paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park

Hollywood Sports Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
161Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 9030 Somerset Blvd
Bellflower, California 90706
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
AresPBIon Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I normally play in Northern California. So this is my first experience on LA proving grounds.
Directions
to the Field:
Pretty easy, drop down Lakewood off the 105, make a left onto Somerset and it is right there on your right.
Review: It was Amensty monday's in August, so it was bring your own paint. Typically FIELD PAINT ONLY. Total cost came to $25 for entrance and all day air; air for HPA is up to 4500PSI fill. So the cost wasn't to bad. Paint however is expensive! $49.99 for SC Paintballs (House Brand). I didn't purchase any but my teammate did. Very very small, using my freak kit, measured out using the smallest insert .684 and it still rolled out the insert. Sizing was inconsistant.

Fields. Well, they weren't horrible, but not that great either. The Speedball fields were dirty and unkempt. Paint was thick on the turf to the point where you started to slip when you tried to walk. Placement of bunkers was nice. The "Stadium" as they called it was big well placed bunkers, well lit for night play. However, yet again TONS of old paint all over the place. Felt like it hadn't been cleaned pretty much EVER. You slide into a bunker and have this nasty greyish slime paste covering your knees and legs, all over your shoes. As you walk off the field you slip and slide, even with cleats. Ref's were NOT on the field watching the game, pretty much honor system only. They were 1 per field standing off to the side chatting with players not reffing games or paying attention.

Scenario fields were large, again nice placement of bunkers, and props. However, way to many people on the fields. 40 v 40 is just rediculous. Especially when the Ref's were pretty much non-existant. 2 Refs for a game that size is useless. Also DO NOT expect fair reffing. This was apparent, when MULTIPLE times a certain group of people would "bunker, bonus ball, rip on" other players and nothing was done about it. It turned out that the refs were close "buddies" with these particular players. Reffin non-existant, call a paint check, nothing would happen. There was wiping, and cheating was rampant. The fencing between scenario fields was falling apart, plain trampled or missing. Again, dirty, old greyish slime paste was everywhere.

Proshop seemed to have a limited amount of paint, and parts. Typically FIELD PAINT ONLY. Average cost of play approx $80 to play on a $15 weekday, and around $90 to play on a weekend. Includes cost of one cheap case of paint, all day air, and field entrance fee.

Would not recommend to anyone. I give it a 3 because of the above and because the fields have a lot of potential if the place ever gets enough staff to handle the volume, and clean up the mess. Need to hire new refs, train them better, and enforce rules equally amongst the players.
Last edited on Monday, August 21st, 2006 at 11:33 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DyeHardP8ntball Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
nothing that isnt a 40 min+ drive away
Review: HSP RULES!!!!!!!!

PLAY THERE, COME TO TURF,REFS ARE AWESOME,STAFF IS AWESOME,PLAYERS ARE 1ST CLASS, DONT BELIEVE THE NEGATIVES THEY AR WORKING FOR JEALOUS FIELD OWNERS!
HSP FTMFW!!

playing hsp is an experience every time, you will love it GO PLAY NOW!!!

why are you still reading, I said NOW!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

BossBayArea Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 11th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I live in the Bay Area, but I go down to So Cal to practice with some other teams for scrimage. SoCal fields: SC Village, tombstone, conquest, and of course Hollywood Sports.
Directions
to the Field:
All I know for sure its in Bellflower...seach it on map quest
Review: Every time I go to hollywood sports I see the same people from before, so now it's really chill waiting to play. All the Speed fal fields are behind madmax, and the other themed fields. Sometimes you can park your car in the back and walk through the gate for the dirt bikers (that way you dont have to walk hella far). The astroturf speedball fields are really nice in setup, and you doint have to worry about getting dirty. Sometimes you get an audience when playing, which is real cool.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

burninhell Sunday, March 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village in corona
Review: have gone to Hollywood sports park several times now . like with anything there are pros and cons . lets start with pros : i think the feilds are really cool . really good props . eg. blown out buildings , mazes , snyper towers , etc. really fun to play . the place is close to both la and orange county . clean and well maintained courtyard . not really to long of a wait in between games . all levels of players . now cons : you have to use their over priced paint . i mentioned before not to much time between games thats true but once on the playing feild every time it takes the refs way to long to get the game started . they are real strict on going over safety rules and thats fine but in my opinion they should do that 1 time when signing your wrist band then if anybody breaks the rules penalize them not the whole group who payed money to play . also they stop the whole game if someone uses outside paint . again if they could just check people when exiting the feild would be better that penalizing the whole group . not to generalize because some refs and some people working in the equptment rentals , air refill , etc. are relly good and very pro . but there are some i would have to say are in need of some serious training . also sometimes not always there are to many little kids on the same feild as oder player and so the refs understanably are overly strict . the only thing they could do to remedy that is have a feild just for little kids . anyway the big picture is as with anything there are pros and cons . its really hit and miss some days are better and some days will test your patience . like i said iv'e been several times . because i have had allot of fun at this place. if they made a few changes this place can be awsome . but if they dont they may loose some payers with less patience and it can end up being a place for little kids . i really hope not cause the playing feilds are really cool and this place has a lot of potential. ( yeah yeah yeah allot of missssssssspelled words right )
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

