsoutback.com for directions
Review: Very BIG place with very friendly people and easy to work with...seems as if they are constantly upgrading the place with new things....they have multiple fields and they respect your private parties as long as you are responsible and not a moron....the staff is helpful and they seemingly do not employ any "Rambo" type paintballers who think they know everything, are on a power trip and are condescending toward other players...I played there recently with some adult friends and some older high school kids in a private party and we had a blast.....we played mostly on their woods fields which is very spacious as it stretches out as far as one would want ---- you can play a quick game in their tire field or longer games in the woods complete with forts and numerous places for cover....they also have a nice 'hill' for 'hamburger hill' type games......the pro shop has everything one would need with excellent staff.....Brooke the co-owner was incredibly helpful and nice......prices are great as well......overall we had a great experience, if I had any constructive crticism to provide, it would be to replace the flooring in some of the towers/forts as they are becoming flimsy and somewhat soft.
Last edited on Friday, April 20th, 2007 at 8:22 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media