paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Tank's Paintball Park Inc. / Tank's Paintball Park Inc. / Tank's Paintball Park Inc. / Tank's Paintball Park Inc.

Tank's Paintball Park Inc.

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
51Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 281.492.2301
Address: 899 Westgreen Blvd
Katy, Texas 77450
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
GhettoSmurf242 Saturday, January 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Just had a great day of paintball at tanks. They had a great staff working there. They were very helpful and kept everyone safe. The field paint was a fair price. Although you can bring your own.They had great speed ball fields. Its the best field I have been to in the Houston area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gloveza Friday, January 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBUSA, Twisted Texas, Survival Games of TX
Review: Being an experienced paintballer, I decided it was time to introduce my cousin to the great sport of paintball. So for Christmas I bought him a Spyder kit and a case of Midnight paintballs, and we set out for a Field near the house I had driven past on my way home. It was the weekend after Christmas. Upon arrival we went to check in, pay green fee, and sign waivers. We were told one price for the green fee, but when I was charged the fee was higher. The kid that took my money told me that all-day air was automatically charged to each player in addition to the green fee, and gave me an attitude for even asking why the price was higher. It was presented in such a way that it was not an option, but a policy. As in all other fields I've played at, I waited for a safety briefing for my cousin, and we missed 2 whole games before I decided to ask if he would be briefed. We were told to just go ahead and join a speedball game that was already in progress across the field. When I asked if we needed to Chrono, I was advised that Chrono was on the "honor system" and was not a necessary precaution at their field. I was shocked. I also felt sorry for any newbie players, such as my cousin, that were to visit this field. Upon entering the field we passed a couple of teenagers that were laughing and joking about freezing their paint the night before. After we finally made it out to the field, we found no refs, or no marked refs in any way. We were also yelled at by some kid who was in plain clothes about playing with no ref present. I asked him who he was, and he told me that he was THE REF! There seem to be Team players on another field, that were less than helpful, and shared the same attitude that we were not welcome to play there. I have played paintball for 10 years now- rec and some scenarios, the fields were ok for speedball play, and I am sure would've been more fun for me if I had not been concerned about the safety of my 11 year old cousin the whole time. I believe there should be no-shortcuts when it comes to safety, just like any other business, and we owe it to the first timers that are nervous about playing , to feel comfortable in their adventure of paintball, so they will enjoy the sport as much as we do. I hope this was just a bad day at this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntbll6 Tuesday, January 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB USA
Review: ITS A GREAT FIELD !! the only thing that worries me is theres a bunch of little kids running around with 2,000 dollar guns and the ref's are really young.. but its an excellent field i would definately recommend it if your one of those speedball kids Tank is really nice and will help you fix anything on your gun, he takes time and if your gun has a problem with it he can fix it right there on the spot and you can get back in the game there field paint is reasonable DONT BRING ZAP REC BALLS.. there banned becuase of field damage just warning you but its BYOP so i would recommend going and getting a case of blaze or jt for 50 bucks,, great field great prices
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chjoak Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is my first Houston area field. I have played other fields but they have all been woods fields, so it is somewhat difficult to compare.
Review: I will start by giving a little background about my perspective. I am a rec baller. I have played maybe 6 to 12 times a year for 6+ years. I do not own a marker (I am looking for one) and I have primarily played woods ball. That being said, lets begin.

Staff
I arranged a private session ahead of time by emailing Tank directly. He answered all of my questions and gave us a fair price. Upon arrival on Saturday morning, one of the refs instructed us to fill out the waiver forms and take them to counter when done. When everyone was finished, we gathered our equipment and went to load up. Almost immediately we were greeted by our ref (Kyle I think?) and were given the safety talk.
The Good
Our ref was great. He was very helpful and courteous. This was actually one of the better refs that I have had. He even let us get in an extra game and play till 1230 so we would get our full 2 hours of play (more about this in a minute).
The Bad
Our original start time was 10am. because of waivers, safety talk, etc... our fist game didn't start until about 1030. After our second game (about 11am) our ref informed us (prompted by one of our questions) that according to Tank we had a 2 hours time limit that started at 10am. Tank failed to inform me in the numerous emails that there would be a 2 hour time limit for our private field and ref. Every other field that I had contacted in town quoted me prices for all day private field. When our time was up we were basically told we could keep our paint or waste it on the target range. We were given no option to continue on pickup games.

