paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Ledgen's Field / Ledgen's Field / Ledgen's Field / Ledgen's Field

Ledgen's Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
20Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 727-560-6866
Address: 11820 Hudson Ave
Hudson, Florida 34669
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
bettis86 Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gator,Wayne's World,Orbital,Paintball Park(back in 89-90)
Review: All i can say is this field was awesome,But the good thing is the owner(Mike) is two steps above awesome.He made the experience there great and his staff did a great job also.Paint prices where awesome,Air fee and Field just as good as everyone else in Fl.And another good thing is Mike puts back into the field,there's going to be more woods field added and that is a good thing,Pro shop etc.I would give the field a 10 because it was overall great and we will play there again for sure.Oh the staging area is huge and clean.Food is great and cheap.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DaveC Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, yet.
Directions
to the Field:
I used a combination of the directions at the Web site and MapQuest/Google Maps. I found the field easily.
Review: My rating is done without comparing it to any other fields in this area, but I have been to fields in the Mid-Atlantic and Northeast areas. This was my first day back on a p-ball field since 1993 and my first day on a Florida field.

I really enjoyed this field:
- the hospitality was excellent (I felt like a very welcome guest of the family)
- the staging area was very clean (trash always picked up, trash cans emptied, tables clean, etc.)
- the playing areas are all near the staging area
- the parking is right next to the field and also clean
- all the netting is hung well and in excellent condition
- barrel socks were always in use outside the playing areas
- the paint prices are very good
- lunch item prices are good; the grill added to the warm, family feel
- and more

Overall, the playing experience here was great. The games were excellent, especially the ones near the end of the day.

The woods field was a lot of fun. In Florida, a woods field seems to need a little help and these fields have been given good attention: log, panel and dirt-mound bunkers have been added along with a large fort (the Alamo). All of these additions make this a fun field.

The airball fields are very nicely laid out with lots of shooting lanes and lots of cover.

The thing that takes this field over the top is the owner and his crew. Mike, the owner, is what I wish every person in every business that I have contact with, anywhere, is like. He greeted me with a big "Hello!" and handshake as soon as he saw me, which was after I had taken about 6 steps into the staging area.

He gave me a good get-me-aquainted-with-everything tour, signed me in, chatted, introduced me to a few people, including his two, great dogs. He checked with me a couple of times during the day about how things were for me: he walked across the staging area with that in mind. I saw him do this with others as well. Good Stuff!

Some of the players wanted the refs to join in for a couple of games at the end of the day, which they did. That says something good about the staff, I think.

Mike made a point of saying "Bye!" at the end of the day and we chatted some more. He did this with others as well. He also went out of his way to give me some good data that I can use to hook up with other players in the area.

All of this means that the type of people that the field will attract will likely be people that you'll want to play with: fun, fair, honest and in the range of interested and cheerful. I'd play again with anyone there that day - from the first-timers to the sponsored scenario players who, by the way, represented themselves and paintball in a very high-level way - courteous gentlemen. (It was an pleasure hanging out and playing with them, especially at the very end of the day when there were just a handful of us playing.)

The whole day was like eating a great dessert!
Last edited on Friday, February 16th, 2007 at 11:25 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jolly70 Wednesday, February 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
PSI
Review: This place is great!! I can't say enough good stuff about Mike the owner. The fields were clean and tidy. The woodsball field is great. We had game after game of great fun and action. Mike even came on the field to play when we didn't have enough folks for a full 3 on 3. Mike is the best!! I will be back there this weekend.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

alflee Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 13th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
gator,elite,kissimmee,
Review: Just a great experience!! all day long getting beat up and painting a bunch of my freinds! Owner mike just very freindly,whatever we needed he made sure we had and took care of the entire group of 35 players!! Refs were there when we needed them,hardworking!! the entire working staff just went above and beyond what we thought possible. We will be back on a monthly basis!! thanks ledgen'sfield
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pepper22 Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Orbital, Gator, Kohn's, Elite
Review: This is by far the best place my friends and I have been. We are all in our late 20's to early 30's. We all started playing about the same time. We haven't been many places, but this place tops all of them. I can't say enough about Mike, the owner, what a nice guy! He shook all of our hands and wanted to know how he could make his field better.

As far as the fields go they are awesome. We mainly play woodsball. There aren't a lot of woods, but he has done a great job putting in plenty of bunkers and other obstacles to make it great. There is a fort in the middle. He also has some more acreage that he is working on that has more wooded coverage.

