paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Matt's Outback Paintball Field / Matt's Outback Paintball Field / Matt's Outback Paintball Field / Matt's Outback Paintball Field

Matt's Outback Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
132Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 860-742-0201
Address: 677 Riley Mtn Rd.
Coventry, Connecticut 06238
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
mduggan96 Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
due to the fact that i go to boarding school in NY... this is the closest one to my house so i play here when im home.
Directions
to the Field:
from hartford.....
84 to 384 to 44 left at blinking light, first right to reily mt. rd follow signs.
Review: The people there are awsome! matt fixed my gun free of charge, i showed up with only 50 bucks and the cheepest case was 55... they sold it to me for the fifty and said to go pick up some trash and help make sure barrel socks are on... Sweet deal huh. ive now taken y brother their with me 3 times.. he loves to play woodsball, their course is lots of fun, there are a couple of 2 story forts and plenty of room to play! the tire field is alway exciting and tom said that their indoor air dome should be up by the summer. As i was leaving i realized that there was a leak in my tank reg... so i went back to matt and there was an oblious leak from the nipple fill. we played with if for 20+min till we gave up and he had his dad come look at it. he took it off and installed a brand new one AGAIN FOR FREE!!! i was so happy becasue i didnt have any more cash on me becasue i spent it all on paint( you know we have all been there) any ways i have play on So many differnet fields but for being so close to home and the owners are great i have to give this place a thumbs up!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

doodlemcnoodle Saturday, March 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Matts Outback is a great place to play at. The staff treats every customer with honesty and respect. Theres even free hotdogs in the afternoon which taste great. The paints cheap and its always good quality. Tom and Brooke always keep the bad kids out and the good ones in so theres no problems with stealing or anything else like that.I would not think twice about playing at Matts Outback.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

alex17 Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogans Alley
Review: Matts outback is easly one of the best paintball places in connecticut. Brooke and Tom are very nice and very helpful. Eveyone at the field is always honest and eveyone gets along with eachother. The shop is very good i bought a lot of my stuff from there, plus they will tech your gun if you buy one there for free. The prices are a lot cheaper compared to the other paintball places around CT. The tournaments at matts outback are very good ways to earn prizes and guns for a cheap entry fee. There is no place i would rather play in CT then Matts Outback.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

OnWingsOfLead Sunday, February 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nothing iv been to, compares to Matts Outback. Final Shot was ok back in the day, but this place makes Final Shot look like a baby's backyard. Green Dragons field looks like a toy car compared to this place.
Review: Tom & Brooke are sum of the most honest, straight up people ive met at a paintball store/ field. The way they take care of their field is amazing ,the fields are spectacular, i love the layouts and the expanding courses.

They have the best prices iv seen anywhere, in fact i bought probably 80% if not 90% of my gear from Matts Outback Paintball.

I just registered my team under them and bought the Membership, and i cant complain at all. We're looking forward to doing bussines with them A LOT this season. The membership lets you play any day their field is open, discounted paint, and discounted store items, adn the membership card is no crappy piece of paper, its an actual plastic card with your picture ID, Your name, team Name, Expiration and everything. Very professional quality.

As far as safety goes, their very dedicated on safety, they have full netted areas, and all that basic stuff but whats unique is they rent out protective gear such as chest protectors, gloves, masks etc.
They have food straight from the grill or snacks to buy inside. on the spot Port-o-john, proshop is right there abotu 100 ft away fro mthe field itself, compressed air filling station, chrono area. This place is the tops. And i cant wait for the new Indoor course to be finished.

Overall, this place is the best place to play in the local CT,RI area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bizzy377 Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Strategy Plus (A MORE WOODED FIELD)
Review: First off i would like to say that i have yet to find a place better than Matts outback.... There customer service is outstanding Tom and brooke are so helpful especially for the people who rent. The help out everyone down to your little poor old gun you may have trouble with. There fileds are great!! Tire Concept, 2 Xball fields, A nice woodsball field with 4 towers. And they are in the middle of construction for a inside field.(DOME) I think its going to be 2 Xball fileds not to sure but there spending 250,000 on it so its going to be sweet. I heard there tournaments are nice to i have yet to be in one but im waiting. Go there you wont be disapointed!!!

Cons: Wish they had some refs..... Besides that its a blast!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

beowulf88 Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 31st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at most of the fields in CT at somepoint in time.
Review: The best part of Matt's is the people, both players and staff. Matt's has hands down the friendliest staff around, and the majority of the players at there are also some of the nicest around. Its not like some other fields around where the staff is just kinda there, and might possibly know what your talking about if you have a question, their people, and yes they'll actually talk to you. lol, Matt's is great, its a $15 walkon fee, their paint prices are pretty good, they rent gear and if you have a problem with it you can just bring it to the shop and either get it fixed quick or get replacement gear, aka belt, pods, mask, gun. It is a field paint only field, like most are. Thier paint prices are 50-60 per case. I've been playing at different fields for a while now and haven't really been happy enough with a field to go there repeatedly, but the outback has pretty much become the place to go for me when i want to play. their woodsball course if HUGE, and makes for really good games. I don't play speedball much, so i can't really talk too much about it, other than its their, and i think they have five man and seven man courses. They also have a tire course which is just great. Matt's Outback is IMHO the best field in CT. Just because its hard to find a place that has good people, good games, and did i mention good hot dogs? lol Go to Matt's Outback Paintball, you won't regret it.
Last edited on Monday, January 1st, 2007 at 10:53 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