Pricing
Like I said before, we received a group rate. It was probably the best rate I have found.
$25/person - gun, mask, co2, field, ref and 500 paintballs
My only complaint goes back to the time limit. When we finished, I was left with a almost full hopper and no games left to play.

Field
This was my first time to play a field that was entirely speed ball. Overall I liked the fields and had a good time.
The Good
The layouts were good and I liked the bunkers.
The Bad
The field was not in the best condition. There were a few fields with tires and pipes that had standing water and trash in them. Anytime you were near these bunkers the smell was horrible.

Overall
My overall experience was pretty good. I have definitely played on much better fields but I also imagine that there are much worse. If you are looking for a place to play and have never been to Tank's, don't let my review keep you from going. I plan to check out more fields in Houston first but I would not rule out another trip to Tank's.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

NapalmSniffer Friday, January 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Twisted Games, Paintball Mania, Paintball Zone, Brazos Splat (I Think We All Get It)
Review: I play with a group of career professionals in corporate and local government as Rec players. We play frequently in a group of 15-20 players. We have played at many fields on many levels and I have yet to see any of the other pbfields take the steps to maintain their appearance as Tanks.

In my opinion, Tank's World of Paintball has the most well maintained & cleanest fields that I have played at. It definitely shows that Tank is willing to go the extra mile to insure the safety of his patrons by the maintenance & upkeep of the staging area and field structures (netting, signage, etc..) Many fields use trashy old dilapidated lean-to sheds or trailers as staging / pro shop / & office areas. The field fees, paint prices ($40-$60 per case) and all-day air option are reasonable & economical. The staff is also helpful, courteous and constantly monitoring the actions of participants (reminding them of safety instruction guidelines).

Truly no field is completely accident-proof..... It does require a bit of common sense on the part of the individual player, themselves. Take responsibility of your own actions and stop blaming someone else.
Last edited on Tuesday, January 6th, 2004 at 9:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

nwhouston Wednesday, December 31st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBUSA=No comparison in safety or customer service; Twisted Texas=Very nice field and staff.
Review: Having formed a team of mature adults and children for rec ball and some occasional scenario and competitive play, I can honestly say that I would not take any NEW players to this facility. Why you ask? Safety did not seem a priority at this field. My children will never play here folks! Upon check-in at this facility on December 28th, 2003 after 12pm, myself and other team members were never asked whether or not they were needed orientation. We were charged for all day air automatically and not even asked (we bring our own pre-filled tanks). When asked to reverse the charge, the kid at the register just "sighed" his frustration and reluctantly complied. Maybe they should hire an adult to run the front desk, after all, it IS a business and customer service is paramount right? If I am forking out my hard-earned money, you would think that the person I'm buying goods from would at least make an attempt at faking courtesy? Chrono'ing markers prior to play? Nope. There is however a chrono wayyyy across the field if you feel like using it. Refs spot checking markers with handheld chrono's? Well there was a youngster out there in street clothes (no identifying markings at all) running around occasionally claiming to be a ref. He showed up AFTER we played a pick-up match with another group that was out there. If the owner wishes to compete today in this industry, safety has to be rule number one. If you cannot ensure the safety of your field and the people on it then disaster is sure to strike. My children will not be there when it does. If this is seems a bit extreme well then you need to ask yourself this, how long does a 300fps ball take to travel from the end of your marker and into someone's unprotected eye? That's how quick things can go wrong when no one is around watching for those new and somewhat inexperienced players out there. Ensure the longevity of our sport and help us avoid a black eye on our sport. STEP=UP THE FIELD SAFETY AND COURTESY. No reply is needed Mr. Tank, just get back to your field and manage these kids that you have entrusted to run your business out there so we can all have a safe and fun place to play in Northwest Houston.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

thaklanksta Tuesday, December 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Paintball USA, Brazos Survival Games, Twisted Texas, Paintball Mania,
Paintball Bonanza, Adventure Village Paintball, Paintball Games of Pearland, Paintball Zone, Ultimate, black mountain, and of course Tank's World of Paintball.
Review: I have visited every field in Houston with the exception of a few and feel as a tournament player there is no better place to go play than at Tanks. It is a 55 minute drive one way for me and I pass up several fields on the way with no regrets.

