paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / The Adventure Game (TAG Paintball) Paintball Field / The Adventure Game (TAG Paintball) Paintball Field / The Adventure Game (TAG Paintball) Paintball Field / The Adventure Game (TAG Paintball) Paintball Field

The Adventure Game (TAG Paintball) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 1-800-TAG-5150
Address: 2120 San Benito St.
Hollister, California 95023
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
ZMan3k Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Santa Clara Paintball
Review: The first time i went here was for my birthday adn yeah it was cool because it was the first time i had ever gone. but then after that i got my own gun and started trying out other fields and boy does this one bite the big one. There are like two refs for every field and the recball fields are huge so people wipe paint really often. The refs never chronoed or even asked if i had been chronoed at all during the day. idk it didnt feel like the other guys were shooting all that hard but it just the principle of the thing. Also this place is waaaaaaaaaaaay too expensive ompared to toher places i have been it was 30 bucks for a full day even after i used a ticket to give me a break on the price, and the paint there is outrageously priced. If you can try to go to Santa Clara Paintball the people there are a lot niceeer, the refs are awesome and they will actually chrono your guns, and if your like me and like speedball they have 4 kick butt fields there. I give TAG a 3 out of ten because i know there are worse fields out there but this one is pretty bad.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fliptout Monday, March 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sunol paintball
santa clara paintball
jungle
sherwood
Review: in my first and last experience with this field, we decided to bring about 15 new players who were going to rent all of their equipment since they were new to paintball. we called beforehand and were told the prices. a few reasons why i will never return again:

--first of all, i guess the person who we spoke to on the phone just somehow forgot to mention that the price for a case of 2000 balls for rental players was $140 dollars. we were told $60, which was the price for a 2000 case for self-equipped players. there was no way that i was going to make 15 new players pay an additional $140 to buy 2000 paintballs, or even $70 for 1000 balls. the reason for the exhorbitant prices that she gave were insufficient reason, in my opinion. all of the other fields in the area seem to do just fine in their business, charging about $60 for a case of paint for self-equipped and rental players.

--secondly, the fields were poorly designed, IMO. some of the larger rec ball fields just weren't fun due to inherently to their design. that is mostly opinion, i know, but another design flaw was the fact that i saw many poison oak bushes. leaves of the three, let it be i guess....

--third, not once did my gun get chronoed. i was an honest player and chronoed my gun myself at the self-chrono station off from the staging area, and kept my gun below the 270 fps max. while i was chronoing, i would see several younger children chronoing at 290+, in some cases 300+. but many of them would shoot a couple times, chrono too high, and leave to get on the field. did they get chronoed before each game? no. all of the other fields that i have been to have a mandatory chrono station that players have to go to before EACH game. the fact that TAG did not have this is plain negligence in my opinion. needless to say, there were more than a few bloody welts that day.

paintball is still a growing sport. people are hesitant to try the game because of its cost and new players are afraid of the safety issues. (i.e "is it gonna hurt?") from my experience at TAG, it seems that this field is detrimental to the spread of paintball as a sport.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

EvilOmenEF1 Saturday, March 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I dont know any others around here
Review: This field is great has a number of woodland fields and speedball/airball fields

Congo: A great field 2 sides of large open fields with bunkers set up and tall grass
down the middle is a creek with a wooded area

Bermuda Triangle: i didn't get to play here :(

Jungle:A Heavily wooded area with some bunkers set up....
Down the middle is also another heavily wooded area with a creek in the middle

Speedball/airball: there "ultimate airball field" is pretty much a standard airball field and they have 2 speedball fields a small one for 3 man play and a larger one for 5 man play

There rental prices are outrageous but if u have your own stuff ur good to go....Rental players are separated from the self equipped because they piranhas they rent out cant really handle ppls angels and impulses (if the rental players think they can handle they are welcome to play with the self equipped)

