paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Conquest Paintball Park / Conquest Paintball Park / Conquest Paintball Park / Conquest Paintball Park

Conquest Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
122Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (818) 503-7627
Address: 15112 Sierra Highway, Santa Clarita, CA 91390
Santa Clarita, California 91390
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
benz0rs Wednesday, October 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Umm I forgot the names...
Review: I'll get right to the point:

Pros:
Own paint
The refs are cool and makes sure that everyone is playing safe. (i.e no full auto, under 280, and such.)
All the basic neccesities of a field

Cons:
No speedball... Very big fields which is a pro and con in a way.
No ALL DAY AIR. that other reviewer that said all-day-air is a liar. You pay $4 for refills on co2/nitro.

The only thing that ruined my day was the 2 workers over there. They played with us and were really annoying. They kept trying to command us and stuff when we're trying to PLAY. So if any of the workers are reading this, it was the guy with the yellow jersey and a red jerseyed guy. They were total f**gots and everyone in our group hated them.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Wildwex Tuesday, October 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village (Corona, CA) - very diverse set of themed fields, good amenities
PaintBallUSA Close Encounters (Newhall, CA) - great hilly field, offers a 3rd dimension for play, huge field!
Review: I visited Conquest Paintball for the first time last Sunday (10/3/2004) and I was pleasantly surprised to find another well-managed field operated by a well-trained staff.

STAFF
Upon arrival, the staff conducted a morning orientation to ensure that everyone was familiar with the rules of play at Conquest. When I checked in at the paintbooth, all questions were answered by courteous, well-informed attendants. During play, refs were on the ball, ensuring that everyone clearly understood and practiced elements of safe play. During ensuing fire-fights, refs took care to ensure that a safe distance was maintained between opposing players and executed paint checks often to ensure play was fair. Overall, my experience with the service provided was excellent.

FIELDS
I played on three separate fields. All of them were well-maintained and fairly clean. While the terrain was a mix of some rocks and some sand (Welcome to California!), and fields contain an ample number and variety of bunkers - lots of places to hide for snipers - lots of room for strategy and/or team play! Additionally, I understand that two netted airball fields will be installed soon.

PLAY
Play was fast-paced, offering 2 back to back games enabling teams to play 10-15 minute games before switching sides and firing again. Refs executed very well, ensuring fair play, paint checks, and marker FPS (feet per second) checks as needed.

AMENITIES
Currently, Conquest does not offer a self-service compressed air station, however, I received a prompt email response to my inquiry suggesting that it such a station and trailer will be available in the next few weeks. Excellent! Regarding food/snacks/water, I did notice a small cart vendor but I didn't visit it since I bag my own lunch. There were several porta-potties on-site. Parking was plentiful and in close proximity, in case one desires to make multiple visits to your vehicle.

FEES
Since I've played a couple of fields over the years as a self-equipped player whom uses compressed air; pricing was consistent with other fields and reasonable.

SUMMARY
Will I return to this field? Absolutely. I had a great time, I made new friends, and I enjoyed honing my skills here at this well-run facility.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rkim210 Wednesday, September 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village, PB USA Simi, Proving Grounds, Hollywood Sports

Review: Pros - Good Scenario/Woodsball fields
Refs are cool and do their job
Sitting areas have shade
All day air is cheap
Bring your own paint
Back to back games

Cons - The manager (the chubby dude with the brown hair) is a sarcastic, rude, inconsiderate hater who talks a lot of bad remarks about customers who just come to play and have fun. He ruined my whole teams day w/ his cockiness and sarcasm.
Fills are only to 2000~2500 psi
1 bathroom (porta potty)
The road to the field is really bumpy and can scrape the bottom of your car, unless you have a truck or an suv.
They're not open everyday... just on Sat. or Sun., unless you have a large private party.
No Airball fields...yet (I e-mailed a guy and he said that they will have it soon.

For now... I will give this field a 6, because the manager can ruin your day (2 points), the fills (1 point), and no airball fields (1 point)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

COTN Wednesday, August 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB USA - i prefer this field over conquest because I love the large hily field.
SC Village - The best field I have gone to so far.
Fields of Fire - Alright. I love their speedball field
Review: I have been to this field 2 times, 1 time I rented equipment and the 2nd time I brought my own. I have been paintballing for a couple years now and Conquest was the first paintball park I ever played at. I choose this park because of it's proximity. I rented equipment year just over a year ago and I must they, they were the worst rental equipment I have used. And there is no way paintball splatter should be able to pentrate the goggles and into your eyes. It happen to me. Anyway, that was last year and the last time I went (August 8, 2004), they have made big improvements on their rental equipment. They have newer spyders like the Spyder Xtra. I however brought my own equipment.

