paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Tank's Paintball Park Inc. / Tank's Paintball Park Inc. / Tank's Paintball Park Inc. / Tank's Paintball Park Inc.

Tank's Paintball Park Inc.

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
51Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 281.492.2301
Address: 899 Westgreen Blvd
Katy, Texas 77450
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
avengerpaintbal Wednesday, June 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bonanza (bad and expensive)
Directions
to the Field:
its in Katy?
Review: This field is my favorite out of the fields i have played at in austin and houston.

SAFETY
-pretty good, they do enforce the barrel sock and mask rule very well.
-They do not make chrono to often though

FIELDS
-There are 5 of them.
-3 airball, 1 hyperball, and 1 speedball.
-My favorite is the hyperball.

PRICES
-Very cheep.
-15$ admission and 5$ for byop.
-PAINT
-45$ for Spank
-50$ for Cryptic
-55$ for Proball
-60$ for Proball Platinum
-65$ for Chronic

PROSHOP
-Great stock, many guns for sale and gear.
-They will also fix your gun free of charge
-They sell everything from hoppers to pods to barrels to air systems and much more.
-The workers there are also very helpful

REFS
-They are doing a great job.
-When me and 2 of my friends wanted to play 2v1 one of the refs was happy to ref our game even when there were 2 parties going on (it was on a saturday)
-They also divide the teams very evenly and rarely make them uneven (only happened to me once)

FACILITIES
-proshop, 2 chronos and many tables and chairs in the staging area
-They offer free all day CO2 and N2

I give them a 9/10 (a 10/10 would be giving me free paint and and free gear :D)
Keep up the good work!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyderkiller95 Saturday, June 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball usa
bonza
paintball mania
Review: "Saftey" was awsome not one kid had his barrel sock off field are great umm though dont go there after a sudden rain storm.

"Hours of opperation" Monday: Closed
Tuesday - Friday: 10:00am - 6:00pm
Saturday: 9:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday: 9:00am - 5:00pm

"Prices" cheap 15$ to get in 5$ for bring your own paint and 50$ for a case of
Chronic best paint ever.

"Rules" the usaule rule barrel socks on
keep mask on on the field.

"Service" The quality of the service is alright but some times the iggnore you.

"Proshop" is great stocked with good paint, guns, and gear.

"Staff" Is great they do a awsome job of reffing if the owner of tanks see's this i really
would be great if you give all your refs a bug thank you for doing a great job.

"Refs" For info look at the word "Staff " for the review.

"Players" Pretty good players very helpful.

"Facilities" They are awsome they are very clean and they have a self serve staion
for filling air.

"Food" there is no food but not even 200 feet away there is a gas station.

I give it a 9 for great service 10 being me getting free paint.

but if tank see's this i would say if you coulkd lower your paint prices and let some of the walk on players play the airball and speed ball field
Last edited on Sunday, June 10th, 2007 at 8:28 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shootw/eyesclsd Saturday, June 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
first time at a paint ball field
Review: I planned a party and it went well with some bumps in the road. Do not do business with them over the phone. I talked to them twice and they still did not reserve my party. I found out later that i was supposed to make my deposit over the phone but no one asked me to make the payment then. One guy actually told me it was no big deal and I could pay it later. They were nice enough to double book. This place fits a lot of action in such a small place. There are several extra long picnic tables all along the front so that there is enough room for your entire group. There were several mishaps with the rental guns but they were fixed or replaced quickly. We were aloud to bring our own food and drinks but we had to buy our paint there. You can have food delivered just tell them ahead of time. 10 people went through 3 boxes of paint in 2 hours at about 50 dollars a box. We were assigned our own ref who was very helpful. He organized our games, reserved our fields, managed our time, got us additional paint and let us have fun. I kind of wanted him to call people out for getting hit (including me) but he could see we were having fun as noobs and just let us do our thing. It kind of sucked because everyone would get hit trying to leave the field. We got a chance to try out any course that we wanted and did not wait for a field. The more modern and smaller fields with the blow-up bunkers fill up fas so we did not bother with them. The largest field in the back is less of a problem because they will split the field so that two games can be played. If you want to save money then go as a group. If you get tired of the rental masks then buy the JT Flex 8 in the shop. It is about the same price as Academy and it doesn't smell like an armpit. This is a good, fast paced and crowded paint ball field with many choices. We had a blast and now everyone is hooked on paint ball.

