paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Warplay Paintball Field / Warplay Paintball Field / Warplay Paintball Field / Warplay Paintball Field

Warplay Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
63Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 703.727.0271
Address: 30067 Constitution Highway
Rhoadesville, Virginia 22542
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Chriz13IONZ Thursday, December 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs @ Ag leesburg
Review: This was my first time playing at Warplay.i thought it would be way different.but it wasnt.field fee was reasonable and so was all day air fee.Every Ref that worked there was nice as can be and can help u out alot.i never had to worry if anygear was going to get stolen because some of the refs watch the gear bags for.i thought this was a great field.I like the way they set up the woodsball fields to.i think the price of the paint is pretty reasonable sice they sell pretty good paint. All in all i would go again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Randymaclax Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pev's @ AG ( Disorganized, no refs)
Total Eclipse Paintball (Too limited in scope)
Powerline Paintball (garbage fields, poor refs)
Paintball Authority (Too much speedball emphasis)
Splatbrothers ( Good fields, good for big scenario games)
Directions
to the Field:
www.warplaypaintball.com
Review: I have played at Warplay about 10 times now, and I am just now getting around to writing a review. Well, I'll give you the bottom line first: Warplay paintball is the best field in Virginia. Period. In my 8 years playing paintball, I have played all over this state, at some bad fields and at some good fields, and Warplay paintball blows them all out of the water. The owners, Tor and Gunny, two former Marines, have created a singularly unique field in the paintball world: a field that necessitates tactics, skill and teamwork over how much paint you can sling in a second, while still giving you almost continuous contact with your opponent. Short (less than 4 minutes, usually) reinsertion times provide a target rich environment, while allowing you to constantly try bold new tactics and take risks that you wouldn't usually at other fields.

The fields themselves are pure reflection of their creators military backgrounds. Each one is a meticulously designed scenario with great thought given to both the defensive and offensive aspects of the game, with real objectives to accomplish. The fields are relatively small, which, at other fields, is an enormous detriment, but is actually the essence of the hybrid field idea at Warplay. The fields' small nature forces quick contact, furious firefights, teamwork and original thinking. There are an near-infinite number of ways to assault and defend each map, and all players, regardless of equipment and experience, can be a vital asset to their team. If in-close dirty fighting is your style, you can make that happen by assaulting key positions. If hanging back and pounding away at the enemy from a distance is more your thing, there is a need for that too. Like taking fire and leading troops in battle? Have a shot at staying in the tower and calling out positions. Squad-based tactics are the key to victory over individual skill. Radios and camoflage are recommended, but are not necessary.

The safety of the players at Warplay is their top concern, and they do an excellent job ensuring that everyone on the field is playing accoding to the rules of safe behavior. The Referees are courteous and professional, and are always on their game. They do not have a No Blind fire rule, which I don't really agree with, but I have never been shot badly by blind firing in my time there and I always look where I am shooting.

There has to be some negatives, so here we go. The blind firing rule is the only rule I take issue with. The Halo field needs some more work before it can be as fun as they'd like it to be. Beyond that, I have no complaints.

Every time I have been to Warplay has been a unique and positive experience. I would recommend Warplay to anyone, from the hardcore paintballer to the first timer. Everyone will find Warplay challenging and fun, even an extra salty player such as myself, and Tor and Gunny go out of their way to make sure everyone has a good time. I give Warplay a 10 without hesitation, and once they finish their new V-2 rocket field with interlinked bunkers, this field will be even better. Go to Warplay, you will not regret it.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cdogdeltac Tuesday, December 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
AG/Pevs, Hogback
Review: WarPlay simply rocks. The style of play uses spawning areas which allow a constant churn of targets and keeps the pace of the game. The field construction is the the most realistic and best thought out. Not simply some plywood, 2X4s and old tires. Warplay fields could serve as a B-movie back drop. The staff were excellent and Tor and Gunny no how to make their players feel like home. If given the choice and schedule allows I'd drive the extra hour to get to WarPlay versus fields that are much closer.