I feel everyone is treated fairly, the ref's are good, the paint prices are good (with a good variety) The Proshop is good and the man in charge of it all is a good guy.

The fields consist mostly of speed-ball/hyper-ball and the fields are changed up now and then. All of the fields are played on and well kept. There are no potholes to twist an ankle on (the fields are level). The owner spends money maintaining his fields by adding sand to the field to keep them level, and keeping safety a priority. There is adequate netting around staging area and leading out tot he fields. There is a good target range/;chrono area. There is no woods ball but they do have a pretty good mound field and a spool field. I also think they set up air-ball on Sunday's, but call in advance to make sure they are setting them up that day.

There are several teams out there on Sunday's mostly rookie but there are some novice teams, and occasionally there are some Amateur teams. If you are looking for some good gaming then Tank's is where you should go. He has great group rates and Internet coupons. If you are in search of getting on a Team, Tank normally knows who is in need of a player.

















Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

timmy4eva Tuesday, September 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lonestar, Petty's,Fun on the Run,Brazos Survival Games, Paintball Mania, Paintball Bonanza,Paintball Challenge,Tank's
Review: Overall Tank's is a great field. Lonestar and Petty's are also great fields. I practice at Tank's almost every weekend. The mud in the walkway has been filled with asphalt and the staging area is soon going to be enlarged and also covered with something to fix the puddles of water when it poors out there. Tank does everything he can to make every one of his customers happy. The fields are always being changed up and the cow manure problem does not exist anymore. I would give Tank's Paintball a 9 out of 10 because Tank's could be designed more for both levels of play. Tournament paintball and Rec Ball. But the field is always well kept and the refs are great and do everything they can to make sure you are happy when you are there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

2Nu4U-JM Wednesday, August 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Brazo's Splat Games, Bonanza, Paintball Mania. Brazo's is worth absolutely nothing. Brazo's sells a case of seconds for $90, when Tanks sell Domination for $70. Bonanza is a completely Newbie field and should not be considered otherwise (no offense to beginners). They push the strictness level to and unpleasant level. The refs make it seem like it is a large chore to do anything for you. Paintball Mania is amazing, I have played two tournaments there, and visited there twice. The fields are amazing and so are the staff. Overall Tanks is the upperclass though.
Review: Tanks is the best field I have ever visited or played at. The staff is nice and friendly. They can talk to you and most of all they will help you out...except for one member of organized chaos that refs there (yes you...the short one who wears the empire beanie). Anyway the fields are amazing and every Sunday morning they hold team practices for the top Texas amateur teams including Blackout and Addicted. They are strictly a tournament field though. They have all hyperball fields except for one Spool field and one mound field. They have a refreshment stand and an A&W, Taco Bell, and a church's chicken are 2 minutes away if you drive REALLY slow. Overall I love everyone there and all the fields. If it weren't for Tank (don't worry no sponsored by him) I would be no where in the world.

-2Nu4U
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bruno Monday, August 25th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bonanza - Good Fields but is really exspensive
Paintball Zone - Some good fields
Review: Tank's paintball is the place to go for speedball, hyperball, etc whatever you call it. The fields at Tank's are nicely layed out and are really fun to play on. When I played there the games were usually 5 on 5 with some skilled players. The play was really good to get some practice and learning experience. There are various paints to purchase ranging from $40 and up and BYOP is allowed for a small fee. The refs at the field quickly took us out to play games and at times I passed on playing just to get some rest. Overall Tanks Paintball is the place to play, but the only drawback was that it is was a little far out. EXCELLENT FIELD AND SERVICE!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media