Parking is a bit of a problem. Carpool if you can. Do not park in front of the convenient store next door. I almost got into a fist fight with the owner of the store. I would suggest not buying anything from that place unless you have to. He will charge you for parking if he doesn't harass you instead. You can park at the gas pumps because that guy doesn't even sell gas. Supposedly, you can park on the street without getting ticketed. I would double check with the field. There is another lot on the south-west side of the field facing the street. If you are driving south go past the field do a U-turn and you will see the extra parking lot.

Bottom line: Don't expect them to tell you anything because you will have to ask for all of the specifics. They may not be the most organized but they do aim to please. If you have a problem they will try to fix it. You will save more money if you plan a group visit and probably get more attention from the staff. Show up early. I do not know about other fields but there is a lot of unbroken pant spilled all over the place. If they clean it up then there maybe less early in the day. I want to try other fields but this one was worth revisiting.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

prick103 Friday, April 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bonanza- Expensive!
Paintball USA ( Now #1pb )
Urban War Zone
Review: This feild is awesome. Im not going to go around feeding you stuff that is not true, so dont get that idea.

Saftey- Pretty good saftey. They dont make you chrono your gun however. On the brighter side, the refs are very protective, but not over protective like at bonanza. They do breif you the rules, and i would give this a 1 out of 2.

Proshop- Very nice! Many guns there for sale. The workers there are also very friendly and helpful in many ways. Very kind. Nice work guys! 2 out of 2.

Feilds- Awesome feilds! 3 airball, 1 hyperball, and one speedball feild. The airball feilds are fun, but the hyperball is the best. I had a party at tanks, and all of the guys i know would agree with me, that the hyperball feild is the best, without a doubt. We never got to the speedball feild, but it looked very nice, and fun to play on. The airball feilds are very nice too. Great work on the feilds guys!! 4 out of 4.

Prices- Very reasonable. It does cost 5$ for byop, but a case of paintballs is only 50$ for a good quality paint. The feild fee is 15$, and is worth it with all day air, and the awesome feilds. Totally worth it. 2 out of 2.

+1
+2
+4
+2
----
9 out of 10.

Keep up the excellent work guys!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zer0 0blivion Monday, November 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
umm dunno all ido is turn left and im there
Review: Safety: they r very serious about being safe, the refs look out for you which is a good thing

fields: 5 total fields, there could be more but there r nice fields...they have all kinds xball, 360, nppl, airball, hyperball nice layout the irball fields is never full inflated on snake side but the rest is good

!0-6 saturday 10-5 sunday

Price: 420 if u have ur own gear 5 more if u have ur own paint $40 for total rental package

proshop-awesome proshop they have evry thing guns clothes gear gu upgrades hoppers tanks

Refs-theer are only one ref for field which isnt good cause that makes cheating frequent they need more refs dont even do much they just stand there and watch

food-they have a gasoline station...nuf said

I give it a 8.5 only becaus of the refs they have to do a better job

i think it is a very good field and people should play here u will have fun

please send feedback

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

frank herbst Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TOO MANY TO LIST
Review: I took some guys to Tanks this past weeekend and overall was not what I thought it would be. Only two of the four airfields were really playable. The two NPPL fiels were half up, half flat.

If you are a serious balla like myself...this is not the place to be. The whole day there was only one ref per field and that ref stood by the entrance and never even checked players. I have never seen so much wiping going on since I started playing this great game called paintball. I witnessed wiping watching on the sides and had every single guy I brought, come up to me and say the same thing.

People all around warned us about personal stuff coming up missing, but you can't really blame staff can you...or can you?!?!

The price was fair, the atmosphere was good and even met some cool ballaz (holla out to Jordan & Spencer)

I will only go back if I can bring my own refs & the airfields get repaired.

Overall I give it a 6.5
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

iconoclast Wednesday, July 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in this area
Review: I went down to Houston for the weekend for some family stuff, and decided to bring my marker to play with my friend here. It was the best part of my weekend!

Here's my review, broken down into sections:

Parking: Pretty small parking lot, shared with a convenience store whose owner will not let you park there. But there's additional parking out back; it's not a long walk.

Pro shop: I didn't buy anything there, but they had the one of the largest selections I have ever seen. Prices are fair, and the techs are pretty helpful. Never a line for CO2 fills, and there was always someone there to fill your tank immediately. Air fills were do-it-yourself in the player's area.

Snack bar: Pretty much your standard snack bar: hot dogs, nachos, candy, chips, instant noodles, drinks. Good prices, but nothing outstanding here. Noticed an Xbox in the corner of the Player's Lounge.

Fields: There are 5 fields here, X-ball, Airball, NPPL, another smaller airball field (I think, I never got to play it), and a huge hyperball field which can actually be played as 3 smaller hyperball fields.

