paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Conquest Paintball Park / Conquest Paintball Park / Conquest Paintball Park / Conquest Paintball Park

Conquest Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
122Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (818) 503-7627
Address: 15112 Sierra Highway, Santa Clarita, CA 91390
Santa Clarita, California 91390
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
currahee474 Saturday, November 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 5th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sc Village (Sort of)
Tombstone (sort of)
Hollywood Sports Park
Review: The first time i went to Conquest was 2 years ago and it was my first experience. I didn't really know what was going on and i was with a private party and i was just there to have fun. After that i really got into paintball and have been coming back ever since.

Pros-

Close to surrounding Tujunga, Pasadena, San Gabriel Valley areas
Fields are quite interesting especially Vietnam which is my favorite
Most of staff are really nice
2 chrono stations
They sell cold drinks and candy and a hot dog stand comes around lunch time
Not to crowded usually
Refs 9 times out of 10 do a paint check when u ask
You get a lot of playing time in

Cons-

Limited number of fields-4
Fields are quite rocky especially River
There is one ref who is a jerk and is quite rude and he thinks he knows everything and is better than all of us (which may be true but don't be such a jerk)-one certain incident that pissed me off was his buddy was playing and the ref was telling him where the other players were.....very unfair and unsportsmanship like
Hot dog stand that comes only sells hotdogs
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SupS Sunday, October 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Have not played any other local fields as of this time and compared to my over-all experience with fields this one seems to be a good mixture of natural environment and bunker design.
Review: This is a field both good and fun for the expert and the new blayer.

Reasons to go:
-Nice location near Los Angeles and adjacent
-Serious and Interesting Fields with an emphasis's on fun
-Good staff intent on providing their best service for the sport
-Players that show up to play here are some of the best to play along side
-Realism that is life changing, unless, you are a pro skydiver

Areas of concern:
-The grounds for the speed-ball need to be meticulously manicured to allow more advanced movement and techniques
-Out-of-Bounds lines are not clearly marked on all of the fields
-Rocks in the parking lot sure why not nit-pick a little bit

RECOMMENDATIONS
-Raise the speed-ball off the ground with dirt mounds or synthetic matting
-Fence the SAFE area from the fields and not the field from the lot (adds shade)
-Have a designed pump only air ball field (speed ball closest to lot)
-Turn Vietnam into a defense map with a fortification in the center.
-Check in-out rental markers per round to provide additional service to the gear and to the customer (maybe just maintain the hopper as rental proof)

The new player will learn and understand that the terrain plays the most important factor in the game engagement.
The expert will learn new respect for the game and the players, who without, the sport would no longer be.

CONQUEST PAINTBALL has the makings to be the best and is the must place to ball in the area for the sport.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Bunkering2O05 Thursday, October 27th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest
Fields of Fire
PB USA
SC Village
Tombstone
HSP
Review: This field went from great to just okay.

This field is my favorite field to play paintball. They worked to do alot for players. The refs were fair, honest and consistent and the price is right.

But then another field opened about 20 minutes North and Conquest is now just okay.

Not in comparison to the new field, but in comparison to itself from two months ago.

The refs have transitioned to a less mature, controlling and angry core of refs who think strict rules needs to be enforced with yelling at people and sounding 'tough'. Wheras the former refs, Sonny and Dave, were able to control the games, control the players when they needed to, and ENFORCE the rules without making a player feel stupid or even, most importantly, make players feel wrong or hesitant to walk on the field again.

The owner and his son have alot of influence on holding back the progress of the game by instilling a NEW STRICT POLICY that there is NO RAMPING for electro guns.

Is this stupid? Is this going to drive other players like kids who just bought an expensive marker so they can use all the cool features like ramping to another field? Yes. Probably.

I don't mind shooting my marker with ramping off but to be told its against the rules I'd rather go somewhere else. I like the fact that other players who can't walk their trigger at 15BPS can actually shoot at 15BPS with ramping. It makes the game more challenging and also makes the games more even.

It takes away from the great experience that a young or new player might have if he or she can shoot 15bps at some 'expert' shooting back at them with no ramping at 20 bps.

The reason this new STRICT rule or policy is in place is because the owner's son got bonus balled in a game and cried to daddy.

Just last week he was asking daddy to split up the games between newbies and experts.

I was a newbie. I have been bonus balled. I loved the fact that I was on the field with experts shooting at me. I play with newbie's all the time. They don't seem to complain, especially when you help them do things like move, target or sit back.