The only reason I did not give this field a 10 is because I'm eager to see their planned field improvements which inlcude MG-42 and .50 cal emplacements, D-Day beachead and a real downed helo. Once and if they're able to pull these addidtions off there will be no field that holds a candle to WarPlayand it will be a pristine 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Saeborne Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs at AG
Hogback Mountain
Outdoor Adventure
Review: Warplay is an extraordinary paintball field, in every conceivable manner. You can clearly see their unique qualities, when looking at the following four traits: The fields, the game play, owners, and the attention to details.


Fields
Each field is meticulously and realistically designed. Concrete bunkers are made from actual concrete blocks. Sandbag walls are actual sand bags. The bridges are extremely well constructed. And the forts are INTENSE! The photos on their web site highlight some of the key points, however no photograph can capture the intensity of actually playing on these fields. To be certain, terrain is both varied and challenging.

The field designers were inspired from actual historical battles. For example, one field is based on Operation Market Garden in WWII. Another is based on a battle in Vietnam, where superior numbers heavily attacked a marine base. This historical flare adds to the overall drama of the game and genuinely enhances the play experience.



Game Play
During our day of play, we never once played a standard two-flag, capture the flag game. Instead, each game is like a mini scenario game, with a defined objective and purpose. When shot, you don’t sit out for the rest of the game. Instead, you simply return to the dead zone and wait out a respawn timer.

I can’t tell you how much I prefer respawns to the standard single elimination play style. It allows you to be a bit more aggressive, because you know getting shot only means a pause for a few minutes tops. Because both teams respawn, the objectives can only be achieved through superior strategy, tactics, and positioning. Its miles beyond your typical spray and pray, slaughter fest.



Owners
The field is owned and operated by Tor and Gunny, who are two ex-marines and avid paintball players themselves. In fact, they played along side of us today. They seem genuinely concerned with the overall player experience. This paintball field is not their primary job. However, you can tell that they are passionate about it. They get very excited when they talk about their future plans for expansion; machine gun nests, a busted huey chopper in an LZ, Mortar Air Raid attacks, concrete trenches, etc…. The list goes on and on. I rated this field 9 out of 10, only because I need to leave room for a higher score, once these expansions are constructed!

They are 100% different from the fat, over-the-hill, money grubbing rednecks with zero understanding of paintball, that run some of the other fields in the area.



Details
Louis Khan once said, “God is in the Details.” It would seem that Tor and Gunny have taken this adage to heart. For example, the refs carry micro fiber, terry cloth rags to wipe off any old paint hits. Next to the porta potty, there is a handwashing station with soap. They don’t support CO2 at the site. All markers, including rentals run off of compressed air, only. Every rental marker is a Tippman A-5 with a response trigger. They provide a reasonably priced, catered sandwich for lunch. (No crappy hot dogs here)….

Sure, each of these issues, in and of itself, is minor, insignificant detail. However, in the aggregate, they all add up to completely enhance your game play experience.



Faults and shortcomings?
Yes, Warplay has one MAJOR and GLARING problem: After playing there for one day, they have completely shattered any desire of returning to the Pevs @ AG.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Whybark Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: November 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs AG, Hogback Mountain
Review: This is by far the best Paintball field in Northern Virginia. Tactical scenarios, history, not overcrowded, and mainly adults. If you come once you will come back forever. I drive from Manassas Virginia to play here instead of overcrowded Pevs with poor refs. Hogback just lacks creativity in its design.

I could write a Novel but I won't just come try the field out and I will let it speak for itself.

Whybark
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pumbaa Saturday, October 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs - woodsball for tourney kiddies ref'd by the same
Hogback - way safety conscioues, decent fields very attentive refs.
Directions
to the Field:
95 south to 3 west 13 miles to 20 south, 7 miles on right.
Review: The best paintball experience ever in my short paintball career. A family run place. Tor, one of the owners and his son are refs, tor is head ref. Games are regulated with military precision - you have no doubt how long until the next event occurs. Prices are competitive, maybe even better. The play experience is like a scenario game, you are in action so much of the time, I shot my case and 1/2. I might shoot 1 bag in a day.