I can't recommend this field enough, we all love this place and came to the consensus that this is where we will play at for our monthly outings.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

blkpowder Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
waynes world, elite, gators, jungle games, lock n load, showdown
Review: It was a pleasure to return to Mike's field. It is a clean well run family field. It is a place where all the staff, helps the people will any situation they may have. The woods course is well shaped great coverage. The tin pan alley is a fast pace great field. Air ball field is well laid out. The staging area is wide open clean and am peal seating.
Ledgens caters to all levels. Not just the expert level but the best for the beginner's. All the rentals are brand new. Jane is a great person to deal with for any questions that u need answered.The prices are by far the best in the are. The field is simple to find. The prices are by far the best. I recommend Ledgens to anyone. Now the best part is to go out on Friday nights and play night games they are awesome.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lft1964 Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
elite, gators
Review: I played at Mikes original field, showdown, and have been waiting for his new place to open and I finally was able to get there to play today and was not disapointed.

Mike is as personable as ever. I saw him greet numerous players as they arrived, check on people repeatedly through out the day as well as thank them for coming as they left. He even helped me change a flat tire I discovered on my vehicle.

The staging area is clean, the fields are neat with no trash or hazards, the staff was pleasant and helpful and his dogs well behaved. Prices are inline with or better than many fields i have been to through out the state.
I met a diverse and pleasant group of players that played well and honorably. I had a great time with them and hope to see them there in the future.

There is plenty of room for expansion in the future. There are a good amount of tables and chairs in the safe zone and a nicely mulched drive way entrance and staging area...no walking around in sugar sand. There is shade throught the area as well as adequate parking that is nicely shady and is close to fields and staging/safe zone.

No sagging nets with gaping holes in them either. Very well maintained and thought out. Fields are nice sized with themes such as The Alamo and Tin Pan Alley that combine natural features as well as wooden structures and barricades. Sup Air field right next to the staging area. Chrono area is very convinient to the staging area with a large variety of targets to plink at.

facilities are basic as yet: porta potty and a hose for washing up, but, this is Mike's place we're talking about....he'll improve them as time goes on i'm sure.

welcome back Mike, good to see you back!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8itup Monday, July 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gator, Orbital
Review: This field is awesome! I played so many games I lost count. The refs kept the games going one after another. The owner Mike greeted me and shook my hand (first time for that). I had a really good time and met a lot of nice people, they teamed me up with guys that played at my level. We played every field and my favorite was the Alamo. Wow! You have to visit this field and you won't ever go to another field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mindlessrhythm Saturday, July 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gator and Elite - Neither come anywhere close to the hospitality and gameplay at Ledgen's.
Directions
to the Field:
Southside of Hudson Avenue between Pigeon Rd and Colony Rd, across from the power station. Look for the paintballs on the gate. For a mapquest and more info. visit their website: http://www.ledgensfieldpaintball.com
Review: This field operates every Saturday and Sunday from 8 am to 4 pm with an optional lunch break at about noon.

The field appears to comply with all safety regulations including protective mesh surrounding the perimeter of the fields, mandatory goggles while on the fields (enforced strictly by the refs), and mandatory barrel socks at all times while off the fields.

The setup is overall the nicest I've played - with 3 woods-ball courses: one huge field with man-made log bunkers, "The Alamo" which is a scenario game in which several players defend a fort (The Alamo) with sliding peep holes , and the rest try to take the fort by using the surrounding bunkers, and "Skid Row", which is a smaller, faster-paced woodsball course with a plethora of wooden pallet bunkers. They currently have 2 BRAND NEW air-ball fields (one of which is an X-ball field) which play very well, and the original "Tin Pan Alley" is back from Showdown Paintball with new and improved aluminum bunkers which make it louder and more intense than ever. The owner was talking of several more fields coming soon, and there is now a Disc Golf Course right next door.

Prices are the lowest I've seen at $10 for all day air and $10 for admission, with no extra charge to BYOP.

The refs are all in their late teens to early 20's and are a riot to play with and the staff are just as friendly and hospitable as before at Showdown.

Overall, I'd absolutely have to give Ledgen's a 10 out of 10. They exceeded the expectations of patrons like myself who come from their last field, and they keep getting better!
Last edited on Saturday, March 17th, 2007 at 10:29 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8balllover Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gator-awesome field
Orbital-great field too
Directions
to the Field:
North on US 19 to Hudson Ave, go thru the traffic light at Hicks Rd, it is exactly 2 miles on the right.
Review: I have followed this field since they were Showdown in Spring Hill, the new field is just as good as the one they had there.

The best part of this whole experience is that Mike and Jane are family oriented and their goal is for everyone to have a good safe time.

The fields are awesome, the refs too. There is not a regimented routine to what field is played next. They actually listen to you!!

The bad rap from an earlier review should just be ignored. The writer is the vindictive ex-girlfriend who would like nothing better than to see this field fail.

I do not work for the field and have no personal vendetta against either of them. To see for yourself that all the positive things written about this field are true, just go there yourself!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media