paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / FOX Paintball Park / FOX Paintball Park / FOX Paintball Park / FOX Paintball Park

FOX Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
49Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (757)737-3699
Address: 2968 Holland Road
Virginia Beach, Virginia 23454
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
TREYisRAD Monday, October 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Masterblasters
VB Splat
Pirate
Directions
to the Field:
Off Holland near the SPCA and HITT electric
Review: Great field, great staff. On average, 60+ people show up. They now have a hot dog/snack stand. Most food is under $1.50. The woodsball field is the perfect size for the number of players, and they play all types of woodsball games. The speedball field is great for ~5 players, and they change the layout often. I was the first member here, and I have come every weekend since it opened. The refs are good and friendly. There is usually the same group of 20-30 people + 30 or more new players. It is a overall great field, and they are planning expansions in the near future. The expanded parking lot is open, and more speedball and woodsball fields are in the works. The fill station is right next to the staging area, and is convenient. A+ field, you won't be disappointed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jetpballer Saturday, October 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ft. Eustis- bigger, but FOX is getting 10 acres soon
Review: To start off, I would just like to say: FOX ROX! This is by far the best woodsball field I have ever been to.

The staff, for one, were great. The were nice, didnt cuss like some other fields *cough*, and were always willing to help. I had a problem with some of the rental gear, and they fixed it in no time.

The prices there are good, too. $35 will get you everything you need, and $5 will get you a pod pack and 4 pods. I would suggest buying the store paint and paying the BYOP fee ($15).

The games played there were fun. The would never play the same thing 3 times in a row. I was able to squeeze 12 games out of their 6 hours of operarion.

The players are great. Some are military, some are just expert players. They were all nice and would always lend a helping hand.

Again, this field is the greatest. AND they are making another field for Scenerioball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Gore809 Friday, October 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
there is master blasters, and VB splat zone
Directions
to the Field:
they are off holland road
Review: Fox paint ball park located off holland road is a great place to play not only for the experienced player and the beginner i am relatively new to paint ball and on my first time to the field i was definitly stoked on the fact the owner was able to take seconds and walk me around the park and give me a breif breakdown of what was going on, to me that was the selling point and then when i was able to get out there and play the Refs were fair, and if the teams got too uneven they were prompt to fix it. so overall they have a good field and a great shop with good folks running it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MrShush209 Monday, October 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Some other fields close by, have not yet checked them out.
Review:
Fox Paintball
Virginia Beach Virginia

Background:
Although there is a speed-ball court available, I play woods ball only, and thus my comments are based on experiences gained in the bush. I have played this field just three times. In that short amount of time, I have been elated to find such a well-run operation, with a great staff within 20 minutes of my residence. Where have you guys been all my life????!!!


Safety is the standard: barrel condoms off the field, masks on the field. These rules are well enforced, but enforced politely, without making an unnecessary scene.

Prices are reasonable, rental guns and equipment seem adequate, and though I shoot my own guns, I have yet to hear any renters complaining about their gear.

Food is available on site in the form of a good, old-fashioned charcoal barbecue. I have yet to hit it, but it smells great!

The field is well set-up, a little small, but real estate is heck around here, and Fox does great with what they have. There is plenty of good cover, and some interesting little tactical strong points. Mosquitos, bad as they are in the area, are not too bad on the field.

Now to the meat of my review: The staff, and the players.

The staff is courteous, happy to be there working on the weekends, and genuinely helpful. As with most fields I have seen, younger folk are employed. Despite their age, they are professional, focused, and have a good team-thing going. And being young, they are quite energetic when it comes to reffing games; its seldom you have to call twice for a paint-check. Quick story on a couple of these kids(Zack and Andy): I have a high end marker, whose name I won't here utter, that has failed me repeatedly, and did so once again this past Saturday. Seeing me foiled again by my not-so-trusty gun, these two guys were determined to help me out. I tried to play it off, saying I would just use my extra, and they wouldn't have it. They borrowed my manuals, and using their surprising amount of experience with the particular gun-type, worked relentlessly to get the gun back up for over 45 min. In the end, the problem was beyond them, but I was truly grateful. No mention of any fee or payment of any sort was made. In fact, they were quite apologetic, and one offered to let me use his high-end gun in substitute for the day. I don't even know these guys, and have only been there three times! If that's how they treat newcomers, I can't wait to become a "regular"!

The players are of course happy to be there, and seem to be a pretty good crowd. For those family minded folks, profanity is non-existent on the field, and older folks take care not to crush the younger. Of course some of the young hold their own quite well, and the favor seems returned to the older folks who are just coming into the sport. All of that meaning that no one I've seen playing there seems bent on unnecessarily drilling others, when just a few good rounds will do.
There is a good spectrum of experience within the player collective. No matter your experience level, you aren't going to get slaughtered all day, but you won't have a cake-walk either.

Overall, a great experience. Good folks, food, and field. I feel safe to take my mask off out of the nets, confident someone knowledgeable will be there to help if I have technical problems, and happy to play with a group of folks, staff and players, that are worthwhile to be around.