Will I go back? Definitely, as soon as my schedule allows.
Last edited on Saturday, October 21st, 2006 at 5:56 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vicious49 Monday, October 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogbacks - The field I usually play at.
Pevs - Went once and hated it.
Directions
to the Field:
Directions are on their website. For us it was only 2 turns off of 95 south. Very easy to find.
Review: We got there at about 10:20. It was pretty easy to spot. There is a huge sign off the main road and then you see all the netting for the fields. You can't miss it. The parking lot was decent sized, so no problem there. There were only a few players when we got there. We had to wait until more arrived. We started playing at about 11:00. Most people we had all day was maybe 20 total. Not sure why more didn't show up. I can only think that it is because it's a new field or because it was supposed to be cold that day so some players might have decided to stay at home.

The prices were decent. About the same I'm used to. The one thing I didn't like is that they charge you $10 per person to use your own paint. But that is still better than being Field Paint Only like more and more places are starting to move towards. Maybe I'm spoiled because Hogbacks lets you use your own paint as does Pevs as long as you are not renting equipment. I understand though since fields make most of their money off of the paint.

So we finally started playing. One word - WOW. The fields there are AWESOME. There were only about 4 of them, but what they did have were well designed and built. They have real bunkers made of logs, concrete, sandbags, etc. and not simply a pickett fence someone threw together and said 'pretend this is a castle'. The realism of the fields is better than any I've been to so far. All the fields they have are woodsball. But it's the type where it is easy to get into the middle of the action and not where you're spending most of your time looking for the enemy. One field has this awesome bridge with a guard station and a concrete bunker. Another one had a well designed fort that had thousands of sandbags used to fortify it. A third was the woodsball version of speedball because you could almost hit each other from the starting points and there were only small bunkers to hide behind. This was my favorite field since it was pure action.

Also, the setup of the games is different here than what I'm used to. The object of most of the games is capture the flag. One team defends and the other attacks. The games are 25 minutes long (unless the attacking team captures the flag before then) and then you switch sides/objectives. If you get shot out, you can respawn after a certain amount of time (determined by how many players are in that game - usually between 2-5 minutes). This is good, because you're never out long. But it is bad because you will use up more paint than you would with a single elimination style like I'm used to. After each 25 minute game, you go back to the staging area and get to fill up on air, paint, etc.

Let me say that the owner and the refs were all really nice and stressed safety. They have 5 refs on the field at one time. One at each teams spawning area, and 3 refs on the field (one of which was the owner himself). The owner was especially personable and you could tell he really cares about making this field and your time there as good as it can be. I really do hope this place does well because I loved playing there. He said he just bought another 18 acres and is planning on expanding. He was describing one of the new fields he will be building and something about it having 3 concrete bunkers and a 20 foot tall rocket thingy that you will have to destroy. I didn't understand all of it since I'm not a military nut like my friend is, but if the current fields are any indication . . . I can't wait to see what they come up with.

The fields are the best I've played at. If you like action, this place is for you. I will definitely be back soon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghost4231 Saturday, October 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Total Eclipse Paintball(5.0)
Skyline Paintball(7.0)
Splatbrothers(8.5)
Pevs(9.0)
Warplaypaintball(9.99999)
Directions
to the Field:
The field is obviously there on the road! Consitution Highway!
Review: We got there at 12:00 precisely. Parking was huge and pretty good for a new field. Well, we got out and we found out that there were a game going on so we took a look through their huge 50 feet high x a mile long(literally) safety nets. We were amazed how the field looks so much bigger than the pictures on the website. They had separate fields, but they were linked together in case they have a big scenario event.

Okay, we got ourselves ready for the next game and all of sudden, our old Tippmann guns broke down! Not the rentals one, our personal one. Well, the owner found out about this and he offers us 2 free new Tippmann A5 response trigger rental guns! As far as my paintball experiences go for as long as 5 years, I've never seen so much nicer owners and staffs they have there! Absolutely if I were a critic, I'd give them two thumbs up for their generosity to their paintball players.

I guarantee you that you will get at least 2 kills in each game! With respawn sites, closer firefight woodball fields, and 25 minutes limit!

The referees there are excellent. They aren't kids, they are adults who are mature and stayed by the rules. In both of their team respawn site, there are two refs that track the time for you to get out so every games are fair to the time. And there is another ref that track the game.

Yes, the rumors are true. They are making more fields exactly as good as the one on the website, and I can tell you that the next field they're making will be spectacle! They're making a full concrete bunker system, with a round concrete base with a V2 German rocket. This is a new field, and the fields are still under construction. To me, this is going to be the next Pevs with a better staff and a great potential. I will be coming back to the field and getting that membership card they offer.

