paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park

Hollywood Sports Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
161Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 9030 Somerset Blvd
Bellflower, California 90706
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
bz94rs Tuesday, March 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village - (Better, but further away)
Directions
to the Field:
405 or 110 south to the 105 east (heading to norwalk) get off on lakewood. Head south make a left on Somerset, itll be on your right.
Review: The thing that annoys me the most is the "house paint only" rule. I don't much care for their choice of paint. i understand they have to make a buck, but c'mon. They sell Evil ($55ish), Rampage ($50ish) and SC paint ($35 or $39, i can't remember) any paint with a red or orange florescent fill is not allowed.

I have played both with a private party and as a walk-on. If you're in a private party youll have much more fun. you get you're own private ref that stays with you throughout the day. we got Tim who's pretty cool, hes a skinny white guy that wore a mirrored mask. He made sure everybody was safe, but wasnt all up in your kool aid if you didn't have house paint. He split our group of 30 and made sure we had fun. Now on the other hand, as a walk on you're in a group of 100 or so people and you get 3 refs. They take their time getting to the feild and make the players wait. They're pretty fair and dependable for the most part. There was one douchey guy there though. I didn't see his name tag but he's a short hispanic teen that appeared to be on a powertrip. he asked a group of three to move to the other team but they said that they'd rather stay on the team they were already on. The ref should have moved on and asked other people to switch sides, but he didnt. he persisted with these guys and it one of them ended up leaving the feild.

The feilds themselves are pretty good. Very diffrent from SC village where most of the feilds are long range firefight. HSP has alot of close range areas on their feilds including mazes on 2 feilds. There is 1 speedball feild that i have not tried so ill refrain from commenting on it. many parts on their feilds have been taped off due to bees or unsecure structures.

They dont have an airsmith to help you with your gun and most of their rental people are inexperinced so if your high end marker happens to break down you better know how to fix it and have the tools to do it. I have not tried their rentals but its the usual tippmann 98 with the grip thing on the barrel.

There pro-shop sells the usual stuff but last time i went they were out of 9-volts. they dont have free O-rings so bring your own. you can't fire the gun unless you're on the feild or in the chrono station. meaning if youre gonna fire the leftover air in your gun in order to take off the tank you're gonna have to do it in the chrono station or youll have to wait in line at the pro shop to get a new o-ring.

There are lockers ($5) and benches overpriced slices of pizza and overpriced vending machines, but its not in the middle of nowhere so you can go to a drive thru.

25 bucks for admission
10 bucks for all day air
5 bucks for a locker
35/50/55 bucks for paint

SC village is better but this place is average. more fun if you go in a private group.
Last edited on Tuesday, March 20th, 2007 at 5:51 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chris310 Saturday, February 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None other then SC Village but have never gone and a little 2 far
Directions
to the Field:
i dont really pay attention
Review: Safety-pretty safe have 2 watch the video and u have to listen to the reals everytime b4 a game

Fields-The fields are pretty good its just that its only i think 6 (only heard of the other 2)

Hours Of Operation- 9 A.M. To 10 P.M.

Prices-Admission is $25 plus co2 or compressed get their early or you ll wait a while cuz line gets long

Rules- Basic enough 4 a 5year-old to know

Staff-Pretty good the refs are pretty fair

Players-If you go alone your guarenteed to end up meeting sum friends. U can always sum1 around u if they have a tool or sumthin. You can always ask sum1 else for paint around u or sumthing

Facilities- They're ok not all that great
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

conor hawks Sunday, February 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sc village but too far away!
Review: the feilds are good but dirty they could use a wash down but there still fun feilds! they are very rule consious the refs go over all the rules befor every game. its kinda over priced but not to bad. they have food occasionaly one day there will be food the next no food to be seen! the refs are strickt but it keeps everyone safe! they have good speedball feilds and X ball feilds! this park makes for a great day of paintball!!
Last edited on Sunday, February 4th, 2007 at 9:54 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shonuff213 Monday, January 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at the one in Velencia (Forgot the name), and I have played at Conquest. Suprisingly I like HSP the best out of the three.
Review: First of all, if you have been reading the reviews, notice most of the negative reviews were posted in 2005. I'm sure it has given HSP the opportintiy to idintify their flaws and improve on them. I played at HSP for the first time on 1-27-07, and suprisingly, I had a great time. I beleive because of it's popularity, it causes some over population. I will list my pros and cons for 2007. I hope this helps the people that is looking for a field that they will enjoy.

Pros:
The Fields - There are four excellent scenerio fields (It's hard to chose which one is my favorite)

Safety - People complain that refs explain that before every game the refs explain what the rules are. Beleive it or not, there is always one player that still don't get, so why not drill it into peoples heads all day. Keep doing what your doing refs.

Shops- There shops provide everything you need related to paintball. There shops also provide snacks.

Cons:

The games should be played back-to-back, rather than play one, then wait 15 minutes for the next game.

Big field, but not enough refs to capture every hit. The refs trying there best though.

Fields are great, but need some paint to be cleaned off the fields.