the nachos Thursday, December 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogans Alley
EPS
Review: In my opinion this is one of the best if not the best in ll of CT. 15.00 entry fee, case a paint 50-60$(field paint only), free air, 1 x-ball, 1 sup airball, tires, woods. Staff is all nice. Great deals on almost everything in store. Free hotdogs. unlike hogans you dont need a ref to play. Just walk on and play. Lots of nice people.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stewbob Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: This is a really great field. Cheap, great deals, and really nice staff. Walk-on fees are $15 and all day fees, with gun set up, chest armor, CO2 refills all day, 2 pods and pouch, barrel condom(required), and finally 500 paintballs. Membership fees are free to walk on, and in shop prices are reduced. To purchase a membership, 14 and younger it's $85 and $100 15 and up. MUST AND CAN ONLY USE FIELD PAINT!!! Bags of paint are $15 and cases are $60, but prices range if your a member. The staff at Matt's is great; free hot-dogs at lunch, when you break an o-ring, they replace it for free, and when you fill CO2, they replace it. Soda, candy...$1, other drinks are $1.50 and $2. Bags of chips are .50. There is a shop right on site too. There are 2 x-ball fields, 1 tire field, and, which I believe, most of their property in the woods, because their house is on site too, not that it matters. Air refills are free and on site. They are open from 9:00 A.M to 4:00 P.M. on Saturdays and Sundays only...which is their only weak-point. They are currently working on an indoor blowup field. I do not know how that will work, with prices and such. SAFETY!!! Most important thing. Always wear your mask on the field, safety your markers, barrel condoms and safety button thingies. The only time you can have your mask off, when on the field is when no-one else is on with you or every ones markers are safety'd, and that's made clear. Members are given a job when made members. They are asked to always impose those rules, on and off the field, and when they notice it. There aren't any refs, so honesty is expected and no wipers. Chronograph, and an on site shop as well. They only have 1 port-o-toilet. SO GO TO MATT's OUTBACK PAINTBALL NOW!!!
Last edited on Sunday, December 17th, 2006 at 1:01 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Amann445 Thursday, November 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogan's Alley
Extreme
Review: Ok let me start of by saying that this is an update to a previous review I wrote. So lets get to it.

First off the location is easy to get to and secluded. Perfect to get away from life for a while and go kick some AR$E.

The Store is great, good selection and if they don't have what ya need, they'll order it for ya. The staff is great, they help ya out and will do anything to make ya happy. A teamate of mine left her cleats ate home this last weekend and the owner Brooke lent her a pair of her own sneakers so that she could play. Where the hell else are ya gonna get service like that? Tom and Matt are knowledgable at fixing markers and will help ya out whenever ya have a problem. Usually they fire up the grill after 1ish and free hotdogs are available for all. The price for entry is really good, especially if you buy the memberships, and paint is priced fairly.

Fields- As of this re-write, there are three working field and a wood's field. You have the wood's field which has some bunkers near the other fields or you can go far back into the woods and play pure woodsball. The tire field is decent and a good place for speedball beginers to play on because the airball fields are usually used by more experienced players. The two airball fields are set up really nicely, not giving either side an advantage, although the lower fields 50 is a bit strange, but thats not a downside really. Matt's is currently in the process of setting up a sport's bubble to put two more REGULATION SIZED Speedball fields!!! The project has taken some time because of the whether but Brooke and Tom expect it to be done anywhere from a week from now to a month, they just have to move a few more things and set the bubble itself up and thats it. According to them its gonna have to regulation sized fields with room to walk around in and a side area for equipment. Definantly looking forward to playing on those fields. Matt's runs tournaments and usually has great prizes for the winners.

Other players tend to be your usual range of great people to jerks, but for the most part they are very nice. There is occasionally some dispute over fields between teams using them for practice and walk on's but its just people being idiots. Central Connecticut, University of Hartford, and occasioanlly Uconn's team all practice here.

So you may be asking, whats the downside? Well only tow, neither of which are really that big. There is no grass on the tire field and one of the airfields, and the other airfield has it here and there. Nothing that will really inhibit ya though. Also you have to keep an eye out in the parking/ equipment area because balls bouncing off bunkers will occasioanlly go over the safety net and rain down, this last weekend I watched as one came over the net, hit the car in front of me, skipped off the roof and hit me square in the chest. Sounds more dangerous than it really is and there's nothing that can be done it happens pretty much everywhere.

Overall this field is amazing, definantly the best in connecticut. Its 30 mins away from me and I still go there over Hogan's Alley which is a mere 5-10 minutes away. Great staff, great gear, Great time. GO HERE!! 10 out of 10
Last edited on Tuesday, April 10th, 2007 at 11:24 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sgt.carman Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played in Cranberry, PA, which is by Pittsburgh.
Review: The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They were ready to assist our group w/ any problems we had. After we were done playing, they had hotdogs cooking on the grill for us. Overall, this was an excellent place w/ varying terrains and arenas. I would recommend Matt's to anyone, and I look forward to playing here again in the near future.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media