Field can get extremely muddy during winter or overnight so wear cleats

Over all this is a great and cool field with a lot of knowledgeable people
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kavika Sunday, March 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gotta go north to Santa Clara another 45 min drive...nothing really South until San Luis Obispo...
Review: The fields are okay...need some maintenance...I know that when it rains it turns into a mud bath...and if you are using a high price gun...prepare to get it extremely dirty...not to mention your self...I used to help maintain baseball fields...all you need is some Diamond-Tex and a good shovel...at least drain the water from behind those bunkers...hate standing in shin deep water because if you straddle the puddle your legs turn into targets...during the Summertime the field dries up a bit...WEAR CLEATS!!!!
The 3 Speedball fields are nice but are not really level...all the fields are somewhat on a slope...2 large scenario fields in the ravine below...lots of bunkers and trees and bushes...not too much of a poison oak problem...your decision crawl low thru that peculiar looking bush or take some paint in the rear end????...
Refs are nice and they run a tight field of rules and they are fairly experienced players as well...
Staging area is small...so get a table before you end up sitting on the ground...port-a potties...you know what that means...
Prices are decent...if you are self equipped....ahaaaaaaa!...if you are a renter prepare to spend no less than $50 to play all day...bring your own white filled balls...or spend a fortune on house paint...trust me self-equipped is the only way...student, military and law enforcement with ID get $5 discount on admission for all day play...morning session: 9am -12pm (lunch - free hot dogs) afternoon session: 1pm to 4pm...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MetalliCrusader Monday, January 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Fields: There are 5 fields at this place now. There used to be 4 but they changed things around. There are 2 Speedball fields, and 3 woodland fields. The 2 speedball fields are pretty cool. They have one with giant inflatables, and another with barrels. The woodland fields are the best though. The first field, Congo, is sweet because there are hella trees, bushes, brush, etc. to hide behind. It's kind of a canyon, so the 2 bases are on opposite sides. Its a big field, and alot of fun. The next field, Jungle, is my personal favorite. There is a creek running through the middle, and there are SO many trees and bushes. It's so fun to sneak through them and come through the backdoor of your enemy's base. You do need to worry about poison oak, and stinging nettle, though. And the third field, Bermuda Triangle, is triangle shaped... duhhh. It's an awesome field for capture the flag. One corner of the field is on a hill, and that is where the flag is. This field also has a small creek. Overall the fields are great, and I love going there.
All the fields can get muddy in the winter, so bring boots, and extra clothes.

Games: TAG also has hella cool games. Instead of just regular shoot-em-up till everyones dead, they have games like CTF, Center flag, TERMINATOR, President , Fox and Hound, Zombies, and MANY more. For the rules and objectives of all these games, go to the website and check them out. www.adventuregame.com

Service: Everyone at TAG is hella nice and funny, too. The owner is a great guy and like any field, they are strict about rules. They don't want anyone geting hurt. Renting can get a bit pricey, about $70-80 a day total, depending on how much paint you use. But self-equipped is a good price. $30 all day and only $20 for a bag of 500 paintballs. And how can you go wrong with FREE HOTDOGS! Thats right, at lunch time they serve FREE, yes thats FREE hotdogs! You have to pay for soda, but its only $.75 a can. If you don't want hotdogs, there are some places to eat about 5-10 minutes away.

Location: The reason I gave this field an 8 instead of a 10 is because of it's location. It can be very confusing to get to. You have to take this big road, to a littler road, on to this small road, and then turn on this dirt road, and you're there. But once you get there, its worth the trip. It also doesn't have drinking water, or bathrooms. (It has a Port-A-Potty, but no running water.)

Overall: This is a GREAT field for a beginner or intermediate. I love going to this place. Just remember to bring PLENTY of bottled water, a change of clothes, and a sence of humor. Oh ya... if you drive a low-rider, don't bother coming.... you'll get stuck in the mud.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

blindbat Wednesday, November 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Venture games paintball in clayton (much better)
weekend warrior in SD (better)
another place in SD (forgot the name) - also better
Review:
If you're going to bring friends who needs to rent equipment, avoid this place
since they charge insane prices for paintball if you rent ($135/case for PMI premiums?!)
the large number of speedball type course makes an outting for rental excessively
expensive. If you have your own equipment, this place is still expensive compare to
others.

the field selection is decent. 3 speedball type of fields and 2 sort of wooded fields.
You'll like it much better if you prefer speedball fields.

the staff keeps a good eye on the field and is very safety conscious.
oh.. they require paintballs with whitefill and barrel condoms, which limits your
selection on paint and $5 for the barrel condoms if you don't have them.
The rental markers are also pretty horrible (the Pirahnas aren't bad, just badly
maintained)