It's unfortunate that the owner has to bend down to a kid who 'cant take it'. I mean, this is paintball. Last I heard, there's no crying in paintball. At least that's my philosophy no matter how many times I get bonus balled as I run down the lane in speedball.

THERE'S NO CRYING IN PAINTBALL.

A better rule would be to cap the BPS at 15. Who cares if it ramps or shoots auto if its capped at 15. It'd be even all the way around. But to say NO RAMPING is just ridiculous when some tournament rules allow ramping as long as it is capped.

One final note... I've played with several females. They've gotten hit. They've been bonusballed at times. You know what.. They take it like men.

So in closing... MAN UP if you want to play the game.

Looks like I'll be going to other fields more often now and its unfortunate.

A field is only as good as its management. And from what I hear... one of the good old Conquest refs is managing another paintball field 20 minutes North of Conquest.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

epicsaga Monday, October 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
better then CPP, worse then Tombstone.
Review: overall 6 out of 10.
Pros-small, friendly, good prices, great rental gear, pretty surroundings, fields are OK.
Con, not enough refs or games, refs are regular players that jump in and out of the games. refs do not wear REF jerseys, just regular clothes. The owner and his son play and ref at the same time-conficlt of interest. Only one walk on game is played at a time.
The field is not in glendale or north hollywood, its on forest land close to sylmar.
Worth going to if you're in the area. Not worth a long drive.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

D@n!X Saturday, October 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollywood Sports park, SC Village
Review: It was a blast. $30 for all day with gas. The speedball place was ok for noobs like me, but not if you plan on sliding due the giant rocks the size of my foot. This was the first pay field I've ever been to and came here because the place seemed pretty laid back (when I checked the reviews) when compared to Hollywood Sports park and SC Village reviews. They only have 3 fields, but it was cool because I'm new and couldn't ask for much more. They have a cool bamboo woodsball area that would have been much better if I had my friends, but I was alone and ended up walking into a noob-bush a couple of times. I learned my lesson and I would definitely go back if I'm ever in the LA area again.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

takman111 Wednesday, October 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Island, CA Paintball park
Review: They have 4 fields. A speedball which I've never played. The 3 woods fields are 3 different sizes so that's cool. One filed, "Vietnam" has a load of bamboo forest with paths running through, it's my favorite.

There's a small booth that sells paint, air, batteries, and snacks. I had a problem with my Autococker last weekend and one of the staff fixed it for free. I bought him lunch anyways.

There's usually 1 or 2 people reffing a game for walkons. It's a smaller park compard to the others, but its closest to where I live and the staff is cool. I recommend it.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mentalmonkey10 Monday, September 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
something else, i forgot the name.
Review: One of my friends took me and a few other people there, i was sort of woried, because i didn't have many experiences with fields, and the last one that i went to everyone had superstocks, at least. Well, i got there at about nine, and there is quite a line for tickits, but it provided me just enough time to "put together" my gun and get it cornoed. The enterence fee was relitivialy cheap, only $20, and it is BYOP... Yey! I thought that a lot of people would have "good" guns, well i have went about 6 times, and i saw one Naughty Dog Timmi, an Angel G7, a DM4, a DM5, 2 Proto Matriks, 2 Superstocks, a Karnivor, a Bushmaster, and a lot of Phantoms(got me into pump.) That is just an estimate. It isn't that bad going with people with good guns, there are so many people renting it really dosn't mater, and a lot of them don't know how to work, let alone aim, their $1,000 guns. People with the pumps though, live for this place. Most of the fields are long range sinario ball, that require a lot of stealth and accuracy. I am not going to mention the fields, because there are already many people commenting them, just read up on those. All i am going to say is that this field rocks, but it is hot, so don't wear heavy clothes. I just wear my Paintball Junkies pants, and a shirt. Also to ask for an airball game, ask one of the refs after a game, usually they let you. They also change the fields most days. Last time they added like 8 bunkers on Vietnam, and they are constantly changeing airball. I love this place!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

travis_2004 Thursday, September 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I'm pretty new to paintball out here in california I played back in iowa and I didnt have to go through all this crap of paying $20 to use a crappy field I would go play down by the river with a group of people and it was cool! I went to this place in north hollywood Conquest Paintball. It was the worst place I have ever been to! the people were not friendly, it says paved road when you get there its dirt so your car will get dirty! overall my experience was nothing but negative at this field! I do not recommend going there!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