My only complaint is they need to have longer time and night games. Haha!



Last edited on Sunday, October 8th, 2006 at 9:10 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

raven2wp Saturday, September 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs, OA, Soggy.
Directions
to the Field:
Directions can be found on their website.
Review: I took a long drive down to Warplay Paintball to try something new. It gets old going to the same field all the time, especially when gameplay barely varies.

I got to Warplay right at 9am. There were only a handful of players there, but it's still a new field. By 10am we had a good amount of players and were rocking.

There are only a few field so far, but let me say they are amazing. This place is like a woodsballer's dream. The combat is close and constant though, so speedballers will be surprised at the faced past games and I believe will love it (I play both woods and xball). The fields are set up strategically, and they basically run small scenarios. Games are roughly set at 25 minutes. The games end sooner of course if the mission is completed (capture flag, etc.). If you are shot, you retreat to the respawning area and enter back into the game from there after a predetermined time, which is like 4 minutes. And it's not 4 minutes per player, it's a team respawn every 4 minutes. So if there are 5 players waiting, when the time is up, they all return at once. It keeps the action fast, and your down time to a minimum.

After each game they break for about 5 minutes to resupply. This is awesome because you NEVER have to worry about air. Unless you fail to refill every time, or every other time, you should never run out. Same with paint. Take enough with you and you'll be good. You know your style and how much you tend to shoot. Pack accordingly.

There is a 30 minute lunch break. You can pay 5 bucks in the morning and they call in an order for a small sandwich/chips/soda for you and have it all delivered for all the players. I didn't order because I was never here before, but found out there is a gas station like 5 minutes down the road that sells food (I had cheese sticks, a grilled chicken sandwich, and a 20oz soda for just over 6 bucks).

Prices are comparable to other fields in the area, which is reasonable. If you need to rent a gun, they give A5's with response triggers for 15 bucks, with a compressed air tank. I had problems with my gun, so he let me rent an A5 for 5 bucks. Saving 10 bucks actually eased my frustration A LOT!!!

Owner, refs, staff, and players were AWESOME. I had a great time with no real complaints.

This place is growing, and will only get better. No speedball fields yet, but they do have a woods version of speedball, but I didn't get a chance to play it yet. I will soon enough, as I plan to get back down there soon.

Overall, I had a great time. I give them a 9/10. Nobody is perfect, but they are close. When these guys start to get more fileds up and running, I can't imagine I'll be playing anywhere else. That's the honest truth.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TwibsSuck Tuesday, September 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
In the area?

SoggyBottoms
Pevs
Paintball Authority
I play mostly up North
Review: For being only a couple months old I think Warplay Paintball has great potential. The fields are in effect.... excellent. More of them would be nice but I know they are still expanding. You can tell they put alot of thought and hard work into how they did the fields and to any old dog like me who grew up playing woodsball... well its excellent. I can't wait to see what new fields they come out with.

The Staff is very friendly. I used to ref, used to play in tourneys and have been around when it comes to fields and in my opinion the Refs and staff are great. They care about how much fun you're having and most importantly about your safety. If you have kids I would definitely suggest this place. If you don't have kids... I'd still suggest Warplay.

The rules are about the same as any other field when it comes to conduct and etiqutte. They don't have a "No blind-firing rule" which I don't really agree with but thats why people need to use common sense when they play. There are some fields where close shooting happens so if you're sensitive about that... sit out a game.

The facilities are pretty scarce for now. A tank station, tables, tents etc. Thats ok however because who needs alot of crap outside the fields. They have a port-o-john. What else do you need?

As for pricing.... I come from PA and for anyone who knows how much it costs to play paintball up here then you understand how affordable Warplay is. You can buy their paint or bring your own (for a small fee). You pay for all day fills and admission. But as long as paint is cheap in cost but not in quality then you're golden. When at Skirmish PA people pay $100 a case and $50 for a scenario entrance fee then it makes Warplay look like a pretty good alternative. Hell, most places up North don't let you bring your own paint. (Thats how fields really make money).

Overall I rate Warplay a 9/10 overall for now. But since it is so young in existence I really look forward to seeing what else they add to the experience.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media