pampire Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
there is no other fields in this area
Review: i've played in this field around 8 times.many people tell me that the paintball park is too small but its really not,the park is really well taken care of. Your first time there you have to watch some stupid safety movie for like 30 minutes.and the shooting speed is 275 not 300 fps, but whatever.they are real strict about electronic guns and velocity though.....great field, just get there early so you can get a good locker and watch that retarted movie so you can have the rest of the day to light people up!!
Last edited on Saturday, April 1st, 2006 at 2:40 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

newchla Tuesday, March 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: When I first came here I was all confused on what was going on. But after playing at HSP atleast once a month and learning all the angles, it becomes fun. But I always go on weekday nights when there are no lines. Mission Impossible was chill. It took about an hour and a half to get my mission info. Once the scenario started it was work out time. The part about throwing ticket points around wasn't cool cause anybody that doesnt deserve them can pick them up. Just play some of the scenario games and you will see what I mean. They should also put lighting inside some of the four wall structures of Apocalypse so we can play inside at night. Its understandable why the mazes are closed at night so I guess we will have to wait till summer when it gets dark late. I also only go there once a month cause I cant afford it all the time (Rampage). The refs are great and they got some good pump players that play great together. Customer service in the shop could get a bump up but other than that the place is great. NEWCHLA 032206
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sHaDyOne^Death Tuesday, February 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village
Field fo Fire
Some indoor...
Review: Pros :
- Friendly players
- Nice fields
- Rest area
- Working facilities
- Near by
- Some col refs


Cons :
- Managment sucks. One of the owners is very rude.
- Lag time in between games(takes forever to start)
- EXPENSIVE
- Paint is eh...
- Some inexperienced refs




Overall, its pretty good if its the only field your limited to. They could really do alot better by treating people nicer and not labeling everyone as a newb. The fields are great, nice themes. Management could be improved.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

brianthehulk Monday, February 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tombestone(closed) SC Village( fine for private groups) Jungle Island( on a good day this is the best field)
Review: I decided to try Hollywood again after an 8 month layoff. Ive been going to Jungle Island and SC but its a 65 minute drive for me as opposed to 25 to HSC.

Nothing much has changed since I was last there.
Good:
Tournament size field
Cement walkways to most of the areas
Running water, paper towels, bathrooms that flush
Paved parking
Senario fields are cool if they are not under water or have 50 on 50 playing on them.

Not so good:
Very lax safety, people repeatedly walking around without barrel covers of any kind, shooting in the staging area and the reff just sat there till I went and had a talk with him.
Airball bunkers were blown up to about 60 % of what they should be, looked like a bunch of trash bags partially blown up.
Broken lockers everywhere
25 minutes in line to return a tank I had rented.
Same amout of time to rent the thing in the first place

Overshooting, cheating, bad sports, they are all the same everywhere so I've tried to keep my review of the park and its empoyees only.

Hollywood sports is really hit or miss. People have a great time there or a lousy time depending on a full moon I guess.

Ive seen it where there isnt any line for rentals and you can walk right up, but more often than not there is one outmatched guy behind the counter with 10-20 guys in front.

Like i said its a better place for some parents to take their kids for the first time as it has cement and water and is closerthan most other places.

Also once in a while you will get a refferee that does care and enforces the rules instead of using his fee cell minutes all day.

The tourny field is no place for inexperienced players, alot of the more advanced players like to overrun a beginner group not fun for the beginners im sure.

Ive played all over the country and the field paint thing is just what it is, you really just have to take it, and even HSC for a few months is having thursdays be BYOP day.

Try this field out, hope you have a good time if so, post your comments here, if you dont, try the drive to Jungle Island, Hit or miss there too, but more hit than miss, unlike Hollywood.
Last edited on Monday, February 20th, 2006 at 11:33 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SSteve Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire, now closed
Review: HSP has a nice xball field with truff. 3 speedball fields, but usually 1-2 are open. 4 rec fields, there pretty fun but takes up to much time waiting for the refs to get the games going. Snack bar makes very good pizza. Proshop is small, and doesn't have that much. The field is house paint only, the paint is not the best quality. The worst thing about the field is the xball field is a long walk from the fill station.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mike murdoch Thursday, January 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
S.C.village, Jungle paintball-Both are great but only open on weekends.
Review: I started playing hollywood sports about two years ago and have been going since because i like to play on weekdays. The fields are nice although some repairs are needed on some of them. the price of paint is outragous especially for the low quality of it.I think the city might be responsible for the price but what about the quality? Overall its nice to be able to play on weekdays and the staff has improved over time so i will give it a 8 out of 10 because of the bad paint, if they fixed that it would be a 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media