Pros:
1. Games -You get to play many games because the turnaround games are quick. No delay.
2. Cost -$20 to play all day for self - equip : $35 for rental players + cost of paint.
3. Paint - BYOP - bring your own paint even if you rent equipment from them. If you buy paint from them, it is $60 for case of some good quality paint. (No junk).
4. Staff -Referees are very good and professional.
5. Chrono - Chrono is not mandatory at this field. They bestow the responsibility of the player to chrono themselves (280 or below). However, if the refs feel that you are shooting hot, they will pull you aside during the game and chrono you. You will be given a warning. If they keep catching you shooting hot, you will eventually be kicked off the park.

Cons:
1. Facility - There are only 2 Port a Potties. No Running Water. My biggest gripe is THERE IS VERY LITTLE SHADE. If you play here at 85 degree or higer weather, you can't last all day without somekind of shade. First time I played, it was 85 degree weather and it felt hotter than that. There is something about that field that makes it feel like 10 to 15 degrees hotter. The second time I played, It was around 92 and I brought my own shade. It helped a lot to try to keep us cool in between games, but it was still GOD DAMN hot and my friend agrees. PBUSA and Fields of Fire have natural shade on their fields which made a big difference for the temp on the field.
2. Food - They had no drinks or snacks the 2nd time I played. They did the first time.
3. Location - It was difficult to find at first.
4. Fields - My second biggest GRIPE are the fields. They are nice to play on at first, then you will get tired of the way there fields are laid out. There are a lot of rocks at bunkers. There is a lot of crawling and popping your head up back and forth to see over the bunker is becomes tiresome and boring.

I give this field a 7 because the Conquest feels like an inferno even if it is a Sunny Southern California 85 degree weather. You can not last all day without somekind of shade. The prices and referees are good. The fields are fun at first, then it gets to the point where they become annoying and boring because of the field lay outs.

At PB Usa close encounters - they have a special for rental players $35 for all your equipment, including gun, mask, 500 rounds of paint, pods to carry your paint. However, they only have 1 main field for walk ons and sometimes open their 2 smaller fields down the road. Make sure you bring lock so you can use their lockers otherwise you will be walking back and forth up the hill from the field to parking lot. There is plenty of shade there.

At Fields of fire - The fields are alright. They are less strict about the rules. Players are apparently allowed to have the goggles off while on the field. I found this quite disturbing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NstyImplseFreak Wednesday, June 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ISWG (No longer around that's how long ago)
SC Village (Like 15 years ago)
FOF (Maybe 13 years ago)
Urban Quest (Long time ago)
Conquest (when it first opened)
Review: This was my first field I've played on in a very long time!!! It was the first time to play with an electro marker as well. I'm definitely hooked.

The appearance of the park is bare bones when compared to SC Village but I didn't come to sit in the shade or eat or even shop. I came to play and that's what mattered.

And based on that and only that... I LOVED IT! The fields were full of action, it was fast paced and the refs were on top of it. Go early and listen to the rules so you won't cry when they tell you not to dry fire in the parking lot or kick you out of a game when you shoot over their 280FPS rule. I suggest the refs should do orientation twice a day at least so the late comers know what's expected of them.

I like that we played back-to-back games @ 10 and 15 min each... The breaks were about 15 minutes and if you were too tired, just sit out a session and go back later. The park is open till 4 so that's more than enough games to play for your twenty.

The players were friendly, the refs were helpful, and the price was the average going rate.

Yes, it was hot and there wasn't much shade, but next time I'll just bring a lawn chair and my own shade and kick back.

It would be nice if they put in a decent shop, shaded areas and created more of a recreational park atmosphere. I believe that's the way Paintball should be going. With where Conquest is located (close to players who live in LA) I can see them running games on all four fields at once, several times a week and banking on the LA crowds. They should take advantage of that.

If owners go that way I can totally see big $$$ in the future. But even if they don't go that direction they'll still draw a at least two full walk-on teams on the weekends. 30 vs 30 in scenario games ain't too bad... just gives you more guys to shoot at!

The only thing I noticed was that people were more concerned with getting kills instead of working together to capture the flag. Some of the 'pros' or 'veterans' of the game should step up and bark some serious orders to all of us with some basic strategy before the countdown. They could do this on or off the field. Designate yourself as a leader and step up. Maybe the refs could designate a few regulars to do this. It'd give the new players or younger players a sense of purpose on the field instead of just hiding hoping not to get hit. It'd create more return visits from beginning players as well. It's all about promoting this Xtreme sport to the people who haven't caught the bug!

I enjoyed this field and will return several more times in the future.

re: Chronograph - I was chronographed once on the field and I saw the ref chorno several players throughout the day so I don't know why anyone is complaining about other players cranking it up. If you feel someone is hitting 300FPS tell a ref!