Overall, I liked it. I'll definatley go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

IcA Saturday, January 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: January 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: -Big on safety which is always good (7 year olds crying ruins day)
-Fields are clean
-4 scenerio fields all nice and clean (lunar wars, forbiden city, mad max, apocolypse)
-Fields are big
-Speedball (? amount of fields)
-About 8 am to 10 pm i think
-Prices arnt to bad but still pretty bad for wut u get
-Rules are strick but hardly enforced
-Proshop has all the basic needs nothing special
-Staff is okay some nice people
-Refs are tight
-Players are ranged and sometimes set into 3 catagories ( A= advanced, B= beginer C= intermediate)
-Facilities are clean
-Food is average nice cafe
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

radiationchild Saturday, December 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sc village
tombstone (sadly died)
splat factory
Directions
to the Field:
website
Review: I didnt have a great experience here,


PROS:

good fields
clean
good food


CONS:

bad refs
field paint only
must watch a stupid safety video
the refs go over all safety rules every single game and takes them 10 min.
the fields are big but too small for 70 on 70


overall: 4/10


EDIT: ok, so I gave it another try, and it is MUCH BETTER, there was less hassel, and more play, BUT it is expensive, the airball field is not aired up all the way, there is 4 scenario fields, my favorite is the forbidden city
Last edited on Sunday, April 8th, 2007 at 9:21 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

saints2877 Wednesday, December 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Island
Splat Factory
OC Asylum
Review: Field-There are a number of speedball fields but only about four scenario fields I played one game scenario and it was 60 on 60 there were about 10 people hiding in each bunker even worse it was only about a five minute game the ref took a long time going over the safety it felt like it would never stop.After i played that one game i told myself i would never go back so i played speedball the rest of the day speedball was great chil atmosphere no jerks lots of pump player friendly people.

Saftey- Very safe refs inforce rules whenever possible

Prices are not good too expensive needs more staff.The young people working there are friendly and helpful older staff tends to act like they own the place Proshop is cool Hollywood sports Park gives you a theme park atmosphere food is ok i would just take a break for a hour and get my own

Conclusion
HSP gets to crowded speedball is great other than that i would never go ther again too expensive takes to long to get started ( pay get the safety rules,get a looker so they wont steel your stuff then get setup then chrono highest speed you can have is only 265) If you do go to HSP park you will be overwhelmed by the number of thing you need to do before you start play for a beginner like my cousin it wasn't the best place to go i should of taken him to jungle Island more of a chil place
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

silvergt99 Saturday, November 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: November 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: The fields are cool, They seem to still be unfinished. they try to ensure safety which is good. prices are a high for paint,and other items in there proshop.
Players are cool at this field a lot of experiance and newbies mixed, but the ref's have to chill and lose the attitude. everybody is there to have fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bonehead77777 Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Camp Pendleton Paintball- Many courses, good management
Review: This park is pretty mediocre in my opinion.

Pros-
Pretty good scenario fields but they need more bunkers
4 airball fields and one turf stadium field
open late cuz of lights

Cons-
House paint only, it costs $50 a case but shoots like $20 paint
Refs are jerks sometimes and take forever to start games
Management is horrible, the owner makes 90 grand a week and he doesn't hire enough staff to run all the fields. He was also rude to me and my friends.
Need to take better care of fields
Scenario fields aren't really scenario fields. They are like themed courses like a Egyptian themed and space themed so if you are looking for a realistic scenario park then Hollywood isnt for u

Overall this park is pretty good. The courses are nice but thats about it. Refs suck and so does management. I would recommend this park because the courses are worth dealing with everything else but I've heard that some other places are better cough*cough*SC and Splat Factory.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ransack Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Pros:
- Well designed scenario fields
- 4 Airball fields
- Lockers and lots of space for your stuff
- Able to view the games being played.
- Decently stocked Proshop

Cons:
- Half the airball fields down
- Bad Refs
- REALLY messy XBALL field. Paint covered all your stuff after one game.
- Alot of walking to go get air.
- Alot of Cheating going on.
- Players running games more then Refs running it.


I came down to socal to visit friends, and decided to try a field out while down there. Hollywood look like good fun, so me and another friend decided to try it out. Got there and caught on quickly on how the games seem to work. Newer players might have a hard time figuring out where to go pay and where to get ready to play. We got geared up and headed to the XBALL field. Looked for a REF on how the XBALL games were being ran, but couldnt find one. Asked a player, he said to just hop on. So we did. We were quickly seperated by the regulars there. All of the regulars vs who ever strolled on. It was a quick owning. Considers most newer/inexperieced players were sent to the other side. We decided to try the scenario instead of getting rolled on.

Scenario started out fine. Refs gave strict rules and kept this safe during setup of game. Once the game started...things changed. The games were large groups and they only had 2 refs. Alot of wiping went on. You can try to call paintchecks, but never once did it happen. In one particular sitation I moved up small bunker and quickly recieved fire and was hit. I held up my gun to show I was out. I still continued to recieve fire for 5+ seconds. It stopped, I stood up and then continued to recieve more fire. After about 15 seconds fire, it stopped. 15+ bonus shots, and all from bright orange paint. I told a ref, nothing was done.

Here's the worst situation which caused us to stop playing. The next game there was a 4 on 4 situation in a small walkway with some bunkers. A Ref was standing off to the side in the middle of the 4 vs 4 battle. He could clearly see the fire fight. A opposing team attepted to run in and take us out and before a bunker could be called or a shot fired from him, someone on my team tagged him in the mask RIGHT as he turned the corner. The opposing team member proceeded to shoot more paint at the guy who got him and they exchanged 5 or so balls each. Then more members of the opposing team moved around and proceeded to shot that guy EVEN MORE. Even after he clearly was shot and hands in air. Guess by who? Bright orange paint guy that bonused me eariler. All the while, a ref watched. You think the ref would take care of it. But he sat there and didnt care about the whole situation at all. When called on it, he just brushed the situation off. We decided to stop playing scenario at this point. We tried to talk to the refs about it, but nothing was done. We learned later, the refs were friends with these guys.

We played a few airball games which turned out better. Still very little ref presence on the field. A single ref usually stood on the side to just say " 3 2 1 go."

This is all my experience there, and probably most of you won't have this experience. But it was enough for me to never return again and not recommend it.

I gave this place a 3 for the cool designs of the fields. Other then that, brought it down alot for the poor reffing, and ok airball fields.
Last edited on Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006 at 12:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media