field quality and staff is not pretty good, but the high expense for renters makes it difficult
to introduce new people to the game. I won't take any points off for the field quality
since it's my own personal preference for woodsball. Unfortunately, that still only
adds up to an average field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RingOfScale Tuesday, November 4th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bear Creek, Santa Clara Fairgrounds. Bear Creek sucks cause its muddy, only one field, the field is too large, and they charge your money for food! BUT it does have the advantage of different types of games played. Also, when i have gone to Bear Creek, my gun always decides to start not cooperating with me, but i am sure that has nothing to do with the field. BTW Bear Creek has the nicest refs, maybe not the most effective refs, but the nicest ones. The MAIN THING i have against Bear Creek is that you have to chrono before EVERY GAME. This means, in a WHOLE DAY you only get 10-15 games :( Santa Clara fairgounds was better then Bear Creek, but not as good as TAG. The Fairgrounds airball field kept having its bunkers loose all their air. (i literally had a dorito fold up around me). Fairgrounds also charges money for lunch, but not as much as Bear Creek. I personally wouldnt want to be a renter at Fairgrounds, because they have the beginers shooting at 220 FPS, which is REALLY slow. One nice thing about Fairgrounds is that all their fields are fun, and you get alot of games in. (they play games back to back all day, which means u can play a ton of games, but you will miss one if you have to go get more paintballs, or an air fill). Ohhh, and last but not least, Fairgrounds has the best refs, they actually pay attention and call people out, etc, instead of standing around being useless.
Review: TAG owns, there is nothing else too it. Its over twice as far away from where i live than Bear Creek and Fairgrounds, but the 1 hours 15 min drive is worth it. While their speedball/hyperball/airball fields might be on the small side, they are still tons of fun. They change field set up every week, so you never have the same. One of the great things about TAG compared to Bear Creek and Fairgrounds, is that it has a variety of fields. Bear Creek ONLY has woodsball, and Fairgrounds ONLY has speedball/hyperball/airball. Generally the morning sessions has renters and self equiped playing together, and by the afternoon there are enough people that they have seperate groups for renters and self equiped. Their rental guns are piranhas, and use 48/3000 HPA tanks with them. The 3 times i have used the rentals there, before i got my gun, they generally worked well, but it was quite common to have a chopped ball, barrel break, or shooting like 3 balls at once. While this was annoying, it wasn't that bad. Anyway, TAG seems to have a fun, upbeat atmosphere. One time the management made a deal to give someone a case of paintballs if they would drink the whole pot of hotdog water. (It was REALLY nasty, filled with all gunk from hotdogs that you don'y want to eat... it smelled horrible, some guy from team Inflict did it). The refs at TAG are ok, but don't seem to do much, this is probably one of the few things i dont like about it. As for prices, TAG is resonably expensive, but only like 5 dollars more expensive then Bear Creek/Fairgrounds, and since they give out free lunch, that extra cost is kinda cancled out. One thing i would sugest is bring 2 liters of water for yourself, and some salty crackers, because otherwise you will quickly use up the water in your body, and more water is useless without salt (i cant quite remember why salt is needed), so bring LOTS OF WATER AND SALTY CRACKERS!!!! It can get very hot at TAG in the summer. Anyway, back to costs. 25 dollars admission, 10 dollar airpasses, BYOP for self equiped. Whitefill paint only **** Rental players, i actually have no idea what admission/rental costs are (I know a way to not have to pay them, which is perfectly legal, if ya wanna know how AIM me, my SN is CowBellzFromHell). Paint for rental players is $35 for 500 rounds, which is expensive, but its ok if you dont have to pay admission ( again, AIM me if ya wanna know how to get out of admission cost at TAG ). Paint for self equiped is like $20 for 500, or $60 for 2000 i think.
They play a good number of games in a day, normally 10-12 before lunch, 10-12 after lunch.
Anyway....

TAG Pros:
Free lunch!!!!
Good field set up, variety in fields
Rental guns which arn't 100 percent crap.
BYOP for self equiped
Free entry for rentals!! (AIM ME !! !!)
Fun, Upbeat atmosphere, not many annoying people at TAG :)
Fairly high number of games played

TAG Cons:
It can get really hot...
Refs dont do much ( but they are nice )
*slighly* small speedball fields
no free water :(

While i do have 4 cons for TAG, i am having trouble thinking up all the pros, so i will edit this later maybe if i can think of more, i know there are some more. Anyway, it gets a 9 rating because there are places they could improve, but its great already.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pump power Thursday, July 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
american canyon
Review: i have not been to many other fields but this one only has 1 field that easily see the other teams position. every field is just a bunch of bunkers with some trees along the small creek in the middle.
I personally hide and move hidden here and there are so many people YOU CAN NOT MANEUVER every bunker is full and you can shoot clear across to me it is a bunch of large speedball places that are split in half.


over all it has a great staff that is always willing to help, mist form the ceiling during the breaks on hot days and people that play there are nice i even was able to use someone else's angel for a round
overall it is fun and is probably the best place for people new to the sport because they don't laugh at you if you don't know what an O ring is and why it doesn't there rental gun fire ( they never take off the safety)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

idyll Thursday, June 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None.... yet!
Review: Where to begin, getting to TAG from San Jose was pretty easy and the directions (as listed on their web site) were quite accurate. At first look the place seems rather shabby and you are immediately assailed by the smell of chicken excrement when you step out of your car: you get used to it. They have a covered staging area which, again, is rather shabby, but... there are a lot of tables, it's out of the sun, and it's very functional. Bathroom facilities could be better, but again they're functional which is most important!