Field Rating = 8/10
Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 3:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

hyeteck Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Field of Fire
Paintball USA
Review: This field isn't good at all. First of all no shade at all. This causes people to feel very tired and down between games most of the time. Refs are not good at all. They help out their buddies alot on the field by giving away the oppositions positions. I don't see what the point of having 4 fields is if you are only gonna play on only 2 fields. I would recomment Field of Fire over this field. I talked to a couple guys on the field and they didn't like the field either. The staff in the booth are helpfull but the refs are horrible. Parking is impossible if u don't get their early. They don't check your FPS before entering the field so some people crank it up to over 300 fps and do some serious damage. Horrible field all in all. Go to field of fire, its better.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

sev_civic Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
California Paintball
Paintball USA
Fields of Fire
Review: These fields were the most unenjoyable fields i have ever played. There are 4 fields and we only kept on playing 2 FIELDS!! i so wanted to play vietnam! But they only could play that field in the morning because anytime later, rattlesnakes come out.. how freaken save is that!!?? Also, the fields dont have too much high cover.. u have to crawl around the whole time on rocky surfaces. The people in the cot that ran the place were cool and helpful, but when they went on the field to ref, they were obviously helping out their friends by giving them the location of the opposing team! I was like what the ####??? And they have false advertisement on their website.. It states that it is 5 dollars for all day c02 refill!! BULL! it cost from 2-4 bucks EACH FILL! luckily i had a 20oz and only had to refill it once. They do have drinks and chips now. So that is a plus. There is no shade WHATSOEVER.. except when u go on the field and get under the brush. We had games of 40 vs 40! wayyy freaken crowded. All in all my experience at this place was very unsatisfactory. The refs even made fun of some of the players... such asses. I will never go back to this field again. All my friends were not satisfied with this field also. The other players on the field were AWESOME! i had a great time talking and playing with some of the people there, but this review is about the field, not the players. I give this place a 3!!! blahhh
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

joe"pyscho" Saturday, June 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollywood sports park, PBUSA close encounters, Field of fire
Review: Ok i just went there today and the first thing i noticed was that is was GHETTO, but looking past that, it was great. Friendliest staff and people ive ever met; i snuck up on a guy with a dm4 and shot him and he got all pissy and cried about it and make an excuse...lol i understand cause he got shot by a newb, but anyway, great fields, nice people, reasonable prices, but not so good of a rotation of field. So here is the PRO CON list...

Pros:
*Friendly people; these refs can do their job and do it right; u call a paint check and they're on it like a fat kid on cake
*4 fields; tourny,river,ghetto, and vietnam(didnt play there) with cool bunkers like tires and spools and sand bags, as well as natural barriers and its all FLAT!
*good prices
*lots of games; you play 2 games bak2bak so u get to play on both sides each time
*free o-rings(no biggie)
Cons:
*not enuf shade
*loose dirt
*Dont rotate fields enough
*i went there on a hot day and all you need to do is drink lots of water.
Cons are no biggie but this field is great and i recomend it on a COOL day, for God's sake dont go there when it's hot without water. i give 8 or 9
Last edited on Monday, October 11th, 2004 at 5:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lnunn Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fields of Fire, Santa Clarita- Only two fields, enormous hills.
Review: Have been to Conquest 3 times, it keeps getting better.
Best in SoCal.

Pros

Very helpful website full of good info, tips and hints.
Good prices on air and paint(which is top quality btw)

4 fields :
-Vietnam- lots of cover, good bunkers, plenty of bamboo tunnels.
-Tournament-lots of wide open spaces make for exciting games, though
cover is more than adequate.
-Riverbed- Has a good mixture of flat terrain and tree cover, with plenty of
sand bag bunkers and spools.
-Ghetto- My favorite, I love speedball fields. It is the perfect size.
They are in the process of adding another speedball field, both with netting.
Can't wait!

Staff
What can I say?
-Dave Bassman, the owner, does a great marketing job.
-Nathan, nice job with the helpful refereeing, especially for the rookies.
Very fair, but will call you if you are being stupid.
-But it may be worth going to Conquest just for the lovely Calais, she does a really
helpful job in the booth. Nice work Calais.
-----------------------------

Cons

Needs more shade.
-----------------------------
I'll be going there for many years to come.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

PanterA Saturday, May 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB USA/Simi, FOF(Moved?), CPP,
Review: I have been to this field several times. And I always leave at the end of the day with no regret from coming. There facilities may need some attention but overall it is a great place to just paintball.

They have 4 fields. No Restrooms (Just porta Potties).

Pros:
-Entry Fees are normal price.
-Paint isnt outragiously overpriced
-Most the staff is knowledgable
-Most of the Refs do a good job
-Friendly atmosphere
-Good Fields
-Games get going fast / My Favorite :)

Cons:
-Limited Parking space( More people are starting to come here, parking gets hectic, Come Early!)
-No Shade
-Porta Potties
-Lots of people means, lines, waiting for games and people to get there act together (Not parks fault I guess)
-No real cronoing / you could go all day without cronoing
-Noticed some players were the refs friends and got to play with there own "Rules" , didnt have to start with us "paying players" . They would blantinly object to have to stand with everyone else. I watched it happen right in front of me. I dont appreciate people not abiding by rules, that I and everyone else are following.

Overall I am happy with this field. And I plan on attending again and again. Things could be changed to fields and overall establishment to make it one of the best out here.

8.5 - Sorry spell check isnt working for some reason.
Last edited on Saturday, May 22nd, 2004 at 10:28 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (13):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media