CSplayer Thursday, August 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollywood Sports- haven't been there
PBUSA- haven't been there
Proving Grounds- completely different since indoors, but less safe I suppose
Review: Pros:
4 fields- Tournament, River, Speedball, and Vietnam
Friendly Staff
BYOP
Relatively cheap paint if you buy, not the best but whatever
Do it yourself chrono
No really long waits except beginning
Refs help everyone, get people off the field safely when shot, and have walkie talkies

Cons:
Expensive refills? I payed $4 for 20 oz. Co2, no all day air. That's more than I normally pay, but I don't know.
Do it yourself chrono- I was shooting over 300 when i checked, but no one came over when the alarm went off...I mean, I did fix it, but who's there to stop you?
Lack of 'real' facilities like bathrooms (didn't bother me but I don't know about everyone else)
I think that's it, maybe also the fact they only play Vietnam once...

Okay, so when I was first going there, I had no idea what to expect. A lot of the reviews made it sound different, so I was open minded. I was a little surprised when I got there at 8:30 in the morning by how empty it was, but that was soon to change. I was also wondering why there was only one little shack thing but that had everything except food. So it seemed pretty nice. My friend and I chronoed our A-5s but my other friends were renting...after a long (and I mean pretty long) wait, when there were then a ton of people there, we were told the rules and other general stuff. Then my other 2 friends got their rentals- Spyder Xtras without the safetys on them. Oh well, better than nothing. It was then finally time to play.

The games I played were all 2 game capture the flag matches, but no one really 'captured the flag' per say, just shot each other. Also, half the walk-ons get bands and the others don't-those are your teams for the day (don't worry, you can generally be with your friends).
The first field we went to was the 'Tournament' field, which was basically a huge speedball field with sandbag, stick, spool, and bamboo bunkers. It was very cool, but also over very fast. After the first round was done, we switched sides and played again. It wasn't too bad, even though we were killed.

The second field was 'River'. It was basically a flat area with huge bamboo on one side and some little bunkers on the other, with flat sand everywhere else. Not my cup of tea. We started and almost immediately were pummeled from all sides by the other team. My thoughts- "Well then, we'll destroy them next round." No way. We ran forward as fast as possible and were still flanked from these mysterious side passages, and killed shortly thereafter. Crap.

Third field- 'Speedball' (I think that's what they called it...). I don't think walk-ons play here, seeing as I didn't and no other walk-ons did. But I don't know. All I know is that one end faces in between Tournament and River and since there was no fence or anything we were being hit by flying paintballs, even though it was a ways away. Kind of funny I suppose.

Fourth and final field- 'Vietnam'. My definite favorite. It's past the Tournament field and hidden back there, although it is a huge course. One side where the ref leads you out on is just sand in a long strait path, with about two bunkers. But then he explained that it went about 60 or so yards lengthwise as well. Which appeared to be solid bamboo. But not quite- throughout the bamboo were all these tunnel structures and passages. Interesting, yet somewhat nerve-wracking. So we started, and played defense, which actually worked, even though our side gradually dwindled as they advanced. We prevailed, though. We switched sides, and this time about 8 (of maybe 18?) of us ran down one passage close to the other side and held it. Until, of course, a person came down the path and sat down. My one friend asked band (confirm team), and he proceeded to shoot us. However, some poor younger kids backed up after being shot and backed into another line of fire, thu being lit up again. This proved how cool the field was, and showed how stealth and carefulness matter.

After a long walk off, we played some more Tournament, and then proceeded to skip River to eat and play Vietnam one more time. But guess what? No more Vietnam for you. Only once a day. Play Tournament again. Ummm okay then. So we played again, and were basically out of paint, and left. Seemed to be a fun day. Except the fact that it was HOT. That's what water is for...

Conclusion:
Great park. Very few flaws, and very fun play. I'd go back whenever, but maybe when it's a little cooler...
9/10 seeing as how I don't think any park is perfect.
Last edited on Thursday, September 1st, 2005 at 10:34 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ultimatesniper5 Thursday, August 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sc village, hollywood sports park. i like conquest better than hollywood but im not sure about sc village, ive only been there once.
Review: The scenario play is awsome, everybody is nice and u can use your own paint. Refs are real cool. Only $20 entrance. Paint grenades are allowed, hee hee. Ive played here a few times and it is always fun. There are 3 scenario fields and 1 airball. The refs try to keep games safe and people from getting hurt.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media