The people, what can I say, they are as friendly and helpful a bunch of people that you could ask for. I think the refs are a little over worked (they could use a couple more), but for the most part impartial: their main concern is that you are safe and have fun. As I am a noob this was a very important point for me: even the other "seasoned" players there were friendly and helpful. My stepson and his friend (each 15 years old) also had a great time. Age range was quite wide that day: youngest was 11 and the eldest was 50ish (guessing here).

Rental equipment, one word: Piranha. All seemed to be in excellent condition and worked without hassle all day. They use HPA for their rental equipment. I know this place is in business and that being in business you want to make money, but the paint prices for a renter are (IMHO) outrageous! If my marker had arrived sooner the rental thing would be a moot point as you can bring your own paint (white fill ONLY). I hear that you can rent a "demo" gun, but it's more money so I never explored what they had to offer. If you are going to rent you should definitely make a reservation!

Costs seem to in line with other paintball fields, but the 5% sur-charge for credit cards I thought was a bit of a rip-off and a receipt would be nice too. Also, they don't actually chrage your card that day, but instead put the charge through on Monday, hmmmm. Definitely bring cash and save a little money and hassle. Speaking of saving money, bring your own stuff to drink and eat: the water there sucks unless you buy bottled stuff ($1), soda ($1), energy drink ($2). They have free hot dogs for lunch and although they didn't run out the day I was there I hear that they do. Bring your own stuff to be safe.

The fields: three "woods" fields and one airball and one speedball. Loved each and every one of them!!!! The "woods" fields are all similar and have lots of elevation changes throughout, lots of under brush to hide in and quite a few bunkers where there is open field. There is a small stream that runs though the bottom of the "woods" fields, but its so small that there is no problem with mud. However if it were to rain there I could see my self getting really muddy. The air/speedball areas seem to be small, but functional: I had some of my best games on those fields. Now I know some of you are thinking that since this is my first time playing what kind of review can I really give, well, what can I say I had fun, a lot of it. I played all day (about 12 games) could have played more, but I'm 44 and out of shape;) I really liked the fact that the management and employees are most concerned for 1st, your safety and 2nd, a good time. They don't crono too frequently, but the do expect that your gun to be under 280 fps: they let some people with "pumps" fudge it a little bit. I would definitely check out their website: lots of good pictures and information.

I don't really know what else to say, but if you're new to the sport I would run, not walk, to this place. If you're already a well into the sport it looks like a great place to practice (and there are, seemingly quite a few "good" players there for more of a challenge). I had a great time and isn't that what it's all about?

I gave them and 8 because the staging area could use some work, they need to fix some of their bunkers, and a couple more refs could be used, but all and all I would highly recommend the place.

*UPDATE* I've upgraded TAG to a 9 as they seem to have addressed a couple of the issues mentioned above: new bunkers, new field, and the ref's seemed to be on top of things in a way that they previously hadn't.
Last edited on Monday, July 14th, 2003 at 8:33 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TrueSemi Friday, May 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Jungle- Vallejo (Good in comparison)
Bear Creek Pursuit Paintball- Boulder Creek
Santa Clara Paintball- San Jose
Action Zone- Santa Clara (Played here long ago, no longer in business)
Review: I haven't journeyed to distant fields, yet (SC Village being target #1 on the list), but TAG has given me the very best experience in paintball. As one person stated, "it is a Christian paintball field." They do have polite staff and people are treated with respect and courtesy. Others also have expressed how good the setup is throughout the site. I would agree that you would find your experience cradled with a good sense well being. From my experience, since I favor combat oriented fields, the three forest fields are very well structured.

- Lots of concealed brush and sneaky areas that you wouldn't know where people might be hiding. During spring and mainly summer, lots of wild brush sprouts out to give good cover to people who stay low and sneaky.

- There are at least two patches of bunker-filled areas that split between the creeks on two of the fields. This is good for those people who like speedball. Usually, resistance comes from the opposite side of the field and game is played in a "bunker to bunker battle." I found that players who lurk in the bushes surprise players on these patches since it is hard to tell where an opponent might come out from the creek.

- One nice creek bed along the three fields. It can be a death trap while rushing along the bed. It can be steep to get down to the bed and opposition is already atop on each side. But usually there a few opposition awaiting for you since most people that I have played with enjoy playing topside, away from the creek. When the rain comes, rarely anyone wants to get down a dirty in mud that the creek produces.

- It is a good place for all kinds of players. And players who do play there have a deepest respect for others. The fields accommodate most players that I've seen. Some players like speedball than others and do not like the forest field. It's the high pace and fast play that pushes towards tournament play, I think.

- Best prices for renters and for all day play. Lots of price discounts and discount combinations. As what most people whos reviewed this field, 12:00pm free hot dogs. There are also promoters selling $5 half day discount tickets. See web site for discount details. For the locals who read or reviewed this field, SJSU students have access to discount tickets.

To sum up:

Based on an overall rating, I give TAG "10."
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media