If you pass through the Virginia Beach area, give it a shot. If you live here, then you already know about this place, and I'll see you in the bush.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

vbpaintball2 Monday, August 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
masterblasters- to far away and rude staff
vb splat zone- insanely high prices, terrible reffs
swamp- far away
Directions
to the Field:
holland road, you cant miss it
Review: this is by far the best field i have ever played at, the reff's are excellent at there job and are willing to take hits to check players, they constantly remind players to keep barrel plugs in and masks down and inforce the safety rules very well, not only are they the best reffing staff in the area they are all very good players.

i'm not really into woodsball much but the woodsball field at fox is amazing, it's got everything from brush and twigs to hyberaball bunkers and hot tubs, it's a very fun field.

the speedball field has been up for a couple months and Will just recently added several new bunkers to the field, every weekend the reffs rearrange the feild making it feel like a different field each week. best speedball in the area

the prices are very fair at fox:

- $15 entry fee (includes all day air)
- $40-$52 for paint (depend on type of paint)
- $25 for rental players
- $1.50 for hot dogs
- $1 for drinks


the fox store is also just a little while down the road from the field, and the prices there are just as good as the field, i buy all my parts and equipment from fox paintball and i've never had a problem





in conclusion, fox paintball has fields and game types to accommodate all types of players, the staff is friendly and know what they are doing (reffing and playing), the owner will is very friendly and can help you with any gun problems the reffs cant, he also gets out there and players every once in a while, in my opinion fox paintball is the best run field in the southside area, and the way the field is growing, it has the potential to be the best field in the state, if not the entire east coast.


8/19/06----edit-- i just got back from playing today and the way will had the speedball setup was most like the best hes ever had it, it was the best feild setup fox has ever had
Last edited on Saturday, August 19th, 2006 at 6:25 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bigjayinva Sunday, August 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action town sports, bethel paintball park, splat zone, and the woods all over va and north carolina.
Directions
to the Field:
Interstate 264E exit south independence take holland straight down passed damneck and the field is at your left. you cant miss it. only if your not looking.
Review: Whoa ! I went today to go visit the owner and man the field looks awesome. they are getting ready for the big woods ball tourney, and you guys have to go there and check it out. the place has like 10 acres to play in with forts, atms, submarines, a tank, and a whole bunch of more cool stuff to duck, hide, run around for cover. It looks so awesome in there. i am not kidding when I say that I have been to every woods ball field in these parts and This by far is the best place. it looks like a little d-day in there. I cant wait to hit it up and go play. If you are looking for more info look up there website and call them up. They are very helpful and family oriented. There is food at the field and the store is not to far away if there is a part you need for an emergency. The store is just 10 minutes up the same road the field is located on. Come on come all. I guarantee that you will love this place.
Last edited on Thursday, May 24th, 2007 at 5:26 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

..!..('_')..!.. Wednesday, July 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None. PBX in PA... Not as good
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest it lazy bums!
Review: This is a Great feild with stuff for everyone... I got there at 9:00, right when it opens. It was just me and 15 Refs. I sat for 30 minutes, until one ref decided to chalenge me to a 1 on 1. I accepted, and it was his friends, I guess,Ion versus my Trilogy Pro. I got Him right off the break, and he wanted another go at me. I went, and the Fool Tried to bunker me. I showed him whats up and gave him 5 to the chest. After that Embaresment, more people came around 10:00. We started 2 on 2 on the speedball feild. It was really fun, and more people came. We split up in 5 on 5 for Speedball, and the rest could play their half decently sized Woodsball course. It wasnt bad. Airball was small, only like 10 bunkers. Its pretty cheap, $30 if you bring your own Paint. All the Refs are nice and helpful, even if they suck at Paintball. And a lot of regulars go there, and one is a Medic, which was good when one kid overheated from overdoing it. He helped him and called the ambulence. Thats great to have around. If your there, challenge the Ref and youll for sure kick his arse...
Last edited on Monday, August 14th, 2006 at 7:14 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

monkeytroy Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Master Blasters - Speedball only.
VBSplatZone - Speedball only. Expensive for everything.

Directions
to the Field:
http://www.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&q=2968+Holland+
Road,+virginia+beach&ie=UTF8&ll=36.78248,-76.071568&
amp;spn=0.016773,0.043259&om=1
Review: I have only been there once, but this field is great. The staff was everything that these other reviews have said, helpful, friendly and competent. The refs are on the ball with paint checks and they cover the field more than adequately. I was never in need of a paint-check that there was not a ref ready to do so.

The field itself is a woodsball field, though by now their speedball field should be up and running. However, to say that it’s a woodsball field and not elaborate is a bit misleading. The field is in the woods. But there are more bunkers on that field than any ‘woodsball’ field that I have played on before. Almost all underbrush has been removed leaving the field with a woodsball/speedball field feel, to me anyways. If you enjoy speedball, then you will still have fun on this field. If you are a sniper, however, you may not as there is not a whole lot of ‘natural’ field left.

The only inaccurate part of any review I read is that all the food and drinks are 1$ each. They were a bit more when I went, but still cheep.

Great field! I plan on making Fox field my main playing field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

vosheljm Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Holland Rd, cross Dam Neck......just past SPCA
Review: I found the field to be great. The refs allow one on one games in between team games if you ask. The people that ran the field were very helpful and friendly. My marker was leaking air at one point and the field owner fixed it for me in two minutes. Overall I had a lot of fun, the other players there new eachother but welcomed me in like I was one of them!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cullcb Monday, June 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ft eustis (a.t.s.), swamp, new kent paintball, splat brothers paintball.
Review: I found the staff to be very friendly, helpfull, and well knowledged about the sport. They excell in the area of customer service where some other fields in the area fall short. I played the field before their official grand opening, so food services were not available at that time, however I hear they are working on that. The refs I found to be fair and knowledgable about the game. Safety was always a number one concern with the staff yet they are not so overbearing as to spoil the fun. When I played I met players with a wide range of skill from beginners to very experienced players. I did feel that the field is a bit on the small side compared to the other fields I play. A member of the staff told me that they are trying to buy the surrounding property to expand, though. That being said I think it is an excellent place for a beginner to learn the sport and for the advanced player to hone his or her skills.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media