Bunkers were all properly inflated and staked down, except on the NPPL field. Of course, this field was BRAND NEW, and we were lucky enough to be the first people to play on it. The hyperball field was my favorite, as the games laster longer on the huge field.

The rest of the fields were pretty standard. My only complaint here is that on the NPPL field, the dead boxes are pretty low walls (maybe 5 feet high), and I actually got hit more times while standing here than while playing. Me and some other players took some nasty head, neck, and hand shots while waiting for a game to end. I'd suggest leaving the field or standing on the tape if you get out early.

Unfortunately, it stormed pretty bad while we were there, so we couldn't play for maybe 40 minutes. When we came back, the fields were pretty soaked, with plenty of muddy spots and tons of puddles which made running, sliding, and overall playing difficult. But that's ok, because we still got to play, and it got to be pretty fun. They were cool and let us play, some fields I've been to won't even let us play after rain, cause it tears up the ground and creates holes which could later twist some ankles.

Refs: There were 2 or 3 private groups there, so the refs were stretched pretty thin, with only one ref per field. I don't know if this is standard, but my home field usually has 5 or more refs. It prevents wiping, but we got along fine with our one ref. Open rec games were called pretty close to one another, so I feel that I got my money's worth.

Prices: $20 field fee, includes all day air (bring your own gear), another $5 to BYOP. A little steep, but eh. It's not the worse.

Overall: I definitely plan on returning. The fields, facilities, and staff were great. I had a hell of a time, keep up the good work guys.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbmylife Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in texas
Review: This place is cool. They have like four air ball fields and a giant hyper ball. When I went my cousin took me. It was team practice day but we still played. They only bad thing is that on the air ball field, there are a lot of gelatin shells. Be careful because it is extremely slippery. My cousin went to bunker me and slipped (Ryan if you read this hehehe). The hyper ball field is actually three fields, but there are no clear boundaries. So you might want to wear some type of cleats when you go there to play.
If the fields werenít so slippery it would get a ten

BRING CLEATS
** The date is an estimate was a Sunday. **

edit:
last time i was there around the fourth of july, my cousin slid and hit his back on the wood beam holding up the netting. he hurt his back badly. he saw it and gave my cousin a free pass. if you are in the katy area, go here. tank is one of the nicest field owners i have met. after this, it gets a ten.
Last edited on Friday, December 29th, 2006 at 8:18 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

htownsfinest018 Saturday, June 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Twisted texas-dump compared to this
Pbusa-not as good
Directions
to the Field:
maps.google.com works wonders lol
Review: well this was my first time ever going to tanks..i have had heard nothing but good about it and i will be no exception.

well 1st off tanks is the nicest field i have ever been to. and its all speedball/ hyperball which i love (not the best place for woodsballers) so on a scale of 1-10 on fun...i give it a 10+

now to the fields...the were clean and well kept and were very fast paced which i loved..the only downfall is you will need some knee pads...i tore a chunk of skin of my knee becuase the ground was kinda hard other than that there great...on the field quality i give it a 9.5 (knocking a point becuase of the ground)

tanks by far has the best pro shop ive seen to date..they have anything you need/ want and if they dont have it they probally just ordered it. the staff that works in there are AWSOME i cant stress this enough..they will actually take the time to help you fix/ fine tune your marker. i had a guy custom cut me a screw for my ion AT NO COST! this pleased me :) lol and the refs were awsome to...they didnt let any of that wiping crap slide..once they saw you were out they would pull you out. on staff/store i give it a 10+

the staff were very strict about saftey which is always a great thing!!! they made you put your mask on when you were supposed to and also mad you keep your barrel socks on at all times unless you were playing. big plus the only downfall or complaint i have of this place is the FPS...nobody really inforced or even required you to chrono. your gun...there was one guy shooting 335 FPS but not on purpose...he didnt know. but that could be fixed with ease.

overall tanks is the best place i have ever been for paintball. it is great for any player of any skill level. there will always be a group out there to play with. and the people were friendly too. If i had to score this field i would give it a 9.9 (will bump up to be a 10 when they start making you chrono your gun!)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunker king3000 Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: May 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I dont know of any now that tanks closed
Review: Tanks katy paintball is a dream for air ball and speed ball players but they do have one huge pipe field for you air ball haters. over all it is a pretty good field though sometimes you get some bad refs but what u gonna do. i know some fields make you pay the whole day for air but here it free with admission. and dont worry if youre friends bailed on you you can just play wreck ball all day.



So overall this a Great field i would definatly suggest coming here
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media